Scared to Death: A Gripping Crime Thriller You Won't be Able to Put Down

by Kate Medina

Crime and Mystery Thriller and Suspense eBooks of the Month

LoveReading Expert Review of Scared to Death: A Gripping Crime Thriller You Won't be Able to Put Down

Another wonderfully twisty and chilling case in the ‘Jessie Flynn Crime Thriller’ series. Captain Ben Callan investigates a suspicious death on a base, as the case uncoils Dr Jessie Flynn and DI Simmons become involved, and unexpected links appear. The connection between the armed forces and police adds a fascinating note to this series, and the author’s background ensures a feeling of authenticity. Each of the three main characters have their flaws, yet combined, they make a formidable force to be reckoned with. This novel is so very readable, I just leapt in and didn't stop until I turned the last page. With a whipping, corkscrewing plot and fast paced action, ‘Scared to Death’ just roars along, ensuring a worthwhile and entirely captivating read. ~ Liz Robinson

Liz Robinson

Scared to Death: A Gripping Crime Thriller You Won't be Able to Put Down Synopsis

Everyone is afraid. But some fears can kill you... A gripping new thriller featuring a brilliantly complex psychologist, Dr Jessie Flynn, who struggles with a dark past. Perfect for fans of Nicci French and Val McDermid. Sometimes you should be frightened of the dark... A baby is abandoned in the middle of the night. DI Bobby `Marilyn' Simmons suspects the father is planning to take his own life following the violent suicide of his eldest son Danny a year earlier. Meanwhile an investigation begins into the murder of trainee soldier Stephen Foster. Just sixteen years old, he has been stabbed in the neck and left to die in the woods. When psychologist Dr Jessie Flynn sees connections between the deaths of Stephen and Danny, she fears a third traumatized young man faces the same fate...

About This Edition

ISBN: 9780008132323
Publication date: 8th February 2018
Author: Kate Medina
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Ltd an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers
Format: Paperback
Primary Genre Crime and Mystery
Other Genres:
Recommendations:
Be in with a Chance of Winning Our Latest Brilliant Orenda Book Bundle!

Be in with a Chance of Winning Our Latest Brilliant Orenda Book Bundle!

Closing date: 31/07/2022

We're teaming up once again with Orenda to offer another brilliant book giveaway! This book bundle will include some of their latest releases from April to July. A perfect opportunity to stock up on some brilliant reads to enjoy this summer. The titles up for grabs are: Quicksand of Memory by Michael J. Malone - Published 14th April The Shot by Sarah Sultoon - Published 28th April Keep Her Sweet by Helen Fitzgerald - Published 26th May Little Drummer by Kjell Ola Dahl - Published 26th May Nothing Else by Louise Beech - Published 23rd June Tasting Sunlight by Ewald Arenz - Published 23rd June The Daves Next Door by Will Carver - Published 21st July This draw is open only for UK residents currently in the UK and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. The draw closes on 31st July 2022. Please ensure that the details you use to enter the competition will be correct at the time the competition ends. The winners will be notified as soon as possible.

Enter Now

What To Read After Scared to Death: A Gripping Crime Thriller You Won't be Able to Put Down

The Impossible Dead
Caught in the Light
Port Mortuary
Dangerous Lady

Kate Medina Press Reviews

Praise for SCARED TO DEATH:

'It's impossible to put down this book ... It's a brilliant page-turner of a thriller - but be warned, it may keep you up at night!'
Closer

'Kate Medina has created a brilliant and believable female lead.'
Good Housekeeping

'Scared to Death is one of those book that creeps up on you, beautifully observed and written, skilfully plotted and developed and with characters as complex and flawed as your most interesting friends. I loved it.'
Simon Toyne

'Tremendously accomplished - a slow burn builds into an edge-of-the-seat thriller. Complex, humane and completely convincing.'
Mel McGrath, author of Give Me the Child

Praise for FIRE DAMAGE:

'It comes as no surprise that Medina has created a character of density and intricacy in Flynn. May the series prosper.' Daily Mail

'A tense and pacy thriller, 4 stars.' The Sun

'Medina demonstrates that she's a considerable find.' Independent

'Excellent start to a new series.' Sunday Express

'[Medina] writes about the horrifying consequences of war from the standpoint of a clear-eyed but sympathetic insider.' Sunday Times

'If psychological thrillers are your bag, then look no further than Fire Damage... Tense and hard to put down.' Closer

'A haunting thriller.' Grazia

'An absorbing and convincing thriller... An author who consistently delivers taut, believable and unsettlingly compelling novels.' Sunday Herald

'Gripping' Literary Review

`Psychologist Jessie Flynn is set to become a major star in the world of crime fiction. She's as fascinating and complex as the cases she solves. Fire Damage will leave you hungry for the next book in this superb series.' Kate Rhodes

Other editions of this book

ISBN: 9780008132323
Publication date: 08/02/2018
Format: Paperback

View All Editions

About Kate Medina

While studying for a degree in Psychology, Kate Medina joined the Territorial Army where she spent five years, first as an officer trainee and then as a Troop Commander in the Royal Engineers. She has an MA in Creative Writing from Bath Spa University and now writes full time. Her debut novel, White Crocodile (published under the name K. T. Medina), a thriller set in the minefields of Cambodia, received widespread critical acclaim. Photo credit: Philippa Gedge

More About Kate Medina

More Books By Kate Medina

Scared to Death: A Gripping Crime Thriller You Won't be Able to Put Down
Scared to Death: A Gripping Crime Thriller You Won't be Able to Put Down
Scared to Death: A Gripping Crime Thriller You Won't be Able to Put Down
View All Books By Kate Medina

Share this book