win prizes
Search our site
White Bodies by Jane Robins Read the opening extract of the brand new Jane Robins book before its publication on 03/05/2018

Reader Reviewed
The Story of Our Lives by Helen Warner
  

The Story of Our Lives

Family Drama   If You Like...You'll Love   Relationship Stories   
Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Relationship Tales Facebook group Share this book

Lovereading view...

A dynamic, dramatic, and deliciously entertaining tale exposing friendship flaws, secrets and lies. Sophie, Emily, Amy, and Melissa go away for a weekend break once a year, and we see how their lives change for both better and worse between 1997 and 2012. These are women who make mistakes, occasionally get it wrong as well as right, and rely on their friends for advice, help, and love. Helen Warner allows direct access to the holidays, the rest of the year remains either hidden or briefly reviewed, ensuring the story just whizzes along. The movement through the years allows you to quickly form a relationship with these women, it also raises questions, and suspicions. While I found myself occasionally tutting and frustrated, I also celebrated, smiled and laughed, and then in the next moment my heart ached for them. ‘The Story of Our Lives’ is so readable, it beckons you in, and then gathers you up in an intimate, weaving dance of friendship… what a fascinating, lovely read this is. ~ Liz Robinson

Reader Reviews

In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title. You can click here to read the full reviews. 

  • Cleo Bannister - 'A delightful and uplifting read which is likely to have its readers reflecting on their own friendships.'
  • Kathy Martin - 'The idea of four friends meeting up for an annual  girly week-end is simple enough, but works wonderfully well.  Linking chapters with a newsflash from the time is a stroke of genius.'
  • Rosie Watch - 'A slow burning,  but a book worth sticking with. An evolving and increasingly emotional read. A perfect novel to curl up with.'
  • Susan Coleman - 'A moving exploration of female friendship through both the good times and the bad, a very absorbing read.'
  • Doreen McKeown - 'A light easy read charting the lives of four young women, close friends since their university days.  Although close, they all have secrets from each other, which are gradually revealed.'
  • Lizzy - 'A lovely tale of the intertwined lives of four friends, which takes an unexpected turn when the secret that has lain between them for years is finally revealed - and it's not what the reader expected!'
  • Suzanne Beney - 'A traditional chick-lit book, filled with characters that make you feel like you're part of the group. There's nothing 'new' about this book, but that's what makes it a good read -  it feels familiar'.
  • Glenda Worth - 'The Story of Our Lives by Helen Warner is an easy to read, page turner of a book! Not a genre I usually read but having received this novel to review I gave it a go and was pleasantly surprised.'
  • Lorraine Blencoe - 'A drag along read that puts you at the centre of some strong female characters and their relationships.'
  • Kathryn Whitfield - 'A fantastic story of friendship and love. An enjoyable read going on the journey with these four friends, through the changes of life and secrets and lies that are revealed along the way.'
  • Val Rowe - 'Perfect to pack in your suitcase and relax with whilst on holiday, The Story of Our Lives is an intriguing, unputdownable, easy to read novel.'
  • Dana Captainino - 'But there is a big secret swirling behind the facade and when a truly terrible event brings this to the surface, the survival of the four's relationship is dependent on their varying reactions to the revelation.'
  • Tina - An easy-to-read book that ultimately proves to be uplifting.
  • Julie Watkin - 'A heart warming tale of love and friendship in the face of everyday adversity. You can relate to the characters and feel their emotions with them.'
  • Lesley Hart - 'Helen Warner's story includes four friends from university, none of whom has a perfect life, which makes it very believable. You're lulled into thinking that the ending could be predicted - it can't!'
  • Alison Bisping - 'Female friendship - you love each other, you fall out, you make up - your best friends. A wonderful read.'
  • Sarah Jones - 'A bit too bland for me, but a light, easy read about the power and endurance of friendship through life.'

Synopsis

The Story of Our Lives by Helen Warner

Four friends. Twenty years. One powerful secret. There are certain dates on which you'll always remember where you were...

The day Princess Diana died. 9/11. The London 2012 opening ceremony.

The same is true for Sophie, Emily, Amy and Melissa who have been best friends since they met twenty years ago. As history has moved on around them, they have seen each other through everything. From Sophie's secret fear that she doesn't actually want to be a mother despite having two kids, to Amy's perfect-on-the-outside-abusive-on-the inside marriage to Melissa's spiralling alcoholism and Emily's single motherhood. But could a lie that spans just as long tear them apart?

A moving, unputdownable novel about four incredible friendships, and the stories we all share, The Story of Our Lives is a treat for fans of The Versions of Us and One Day.

Reviews

`A moving and compelling journey through the highs and lows of female friendship - just fabulous! Sharon Osbourne

About the Author

Helen Warner was Head of Daytime for Channel 4, where she was responsible for shows such as Come Dine With Me and Deal Or No Deal. Previously she worked for ITV where she launched the daytime talkshow Loose Women and was editor of This Morning. She lives in East Anglia with her husband and their two children. RSVP is her first novel.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

8th February 2018

Author

Helen Warner

More books by Helen Warner
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Publisher

HQ an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers

Format

Hardback
400 pages

Categories

Family Drama
If You Like...You'll Love
Relationship Stories

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

ISBN

9780008202682

You can trust Lovereading to show unbiased reviews by actual, ordinary readers that help likeminded booklovers choose their next great read.

Linda Hill

They are bright, breezy and eager to offer a great book, then genuinely listen/respect the review one writes.

Maggie Crane

It is a website dedicated to those who adore reading It really is a one stop shop for book lovers. Love it!

Edel Waugh

I love that Lovereading handpicks very special debut reads.

Magda North

Lovereading always comes up with great suggestions and has introduced me to enjoyable books and new authors to discover.

Gaynor Passmore

It gives a chance to read about new titles, invites comments from all kinds of readers and is run by such a nice bunch of book lovers.

Joy Bosworth

Lovereading are lovely people who send me lovely books. What's not to love?

Gavin Dimmock

The best new books on the market, reviewed honestly, to give your readers the best choices.

Julie Cook

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools