Tell us a story

LoveReading is thrilled to announce the launch of The Very Short Story Award 2019! If you think you have a story we'll love, click here to find out more and how to enter:

Find out more

The Story of Our Lives

by Helen Warner

Books with reviews by our Reader Review Panel eBooks of the Month Family Drama Relationship Stories

LoveReading View on The Story of Our Lives

A dynamic, dramatic, and deliciously entertaining tale exposing friendship flaws, secrets and lies. Sophie, Emily, Amy, and Melissa go away for a weekend break once a year, and we see how their lives change for both better and worse between 1997 and 2012. These are women who make mistakes, occasionally get it wrong as well as right, and rely on their friends for advice, help, and love. Helen Warner allows direct access to the holidays, the rest of the year remains either hidden or briefly reviewed, ensuring the story just whizzes along. The movement through the years allows you to quickly form a relationship with these women, it also raises questions, and suspicions. While I found myself occasionally tutting and frustrated, I also celebrated, smiled and laughed, and then in the next moment my heart ached for them. ‘The Story of Our Lives’ is so readable, it beckons you in, and then gathers you up in an intimate, weaving dance of friendship… what a fascinating, lovely read this is.

Liz Robinson

The Story of Our Lives Synopsis

Four friends. Twenty years. One powerful secret. There are certain dates on which you'll always remember where you were...

The day Princess Diana died. 9/11. The London 2012 opening ceremony.

The same is true for Sophie, Emily, Amy and Melissa who have been best friends since they met twenty years ago. As history has moved on around them, they have seen each other through everything. From Sophie's secret fear that she doesn't actually want to be a mother despite having two kids, to Amy's perfect-on-the-outside-abusive-on-the inside marriage to Melissa's spiralling alcoholism and Emily's single motherhood. But could a lie that spans just as long tear them apart?

A moving, unputdownable novel about four incredible friendships, and the stories we all share, The Story of Our Lives is a treat for fans of The Versions of Us and One Day.

Win Don't You Cry

Win Don't You Cry

Closing date: 11/10/2018

Cass Green's "dynamic, powerfully expressive novel" Don't You Cry was released on the 6th September. To celebrate we are giving away FIVE copies of the latest psychological thriller AND a 'Most Stressful Night of Your Life package' of luxury Hot Chocolate and a MINI Bottle of Whiskey.  She saved your life. Now she'll make you pay - One stolen baby. Two desperate strangers. One night of terror. The competition closes on the 11th October 2018. The winner will be informed by the 17th October 2018. To have a chance of winning this fantastic prize, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter and you must be 18 or over to enter this competition. Multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. By entering this competition you are agreeing to the conditions mentioned above and to adhere to the LoveReading Terms and Conditions. 

Enter Now

The Story of Our Lives Reader Reviews

In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title. You can click here to read the full reviews.

A delightful and uplifting read which is likely to have its readers reflecting on their own friendships. Full review

Cleo Bannister

A light easy read charting the lives of four young women, close friends since their university days. Although close, they all have secrets from each other, which are gradually revealed. Full review

Doreen McKeown

The idea of four friends meeting up for an annual girly week-end is simple enough, but works wonderfully well. Linking chapters with a newsflash from the time is a stroke of genius. Full review

Kathy Martin

A slow burning, but a book worth sticking with. An evolving and increasingly emotional read. A perfect novel to curl up with. Full review

Rosie Watch

A moving exploration of female friendship through both the good times and the bad, a very absorbing read. Full review

Susan Coleman

A bit too bland for me, but a light, easy read about the power and endurance of friendship through life. Full review

Sarah Jones

A lovely tale of the intertwined lives of four friends, which takes an unexpected turn when the secret that has lain between them for years is finally revealed - and it's not what the reader expected! Full review

Lizzy

A traditional chick-lit book, filled with characters that make you feel like you're part of the group. There's nothing 'new' about this book, but that's what makes it a good read - it feels familiar. Full review

Suzanne Beney

The Story of Our Lives by Helen Warner is an easy to read, page turner of a book! Not a genre I usually read but having received this novel to review I gave it a go and was pleasantly surprised. Full review

Glenda Worth

Helen Warner's story includes four friends from university, none of whom has a perfect life, which makes it very believable. You're lulled into thinking that the ending could be predicted - it can't! Full review

Lesley Hart

A fantastic story of friendship and love. An enjoyable read going on the journey with these four friends, through the changes of life and secrets and lies that are revealed along the way. Full review

Kathryn Whitfield

But there is a big secret swirling behind the facade and when a truly terrible event brings this to the surface, the survival of the four's relationship is dependent on their varying reactions to the revelation. Full review

Dana Captainino

A drag along read that puts you at the centre of some strong female characters and their relationships. Full review

Lorraine Blencoe

Perfect to pack in your suitcase and relax with whilst on holiday, 'The Story of Our Lives' is an intriguing, unputdownable, easy to read novel. Full review

Val Rowe

I recommend this to all who enjoy stories about female bonds and lifelong friendships even through adversity. Full review

Edel Waugh

An easy-to-read book that ultimately proves to be uplifting. Full review

Tina

Female friendship - you love each other, you fall out, you make up - your best friends. A wonderful read. Full review

Alison Bisping

It was an extremely easy book to read, well written, warmly intriguing and ever so enjoyable. Full review

Judith Waring

A heart warming tale of love and friendship in the face of everyday adversity. You can relate to the characters and feel their emotions with them. Full review

Julie Watkin

I loved this book. Full review

Kate

The Story of Our Lives Press Reviews

`A moving and compelling journey through the highs and lows of female friendship - just fabulous!  Sharon Osbourne

If you loved this, you might like these...

Roar
Trap
A Ration Book Christmas
The Lion Tamer Who Lost

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9780008202682
Publication date: 08/02/2018
Publisher: HQ an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers
Format: Hardback

Book Information

ISBN: 9780008202682
Publication date: 8th February 2018
Author: Helen Warner
Publisher: HQ an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers
Format: Hardback
Pagination: 400 pages
Genres: Reader Reviewed Books, eBook Favourites, Family Drama, Relationship Stories,
Categories: Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945),

About Helen Warner

Helen Warner was Head of Daytime for Channel 4, where she was responsible for shows such as Come Dine With Me and Deal Or No Deal. Previously she worked for ITV where she launched the daytime talkshow Loose Women and was editor of This Morning. She lives in East Anglia with her husband and their two children. RSVP is her first novel.

More About Helen Warner

More Books By Helen Warner

Cover for With or Without You by Helen Warner
View All Books By Helen Warner

Share this book