Get 2 top 10 audiobooks free with a LoveReading exclusive

LoveReading has teamed up with Audiobooks.com to give you the chance to get 2 free audiobooks when you sign up. Try it for 30 days for free with no strings attached. You can cancel anytime, although we're sure you'll love it. Click the button to find out more:

Find out more

The Empathy Problem

by Gavin Extence

eBooks of the Month Modern and Classic Literary Fiction Relationship Stories

LoveReading View on The Empathy Problem

A must read if ever there was one, this is just stunning. A simple premise, yet it slams with impact, 32 year old banker Gabriel has a malignant brain tumour and six months left to live. As time ticks by Gabriel finds himself exploring entirely new thoughts and feelings… empathy has finally arrived in his life. A perfectly sharp balance is maintained between hard hitting provocative and wickedly amusing observations. Pointedly sliding through global problems and issues, this is a still a very personal, compassionate and intimate read. Gavin Extence is fast becoming one of my favourite authors, he constantly surprises, challenges and stimulates with his barbed, so beautifully readable books. I sat up reading for most of the night, and even when I had turned the last page, I didn't want to put it down. ‘The Empathy Problem’ is a very special novel indeed, one to remember, to keep forever, to read again, and again, and again. Liz Robinson

Perfect for fans of Graeme Simsion's The Rosie Project and Gavin Extence's debut novel THE UNIVERSE VERSUS ALEX WOODS, comes a wild and witty, searing and true novel about life's ups and downs.

Liz Robinson

The Empathy Problem Synopsis

So far in his life, Gabriel - selfish, arrogant and happy to be so - has only ever thought about two things: money and himself. When he's diagnosed with a terminal brain tumour, he doesn't see why anything should change.

But as the tumour grows, something strange starts happening. Whether Gabriel likes it or not, he's becoming . . . nicer. Kinder. A better person. And then he meets Caitlin. Before, he wouldn't even have glanced at her; now he's entranced. But real change takes time - and time is something Gabriel just doesn't have. As each day brings him closer to his last, has the one opportunity for a second chance passed him by?

The Empathy Problem Press Reviews

'You can't put it down . . . precise and propulsive . . . a real page-turner' Janice Forsyth Show, BBC Radio Scotland

'A very personal, compassionate and intimate read . . . I sat up reading for most of the night, and even when I had turned the last page, I didn't want to put it down' Lovereading.co.uk

Extence's quick wit and smart use of dialogue, deployed throughout an eventful plot with a varied cast of distinct characters, add a degree of levity you'd find more often in a Hollywood screenplay . . . a healthy dose of Dickens . . . Extence piles on delight after delight . . . The Empathy Problem finds a way to make us smile through our tears. Bookanista

'A brilliant book about second chances in life by Gavin Extence. I am looking forward to what he is coming up with next!' Ela's Book Corner

'A gripping look at an unlikeable character.' Psychologies

'This book is never sentimental and Extence doesn't make the mistake of having Gabriel suddenly becoming perfect but by the end he is someone you'd have as a friend. Along the way we learn the value of honesty, love, music and loyalty. As well as the joy of perfectly aimed revenge . . . ' Jane & Bex Blog

'Extence's novel is an absolute triumph, once again reiterating his skill for characterisation and voice.' Nudge books

'I absolutely loved this story... Extence has such a dry, witty style of writing.' Marie Claire

'It's funny, well observed and heartfelt without being sentimental... a lovely, engaging read that'll leave you resolving to change your own life for the better.' Winq magazine

'Another stand-out book from this outstanding author' -- Book of the Week, The Sun

'The Empathy Problem is delightful, written in a warm, engaging voice and composed of short chapters that rattle along . . . An accessible read but one that prompts you to think about what it means to live a moral life. It's so good it 'll leave you wanting to change your own life, to be a better person.' Independent

'Extence keeps the twists and turns coming, full of mordant wit, until the bitter end.' Daily Mail

If you loved this, you might like these...

Improvement
The One Who Wrote Destiny
The Redeemed
When All is Said

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781473605244
Publication date: 25/01/2018
Publisher: Hodder Paperback an imprint of Hodder & Stoughton General Division
Format: Paperback

ISBN: 9781473605213
Publication date: 11/08/2016
Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton Ltd an imprint of Hodder & Stoughton General Division
Format: Hardback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781473605244
Publication date: 25th January 2018
Author: Gavin Extence
Publisher: Hodder Paperback an imprint of Hodder & Stoughton General Division
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 416 pages
Genres: eBook Favourites, Literary Fiction, Relationship Stories,
Categories: Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945),

About Gavin Extence

Gavin Extence was born in 1982 and grew up in the interestingly named village of Swineshead, Lincolnshire. From the ages of 5-11, he enjoyed a brief but illustrious career as a chess player, winning numerous national championships and travelling to Moscow and St Petersburg to pit his wits against the finest young minds in Russia. He won only one game.   Author photo © Alix Extence

More About Gavin Extence

More Books By Gavin Extence

Cover for The Empathy Problem by Gavin Extence
Cover for The Mirror World of Melody Black by Gavin Extence
Cover for The Mirror World of Melody Black by Gavin Extence
View All Books By Gavin Extence

Share this book

NEW INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE LAUNCHED!    Read More
×