newgen books for YA readers
Search our site
The Sapphire Widow by Dinah Jefferies Read the opening extract of the brand new Dinah Jefferies book before its publication on 05/04/2018

This edition has not yet been published

If available, why not choose another format from the 'Other Formats' box on the right.

The Empathy Problem by Gavin Extence
  

The Empathy Problem

Literary Fiction   eBook Favourites   Relationship Stories   
Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Literary Contemporary Facebook group Share this book

Lovereading view...

A must read if ever there was one, this is just stunning. A simple premise, yet it slams with impact, 32 year old banker Gabriel has a malignant brain tumour and six months left to live. As time ticks by Gabriel finds himself exploring entirely new thoughts and feelings… empathy has finally arrived in his life. A perfectly sharp balance is maintained between hard hitting provocative and wickedly amusing observations. Pointedly sliding through global problems and issues, this is a still a very personal, compassionate and intimate read. Gavin Extence is fast becoming one of my favourite authors, he constantly surprises, challenges and stimulates with his barbed, so beautifully readable books. I sat up reading for most of the night, and even when I had turned the last page, I didn't want to put it down. ‘The Empathy Problem’ is a very special novel indeed, one to remember, to keep forever, to read again, and again, and again. ~ Liz Robinson

Perfect for fans of Graeme Simsion's The Rosie Project and Gavin Extence's debut novel THE UNIVERSE VERSUS ALEX WOODS, comes a wild and witty, searing and true novel about life's ups and downs.

If you like Gavin Extence you might also like to read books by Tom Rob Smith, Jojo Moyes and Nathan Filer.

Synopsis

The Empathy Problem by Gavin Extence

So far in his life, Gabriel - selfish, arrogant and happy to be so - has only ever thought about two things: money and himself. When he's diagnosed with a terminal brain tumour, he doesn't see why anything should change.

But as the tumour grows, something strange starts happening. Whether Gabriel likes it or not, he's becoming . . . nicer. Kinder. A better person. And then he meets Caitlin. Before, he wouldn't even have glanced at her; now he's entranced. But real change takes time - and time is something Gabriel just doesn't have. As each day brings him closer to his last, has the one opportunity for a second chance passed him by?

Reviews

'You can't put it down . . . precise and propulsive . . . a real page-turner' Janice Forsyth Show, BBC Radio Scotland

'A very personal, compassionate and intimate read . . . I sat up reading for most of the night, and even when I had turned the last page, I didn't want to put it down' Lovereading.co.uk

Extence's quick wit and smart use of dialogue, deployed throughout an eventful plot with a varied cast of distinct characters, add a degree of levity you'd find more often in a Hollywood screenplay . . . a healthy dose of Dickens . . . Extence piles on delight after delight . . . The Empathy Problem finds a way to make us smile through our tears. Bookanista

'A brilliant book about second chances in life by Gavin Extence. I am looking forward to what he is coming up with next!' Ela's Book Corner

'A gripping look at an unlikeable character.' Psychologies

'This book is never sentimental and Extence doesn't make the mistake of having Gabriel suddenly becoming perfect but by the end he is someone you'd have as a friend. Along the way we learn the value of honesty, love, music and loyalty. As well as the joy of perfectly aimed revenge . . . ' Jane & Bex Blog

'Extence's novel is an absolute triumph, once again reiterating his skill for characterisation and voice.' Nudge books

'I absolutely loved this story... Extence has such a dry, witty style of writing.' Marie Claire

'It's funny, well observed and heartfelt without being sentimental... a lovely, engaging read that'll leave you resolving to change your own life for the better.' Winq magazine

'Another stand-out book from this outstanding author' -- Book of the Week, The Sun

'The Empathy Problem is delightful, written in a warm, engaging voice and composed of short chapters that rattle along . . . An accessible read but one that prompts you to think about what it means to live a moral life. It's so good it 'll leave you wanting to change your own life, to be a better person.' Independent

'Extence keeps the twists and turns coming, full of mordant wit, until the bitter end.' Daily Mail

About the Author

Gavin Extence

Gavin Extence was born in 1982 and grew up in the interestingly named village of Swineshead, Lincolnshire. From the ages of 5-11, he enjoyed a brief but illustrious career as a chess player, winning numerous national championships and travelling to Moscow and St Petersburg to pit his wits against the finest young minds in Russia. He won only one game.

Author photo © Alix Extence

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

25th January 2018

Author

Gavin Extence

More books by Gavin Extence
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.alexwoodsbook.co.uk/ale...

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Hodder Paperback an imprint of Hodder & Stoughton General Division

Format

Paperback
416 pages

Categories

Literary Fiction
eBook Favourites
Relationship Stories

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

ISBN

9781473605244

It has enriched my leisure time by introducing me to a world of books which I would not have previously considered.

Val Rowe

Lovereading is a world of books. It has everything you need from new to old and much loved classic books. It even give you recommendations!

Kate Thurston

Why I love @lovereadinguk? It's in the name - as dedicated lovers of reading, they are perfect matchmakers for helping me find my next read!

Catherine Jenkins

For me, to read is to learn, to reflect, to escape, to think, to contemplate and my time for space and calm.

Sally Ellsmore

Lovereading helps me decide what real people read.

Kerry Bridges

A well laid out site, I love the fact that is separates paranormal fiction from fantasy and horror, which other sites don't.

Jen Rainbow

It's a lively, independent website with reviews, recommendations and more - with a huge range of books available to buy in all formats.

Alison Layland

It's the first site that I visit when deciding on the next set of books to buy. A particular treat is being able to download an extract.

Tessa Olson

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools