Are you between 5 and 25? If so, enter the Wicked Young Writer Awards NOW - click here for details...

tudor queens series newgen books for YA readers
Search our site
Last Letter from Istanbul by Lucy Foley Read the opening extract of the brand new Lucy Foley book before its publication on 19/03/2018

Reader Reviewed
Six Tudor Queens: Anne Boleyn, A King's Obsession by Alison Weir
  

Six Tudor Queens: Anne Boleyn, A King's Obsession

Historical Fiction   Books of the Month   Historical Fiction   Literary Fiction   eBook Favourites   
Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Literary Contemporary Facebook group Share this book

Lovereading view...

January 2018 Book of the Month

We know we are in good hands when an eminent historian renowned for her non-fiction work turns her hand to fiction. Lovers of historical novels will probably have read a fair bit about Anne Boleyn and the story is well known but this author’s interpretation of the historical facts is fascinating. We start with Anne’s early teenage years in Burgundy and Paris where women’s views were respected although Anne found she was restricted and forced to do as she was told. Returning to England we learn of her sibling rivalry, manipulation and lust for power but it is six long years before she becomes queen. The author declares that Anne never loved Henry or had any interest in her daughter, which is interesting. In fact the whole sorry tale is given a fresh, lively interpretation, full of much historical colour. So however well you know the story, you are bound to enjoy this highly recommended retelling. ~ Sarah Broadhurst

If you like Alison Weir you might also like to read books by Elizabeth Freemantle, Elizabeth Chadwick and Joanna Hickson.

Reader Reviews

In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title. You can click here to read the full reviews.

  • Jan Kirkcaldy - 'A great read for anyone interested in the period and who doesn’t want a superficially glamourized version.  I couldn’t put it down and it’s the first historical novel I’ve found so enjoyable for a long time.'
  • Elisabeth Thomas - 'A must read for all historical fiction lovers...I loved every page and cannot wait to read the third book in the series!'
  • Joy Bosworth - 'This book showed a new angle which was completely fresh for me'
  • Kathy Howell - 'The quality of the writing reflects the amount of research that has gone into the book.'
  • Paul Garland - 'Alison Weir blends history and fiction in an extremely readable and enjoyable way. I was so impressed with this book that I had to buy the previous volume about Katherine of Aragon.'
  • Angie Rhodes - 'You will be swept away, and find that time stands still as you lose yourself in the Courts of King Henry VIII.'
  • Mollie Mayson-Simpson - 'This is a brilliant book, but huge, intelligent, and needing time to allow the layers to settle.'  
  • Marjorie Lacy - 'Wow! What a book and what a woman!! Alison Weir has completed a marathon of superb and informative writing.'
  • Lisa Redmond - 'Just when you think that there is nothing new to be said about the Tudors, along comes Alison Weir with her outstanding Six Tudor Queens series.'
  • Edel Waugh - 'If you love history then this makes a terrific read, the behind the scenes details of what went on in King Henry's court and the insatiable desires of a powerful man make this impossible to put down.'

Synopsis

Six Tudor Queens: Anne Boleyn, A King's Obsession by Alison Weir

Anne Boleyn: A King's Obsession by bestselling historian Alison Weir, author of Katherine of Aragon: The True Queen, is the second captivating novel in the Six Tudor Queens series.

An unforgettable portrait of the ambitious woman whose fate we know all too well, but whose true motivations may surprise you. Essential reading for fans of Philippa Gregory and Elizabeth Chadwick.

The young woman who changed the course of history.Fresh from the palaces of Burgundy and France, Anne draws attention at the English court, embracing the play of courtly love. But when the King commands, nothing is ever a game. Anne has a spirit worthy of a crown - and the crown is what she seeks. At any price.

Anne Boleyn. The second of Henry's Queens. Her story. History tells us why she died. This powerful novel shows her as she lived.

Reviews

Weir is excellent on the little details that bring a world to life Guardian

Brilliantly rich Heat

Weir's opening foray into the life of Katherine of Aragon presents Henry's first and most enduring marriage from a refreshingly new and utterly gripping perspective Lancashire Evening Post

Alison Weir brings Henry VIII's first queen to life, revealing a strong, spirited and intelligent woman fighting for her rights and those of her daughter Choice magazine

Alison ensures that we not only come away knowing more of the real Katherine, we understand more of how it felt to be her... The author really enables us to feel the claustrophobia and paranoia as Katherine tries to make decisions for her day to day life on snippets of news from her advisors - advisors she begins to realise may not be telling her the truth The Book Bag

This ambitious, engrossing novel tells Katherine's story from that moment, through her brief and controversial marriage to Prince Arthur and then to his brother, the handsome, gallant Henry VIII ... Fascinating S Magazine (Sunday Express)

The authentic voice of Katherine rings true throughout. It is a study of a woman who inspires admiration as well as sympathy ... a fitting tribute to a queen who was unduly wronged by history Lady

Known for bestselling historical biographies, Alison Weir is in command of her detail . . . her handling of Katherine's misery and dignified response to her predicament is very touching -- Elizabeth Buchan Daily Mail

This well-researched and engrossing read gives a new perspective on the long-suffering first wife Good Housekeeping

Captivating... The way that Katherine comes alive on the page is credit to the author who has such a breadth of knowledge about this Tudor period that it's a real pleasure to read her fictional work Jaffareadstoo Blog

Alison Weir clearly admires her heroine ... meticulously researched The Times

About the Author

Alison Weir

Alison Weir is the top-selling female historian (and the fifth bestselling historian overall) in the United Kingdom, and has sold over 2.7 million books worldwide. She is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Arts and Sciences and an Honorary Life Patron of Historic Royal Palaces, and is married with two adult children. Anne Boleyn is the second in the Six Tudor Queens series of novels about the wives of Henry VIII, which began with Katherine of Aragon: The True Queen - a Sunday Times Top Ten bestseller.

Author photo © Miklos Csepely-Knorr

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

11th January 2018

Author

Alison Weir

More books by Alison Weir
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.alisonweir.org.uk/

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Headline Review an imprint of Headline Publishing Group

Format

Paperback
544 pages

Categories

Historical Fiction
Books of the Month
Historical Fiction
Literary Fiction
eBook Favourites

Historical fiction

ISBN

9781472227669

I love that Lovereading handpicks very special debut reads.

Magda North

Lovereading is an amazing place to be, the website is wonderful and to me if I'm sad I'll go here and it cheers me up!

Sophia Upton

Because of Lovereading I have broadened my reading horizons with some really great books that I probably would never have chosen myself.

Susan Walsh

For me, to read is to learn, to reflect, to escape, to think, to contemplate and my time for space and calm.

Sally Ellsmore

With literary excellence, humour and drama, Lovereading's got value and is a real stress-calmer!

Siobhan McDowell

If you LOVE reading then you will love LOVEREADING! It's a 'novel' idea. Seriously though I could not recommend them enough.

Rebecca Whymark

It is a website dedicated to those who adore reading It really is a one stop shop for book lovers. Love it!

Edel Waugh

Lovereading are lovely people who send me lovely books. What's not to love?

Gavin Dimmock

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools