when i was invisible second sister rebus 30th anniversary desmond elliott 2017 join us on facebook
Search our site
Lily and the Octopus by Steven Rowley Read the opening extract of the brand new Steven Rowley book before its publication on 05/10/2017

This edition has not yet been published

If available, why not choose another format from the 'Other Formats' box on the right.

Reader Reviewed
The Cutaway The gripping thriller set in the explosive world of Washington's TV news by Christina Kovac
  

The Cutaway The gripping thriller set in the explosive world of Washington's TV news

Thriller / Suspense   

RRP £7.99

Notify me
when available

As soon as this book is published
we will send you an email.

Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Crime/Mystery/Thriller Facebook group Share this book

Lovereading view...

A compelling and stylish psychological thriller from a fine new voice in crime fiction. Indomitable Virginia Knightly is a TV producer with a self-confessed attraction to the “unknowable”, which is how she comes to investigate the disappearance of thirty-year-old Evelyn Carney, a first year associate at a law firm with “ambition and a powerful appeal to men”. Evelyn vanished after walking out on her husband in a Washington restaurant and, while he seems to believe that she’s simply left him for someone else, this doesn’t add up. Why, for example, is Evelyn's case being handled by the C.I.D.? While dealing with complications in her personal life, Virginia’s hunger for the “unknowable” leads into career (and life) threatening danger when she uncovers a tangle of corruption among the elite of Washington’s politicians, press and police.

The author’s insider knowledge as a former crime and politics broadcast producer runs through the whole novel, infusing it with a deep sense of authenticity, and Kovac clearly has a flair for crafting characters you want to know more about. ~ Joanne Owen

Reader Reviews

In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title. You can click here to read the full reviews.

  • Jan Kirkcaldy - 'So many twists and turns kept you alert to who you could believe and who you couldn’t. Nothing was predictable from start to finish.  I enjoyed it, maybe more than most, because so much rang true.'
  • Jennifer Moville - 'I loved this book although sometimes it had me gripped to the arm of the chair as I put myself into the role of the characters in the book - one I will definitely read again.'
  • Samantha Lewis - 'This was a fantastic read - I thoroughly enjoyed the story and pace of the book...Would definitely recommend and will be looking out for the authors next books!'
  • Angie Rhodes - 'The Cutaway starts off with a missing woman and becomes something else.'
  • Phylippa Smithson - 'Good thriller, not the most compelling, but different approach as the investigator is a journalist not police detective.'
  • Nicki Southwell - 'This action packed thriller will keep you riveted until the end.'
  • Janet Gilliard - 'I really enjoyed this well written page turning debut and look forward to Christina Kovac next novel.'
  • Debbie Patrick - 'The Cutaway draws you into the tangled world of corruption and cover-up...perfect for fans of Paula Hawkins and Gillian Flynn.'
  • Janet Monks - 'A woman goes missing in the heart of Washington and TV producer Virginia endeavours to find out the truth.'

Win a Limited Edition book proof of a Karin Slaughter thriller

We have 50 Limited Edition book proofs to give away of The Good Daughter, the stunning new standalone thriller, with a chilling edge of psychological suspense, from the No. 1 bestselling author Karin Slaughter. This is what our editorial expert said about it - ‘The Good Daughter’ is a breathtaking whammy of a read, pure escapism at its best, and I can highly recommend it! ~ Liz Robinson

To have a chance of winning this fantastic prize, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once.

The draw closes on 30 September 2017. The winners will be notified by 13 October 2017.

Good luck!

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 30/09/2017

Synopsis

The Cutaway The gripping thriller set in the explosive world of Washington's TV news by Christina Kovac

It begins with someone else's story. The story of a woman who leaves a busy restaurant and disappears completely into the chilly spring night. Evelyn Carney is missing - but where did she go? Who was she meeting? And why did she take a weapon with her when she went? When brilliant TV producer Virginia Knightley finds Evelyn's missing person report on her desk, she becomes obsessed with finding out what happened that night. But her pursuit of the truth draws her deep into the power struggles and lies of Washington DC's elite - to face old demons and new enemies. A slick, gripping thriller that moves at the pace of breaking news, The Cutaway will keep your heart hammering until the final page.

About the Author

Christina Kovac

Christina Kovac worked for seventeen years managing Washington, DC newsrooms and producing crime and political stories in the District. Her career as television journalist began with Fox Five's Ten O'Clock News, and after that, the ABC affiliate in Washington. For the last nine years, she worked at NBC News, where she worked for Tim Russert and provided news coverage for Meet the Press, the Today show, Nightly News, and others. Christina Kovac lives with her family outside of Washington, DC. The Cutaway is her first novel.

Author photo © Tina Krohn

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

24th August 2017

Author

Christina Kovac

More books by Christina Kovac
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.christinakovac.com/

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Serpent's Tail an imprint of Profile Books Ltd

Format

Paperback
320 pages

Categories

Thriller / Suspense

Crime & mystery

ISBN

9781781258842

With literary excellence, humour and drama, Lovereading's got value and is a real stress-calmer!

Siobhan McDowell

Lovereading has given me the opportunity to delve into new and exciting worlds of authors who I would never have tried before.

Glynis Elliott

Lovereading always comes up with great suggestions and has introduced me to enjoyable books and new authors to discover.

Gaynor Passmore

I love that Lovereading handpicks very special debut reads.

Magda North

Thanks to Lovereading I have discovered new writers and read books I would never had looked twice at - and enjoyed them.

Angela Rhodes

Lovereading is a world of books. It has everything you need from new to old and much loved classic books. It even give you recommendations!

Kate Thurston

Lovereading does a stella job in promoting both new and established authors.

Iris Clements

Why I love @lovereadinguk? It's in the name - as dedicated lovers of reading, they are perfect matchmakers for helping me find my next read!

Catherine Jenkins

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools