Are you between 5 and 25? If so, enter the Wicked Young Writer Awards NOW - click here for details...

tudor queens series
Search our site
Last Letter from Istanbul by Lucy Foley Read the opening extract of the brand new Lucy Foley book before its publication on 19/03/2018

Reader Reviewed
The Cutaway The gripping thriller set in the explosive world of Washington's TV news by Christina Kovac
  

The Cutaway The gripping thriller set in the explosive world of Washington's TV news

Thriller / Suspense   eBook Favourites   
Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Crime/Mystery/Thriller Facebook group Share this book

Lovereading view...

A compelling and stylish psychological thriller from a fine new voice in crime fiction. Indomitable Virginia Knightly is a TV producer with a self-confessed attraction to the “unknowable”, which is how she comes to investigate the disappearance of thirty-year-old Evelyn Carney, a first year associate at a law firm with “ambition and a powerful appeal to men”. Evelyn vanished after walking out on her husband in a Washington restaurant and, while he seems to believe that she’s simply left him for someone else, this doesn’t add up. Why, for example, is Evelyn's case being handled by the C.I.D.? While dealing with complications in her personal life, Virginia’s hunger for the “unknowable” leads into career (and life) threatening danger when she uncovers a tangle of corruption among the elite of Washington’s politicians, press and police.

The author’s insider knowledge as a former crime and politics broadcast producer runs through the whole novel, infusing it with a deep sense of authenticity, and Kovac clearly has a flair for crafting characters you want to know more about. ~ Joanne Owen

Reader Reviews

In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title. You can click here to read the full reviews.

  • Jan Kirkcaldy - 'So many twists and turns kept you alert to who you could believe and who you couldn’t. Nothing was predictable from start to finish.  I enjoyed it, maybe more than most, because so much rang true.'
  • Jennifer Moville - 'I loved this book although sometimes it had me gripped to the arm of the chair as I put myself into the role of the characters in the book - one I will definitely read again.'
  • Samantha Lewis - 'This was a fantastic read - I thoroughly enjoyed the story and pace of the book...Would definitely recommend and will be looking out for the authors next books!'
  • Angie Rhodes - 'The Cutaway starts off with a missing woman and becomes something else.'
  • Phylippa Smithson - 'Good thriller, not the most compelling, but different approach as the investigator is a journalist not police detective.'
  • Nicki Southwell - 'This action packed thriller will keep you riveted until the end.'
  • Janet Gilliard - 'I really enjoyed this well written page turning debut and look forward to Christina Kovac next novel.'
  • Debbie Patrick - 'The Cutaway draws you into the tangled world of corruption and cover-up...perfect for fans of Paula Hawkins and Gillian Flynn.'
  • Janet Monks - 'A woman goes missing in the heart of Washington and TV producer Virginia endeavours to find out the truth.'

Synopsis

The Cutaway The gripping thriller set in the explosive world of Washington's TV news by Christina Kovac

It begins with someone else's story. The story of a woman who leaves a busy restaurant and disappears completely into the chilly spring night. Evelyn Carney is missing - but where did she go? Who was she meeting? And why did she take a weapon with her when she went? When brilliant TV producer Virginia Knightley finds Evelyn's missing person report on her desk, she becomes obsessed with finding out what happened that night. But her pursuit of the truth draws her deep into the power struggles and lies of Washington DC's elite - to face old demons and new enemies. A slick, gripping thriller that moves at the pace of breaking news, The Cutaway will keep your heart hammering until the final page.

About the Author

Christina Kovac

Christina Kovac worked for seventeen years managing Washington, DC newsrooms and producing crime and political stories in the District. Her career as television journalist began with Fox Five's Ten O'Clock News, and after that, the ABC affiliate in Washington. For the last nine years, she worked at NBC News, where she worked for Tim Russert and provided news coverage for Meet the Press, the Today show, Nightly News, and others. Christina Kovac lives with her family outside of Washington, DC. The Cutaway is her first novel.

Author photo © Tina Krohn

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

24th August 2017

Author

Christina Kovac

More books by Christina Kovac
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.christinakovac.com/

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Serpent's Tail an imprint of Profile Books Ltd

Format

Paperback
320 pages

Categories

Thriller / Suspense
eBook Favourites

Crime & mystery

ISBN

9781781258842

They are bright, breezy and eager to offer a great book, then genuinely listen/respect the review one writes.

Maggie Crane

Love books. Love reading. Love reading books. And, here's the trick. Here's a website which caters for people like me.

Ian Harvey-brown

I love the honest opinions, recommendations for every genre and every reader, wish lists and Like for Like.

Amrita Dasgupta

Lovereading are lovely people who send me lovely books. What's not to love?

Gavin Dimmock

I love the 'like for like' author recommendations, it's like an old friend whispering in your ear.

Emma Caddick

You'll always find what you never knew you were looking for and you're always spoilt for choice.

Helen Jones

Lovereading is not only an amazing site, but it's one of my very favourites. It's like visiting a fascinating bookstore, but better.

Rebecca Jayne Barrett

The selections are so varied and the reader reviews are so helpful. A fantastic website for those who love books.

Ann Quintilla

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools