The Secret of Summerhayes

by Meryn Allingham

eBooks of the Month Historical Fiction

LoveReading View on The Secret of Summerhayes

Summer 1944: Bombed out by the blitz, Bethany Merston takes up a post as companion to elderly Alice Summer, last remaining inhabitant of the dilapidated and crumbling Summerhayes estate. Now a shadow of its former glory; most of the rooms have been shut up, the garden is overgrown and the whole place feels as unwelcoming as the family themselves. Struggling with the realities of war, Alice is plagued by anonymous letters and haunting visions of her old household. At first, Beth tries to convince her it's all in her mind but soon starts to unravel the mysteries surrounding the aristocratic family's past.

The Secret of Summerhayes Synopsis

A war-torn summer A house fallen into ruin A family broken apart by scandal...An evocative and captivating tale, The Secret of Summerhayes tells of dark secrets, almost-forgotten scandals and a household teetering on the edge of ruin.

Win a copy of An Orphan's War!

Win a copy of An Orphan's War!

Closing date: 24/05/2018

Molly Green is back this spring, with the perfect read for fans of 'Call The Midwife' and 'Grantchester'. Celebrating Molly Green's newest release 'An Orphan's War' we are giving away 10 copies of this book to TEN lucky winners. War rages, but the women and children of Liverpool's Dr Barnado's Home cannot give up hope. An Orphan's War is a gripping saga about love, loss and war.   To have a chance of winning one of these fantastic prizes, click the button below. Please note that the draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. The draw closes on 24 May 2018. The Winners will be notified by 4 June 2018. Good luck!

Enter Now

If you loved this, you might like these...

A Sacred Storm
The Last Hours
Queen of the North
Her Hidden Life

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9780008193850
Publication date: 27/07/2017
Publisher: Mira an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9780008193850
Publication date: 27th July 2017
Author: Meryn Allingham
Publisher: Mira an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 350 pages
Genres: eBook Favourites, Historical Fiction,
Categories: Historical fiction, Sagas,

About Meryn Allingham

Merryn Allingham was born into an army family and spent her childhood moving around the UK and abroad. Unsurprisingly it gave her itchy feet and in her twenties she escaped from an unloved secretarial career to work as cabin crew and see the world. Merryn loves history and in 2014 published her first historical suspense trilogy, Daisy's War, set in India and wartime England in the 1930s/1940s. All three novels are now available - The Girl from Cobb Street, The Nurse's War and Daisy's Long Road Home.

More About Meryn Allingham

Share this book