reading groups granchester book price comparison finding gobi second sister
Search our site
Blue Light Yokohama by Nicolas Obregon Read the opening extract of the brand new Nicolas Obregon book before its publication on 18/09/2017

Reader Reviewed
Where Dead Men Meet by Mark Mills
  

Where Dead Men Meet

Thriller / Suspense   Action Adventure / Spy   Books for the Boys   Crime / Mystery   Historical Fiction   If You Like...You'll Love   Literary Fiction   Summer Reading   eBook Favourites   

RRP £8.99

Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Crime/Mystery/Thriller Facebook group Share this book

Lovereading view...

Absolutely thrilling… this is a fast-paced, firecracker of a read, set in Europe as the Second World War is brewing. Why is Luke Hamilton, intelligence officer at the British Embassy in Paris the target of an assassination attempt? As Luke tries to outrun his pursuers he begins to uncover the secret of his past. The words set the action so clearly in my mind, it didn't feel as though I was looking back in time, it actually felt as though I was there. Mark Mills allows you more knowledge than the characters, consequently, the tension skyrockets as the story constantly accelerates forward. An artful balance is maintained, at no point does this feel out of control as there are moments of stillness, of contemplation and anticipation. I reached the end and felt very satisfied indeed, ‘Where Dead Men Meet’ just begs to be continued as a series, please say it will be, please! ~ Liz Robinson

If you like Mark Mills you might also like to read books by Robert Goddard, Sarah Rayne and Carlos Ruiz Zafon.

Reader Reviews

In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title. You can click here to read the full reviews.

  • Rebecca Cockeram - 'A fast paced tale of espionage and adventure, really evoking the feel of pre-war Europe. Absolute page turner.'
  • Edel Waugh - 'It had everything, from people on the run, spies, and the uncertainty of war, a good back story and very satisfying conclusion. What more could you want! Go read this!
  • Mrs D. Forbes-Ritte - 'I found this a really enjoyable read with an engaging historical backdrop and would highly recommend you give it a go.'
  • Alfred Nobile - 'This is worthwhile read, the writing is excellent and it keeps the reader turning the pages.'
  • Emily Curnow - 'A fast paced novel of mistaken identity, mystery, murder and passion, played out in a back drop of pre-war Europe. You will keep reading until the very last page to reveal the final secrets.'
  • Dana Captainino - 'This is a book of intrigue, secrets and murder which draws you in from the first evocative line.'
  • Phylippa Smithson - 'an engaging, face paced read.  A perfect choice if you are looking for an easy yet entertaining thriller.'  
  • Angie Rhodes - 'Full of secrets, lies, and espionage, this novel is ideal to curl up with for anyone who likes adventure.'
  • Jan Kirkcaldy - 'A good tale which kept my interest throughout despite not being the sort of book I would normally choose.  It had a realism to it that made it all seem possible including some very unpleasant characters!'
  • Humaira - 'I loved every word of it. It kept me on edge and guessing. Compelling and adventurous. Read this book!'
  • Evelyn Barrett - 'Mark Mills is such a great storyteller... Engaging characters, fluid style and heart-stopping action, this was a very enjoyable read.'
  • Judith Sharp - I found myself liking the characters and routing for them to succeed.  I could have read it in a couple of sessions if I had been able to, such was it’s hold.'
  • Glenda Worth - 'The story is fast paced and gritty, descriptions of places are vivid and thought provoking, almost reads like a Bond film in places.'
  • Jocelyn F Garvey - 'Full of details of pre-war Europe, old boundaries, espionage and loyalties. This is really well written, just enough information to keep you turning the pages.'
  • Victoria Emerson - 'a thoroughly enjoyable thriller involving a chase across Europe and set during World War II. A real page turner.'
  • Gerri Tennant - 'Great potential which doesn't seem to materialise.'
  • Sue Mooney - 'A really good read. Pleasantly surprised and wanted more!'

Win a Limited Edition book proof of a Karin Slaughter thriller

We have 50 Limited Edition book proofs to give away of The Good Daughter, the stunning new standalone thriller, with a chilling edge of psychological suspense, from the No. 1 bestselling author Karin Slaughter. This is what our editorial expert said about it - ‘The Good Daughter’ is a breathtaking whammy of a read, pure escapism at its best, and I can highly recommend it! ~ Liz Robinson

To have a chance of winning this fantastic prize, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once.

The draw closes on 30 September 2017. The winners will be notified by 13 October 2017.

Good luck!

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 30/09/2017

Synopsis

Where Dead Men Meet by Mark Mills

A return to the period adventure thriller in WHERE DEAD MEN MEET re-establishes Mark Mills as: 'A master storyteller' Val McDermid. For fans of William Boyd, Charles Cumming or Robert Harris Paris, 1937. Luke Hamilton - a junior air intelligence officer at the British Embassy - finds himself the target of an assassination attempt. A clear case of mistaken identity, or so it first appears. As Luke is hunted across a continent sliding towards war, he comes to learn that the answers lie deep in a past that predates his abandonment as a baby on the steps of an orphanage twenty-five years ago. From the author of the bestselling THE SAVAGE GARDEN, and set against a terrific backdrop of Europe on the cusp of the Second World War, this is a compelling novel, rich in adventure, espionage, secrets and lies.

Reviews

'Reminiscent of Eric Ambler's brilliant thrillers... Where Dead Men Meet is a well-told, exciting story' The Sunday Times

'Mills keeps the pages turning' Belfast Telegraph

'Secrets, lies and nail-biting moments feature in the fine storytelling' Choice

'Elegantly plotted... superb period drama' The Sunday Mirror

'Handling the twists and turns of his plot with cool dexterity' Daily Mail

'WHERE DEAD MEN MEET is a grand adventure, in the tradition of Graham Greene's 'entertainments, and John Buchan's before that - a sweeping race through Europe for the highest possible stakes, in the year before the Anschluss. Here's hoping it's only the first of many exploits for Luke and Pippi -- Joseph Finder, New York Times bestselling author of PARANOIA and THE SWITCH

'Believable characters, a richly detailed historical setting, and a story that keeps the reader's attention glued until the final page' Library Journal

About the Author

Mark Mills

Mark Mills graduated from Cambridge University in 1986. He has lived in both Italy and France, and has written for the screen. His first novel, The Whaleboat House, won the 2004 Crime Writers' Association Award for Best Novel by a debut author. His second, The Savage Garden, was a Richard and Judy Summer Read and a No. 1 bestseller. Under the name Mark B. Mills, he has written the comic novel, Waiting for Doggo. He lives near Oxford with his wife and two children.

Photograph © Willow and Pea Portraits

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

13th July 2017

Author

Mark Mills

More books by Mark Mills
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.markmills.org.uk/

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Headline Review an imprint of Headline Publishing Group

Format

Paperback
448 pages

Categories

Thriller / Suspense
Action Adventure / Spy
Books for the Boys
Crime / Mystery
Historical Fiction
If You Like...You'll Love
Literary Fiction
Summer Reading
eBook Favourites

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

ISBN

9780755392384

Because of Lovereading I have broadened my reading horizons with some really great books that I probably would never have chosen myself.

Susan Walsh

It gives a chance to read about new titles, invites comments from all kinds of readers and is run by such a nice bunch of book lovers.

Joy Bosworth

Hooked on books? Give Lovereading a go - for the chance to discover brilliant books, and to see why our members love it so.

Claire Hill

If you love reading, then you'll love Lovereading! Full of tips & info for every discerning reader.

Lynne Rapson

I read new, exciting writers and established authors before publication and there is a great website full of brilliant books and opinions.

Lynda

I love Lovereading because I get to read great books and then get to tell everybody how good they are.

Sally Doel

Lovereading is not only an amazing site, but it's one of my very favourites. It's like visiting a fascinating bookstore, but better.

Rebecca Jayne Barrett

Books of the month/debuts of the month, kids/adults, fiction/non-fiction, free prize draws and free extracts, what's not to love?

Emma Smith

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools