LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Where Dead Men Meet

by Mark Mills

Action / Adventure / Spy / Espionage Books with reviews by our Reader Review Panel Crime / Mystery eBooks of the Month Historical Fiction Modern and Contemporary Fiction Thriller and Suspense

LoveReading View on Where Dead Men Meet

Absolutely thrilling… this is a fast-paced, firecracker of a read, set in Europe as the Second World War is brewing. Why is Luke Hamilton, intelligence officer at the British Embassy in Paris the target of an assassination attempt? As Luke tries to outrun his pursuers he begins to uncover the secret of his past. The words set the action so clearly in my mind, it didn't feel as though I was looking back in time, it actually felt as though I was there. Mark Mills allows you more knowledge than the characters, consequently, the tension skyrockets as the story constantly accelerates forward. An artful balance is maintained, at no point does this feel out of control as there are moments of stillness, of contemplation and anticipation. I reached the end and felt very satisfied indeed, ‘Where Dead Men Meet’ just begs to be continued as a series, please say it will be, please! ~ Liz Robinson

Liz Robinson

Where Dead Men Meet Synopsis

A return to the period adventure thriller in WHERE DEAD MEN MEET re-establishes Mark Mills as: 'A master storyteller' Val McDermid. For fans of William Boyd, Charles Cumming or Robert Harris Paris, 1937. Luke Hamilton - a junior air intelligence officer at the British Embassy - finds himself the target of an assassination attempt. A clear case of mistaken identity, or so it first appears. As Luke is hunted across a continent sliding towards war, he comes to learn that the answers lie deep in a past that predates his abandonment as a baby on the steps of an orphanage twenty-five years ago. From the author of the bestselling THE SAVAGE GARDEN, and set against a terrific backdrop of Europe on the cusp of the Second World War, this is a compelling novel, rich in adventure, espionage, secrets and lies.

Win an Epic Crime Fiction Bundle from Orenda!

Win an Epic Crime Fiction Bundle from Orenda!

Closing date: 30/11/2020

We have a brilliant selection of crime fiction books up for grabs from Orenda! This brilliant prize includes some of their latest releases over the next 3 months and would be the perfect head start on the holiday shopping or an early Christmas present to yourself! Books included in the bundle will be: A Song of Isolation by Michael J. Malone - published 17/09/2020 The Seven Doors by Agnes Ravatn - Published 17/09/2020 The Creak on the Stairs by Eva Bjoerg AEgisdottir - published 01/10/2020 Betrayal by Lilja Sigurdardottir - published 01/10/2020 The Coral Bride by Roxanne Bouchard- published 12/11/2020 Fallen Angels by Gunnar Staalesen - published 12/11/2020 This draw is open only for UK residents currently in the UK and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. The draw closes on 30th November 2020. The winners will be notified as soon as possible.

Enter Now

Where Dead Men Meet Reader Reviews

In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title. You can click here to read the full reviews.

  • Rebecca Cockeram - 'A fast paced tale of espionage and adventure, really evoking the feel of pre-war Europe. Absolute page turner.'
  • Edel Waugh - 'It had everything, from people on the run, spies, and the uncertainty of war, a good back story and very satisfying conclusion. What more could you want! Go read this!
  • Mrs D. Forbes-Ritte - 'I found this a really enjoyable read with an engaging historical backdrop and would highly recommend you give it a go.'
  • Alfred Nobile - 'This is worthwhile read, the writing is excellent and it keeps the reader turning the pages.'
  • Emily Curnow - 'A fast paced novel of mistaken identity, mystery, murder and passion, played out in a back drop of pre-war Europe. You will keep reading until the very last page to reveal the final secrets.'
  • Dana Captainino - 'This is a book of intrigue, secrets and murder which draws you in from the first evocative line.'
  • Phylippa Smithson - 'an engaging, face paced read.  A perfect choice if you are looking for an easy yet entertaining thriller.'  
  • Angie Rhodes - 'Full of secrets, lies, and espionage, this novel is ideal to curl up with for anyone who likes adventure.'
  • Jan Kirkcaldy - 'A good tale which kept my interest throughout despite not being the sort of book I would normally choose.  It had a realism to it that made it all seem possible including some very unpleasant characters!'
  • Humaira - 'I loved every word of it. It kept me on edge and guessing. Compelling and adventurous. Read this book!'
  • Evelyn Barrett - 'Mark Mills is such a great storyteller... Engaging characters, fluid style and heart-stopping action, this was a very enjoyable read.'
  • Judith Sharp - I found myself liking the characters and routing for them to succeed.  I could have read it in a couple of sessions if I had been able to, such was it’s hold.'
  • Glenda Worth - 'The story is fast paced and gritty, descriptions of places are vivid and thought provoking, almost reads like a Bond film in places.'
  • Jocelyn F Garvey - 'Full of details of pre-war Europe, old boundaries, espionage and loyalties. This is really well written, just enough information to keep you turning the pages.'
  • Victoria Emerson - 'a thoroughly enjoyable thriller involving a chase across Europe and set during World War II. A real page turner.'
  • Gerri Tennant - 'Great potential which doesn't seem to materialise.'
  • Sue Mooney - 'A really good read. Pleasantly surprised and wanted more!'

Where Dead Men Meet Press Reviews

'Reminiscent of Eric Ambler's brilliant thrillers... Where Dead Men Meet is a well-told, exciting story' The Sunday Times

'Mills keeps the pages turning' Belfast Telegraph

'Secrets, lies and nail-biting moments feature in the fine storytelling' Choice

'Elegantly plotted... superb period drama' The Sunday Mirror

'Handling the twists and turns of his plot with cool dexterity' Daily Mail

'WHERE DEAD MEN MEET is a grand adventure, in the tradition of Graham Greene's 'entertainments, and John Buchan's before that - a sweeping race through Europe for the highest possible stakes, in the year before the Anschluss. Here's hoping it's only the first of many exploits for Luke and Pippi -- Joseph Finder, New York Times bestselling author of PARANOIA and THE SWITCH

'Believable characters, a richly detailed historical setting, and a story that keeps the reader's attention glued until the final page' Library Journal

If you loved this, you might like these...

V2
The Guest List
The Temple House Vanishing
The Dirty South Witness

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9780755392384
Publication date: 13/07/2017
Publisher: Headline Review an imprint of Headline Publishing Group
Format: Paperback

ISBN: 9780755392353
Publication date: 17/11/2016
Publisher: Headline Review an imprint of Headline Publishing Group
Format: Hardback

Book Information

ISBN: 9780755392384
Publication date: 13th July 2017
Author: Mark Mills
Publisher: Headline Review an imprint of Headline Publishing Group
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 448 pages
Genres: Action Adventure / Spy, Reader Reviewed Books, Crime / Mystery, eBook Favourites, Historical Fiction, Modern and Contemporary Fiction, Thriller / Suspense,
Categories: Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945),

About Mark Mills

Mark Mills graduated from Cambridge University in 1986. He has lived in both Italy and France, and has written for the screen. His first novel, The Whaleboat House, won the 2004 Crime Writers' Association Award for Best Novel by a debut author. His second, The Savage Garden, was a Richard and Judy Summer Read and a No. 1 bestseller. Under the name Mark B. Mills, he has written the comic novel, Waiting for Doggo. He lives near Oxford with his wife and two children. Photograph © Willow and Pea Portraits

More About Mark Mills

More Books By Mark Mills

Cover for Where Dead Men Meet by Mark Mills
Cover for The Long Shadow by Mark Mills
Cover for The Long Shadow by Mark Mills
View All Books By Mark Mills

Share this book