The Shadow of What Was Lost

by James Islington

Part of the Licanius Trilogy Series

Fantasy

The Shadow of What Was Lost Synopsis

OLD POWERS AWAKEN It has been twenty years since the god-like Augurs were overthrown and killed. Now, those who once served them - the Gifted - are spared only because they have accepted the rebellion's Four Tenets, vastly limiting their own powers. As a young Gifted, Davian suffers the consequences of a war lost before he was even born. He and his friends are despised beyond their school walls for the magical power they wield: a power that Davian, despite his best efforts, cannot seem to control. Worse, with his final test approaching and the consequences of failure severe, time to overcome his struggles is fast running out. But when Davian discovers he wields the forbidden power of the Augurs, he unwittingly sets in motion a chain of events that will change his life - and shake the entire world.

The Shadow of What Was Lost Press Reviews

'Storytelling assurance rare for a debut ... Fans of Robert Jordan and Brandon Sanderson will find much to admire' -- GUARDIAN

'So exciting ... Will appeal not only to The Wheel of Time readers, but to anybody looking for a coming-of-age fantasy tale with likeable characters and strong worldbuilding' -- FANTASY FACTION

'A traditional coming-of-age, saving-the-world epic fantasy in the vein of Tad Williams, Raymond E. Feist (and yes, Robert Jordan). But it also has the flavour of something new ... You'll be left wanting more' -- SFX

'Action aplenty and an ample spattering of violence ... This is a whole new world with a fresh fantasy streak' -- SCIFINOW

'A relentless juggernaut of a book ... Astoundingly intricate worldbuilding' -- DAILY MAIL

'Wonderful worldbuilding and terrific characters' -- BOINGBOING

If you loved this, you might like these...

Annex
The Bloodprint
Lud-In-The-Mist
Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets - Slytherin Edition

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9780356507774
Publication date: 11/05/2017
Publisher:
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9780356507774
Publication date: 11th May 2017
Author: James Islington
Publisher:
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 736 pages
Genres: Fantasy,
Categories: Fantasy,

About James Islington

James Islington was born and raised in southern Victoria, Australia. An avid fantasy reader for many years, it was only when he read Brandon Sanderson's Mistborn series that he was finally inspired to write something of his own. He now lives with his wife and daughter on the Mornington Peninsula in Victoria.

More About James Islington

Share this book