book price comparison
Search our site
The Heart of Mars by Paul Magrs Read the opening extract of the brand new Paul Magrs book before its publication on 15/03/2018

The Shadow of What Was Lost by James Islington

The Shadow of What Was Lost

Part of the Licanius Trilogy Series
Fantasy   eBook Favourites   

Lovereading view...

From the publisher of the Wheel of Time comes a debut fantasy blockbuster in that same grand tradition, from a bright new talent set to become a major force in the genre


The Shadow of What Was Lost by James Islington

OLD POWERS AWAKEN It has been twenty years since the god-like Augurs were overthrown and killed. Now, those who once served them - the Gifted - are spared only because they have accepted the rebellion's Four Tenets, vastly limiting their own powers. As a young Gifted, Davian suffers the consequences of a war lost before he was even born. He and his friends are despised beyond their school walls for the magical power they wield: a power that Davian, despite his best efforts, cannot seem to control. Worse, with his final test approaching and the consequences of failure severe, time to overcome his struggles is fast running out. But when Davian discovers he wields the forbidden power of the Augurs, he unwittingly sets in motion a chain of events that will change his life - and shake the entire world.


'Storytelling assurance rare for a debut ... Fans of Robert Jordan and Brandon Sanderson will find much to admire' -- GUARDIAN

'So exciting ... Will appeal not only to The Wheel of Time readers, but to anybody looking for a coming-of-age fantasy tale with likeable characters and strong worldbuilding' -- FANTASY FACTION

'A traditional coming-of-age, saving-the-world epic fantasy in the vein of Tad Williams, Raymond E. Feist (and yes, Robert Jordan). But it also has the flavour of something new ... You'll be left wanting more' -- SFX

'Action aplenty and an ample spattering of violence ... This is a whole new world with a fresh fantasy streak' -- SCIFINOW

'A relentless juggernaut of a book ... Astoundingly intricate worldbuilding' -- DAILY MAIL

'Wonderful worldbuilding and terrific characters' -- BOINGBOING

About the Author

James Islington was born and raised in southern Victoria, Australia. An avid fantasy reader for many years, it was only when he read Brandon Sanderson's Mistborn series that he was finally inspired to write something of his own. He now lives with his wife and daughter on the Mornington Peninsula in Victoria.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

11th May 2017


James Islington

More books by James Islington
Author 'Like for Like'


Orbit an imprint of Little, Brown Book Group


736 pages


eBook Favourites




Insightful reader reviews and unbiased recommendations. I don't know how I chose books before Lovereading! An essential for all book lovers.

Sarah Harper

Lovereading is an amazing place to be, the website is wonderful and to me if I'm sad I'll go here and it cheers me up!

Sophia Upton

I 'Lovereading' because it lets me see what new books are around with a detailed synopsis and readers' reviews.

Judith Sharp

Thanks to Lovereading I have discovered new writers and read books I would never had looked twice at - and enjoyed them.

Angela Rhodes

Lovereading is not only an amazing site, but it's one of my very favourites. It's like visiting a fascinating bookstore, but better.

Rebecca Jayne Barrett

I love reading books I wouldn't normally choose before everyone else gets to read them!

Dawn Lynch

I love Lovereading because of its ability to connect people that love books & unite them in a friendly, stimulating & interesting community.

Megan Olwen William

You can trust Lovereading to show unbiased reviews by actual, ordinary readers that help likeminded booklovers choose their next great read.

Linda Hill