win prizes twitter
Search our site
Are You Sleeping by Kathleen Barber Read the opening extract of the brand new Kathleen Barber book before its publication on 27/12/2017

The Shadow of What Was Lost by James Islington
  

The Shadow of What Was Lost

Part of the Licanius Trilogy Series
Fantasy   eBook Favourites   eBook Favourites   

Lovereading view...

From the publisher of the Wheel of Time comes a debut fantasy blockbuster in that same grand tradition, from a bright new talent set to become a major force in the genre

Synopsis

The Shadow of What Was Lost by James Islington

OLD POWERS AWAKEN It has been twenty years since the god-like Augurs were overthrown and killed. Now, those who once served them - the Gifted - are spared only because they have accepted the rebellion's Four Tenets, vastly limiting their own powers. As a young Gifted, Davian suffers the consequences of a war lost before he was even born. He and his friends are despised beyond their school walls for the magical power they wield: a power that Davian, despite his best efforts, cannot seem to control. Worse, with his final test approaching and the consequences of failure severe, time to overcome his struggles is fast running out. But when Davian discovers he wields the forbidden power of the Augurs, he unwittingly sets in motion a chain of events that will change his life - and shake the entire world.

Reviews

'Storytelling assurance rare for a debut ... Fans of Robert Jordan and Brandon Sanderson will find much to admire' -- GUARDIAN

'So exciting ... Will appeal not only to The Wheel of Time readers, but to anybody looking for a coming-of-age fantasy tale with likeable characters and strong worldbuilding' -- FANTASY FACTION

'A traditional coming-of-age, saving-the-world epic fantasy in the vein of Tad Williams, Raymond E. Feist (and yes, Robert Jordan). But it also has the flavour of something new ... You'll be left wanting more' -- SFX

'Action aplenty and an ample spattering of violence ... This is a whole new world with a fresh fantasy streak' -- SCIFINOW

'A relentless juggernaut of a book ... Astoundingly intricate worldbuilding' -- DAILY MAIL

'Wonderful worldbuilding and terrific characters' -- BOINGBOING

About the Author

James Islington was born and raised in southern Victoria, Australia. An avid fantasy reader for many years, it was only when he read Brandon Sanderson's Mistborn series that he was finally inspired to write something of his own. He now lives with his wife and daughter on the Mornington Peninsula in Victoria.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

11th May 2017

Author

James Islington

More books by James Islington
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Publisher

Orbit an imprint of Little, Brown Book Group

Format

Paperback
736 pages

Categories

Fantasy
eBook Favourites
eBook Favourites

Fantasy

ISBN

9780356507774

Love books. Love reading. Love reading books. And, here's the trick. Here's a website which caters for people like me.

Ian Harvey-brown

Lovereading recommends, honestly reviews and promotes books-what more can I say?!

Rachel Bridgeman

Lovereading helps me decide what real people read.

Kerry Bridges

I love the newsletter with reviews of all the new books coming out. Can't wait to open it when it arrives in my inbox.

Rachel Aygin

Ever purchased a book, read a few pages & thought I'm not going to enjoy this? Honest book reviews mean you'll never have that problem again

Jill Peters

It's the first site that I visit when deciding on the next set of books to buy. A particular treat is being able to download an extract.

Tessa Olson

You can trust Lovereading to show unbiased reviews by actual, ordinary readers that help likeminded booklovers choose their next great read.

Linda Hill

Because of Lovereading I have broadened my reading horizons with some really great books that I probably would never have chosen myself.

Susan Walsh

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools