win prizes twitter killer on the wall eligible curtis sittenfeld Harry Potter House Eds
Search our site
Say My Name by Allegra Huston Read the opening extract of the brand new Allegra Huston book before its publication on 27/07/2017

Reader Reviewed
The Butchers of Berlin by Chris Petit
  

The Butchers of Berlin

Thriller / Suspense   Crime / Mystery   Historical Fiction   eBook Favourites   

RRP £7.99

Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Crime/Mystery/Thriller Facebook group Share this book

Lovereading view...

This is a tough, violent thriller which illustrates the chaos in Germany in 1943. Suffering setbacks in the war and severe shortages, Berlin is in the middle of a rushed ‘cleansing’ of the Jews with thousands being removed each night. The desperation of the persecuted and what they will do to survive is coupled with corruption and greed within the Gestapo, police and SS. Forged bank notes are found stuffed into the mouths of brutally flayed and mutilated bodies. This is definitely not for the squeamish, with graphic detail of violence and sex. It is a wordy, long, depressing read, a thriller for the hardened addict; demanding and clever. ~ Sarah Broadhurst

If you like Chris Petit you might also like to read books by Robert Harris, Philip Kerr and Robert Ryan.

Reader Reviews

In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title. You can click here to read the full reviews.

  • Celia Cohen - 'A dark menacing novel set in Berlin in the 1940s.'
  • Helen Lowry - 'Berlin 1943. Murder, forged money, flayed bodies. Trying times and an even more trying homicide case for an unlikely pair of detectives. This is a book I couldn’t put down.'
  • Angie Rhodes - 'This is not an easy read by any means, it is dark and gritty, and sometimes a little confusing.'
  • Maz Tucker - 'It is a thriller that goes into some quite graphic descriptions.'
  • Genevieve McAllister - 'You'll need a strong stomach for this book: in a chaotic and cruel world, victims are murdered and tortured in what passes for normality.'
  • Linda Boa - 'With a thrilling denouement, this is an incredibly complex and brilliant thriller, for fans of Robert Harris and Philip Kerr. If you enjoy them, this isn't one to be missed.'
  • Cathy Small - 'A tough book to read in some cases as the incidents are not pleasant and can be difficult to read.'
  • Annie Day - 'an unusual detective novel set in wartime Berlin...for any fans of detective fiction with an interest in Second World War social history it would be an ideal read.'
  • Sarah Tilley - 'Dark, gruesome, but a compelling read. Fascinating but blood thirsty.'
  • Phylippa Smithson - 'Not one if you want an easy, summer’s day read but boy what a powerfully intriguing thriller set in Berlin during the final months of WW2.'

Synopsis

The Butchers of Berlin by Chris Petit

Berlin 1943. August Schlegel lives in a world full of questions with no easy answers. Why is he being called out on a homicide case when he works in financial crimes? Why did the old Jewish soldier with an Iron Cross shoot the block warden in the eye then put a bullet through his own head? Why does Schlegel persist with the case when no one cares because the Jews are all being shipped out anyway? And why should Eiko Morgen, wearing the dreaded black uniform of the SS, turn up and say he has been assigned to work with him? Corpses, dressed with fake money, bodies flayed beyond recognition: are these routine murders committed out of rage or is someone trying to tell them something ...

Reviews

'One of Britain's most visionary writers' David Peace

About the Author

Chris Petit is an internationally renowned author and filmmaker once described by Le Mondeas the Robespierre of English cinema. His films include the now definitive Radio On (1979) and have been the subject of several foreign retrospectives. He has written a trio of acclaimed "beyond black" political thrillers covering a serial killer operating in sectarian Northern Ireland (The Psalm Killer), dirty money in world war 2 (The Human Pool) and terror, arms trading and the bombing of a civilian aircraft (The Passenger).

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

20th April 2017

Author

Chris Petit

More books by Chris Petit
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Publisher

Simon & Schuster Ltd

Format

Paperback

Categories

Thriller / Suspense
Crime / Mystery
Historical Fiction
eBook Favourites


ISBN

9781471161834

What can I say, the clue is in the title Lovereading - and awesome books.

Sarah Davis

Lovereading is pitched at just the right level for all the various types of people who enjoy reading in its many forms.

Pam Woodburn

My horizons have been broadened by some of the books I have been lucky to review and I expect it to be no different in the future.

Daran Bellingham

I love the honest opinions, recommendations for every genre and every reader, wish lists and Like for Like.

Amrita Dasgupta

For me, to read is to learn, to reflect, to escape, to think, to contemplate and my time for space and calm.

Sally Ellsmore

Love books. Love reading. Love reading books. And, here's the trick. Here's a website which caters for people like me.

Ian Harvey-brown

They are bright, breezy and eager to offer a great book, then genuinely listen/respect the review one writes.

Maggie Crane

Lovereading is like booking a holiday, you don't know what it will be like and it is a whole new experience.

Sue Burton

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools