Win £500 in book vouchers by helping us with a 7 minute reader survey click here.

likeyoulove rebus 30th anniversary
Search our site
The Woman in the Window by A. J. Finn Read the opening extract of the brand new A. J. Finn book before its publication on 22/01/2018

Reader Reviewed
The Butchers of Berlin by Chris Petit
  

The Butchers of Berlin

Thriller / Suspense   Crime / Mystery   Historical Fiction   eBook Favourites   eBook Favourites   
Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Crime/Mystery/Thriller Facebook group Share this book

Lovereading view...

This is a tough, violent thriller which illustrates the chaos in Germany in 1943. Suffering setbacks in the war and severe shortages, Berlin is in the middle of a rushed ‘cleansing’ of the Jews with thousands being removed each night. The desperation of the persecuted and what they will do to survive is coupled with corruption and greed within the Gestapo, police and SS. Forged bank notes are found stuffed into the mouths of brutally flayed and mutilated bodies. This is definitely not for the squeamish, with graphic detail of violence and sex. It is a wordy, long, depressing read, a thriller for the hardened addict; demanding and clever. ~ Sarah Broadhurst

If you like Chris Petit you might also like to read books by Philip Kerr, Robert Ryan and Robert Harris.

Reader Reviews

In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title. You can click here to read the full reviews.

  • Celia Cohen - 'A dark menacing novel set in Berlin in the 1940s.'
  • Helen Lowry - 'Berlin 1943. Murder, forged money, flayed bodies. Trying times and an even more trying homicide case for an unlikely pair of detectives. This is a book I couldn’t put down.'
  • Angie Rhodes - 'This is not an easy read by any means, it is dark and gritty, and sometimes a little confusing.'
  • Maz Tucker - 'It is a thriller that goes into some quite graphic descriptions.'
  • Genevieve McAllister - 'You'll need a strong stomach for this book: in a chaotic and cruel world, victims are murdered and tortured in what passes for normality.'
  • Linda Boa - 'With a thrilling denouement, this is an incredibly complex and brilliant thriller, for fans of Robert Harris and Philip Kerr. If you enjoy them, this isn't one to be missed.'
  • Cathy Small - 'A tough book to read in some cases as the incidents are not pleasant and can be difficult to read.'
  • Annie Day - 'an unusual detective novel set in wartime Berlin...for any fans of detective fiction with an interest in Second World War social history it would be an ideal read.'
  • Sarah Tilley - 'Dark, gruesome, but a compelling read. Fascinating but blood thirsty.'
  • Phylippa Smithson - 'Not one if you want an easy, summer’s day read but boy what a powerfully intriguing thriller set in Berlin during the final months of WW2.'

Win a SIGNED FIRST EDITION of Damaged.

Get into the Spirit of Christmas with our special SIGNED FIRST EDITIONS competition! We are giving away ONE first edition hardback of Martina Cole's new crime thriller, Damaged, signed by the author!

To have a chance of winning this fantastic prize, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once.

The draw closes on 4 December 2017. The winners will be notified by 11th December 2017.

Good luck!

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 04/12/2017

Synopsis

The Butchers of Berlin by Chris Petit

Berlin 1943. August Schlegel lives in a world full of questions with no easy answers. Why is he being called out on a homicide case when he works in financial crimes? Why did the old Jewish soldier with an Iron Cross shoot the block warden in the eye then put a bullet through his own head? Why does Schlegel persist with the case when no one cares because the Jews are all being shipped out anyway? And why should Eiko Morgen, wearing the dreaded black uniform of the SS, turn up and say he has been assigned to work with him? Corpses, dressed with fake money, bodies flayed beyond recognition: are these routine murders committed out of rage or is someone trying to tell them something ...

Reviews

'One of Britain's most visionary writers' David Peace

About the Author

Chris Petit is an internationally renowned author and filmmaker once described by Le Mondeas the Robespierre of English cinema. His films include the now definitive Radio On (1979) and have been the subject of several foreign retrospectives. He has written a trio of acclaimed "beyond black" political thrillers covering a serial killer operating in sectarian Northern Ireland (The Psalm Killer), dirty money in world war 2 (The Human Pool) and terror, arms trading and the bombing of a civilian aircraft (The Passenger).

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

20th April 2017

Author

Chris Petit

More books by Chris Petit
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Publisher

Simon & Schuster Ltd

Format

Paperback
496 pages

Categories

Thriller / Suspense
Crime / Mystery
Historical Fiction
eBook Favourites
eBook Favourites

Thriller / suspense

ISBN

9781471161834

Their sending me my first book to review 18 months ago re-awakened my fondness for reading, since then I have purchased some real gems.

Barry Griffiths

Love books. Love reading. Love reading books. And, here's the trick. Here's a website which caters for people like me.

Ian Harvey-brown

I read new, exciting writers and established authors before publication and there is a great website full of brilliant books and opinions.

Lynda

Lovereading always comes up with great suggestions and has introduced me to enjoyable books and new authors to discover.

Gaynor Passmore

A well laid out site, I love the fact that is separates paranormal fiction from fantasy and horror, which other sites don't.

Jen Rainbow

Lovereading is like booking a holiday, you don't know what it will be like and it is a whole new experience.

Sue Burton

A great place to go to find your next literary escape, and where you don't have to judge a book by its cover!

Suzanne Beney

I love 'try before you buy' extracts. I love the wide range of authors & genres. I love the author info. I love books!

Judi Davies

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools