The Butchers of Berlin

by Chris Petit

Books with reviews by our Reader Review Panel Crime / Mystery eBooks of the Month Historical Fiction Thriller and Suspense

LoveReading View on The Butchers of Berlin

This is a tough, violent thriller which illustrates the chaos in Germany in 1943.  Suffering setbacks in the war and severe shortages, Berlin is in the middle of a rushed ‘cleansing’ of the Jews with thousands being removed each night.  The desperation of the persecuted and what they will do to survive is coupled with corruption and greed within the Gestapo, police and SS.  Forged bank notes are found stuffed into the mouths of brutally flayed and mutilated bodies.  This is definitely not for the squeamish, with graphic detail of violence and sex.  It is a wordy, long, depressing read, a thriller for the hardened addict; demanding and clever.

Sarah Broadhurst

The Butchers of Berlin Synopsis

Berlin 1943. August Schlegel lives in a world full of questions with no easy answers. Why is he being called out on a homicide case when he works in financial crimes? Why did the old Jewish soldier with an Iron Cross shoot the block warden in the eye then put a bullet through his own head? Why does Schlegel persist with the case when no one cares because the Jews are all being shipped out anyway? And why should Eiko Morgen, wearing the dreaded black uniform of the SS, turn up and say he has been assigned to work with him? Corpses, dressed with fake money, bodies flayed beyond recognition: are these routine murders committed out of rage or is someone trying to tell them something ...

The Butchers of Berlin Reader Reviews

In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title. You can click here to read the full reviews.

  • Celia Cohen - 'A dark menacing novel set in Berlin in the 1940s.'
  • Helen Lowry - 'Berlin 1943. Murder, forged money, flayed bodies. Trying times and an even more trying homicide case for an unlikely pair of detectives. This is a book I couldn’t put down.'
  • Angie Rhodes - 'This is not an easy read by any means, it is dark and gritty, and sometimes a little confusing.'
  • Maz Tucker - 'It is a thriller that goes into some quite graphic descriptions.'
  • Genevieve McAllister - 'You'll need a strong stomach for this book: in a chaotic and cruel world, victims are murdered and tortured in what passes for normality.'
  • Linda Boa - 'With a thrilling denouement, this is an incredibly complex and brilliant thriller, for fans of Robert Harris and Philip Kerr. If you enjoy them, this isn't one to be missed.'
  • Cathy Small - 'A tough book to read in some cases as the incidents are not pleasant and can be difficult to read.'
  • Annie Day - 'an unusual detective novel set in wartime Berlin...for any fans of detective fiction with an interest in Second World War social history it would be an ideal read.'
  • Sarah Tilley - 'Dark, gruesome, but a compelling read. Fascinating but blood thirsty.'
  • Phylippa Smithson - 'Not one if you want an easy, summer’s day read but boy what a powerfully intriguing thriller set in Berlin during the final months of WW2.'

The Butchers of Berlin Press Reviews

'One of Britain's most visionary writers' David Peace

If you loved this, you might like these...

Munich
Conclave
Conclave
The Lady from Zagreb

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781471161834
Publication date: 20/04/2017
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Ltd
Format: Paperback

ISBN: 9781471143403
Publication date: 05/05/2016
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Ltd
Format: Hardback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781471161834
Publication date: 20th April 2017
Author: Chris Petit
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Ltd
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 496 pages
Genres: Reader Reviewed Books, Crime / Mystery, eBook Favourites, Historical Fiction, Thriller / Suspense,
Categories: Thriller / suspense,

About Chris Petit

Chris Petit is an internationally renowned author and filmmaker once described by Le Mondeas the Robespierre of English cinema. His films include the now definitive Radio On (1979) and have been the subject of several foreign retrospectives. He has written a trio of acclaimed "beyond black" political thrillers covering a serial killer operating in sectarian Northern Ireland (The Psalm Killer), dirty money in world war 2 (The Human Pool) and terror, arms trading and the bombing of a civilian aircraft (The Passenger).

More About Chris Petit

More Books By Chris Petit

Cover for The Butchers of Berlin by Chris Petit
View All Books By Chris Petit

Share this book