Tell us a story

LoveReading is thrilled to announce the launch of The Very Short Story Award 2019! If you think you have a story we'll love, click here to find out more and how to enter:

Find out more

Undertow

by Elizabeth Heathcote

eBooks of the Month Family Drama Thriller and Suspense

LoveReading View on Undertow

A tension-filled family drama, which encourages thoughts to twist and turn. The prologue sets questions in motion, trapping them in the back of your mind, ready to pounce. A chance meeting places Carmen on a path of no return when she starts to investigate the death of her husband’s previous partner. Carmen’s thoughts fly one way and then another as different events warp her feelings, creating tense uncertainty. Elizabeth Heathcote leaves deliberate gaps in the time frame, I found myself unsettled as I wondered at the missing information. ‘Undertow’ encourages questions, prods at feelings and is an intriguing, provocative read. ~ Liz Robinson

Liz Robinson

Undertow Synopsis

A heart-pounding psychological thriller for fans of Disclaimer and Apple Tree Yard. My husband's lover. They said her death was a tragic accident. And I believed them ...until now. Carmen is happily married to Tom, a successful London lawyer and divorcee with three children. She is content to absorb the stresses of being a stepmother to teenagers and the stain of 'second wife'. She knows she'll always live in the shadow of another woman - not Tom's first wife Jenny, who is resolutely polite and determinedly home-counties, but the lover that ended his first marriage: Zena. Zena who was shockingly beautiful. Zena who drowned swimming late one night. But Carmen can overlook her husband's dead mistress ...until she starts to suspect that he might have been the person who killed her.

Win Don't You Cry

Win Don't You Cry

Closing date: 11/10/2018

To celebrate the September release of Cass Green's "dynamic, powerfully expressive novel" Don't You Cry, we are giving away FIVE copies of the latest psychological thriller AND a 'Most Stressful Night of Your Life package' of luxury Hot Chocolate and a MINI Bottle of Whiskey!!! She saved your life. Now she'll make you pay - One stolen baby. Two desperate strangers. One night of terror. The competition closes on the 11th October 2018. The winner will be informed by the 17th October 2018. To have a chance of winning this fantastic prize, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter and you must be 18 or over to enter this competition. Multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. By entering this competition you are agreeing to the conditions mentioned above and to adhere to the LoveReading Terms and Conditions. 

Enter Now

Undertow Press Reviews

'An immersing story, reminiscent of Daphne du Maurier's Rebecca ... The hidden currents that keep us submerged in Undertow are not only those of the sea, but the fear and suspicion that swell catastrophically through the most intimate relationships' Observer

'Absolutely gripping, I raced through Undertow - if you've got a journey to go on, an appointment to wait for, then pick it up and watch the time disappear' Rosamund Lupton, Richard and Judy bestselling author

'A tense, gripping thriller that kept me turning the pages long into the night, desperate to know whom to trust' Tammy Cohen, author of When She Was Bad

'The market is absolutely flooded with psychological thrillers at the moment, and it takes something really special to stand out. Take a bow, Elizabeth Heathcote, because this chilling, twisty and hugely atmospheric tale is standing head and shoulders above the rest ... This slow-burn tale sneaks up and grabs you by the throat, right when you least it expect it. Brilliant! Heat Buckle up for this gripping psychological thriller' Marie Claire

If you loved this, you might like these...

Roar
Trap
A Ration Book Christmas
The Lion Tamer Who Lost

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781786481696
Publication date: 23/02/2017
Publisher: Quercus Publishing
Format: Paperback

ISBN: 9781786481665
Publication date: 01/09/2016
Publisher: Quercus Publishing
Format: Hardback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781786481696
Publication date: 23rd February 2017
Author: Elizabeth Heathcote
Publisher: Quercus Publishing
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 416 pages
Genres: eBook Favourites, Family Drama, Thriller / Suspense,
Categories: Crime & mystery, Thriller / suspense,

About Elizabeth Heathcote

Elizabeth Heathcote has worked as a feature writer and editor on newspapers and magazines for many years. Her jobs have included women's editor and deputy features editor at the Independent on Sunday, as well as freelance feature writing for publications such as the Independent, Observer, Guardian, Marie Claire and Red. She is presently associate editor at Psychologies magazine. Elizabeth's home is southeast London, where she lives with her partner and two children.

More About Elizabeth Heathcote

More Books By Elizabeth Heathcote

Cover for Undertow by Elizabeth Heathcote
View All Books By Elizabeth Heathcote

Share this book