Undertow

by Elizabeth Heathcote

eBooks of the Month Family Drama Thriller and Suspense

LoveReading View on Undertow

A tension-filled family drama, which encourages thoughts to twist and turn. The prologue sets questions in motion, trapping them in the back of your mind, ready to pounce. A chance meeting places Carmen on a path of no return when she starts to investigate the death of her husband’s previous partner. Carmen’s thoughts fly one way and then another as different events warp her feelings, creating tense uncertainty. Elizabeth Heathcote leaves deliberate gaps in the time frame, I found myself unsettled as I wondered at the missing information. ‘Undertow’ encourages questions, prods at feelings and is an intriguing, provocative read. ~ Liz Robinson

Liz Robinson

Undertow Synopsis

A heart-pounding psychological thriller for fans of Disclaimer and Apple Tree Yard. My husband's lover. They said her death was a tragic accident. And I believed them ...until now. Carmen is happily married to Tom, a successful London lawyer and divorcee with three children. She is content to absorb the stresses of being a stepmother to teenagers and the stain of 'second wife'. She knows she'll always live in the shadow of another woman - not Tom's first wife Jenny, who is resolutely polite and determinedly home-counties, but the lover that ended his first marriage: Zena. Zena who was shockingly beautiful. Zena who drowned swimming late one night. But Carmen can overlook her husband's dead mistress ...until she starts to suspect that he might have been the person who killed her.

Undertow Press Reviews

'An immersing story, reminiscent of Daphne du Maurier's Rebecca ... The hidden currents that keep us submerged in Undertow are not only those of the sea, but the fear and suspicion that swell catastrophically through the most intimate relationships' Observer

'Absolutely gripping, I raced through Undertow - if you've got a journey to go on, an appointment to wait for, then pick it up and watch the time disappear' Rosamund Lupton, Richard and Judy bestselling author

'A tense, gripping thriller that kept me turning the pages long into the night, desperate to know whom to trust' Tammy Cohen, author of When She Was Bad

'The market is absolutely flooded with psychological thrillers at the moment, and it takes something really special to stand out. Take a bow, Elizabeth Heathcote, because this chilling, twisty and hugely atmospheric tale is standing head and shoulders above the rest ... This slow-burn tale sneaks up and grabs you by the throat, right when you least it expect it. Brilliant! Heat Buckle up for this gripping psychological thriller' Marie Claire

If you loved this, you might like these...

The Wives
Letters to My Daughters
The Very White of Love
The Mum Who'd Had Enough

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781786481696
Publication date: 23/02/2017
Publisher: Quercus Publishing
Format: Paperback

ISBN: 9781786481665
Publication date: 01/09/2016
Publisher: Quercus Publishing
Format: Hardback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781786481696
Publication date: 23rd February 2017
Author: Elizabeth Heathcote
Publisher: Quercus Publishing
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 416 pages
Genres: eBook Favourites, Family Drama, Thriller / Suspense,
Categories: Crime & mystery, Thriller / suspense,

About Elizabeth Heathcote

Elizabeth Heathcote has worked as a feature writer and editor on newspapers and magazines for many years. Her jobs have included women's editor and deputy features editor at the Independent on Sunday, as well as freelance feature writing for publications such as the Independent, Observer, Guardian, Marie Claire and Red. She is presently associate editor at Psychologies magazine. Elizabeth's home is southeast London, where she lives with her partner and two children.

More About Elizabeth Heathcote

More Books By Elizabeth Heathcote

Cover for Undertow by Elizabeth Heathcote
View All Books By Elizabeth Heathcote

Share this book