Are you between 5 and 25? If so, enter the Wicked Young Writer Awards NOW - click here for details...

Search our site
Last Letter from Istanbul by Lucy Foley Read the opening extract of the brand new Lucy Foley book before its publication on 19/03/2018

Born to be Trouble by Sheila Jeffries
  

Born to be Trouble

Sagas and Romance   eBook Favourites   

Lovereading view...

The poignant and gripping new saga from the author of the bestselling The Girl by the River and The Boy with No Boots, perfect for fans of Margeret Dickinson and Katie Flynn.

If you like Sheila Jeffries you might also like to read books by Katie Flynn, Melanie Rose and Cecelia Ahern.

Synopsis

Born to be Trouble by Sheila Jeffries

Running away from heartache and scandal, Tessa flees Cornwall to London in search of anonymity and freedom. Sleeping rough, scared and suicidal, she contemplates throwing herself in the river. Then she discovers the Samaritans and a volunteer, Dorothy, who patiently listens as Tessa pours out a lifetime of troubles. Inspired by Dorothy, Tessa tries to turn her life around. And when she meets Paul, she feels she has at last found a soulmate. But Paul is not the man he seems. When a tragedy at home calls Tessa back to the countryside she grew up in, her past and present collide. Can she finally find the strength to fulfil her destiny? And who will be waiting to help her begin her journey?

About the Author

Sheila Jeffries has been writing since she was young, and penned four children's novels which were published before she left school. Written under her maiden name, Sheila Chapman, in the popular 'pony story' genre of the time, the books continued to sell worldwide until the eighties. After studying at Bath Academy of Art, Sheila spent many happy years teaching in UK schools. She had eight more children's novels published under the name Sheila Haigh, and her most successful book, Little Gymnast, was a bestseller in America. Solomon's Tale breaks new ground in her writing career. It's a book truly from the heart, and though it is fiction it is based on two real cats, Solomon and Jessica, who shared and enriched her life. Sheila lives in Somerset where she enjoys teaching meditation and running workshops for writers.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

1st March 2017

Author

Sheila Jeffries

More books by Sheila Jeffries
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.sheilajeffries.com

Publisher

Simon & Schuster Ltd

Format

Paperback
432 pages

Categories

Sagas and Romance
eBook Favourites

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

ISBN

9781471154942

I love reading because my cares & woes vanish for an hour or two whilst I read of the joys, adventures, lives of the characters in the book.

Jennifer Moville

Lovereading has given me the opportunity to delve into new and exciting worlds of authors who I would never have tried before.

Glynis Elliott

Why I love @lovereadinguk? It's in the name - as dedicated lovers of reading, they are perfect matchmakers for helping me find my next read!

Catherine Jenkins

It has opened my eyes to different authors and genres. Just log on and try, you will be surprised and not want for reading material again.

Jocelyn Garvey

I love the 'like for like' author recommendations, it's like an old friend whispering in your ear.

Emma Caddick

Lovereading - a community of people passionate about reading and sharing their views. An incomparable website for book lovers.

Helen Clark

My horizons have been broadened by some of the books I have been lucky to review and I expect it to be no different in the future.

Daran Bellingham

I love reading books I wouldn't normally choose before everyone else gets to read them!

Dawn Lynch

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools