The Ice Beneath Her The Most Gripping Psychological Thriller You'll Read This Year

by Camilla Grebe

Crime / Mystery Thriller and Suspense

LoveReading View on The Ice Beneath Her The Most Gripping Psychological Thriller You'll Read This Year

A Maxim Jakubowski selected title.

A debut solo novel for a leading Swedish crime author who had, until now, collaborated with other writers on various series. A young woman is found beheaded inside the house of a powerful industrialist who has now gone missing. The sinister case is investigated by a shy detective, a psychological profiler with serious health problems of her own, with the assistance of the suspect's girlfriend who is adamant he is innocent despite the growing evidence pointing to him. A plot that snakes its way into unpredictable directions when you least expect it and keeps the reader alert at all times, allied with particularly strong characterisation make this a psychological thriller of note. Obsession, madness, nail-biting suspense, the menu couldn't be heavier but is at all times severely addictive. ~ Maxim Jakubowski

Maxim Jakubowski

The Ice Beneath Her The Most Gripping Psychological Thriller You'll Read This Year Synopsis

NO ORDINARY PSYCHOLOGICAL THRILLER - THIS WILL KEEP YOU UP ALL NIGHT For fans of Jo Nesbo and The Bridge, The Ice Beneath Her is a gripping and deeply disturbing story about love, betrayal and obsession that is impossible to put down. Fast-paced and peopled with compelling characters, it surprises at every turn as it hurtles towards an unforgettable ending with a twist you really won't see coming ...'Cross-cutting between characters at an ever-increasing pace, this is Scandi-noir at its powerful bleakest.' Daily Mail A young woman is found beheaded in an infamous business tycoon's marble-lined hallway. The businessman, scandal-ridden CEO of the retail chain Clothes & More, is missing without a trace. But who is the dead woman? And who is the brutal killer who wielded the machete? Rewind two months earlier to meet Emma Bohman, a sales assistant for Clothes & More, whose life is turned upside down by a chance encounter with Jesper Orre. Insisting that their love affair is kept secret, he shakes Emma's world a second time when he suddenly leaves her with no explanation. As frightening things begin to happen to Emma, she suspects Jesper is responsible. But why does he want to hurt her? And how far would he go to silence his secret lover?

Win a Signed Copy of Pieces of Her

Win a Signed Copy of Pieces of Her

Closing date: 06/09/2018

We are giving FIVE lucky people the chance to win SIGNED Hardback copies of Karin Slaughter's latest book, Pieces of Her. The draw closes on the 6th September and the winner will be notified by the 10th September. The latest, thrilling new book from the No.1 Internationally Bestselling Author, Pieces of Her makes you question how well you know your nearest and dearest. Andrea Oliver knows everything about her mother Laura. She knows she's always lived in the small town of Belle Isle; she knows she's a pillar of the community; she knows she's never kept a secret in her life. but she's hiding something... Then one day, a trip to the mall explodes into a shocking act of violence and Andy suddenly sees a completely different side to Laura. and it could destroy them both...

Enter Now

The Ice Beneath Her The Most Gripping Psychological Thriller You'll Read This Year Press Reviews

'Thrilling characters and expertly written, down to the very last detail. I didn't actually have time to read, and did everything to try to put the book down. But I simply couldn't. Not until the last page had been read.' -- Stefan Anhem, author of the bestselling Fabian Risk series

'Stefan Anhem, author of the bestselling Fabian Risk series Skilful, thrilling, and unexpected' -- Karinboktok Karinboktok (Popular Swedish book blog)

'Wickedly complex, macabre, and highly entertaining! It is, ultimately, a story about love, loss, murder, abuse, and obsession. The writing is clever and precise. The characters are damaged, lonely, and despondent. This is an intriguing, debut psychological thriller that is perfect for fans of Jo Nesbo or Henning Mankell' What's Better Than Books Blog

'Original & exciting with a shocking and satisfying ending. I couldn't help but like Peter the main detective in the story disputed his having more problems and issues than the murderer! I hope he appears in another book and that Hanne survives to once again help him solve the crime. I can't say more without giving spoilers so will simply end by heartily recommending this fabulous book' Net Galley reviewer

'This book is excellent. All the characters were believable and their backstories handled sensitively, none more so that Hanne. I am really impressed with Grebe's talents and look forward to reading more. In an overcrowded genre, this is a refreshing and incisive voice' Plucked Highbrow

'This is a cleverly plotted mystery with a tremendous cast of characters, particularly the police team assigned to the case. This one is an all-nighter' For the Love of Books Blog

'A clever and addictive psychological thriller with some great main characters' Liz Loves Books

If you loved this, you might like these...

The Hunting Party
The Lion Tamer Who Lost
The Moscow Sleepers A Liz Carlyle Novel
The Moscow Sleepers

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781785761973
Publication date: 08/09/2016
Publisher: Zaffre Publishing
Format: Hardback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781785761973
Publication date: 8th September 2016
Author: Camilla Grebe
Publisher: Zaffre Publishing
Format: Hardback
Pagination: 400 pages
Genres: Crime / Mystery, Thriller / Suspense,
Categories: Crime & mystery,

About Camilla Grebe

Camilla Grebe was born near Stockholm. She co-founded audiobook publisher Storyside. She has written four celebrated crime novels with her sister, Asa Traff, about psychologist Siri Bergman, the first two of which were nominated for Swedish Crime Novel of the Year by the Swedish Crime Writers' Academy. Camilla has also written the popular Moscow Noir trilogy with Paul Leander-Engstrom. The Ice Beneath Her is Camilla's debut novel as a solo author and announces hers as a fresh new voice in suspense writing. Author photo © Viktor Fremling

More About Camilla Grebe

More Books By Camilla Grebe

Cover for The Ice Beneath Her by Camilla Grebe
View All Books By Camilla Grebe

Share this book