Harry Potter House Eds win prizes join us on facebook
Search our site
The Stolen Bicycle by Ming-Yi Wu Read the opening extract of the brand new Ming-Yi Wu book before its publication on 26/10/2017

The Ice Beneath Her The Most Gripping Psychological Thriller You'll Read This Year by Camilla Grebe
  

The Ice Beneath Her The Most Gripping Psychological Thriller You'll Read This Year

Thriller / Suspense   Crime / Mystery   Maxim Jakubowski's Selection   

RRP £12.99

Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Crime/Mystery/Thriller Facebook group Share this book

Lovereading view...

A Maxim Jakubowski selected title.

A debut solo novel for a leading Swedish crime author who had, until now, collaborated with other writers on various series. A young woman is found beheaded inside the house of a powerful industrialist who has now gone missing. The sinister case is investigated by a shy detective, a psychological profiler with serious health problems of her own, with the assistance of the suspect's girlfriend who is adamant he is innocent despite the growing evidence pointing to him. A plot that snakes its way into unpredictable directions when you least expect it and keeps the reader alert at all times, allied with particularly strong characterisation make this a psychological thriller of note. Obsession, madness, nail-biting suspense, the menu couldn't be heavier but is at all times severely addictive. ~ Maxim Jakubowski

Win a signed copy of stunning debut Blue Light Yokohama

We have 10 signed copies (using signed book plates) of Blue Light Yokohama, a stunning debut novel. It is a beautifully plotted police procedural set in Japan by Nicolas Obregon, a new British author. Evocative and serpentine, this marks the debut of a fresh new voice and a remarkable maverick detective with a difference.

To have a chance of winning this fantastic prize, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once.

The draw closes on 6 November 2017. The winners will be notified by 12th November 2017.

Good luck!

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 06/11/2017

Synopsis

The Ice Beneath Her The Most Gripping Psychological Thriller You'll Read This Year by Camilla Grebe

NO ORDINARY PSYCHOLOGICAL THRILLER - THIS WILL KEEP YOU UP ALL NIGHT For fans of Jo Nesbo and The Bridge, The Ice Beneath Her is a gripping and deeply disturbing story about love, betrayal and obsession that is impossible to put down. Fast-paced and peopled with compelling characters, it surprises at every turn as it hurtles towards an unforgettable ending with a twist you really won't see coming ...'Cross-cutting between characters at an ever-increasing pace, this is Scandi-noir at its powerful bleakest.' Daily Mail A young woman is found beheaded in an infamous business tycoon's marble-lined hallway. The businessman, scandal-ridden CEO of the retail chain Clothes & More, is missing without a trace. But who is the dead woman? And who is the brutal killer who wielded the machete? Rewind two months earlier to meet Emma Bohman, a sales assistant for Clothes & More, whose life is turned upside down by a chance encounter with Jesper Orre. Insisting that their love affair is kept secret, he shakes Emma's world a second time when he suddenly leaves her with no explanation. As frightening things begin to happen to Emma, she suspects Jesper is responsible. But why does he want to hurt her? And how far would he go to silence his secret lover?

Reviews

'Thrilling characters and expertly written, down to the very last detail. I didn't actually have time to read, and did everything to try to put the book down. But I simply couldn't. Not until the last page had been read.' -- Stefan Anhem, author of the bestselling Fabian Risk series

'Stefan Anhem, author of the bestselling Fabian Risk series Skilful, thrilling, and unexpected' -- Karinboktok Karinboktok (Popular Swedish book blog)

'Wickedly complex, macabre, and highly entertaining! It is, ultimately, a story about love, loss, murder, abuse, and obsession. The writing is clever and precise. The characters are damaged, lonely, and despondent. This is an intriguing, debut psychological thriller that is perfect for fans of Jo Nesbo or Henning Mankell' What's Better Than Books Blog

'Original & exciting with a shocking and satisfying ending. I couldn't help but like Peter the main detective in the story disputed his having more problems and issues than the murderer! I hope he appears in another book and that Hanne survives to once again help him solve the crime. I can't say more without giving spoilers so will simply end by heartily recommending this fabulous book' Net Galley reviewer

'This book is excellent. All the characters were believable and their backstories handled sensitively, none more so that Hanne. I am really impressed with Grebe's talents and look forward to reading more. In an overcrowded genre, this is a refreshing and incisive voice' Plucked Highbrow

'This is a cleverly plotted mystery with a tremendous cast of characters, particularly the police team assigned to the case. This one is an all-nighter' For the Love of Books Blog

'A clever and addictive psychological thriller with some great main characters' Liz Loves Books

About the Author

Camilla Grebe

Camilla Grebe was born near Stockholm. She co-founded audiobook publisher Storyside. She has written four celebrated crime novels with her sister, Asa Traff, about psychologist Siri Bergman, the first two of which were nominated for Swedish Crime Novel of the Year by the Swedish Crime Writers' Academy. Camilla has also written the popular Moscow Noir trilogy with Paul Leander-Engstrom. The Ice Beneath Her is Camilla's debut novel as a solo author and announces hers as a fresh new voice in suspense writing.

Author photo © Viktor Fremling

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

8th September 2016

Author

Camilla Grebe

More books by Camilla Grebe
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Zaffre Publishing

Format

Hardback
400 pages

Categories

Thriller / Suspense
Crime / Mystery
Maxim Jakubowski's Selection

Crime & mystery

ISBN

9781785761973

Why I love @lovereadinguk? It's in the name - as dedicated lovers of reading, they are perfect matchmakers for helping me find my next read!

Catherine Jenkins

I love reading books I wouldn't normally choose before everyone else gets to read them!

Dawn Lynch

Lovereading is an amazing place to be, the website is wonderful and to me if I'm sad I'll go here and it cheers me up!

Sophia Upton

I love reading because my cares & woes vanish for an hour or two whilst I read of the joys, adventures, lives of the characters in the book.

Jennifer Moville

A great place to go to find your next literary escape, and where you don't have to judge a book by its cover!

Suzanne Beney

Ever purchased a book, read a few pages & thought I'm not going to enjoy this? Honest book reviews mean you'll never have that problem again

Jill Peters

The best new books on the market, reviewed honestly, to give your readers the best choices.

Julie Cook

Love books. Love reading. Love reading books. And, here's the trick. Here's a website which caters for people like me.

Ian Harvey-brown

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools