Win a Family Weekend Break with Lovereading and VisitWiltshire - click here for details...

twitter debuts of the month
Search our site
The Last Summer by Andree Michaud Read the opening extract of the brand new Andree Michaud book before its publication on 25/01/2018

The Ice Beneath Her The Most Gripping Psychological Thriller You'll Read This Year by Camilla Grebe
  

The Ice Beneath Her The Most Gripping Psychological Thriller You'll Read This Year

Thriller / Suspense   Crime / Mystery   Maxim Jakubowski's Selection   
Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Crime/Mystery/Thriller Facebook group Share this book

Lovereading view...

A Maxim Jakubowski selected title.

A debut solo novel for a leading Swedish crime author who had, until now, collaborated with other writers on various series. A young woman is found beheaded inside the house of a powerful industrialist who has now gone missing. The sinister case is investigated by a shy detective, a psychological profiler with serious health problems of her own, with the assistance of the suspect's girlfriend who is adamant he is innocent despite the growing evidence pointing to him. A plot that snakes its way into unpredictable directions when you least expect it and keeps the reader alert at all times, allied with particularly strong characterisation make this a psychological thriller of note. Obsession, madness, nail-biting suspense, the menu couldn't be heavier but is at all times severely addictive. ~ Maxim Jakubowski

Win a Family Break to Salisbury!

Don’t miss out! Enter to win a family break to Salisbury!

Here at Lovereading.co.uk and Lovereading4kids.co.uk we have joined with VisitWiltshire. You could see yourself indulging in the finest food and slumbering comfortably into one of the grand rooms at The Red Lion Salisbury for two nights. The Red Lion Hotel is located in medieval city of Salisbury, which is home to all your favourite stores as well as independent shops, restaurants, cafes and parks and green spaces. Nearby is Stonehenge, Salisbury Plain and numerous sites of historic and archaeological interest.

There are many seasonal events in Salisbury, and you can find out what’s on here. You will also receive a family ticket to Sir Harold Hillier Gardens, the gardens are especially beautiful in the winter, with bold coloured stems, scents, and fabulous foliage, you can be sure to be impressed. For the children there is also a play park, and you can stop off in the Victorian tea room to warm up and treat yourself to a traditional cream tea.

To have a chance of winning this fantastic prize, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. Entries close 31st January 2018.

Good luck!

Terms and Conditions

Red Lion: Two night stay includes breakfast for two adults and up to two children sharing a family room. Subject to availability and cannot be exchanged or redeemed for cash value. Not to be used in combination with any other offer. Valid until 1st Dec 2018 and excludes bank holidays.

Sir Harold Hillier Gardens: Valid for day entry, Not to be used for special events or group entry. Voucher is not transferable or refundable, no Cash Value. Ticket must be redeemed on entry. Valid until 31 Dec 2018. Gardens open daily from 10am – closed Christmas Day and Boxing Day. Prize admits 2 adults and accompanying children Under 17 FREE to Sir Harold Hillier Gardens.

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 31/01/2018

Synopsis

The Ice Beneath Her The Most Gripping Psychological Thriller You'll Read This Year by Camilla Grebe

NO ORDINARY PSYCHOLOGICAL THRILLER - THIS WILL KEEP YOU UP ALL NIGHT For fans of Jo Nesbo and The Bridge, The Ice Beneath Her is a gripping and deeply disturbing story about love, betrayal and obsession that is impossible to put down. Fast-paced and peopled with compelling characters, it surprises at every turn as it hurtles towards an unforgettable ending with a twist you really won't see coming ...'Cross-cutting between characters at an ever-increasing pace, this is Scandi-noir at its powerful bleakest.' Daily Mail A young woman is found beheaded in an infamous business tycoon's marble-lined hallway. The businessman, scandal-ridden CEO of the retail chain Clothes & More, is missing without a trace. But who is the dead woman? And who is the brutal killer who wielded the machete? Rewind two months earlier to meet Emma Bohman, a sales assistant for Clothes & More, whose life is turned upside down by a chance encounter with Jesper Orre. Insisting that their love affair is kept secret, he shakes Emma's world a second time when he suddenly leaves her with no explanation. As frightening things begin to happen to Emma, she suspects Jesper is responsible. But why does he want to hurt her? And how far would he go to silence his secret lover?

Reviews

'Thrilling characters and expertly written, down to the very last detail. I didn't actually have time to read, and did everything to try to put the book down. But I simply couldn't. Not until the last page had been read.' -- Stefan Anhem, author of the bestselling Fabian Risk series

'Stefan Anhem, author of the bestselling Fabian Risk series Skilful, thrilling, and unexpected' -- Karinboktok Karinboktok (Popular Swedish book blog)

'Wickedly complex, macabre, and highly entertaining! It is, ultimately, a story about love, loss, murder, abuse, and obsession. The writing is clever and precise. The characters are damaged, lonely, and despondent. This is an intriguing, debut psychological thriller that is perfect for fans of Jo Nesbo or Henning Mankell' What's Better Than Books Blog

'Original & exciting with a shocking and satisfying ending. I couldn't help but like Peter the main detective in the story disputed his having more problems and issues than the murderer! I hope he appears in another book and that Hanne survives to once again help him solve the crime. I can't say more without giving spoilers so will simply end by heartily recommending this fabulous book' Net Galley reviewer

'This book is excellent. All the characters were believable and their backstories handled sensitively, none more so that Hanne. I am really impressed with Grebe's talents and look forward to reading more. In an overcrowded genre, this is a refreshing and incisive voice' Plucked Highbrow

'This is a cleverly plotted mystery with a tremendous cast of characters, particularly the police team assigned to the case. This one is an all-nighter' For the Love of Books Blog

'A clever and addictive psychological thriller with some great main characters' Liz Loves Books

About the Author

Camilla Grebe

Camilla Grebe was born near Stockholm. She co-founded audiobook publisher Storyside. She has written four celebrated crime novels with her sister, Asa Traff, about psychologist Siri Bergman, the first two of which were nominated for Swedish Crime Novel of the Year by the Swedish Crime Writers' Academy. Camilla has also written the popular Moscow Noir trilogy with Paul Leander-Engstrom. The Ice Beneath Her is Camilla's debut novel as a solo author and announces hers as a fresh new voice in suspense writing.

Author photo © Viktor Fremling

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

8th September 2016

Author

Camilla Grebe

More books by Camilla Grebe
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Zaffre Publishing

Format

Hardback
400 pages

Categories

Thriller / Suspense
Crime / Mystery
Maxim Jakubowski's Selection

Crime & mystery

ISBN

9781785761973

Lovereading recommends, honestly reviews and promotes books-what more can I say?!

Rachel Bridgeman

Because of Lovereading I have broadened my reading horizons with some really great books that I probably would never have chosen myself.

Susan Walsh

At Lovereading there are fabulous books available in every genre, with great reviews to help you pick the right book for you.

Teresa O'Halloran

Its jam packed with fantastic titles, informative descriptions & fantastic reviews and has a vast array of great features & competitions.

Linda Rollins

Lovereading always comes up with great suggestions and has introduced me to enjoyable books and new authors to discover.

Gaynor Passmore

I love Lovereading because of its ability to connect people that love books & unite them in a friendly, stimulating & interesting community.

Megan Olwen William

I love reading because my cares & woes vanish for an hour or two whilst I read of the joys, adventures, lives of the characters in the book.

Jennifer Moville

Lovereading is an amazing place to be, the website is wonderful and to me if I'm sad I'll go here and it cheers me up!

Sophia Upton

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools