Are you between 5 and 25? If so, enter the Wicked Young Writer Awards NOW - click here for details...

debuts of the month win prizes
Search our site
Last Letter from Istanbul by Lucy Foley Read the opening extract of the brand new Lucy Foley book before its publication on 19/03/2018

Maestra The Most Shocking Thriller You'll Read This Year by L. S. Hilton
  

Maestra The Most Shocking Thriller You'll Read This Year

Thriller / Suspense   Crime / Mystery   eBook Favourites   
Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Crime/Mystery/Thriller Facebook group Share this book

Lovereading view...

Already something of a cause celebre, this strongly erotic, or should I say explicit, thriller by an art historian takes the likes of Patricia Highsmith's ambiguous killer figure Tom Ripley and transforms him into a beautiful woman on the make, as cynical and deadly and obsessed with the finer things in life, who accepts no obstacles in her compulsive rush towards the top of the pile. Judith Rashleigh comes from the wrong side of the society tracks and is determined to enjoy a better life, better clothes, accessories, money, fame even. As a junior assistant in an auction house, she stumbles on a scam involving an old Stubbs painting and is unleashed on the world, seductive, murderous, sexually voracious in a world of high society, yachts, riches and total amorality. You might dislike the character but you won't be able to put her story down. ~ Maxim Jakubowski

Synopsis

Maestra The Most Shocking Thriller You'll Read This Year by L. S. Hilton

THE NUMBER ONE BESTSELLER GLAMOUR'S WRITER OF THE YEAR. WHERE DO YOU GO WHEN YOU'VE GONE TOO FAR? Fatal Attraction meets The Talented Mr Ripley, and soon to be a major Hollywood film - prepare for this year's The Girl on the Train By day Judith Rashleigh is a put-upon assistant at a London auction house. By night she's a hostess in one of the capital's unsavoury bars. Desperate to make something of herself, Judith knows she has to play the game. She's learned to dress, speak and act in the interests of men. She's learned to be a good girl. But after uncovering a dark secret at the heart of the art world, Judith is fired and her dreams of a better life are torn apart. So she turns to a long-neglected friend. A friend that kept her chin up and back straight through every past slight. A friend that a good girl like her shouldn't have: Rage. The Talented Mr Ripley meets Gone Girl in this darkly decadent and compelling new thriller that asks: Where do you go when you've gone too far?

Reviews

'Brimming with scandal, intrigue and mystery, this is a book that everyone is talking about' Heat

'[U]tterly un-put-down-able, a shocking and sexy psychological thriller' PopSugar

'Set in a world of oligarchs, Mafiosi and dodgy art dealers, it also has in Judith Rashleigh a heroine you'll either love or loathe, at least two jaw-on-the-floor moments and sex scenes that would make' Christian Grey blush' Red magazine

'The next Gone Girl thriller everyone will be talking about' GoodReads Review

'Smart, pacy and very rude' Glamour

'Riveting... one of the most memorable females in recent fiction' Amy Pascal, Columbia Pictures Producer

'Maestra features a feisty, morally complex and sharp heroine who may appeal to fans of Stieg Larsson's The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo and Gillian Flynn's Gone Girl' New York Times

About the Author

L. S. Hilton

L.S. Hilton is a writer and journalist who presently lives in London.

Author photo © Derrick Santini

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

8th September 2016

Author

L. S. Hilton

More books by L. S. Hilton
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

lisa-hilton.com/

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...

Publisher

Zaffre Publishing

Format

Paperback
416 pages

Categories

Thriller / Suspense
Crime / Mystery
eBook Favourites

Crime & mystery
Thriller / suspense

ISBN

9781785760013

A great place to go to find your next literary escape, and where you don't have to judge a book by its cover!

Suzanne Beney

My horizons have been broadened by some of the books I have been lucky to review and I expect it to be no different in the future.

Daran Bellingham

Lovereading recommends, honestly reviews and promotes books-what more can I say?!

Rachel Bridgeman

Lovereading has given me the opportunity to delve into new and exciting worlds of authors who I would never have tried before.

Glynis Elliott

I love the newsletter with reviews of all the new books coming out. Can't wait to open it when it arrives in my inbox.

Rachel Aygin

The best new books on the market, reviewed honestly, to give your readers the best choices.

Julie Cook

Hooked on books? Give Lovereading a go - for the chance to discover brilliant books, and to see why our members love it so.

Claire Hill

I 'Lovereading' because it lets me see what new books are around with a detailed synopsis and readers' reviews.

Judith Sharp

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools