Search our site
Out of the Blue by Sophie Cameron Read the opening extract of the brand new Sophie Cameron book before its publication on 22/03/2018

Black Widow by Christopher Brookmyre

Lovereading view...

Shortlisted for the Goldsboro Gold Dagger Award 2016.

Twists abound in the brilliant new psychological thriller from master author Chris Brookmyre, starring his legendary character Jack Parlabane, and perfect for readers of The Girl on the Train and Gone Girl.

If you like Christopher Brookmyre you might also like to read books by Christopher Buckley, Jo-Anne Goodwin and Carl Hiaasen.

Win Books from the Manon Bradshaw Thriller Series!

Persons Unknown, the second book in Susie Steiner's crime thriller series, is now out in paperback and to mark the publication we are giving away paperback copies of both Missing, Presumed and Persons Unknown to THREE lucky winners!

To have a chance of winning one of these fantastic prizes, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once.

The draw closes on 30 April 2018. The winners will be notified by 14 May 2018,

Good luck!

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 30/04/2018


Black Widow by Christopher Brookmyre

There is no perfect marriage. There is no perfect murder. Diana Jager is clever, strong and successful, a skilled surgeon and fierce campaigner via her blog about sexism. Yet it takes only hours for her life to crumble when her personal details are released on the internet as revenge for her writing. Then she meets Peter. He's kind, generous, and knows nothing about her past: the second chance she's been waiting for. Within six months, they are married. Within six more, Peter is dead in a road accident, a nightmare end to their fairytale romance. But Peter's sister Lucy doesn't believe in fairytales, and tasks maverick reporter Jack Parlabane with discovering the dark truth behind the woman the media is calling Black Widow...


Black Widow is a stand-out thriller, reminiscent of the best of Nordic Noir but with its own vivid landscape Renee Knight, author of Disclaimer Brookmyre opens with a dramatic court scene, followed by a series of clever twists that challenge the reader to work out who is the victim of an extremely sophisticated crime Sunday Times

Exceptionally good - a knotty mystery that's not just richly, provocatively political but one of the most perceptive excavations of a dysfunctional marriage I can remember reading... Brookmyre plays a cunning, careful game Guardian

I didn't know what was going to happen next in this epic thriller. I urge you to read it, too Sun The story's characters are compelling and the mystery is evoked with scalpel-like precision Daily Mail

This is mystery plotting at its highest level, all the disparate strands forming into a web and then into a knot that tightens around victim, detective and reader Spectator

It's only as you're racing through the final tense pages, full of betrayal, revenge and shocking revelations, that you realise the brilliance behind the construction of this utterly compulsive, whipsmart thriller Sunday Mirror

Chilling, gripping and exquisitely unpredictable Daily Record

Chris Brookmyre has some claim to be the leading satirical novelist currently at work in Britain Daily Telegraph

Black Widow does its best to evade you at every turn, demanding your full attention Scotland on Sunday

Enthralling and entertaining Daily Express

A biting satire, nuanced enough to avoid polemic Sunday Telegraph

A briskly paced thriller with a sense of confident contemporary relevance The List Chris Brookmyre does an exceptionally good job ... making sense of a narrative in which truth and lies are inextricably entwined. The more I read, the more I was hooked Crime Review

About the Author

Christopher Brookmyre

Chris Brookmyre was a journalist before becoming a full time novelist with the publication of QUITE UGLY ONE MORNING. Since the publication of A BIG BOY DID IT AND RAN AWAY he and his family decided to move away from Aberdeen and now live near Glasgow. Oh, yes.

Author Photo © Tricia Malley Ross Gillespie

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

30th November 1999


Christopher Brookmyre

More books by Christopher Brookmyre
Author 'Like for Like'

Author's Website

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...





Thriller / Suspense
All Shortlists and Winners
eBook Favourites



I love Lovereading because I get to read great books and then get to tell everybody how good they are.

Sally Doel

Because of Lovereading I have broadened my reading horizons with some really great books that I probably would never have chosen myself.

Susan Walsh

I love the honest opinions, recommendations for every genre and every reader, wish lists and Like for Like.

Amrita Dasgupta

I 'Lovereading' because it lets me see what new books are around with a detailed synopsis and readers' reviews.

Judith Sharp

It gives a chance to read about new titles, invites comments from all kinds of readers and is run by such a nice bunch of book lovers.

Joy Bosworth

Thanks to Lovereading I have discovered new writers and read books I would never had looked twice at - and enjoyed them.

Angela Rhodes

It's the first site that I visit when deciding on the next set of books to buy. A particular treat is being able to download an extract.

Tessa Olson

Lovereading is like booking a holiday, you don't know what it will be like and it is a whole new experience.

Sue Burton