likeyoulove eleanor oliphant
Search our site
Are You Sleeping by Kathleen Barber Read the opening extract of the brand new Kathleen Barber book before its publication on 27/12/2017

Black Widow by Christopher Brookmyre
  

Lovereading view...

Shortlisted for the Goldsboro Gold Dagger Award 2016.

Twists abound in the brilliant new psychological thriller from master author Chris Brookmyre, starring his legendary character Jack Parlabane, and perfect for readers of The Girl on the Train and Gone Girl.

If you like Christopher Brookmyre you might also like to read books by Terry Pratchett, Chris Haslam and Ben Aaronovitch.

Win a Family Break to Salisbury!

Don’t miss out! Enter to win a family break to Salisbury!

Here at Lovereading.co.uk and Lovereading4kids.co.uk we have joined with VisitWiltshire. You could see yourself indulging in the finest food and slumbering comfortably into one of the grand rooms at The Red Lion Salisbury for two nights. The Red Lion Hotel is located in medieval city of Salisbury, which is home to all your favourite stores as well as independent shops, restaurants, cafes and parks and green spaces. Nearby is Stonehenge, Salisbury Plain and numerous sites of historic and archaeological interest.

There are many seasonal events in Salisbury, and you can find out what’s on here. You will also receive a family ticket to Sir Harold Hillier Gardens, the gardens are especially beautiful in the winter, with bold coloured stems, scents, and fabulous foliage, you can be sure to be impressed. For the children there is also a play park, and you can stop off in the Victorian tea room to warm up and treat yourself to a traditional cream tea.

To have a chance of winning this fantastic prize, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. Entries close 31st January 2018.

Good luck!

Terms and Conditions

Red Lion: Two night stay includes breakfast for two adults and up to two children sharing a family room. Subject to availability and cannot be exchanged or redeemed for cash value. Not to be used in combination with any other offer. Valid until 1st Dec 2018 and excludes bank holidays.

Sir Harold Hillier Gardens: Valid for day entry, Not to be used for special events or group entry. Voucher is not transferable or refundable, no Cash Value. Ticket must be redeemed on entry. Valid until 31 Dec 2018. Gardens open daily from 10am – closed Christmas Day and Boxing Day. Prize admits 2 adults and accompanying children Under 17 FREE to Sir Harold Hillier Gardens.

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 31/01/2018

Synopsis

Black Widow by Christopher Brookmyre

There is no perfect marriage. There is no perfect murder. Diana Jager is clever, strong and successful, a skilled surgeon and fierce campaigner via her blog about sexism. Yet it takes only hours for her life to crumble when her personal details are released on the internet as revenge for her writing. Then she meets Peter. He's kind, generous, and knows nothing about her past: the second chance she's been waiting for. Within six months, they are married. Within six more, Peter is dead in a road accident, a nightmare end to their fairytale romance. But Peter's sister Lucy doesn't believe in fairytales, and tasks maverick reporter Jack Parlabane with discovering the dark truth behind the woman the media is calling Black Widow...

Reviews

Black Widow is a stand-out thriller, reminiscent of the best of Nordic Noir but with its own vivid landscape Renee Knight, author of Disclaimer Brookmyre opens with a dramatic court scene, followed by a series of clever twists that challenge the reader to work out who is the victim of an extremely sophisticated crime Sunday Times

Exceptionally good - a knotty mystery that's not just richly, provocatively political but one of the most perceptive excavations of a dysfunctional marriage I can remember reading... Brookmyre plays a cunning, careful game Guardian

I didn't know what was going to happen next in this epic thriller. I urge you to read it, too Sun The story's characters are compelling and the mystery is evoked with scalpel-like precision Daily Mail

This is mystery plotting at its highest level, all the disparate strands forming into a web and then into a knot that tightens around victim, detective and reader Spectator

It's only as you're racing through the final tense pages, full of betrayal, revenge and shocking revelations, that you realise the brilliance behind the construction of this utterly compulsive, whipsmart thriller Sunday Mirror

Chilling, gripping and exquisitely unpredictable Daily Record

Chris Brookmyre has some claim to be the leading satirical novelist currently at work in Britain Daily Telegraph

Black Widow does its best to evade you at every turn, demanding your full attention Scotland on Sunday

Enthralling and entertaining Daily Express

A biting satire, nuanced enough to avoid polemic Sunday Telegraph

A briskly paced thriller with a sense of confident contemporary relevance The List Chris Brookmyre does an exceptionally good job ... making sense of a narrative in which truth and lies are inextricably entwined. The more I read, the more I was hooked Crime Review

About the Author

Christopher Brookmyre

Chris Brookmyre was a journalist before becoming a full time novelist with the publication of QUITE UGLY ONE MORNING. Since the publication of A BIG BOY DID IT AND RAN AWAY he and his family decided to move away from Aberdeen and now live near Glasgow. Oh, yes.

Author Photo © Tricia Malley Ross Gillespie

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

30th November 1999

Author

Christopher Brookmyre

More books by Christopher Brookmyre
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.brookmyre.co.uk/

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Format

Hardback

Categories

Thriller / Suspense
All Shortlists and Winners
eBook Favourites


ISBN

9781408707159

Love books. Love reading. Love reading books. And, here's the trick. Here's a website which caters for people like me.

Ian Harvey-brown

Lovereading tells me about new books before they hit the shelves, lets me find other authors I may like and has great prize draws!

Sheila Dale

Ever purchased a book, read a few pages & thought I'm not going to enjoy this? Honest book reviews mean you'll never have that problem again

Jill Peters

It has enriched my leisure time by introducing me to a world of books which I would not have previously considered.

Val Rowe

Lovereading is a world of books. It has everything you need from new to old and much loved classic books. It even give you recommendations!

Kate Thurston

As for why I'd recommend Lovereading, it's simple - it's a great place to get information and reviews about new books!

Margaret Freeman

Lovereading is like booking a holiday, you don't know what it will be like and it is a whole new experience.

Sue Burton

If you LOVE reading then you will love LOVEREADING! It's a 'novel' idea. Seriously though I could not recommend them enough.

Rebecca Whymark

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools