win prizes twitter rebus 30th anniversary
Search our site
The Stolen Bicycle by Ming-Yi Wu Read the opening extract of the brand new Ming-Yi Wu book before its publication on 26/10/2017

Black Widow by Christopher Brookmyre
  

Black Widow

Thriller / Suspense   All Shortlists and Winners   eBook Favourites   

RRP £0.00

Notify me
when in stock

As soon as this book is back in stock we will send you an email.

Lovereading view...

Shortlisted for the Goldsboro Gold Dagger Award 2016.

Twists abound in the brilliant new psychological thriller from master author Chris Brookmyre, starring his legendary character Jack Parlabane, and perfect for readers of The Girl on the Train and Gone Girl.

If you like Christopher Brookmyre you might also like to read books by Carl Hiaasen, Jo-Anne Goodwin and Ben Aaronovitch.

Win a signed copy of stunning debut Blue Light Yokohama

We have 10 signed copies (using signed book plates) of Blue Light Yokohama, a stunning debut novel. It is a beautifully plotted police procedural set in Japan by Nicolas Obregon, a new British author. Evocative and serpentine, this marks the debut of a fresh new voice and a remarkable maverick detective with a difference.

To have a chance of winning this fantastic prize, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once.

The draw closes on 6 November 2017. The winners will be notified by 12th November 2017.

Good luck!

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 06/11/2017

Synopsis

Black Widow by Christopher Brookmyre

There is no perfect marriage. There is no perfect murder. Diana Jager is clever, strong and successful, a skilled surgeon and fierce campaigner via her blog about sexism. Yet it takes only hours for her life to crumble when her personal details are released on the internet as revenge for her writing. Then she meets Peter. He's kind, generous, and knows nothing about her past: the second chance she's been waiting for. Within six months, they are married. Within six more, Peter is dead in a road accident, a nightmare end to their fairytale romance. But Peter's sister Lucy doesn't believe in fairytales, and tasks maverick reporter Jack Parlabane with discovering the dark truth behind the woman the media is calling Black Widow...

Reviews

Black Widow is a stand-out thriller, reminiscent of the best of Nordic Noir but with its own vivid landscape Renee Knight, author of Disclaimer Brookmyre opens with a dramatic court scene, followed by a series of clever twists that challenge the reader to work out who is the victim of an extremely sophisticated crime Sunday Times

Exceptionally good - a knotty mystery that's not just richly, provocatively political but one of the most perceptive excavations of a dysfunctional marriage I can remember reading... Brookmyre plays a cunning, careful game Guardian

I didn't know what was going to happen next in this epic thriller. I urge you to read it, too Sun The story's characters are compelling and the mystery is evoked with scalpel-like precision Daily Mail

This is mystery plotting at its highest level, all the disparate strands forming into a web and then into a knot that tightens around victim, detective and reader Spectator

It's only as you're racing through the final tense pages, full of betrayal, revenge and shocking revelations, that you realise the brilliance behind the construction of this utterly compulsive, whipsmart thriller Sunday Mirror

Chilling, gripping and exquisitely unpredictable Daily Record

Chris Brookmyre has some claim to be the leading satirical novelist currently at work in Britain Daily Telegraph

Black Widow does its best to evade you at every turn, demanding your full attention Scotland on Sunday

Enthralling and entertaining Daily Express

A biting satire, nuanced enough to avoid polemic Sunday Telegraph

A briskly paced thriller with a sense of confident contemporary relevance The List Chris Brookmyre does an exceptionally good job ... making sense of a narrative in which truth and lies are inextricably entwined. The more I read, the more I was hooked Crime Review

About the Author

Christopher Brookmyre

Chris Brookmyre was a journalist before becoming a full time novelist with the publication of QUITE UGLY ONE MORNING. Since the publication of A BIG BOY DID IT AND RAN AWAY he and his family decided to move away from Aberdeen and now live near Glasgow. Oh, yes.

Author Photo © Tricia Malley Ross Gillespie

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

30th November 1999

Author

Christopher Brookmyre

More books by Christopher Brookmyre
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.brookmyre.co.uk/

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Format

Hardback

Categories

Thriller / Suspense
All Shortlists and Winners
eBook Favourites


ISBN

9781408707159

A great place to go to find your next literary escape, and where you don't have to judge a book by its cover!

Suzanne Beney

I love the 'like for like' author recommendations, it's like an old friend whispering in your ear.

Emma Caddick

Lovereading recommends, honestly reviews and promotes books-what more can I say?!

Rachel Bridgeman

Love books. Love reading. Love reading books. And, here's the trick. Here's a website which caters for people like me.

Ian Harvey-brown

Lovereading tells me about new books before they hit the shelves, lets me find other authors I may like and has great prize draws!

Sheila Dale

A well laid out site, I love the fact that is separates paranormal fiction from fantasy and horror, which other sites don't.

Jen Rainbow

Books of the month/debuts of the month, kids/adults, fiction/non-fiction, free prize draws and free extracts, what's not to love?

Emma Smith

If you love reading, then you'll love Lovereading! Full of tips & info for every discerning reader.

Lynne Rapson

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools