rebus 30th anniversary eleanor oliphant
Search our site
Are You Sleeping by Kathleen Barber Read the opening extract of the brand new Kathleen Barber book before its publication on 27/12/2017

Fellside by M. R. Carey
  

Fellside

Horror   Thriller / Suspense   eBook Favourites   eBook Favourites   
Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Crime/Mystery/Thriller Facebook group Share this book

Lovereading view...

Highly Recommended.

The new novel from the author of The Girl With All The Gifts is a gripping meld of prison novel, whodunit and supernatural suspense. Carey is an astute observer of people and their foibles and this novel, set in Fellside, a private prison on the North Yorkshire moors, offers him ample opportunity to introduce the reader to a cast of troubled and very real characters. Fellside is a modern prison but is full of the Dickensian abuse and violence. And something else, rather more otherworldly.

Newly arrived in Fellside is Jess Moulson, a young woman addicted to heroin, found guilty of murdering a boy in a fire that consumed the flats where she and the boy’s family were living. Jess is plagued by a terrifying cocktail of guilt, heroin withdrawal and the pain of her injuries. Considering death, Jess begins to see the ghost of the dead boy. He speaks to her, asks for her help, offers some sort of redemption. At which point Carey’s novel breaks out of the prison genre and takes us to places beyond life and waking.

Carey is a very skilled writer able to use brief moments to introduce both horror and sensitive insight into the lives of his characters. The latter part of the book takes a few liberties with criminal justice procedures but by this point you are gripped by Jess’ search for the truth. A perfect read for fans of Stephen King, John Connolly and Sarah Pinborough. ~ Simon Spanton

If you like M. R. Carey you might also like to read books by Neil Gaiman, Justin Cronin and Lauren Beukes.

Win a Family Break to Salisbury!

Don’t miss out! Enter to win a family break to Salisbury!

Here at Lovereading.co.uk and Lovereading4kids.co.uk we have joined with VisitWiltshire. You could see yourself indulging in the finest food and slumbering comfortably into one of the grand rooms at The Red Lion Salisbury for two nights. The Red Lion Hotel is located in medieval city of Salisbury, which is home to all your favourite stores as well as independent shops, restaurants, cafes and parks and green spaces. Nearby is Stonehenge, Salisbury Plain and numerous sites of historic and archaeological interest.

There are many seasonal events in Salisbury, and you can find out what’s on here. You will also receive a family ticket to Sir Harold Hillier Gardens, the gardens are especially beautiful in the winter, with bold coloured stems, scents, and fabulous foliage, you can be sure to be impressed. For the children there is also a play park, and you can stop off in the Victorian tea room to warm up and treat yourself to a traditional cream tea.

To have a chance of winning this fantastic prize, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. Entries close 31st January 2018.

Good luck!

Terms and Conditions

Red Lion: Two night stay includes breakfast for two adults and up to two children sharing a family room. Subject to availability and cannot be exchanged or redeemed for cash value. Not to be used in combination with any other offer. Valid until 1st Dec 2018 and excludes bank holidays.

Sir Harold Hillier Gardens: Valid for day entry, Not to be used for special events or group entry. Voucher is not transferable or refundable, no Cash Value. Ticket must be redeemed on entry. Valid until 31 Dec 2018. Gardens open daily from 10am – closed Christmas Day and Boxing Day. Prize admits 2 adults and accompanying children Under 17 FREE to Sir Harold Hillier Gardens.

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 31/01/2018

Synopsis

Fellside by M. R. Carey

A haunting and heart-breaking new thriller from the author of the word-of-mouth bestseller The Girl With All the Gifts Fellside is a maximum security prison on the edge of the Yorkshire moors. It's not the kind of place you'd want to end up. But it's where Jess Moulson could be spending the rest of her life. It's a place where even the walls whisper. And one voice belongs to a little boy with a message for Jess. Will she listen? Discover M. R. Carey's powerful new novel - a chillingly atmospheric tale filled with tension, action and emotion that's set to take the world by storm. Praise for M. R. Carey: 'An intense, haunting thriller with heart. You will not want to put this down - Laini Taylor, NEW YORK TIMES bestselling author 'Original, thrilling and powerful' - Guardian 'Haunting, heartbreaking' - Vogue 'As fresh as it is terrifying ...a jewel' - Joss Whedon

Reviews

'An intense, haunting thriller with heart. You will not want to put this down' Laini Taylor, NEW YORK TIMES bestselling author on FELLSIDE

'A fantastic, twist-upon-twist, shape-shifting novel. Gripping, deeply affecting and arrestingly beautiful, it is a haunting tale of raw horror and extraordinary redemption. I adored every page' Miranda Dickinson, SUNDAY TIMES bestselling author on FELLSIDE

'A dark, intriguing read Martina Cole on FELLSIDE [A] grand piece of storytelling' SUNDAY EXPRESS on FELLSIDE

'A twisty crime thriller as well as an exotic ghost story, Carey's second novel is as hard to categorize as it is to put down' BARNES AND NOBLE on FELLSIDE

'Combines a fast-paced plot with a supernatural storyline that's very believable. Gripping stuff' GOOD HOUSEKEEPING on FELLSIDE

'As brilliant as it is dark and devious' Jonathan Maberry, NEW YORK TIMES bestselling author on FELLSIDE

About the Author

M. R. Carey

M. R. Carey is a pen name for an established British writer of prose fiction and comic books. He has written for both DC and Marvel, including critically acclaimed runs on X-Men and Fantastic Four, Marvel's flagship superhero titles. His creator-owned books regularly appear in the New York Times graphic fiction bestseller list. He also has several previous novels and one Hollywood movie screenplay to his credit.

Click here to read our 'Ask the Author' feature on M.R. Carey.

Author photo © Charlie Hopkinson

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

25th August 2016

Author

M. R. Carey

More books by M. R. Carey
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

mikeandpeter.com/about/
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Orbit an imprint of Little, Brown Book Group

Format

Paperback
512 pages

Categories

Horror
Thriller / Suspense
eBook Favourites
eBook Favourites

Science fiction

ISBN

9780356503608

I love 'try before you buy' extracts. I love the wide range of authors & genres. I love the author info. I love books!

Judi Davies

My favourite thing about is the 'like for like' page this has really introduced me to some good reads! That and lots of honest reviews.

Sam Lewis

Lovereading is a wonderful way to expand my literary horizons, discover inspiring authors & get the chance to read new novels first. #loveit

Zarina de Ruiter

I love reading books I wouldn't normally choose before everyone else gets to read them!

Dawn Lynch

Insightful reader reviews and unbiased recommendations. I don't know how I chose books before Lovereading! An essential for all book lovers.

Sarah Harper

The selections are so varied and the reader reviews are so helpful. A fantastic website for those who love books.

Ann Quintilla

Lovereading is a world of books. It has everything you need from new to old and much loved classic books. It even give you recommendations!

Kate Thurston

Hooked on books? Give Lovereading a go - for the chance to discover brilliant books, and to see why our members love it so.

Claire Hill

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools