Are you between 5 and 25? If so, enter the Wicked Young Writer Awards NOW - click here for details...

twitter likeyoulove
Search our site
Last Letter from Istanbul by Lucy Foley Read the opening extract of the brand new Lucy Foley book before its publication on 19/03/2018

Fellside by M. R. Carey
  

Fellside

Horror   Thriller / Suspense   eBook Favourites   
Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Crime/Mystery/Thriller Facebook group Share this book

Lovereading view...

Highly Recommended.

The new novel from the author of The Girl With All The Gifts is a gripping meld of prison novel, whodunit and supernatural suspense. Carey is an astute observer of people and their foibles and this novel, set in Fellside, a private prison on the North Yorkshire moors, offers him ample opportunity to introduce the reader to a cast of troubled and very real characters. Fellside is a modern prison but is full of the Dickensian abuse and violence. And something else, rather more otherworldly.

Newly arrived in Fellside is Jess Moulson, a young woman addicted to heroin, found guilty of murdering a boy in a fire that consumed the flats where she and the boy’s family were living. Jess is plagued by a terrifying cocktail of guilt, heroin withdrawal and the pain of her injuries. Considering death, Jess begins to see the ghost of the dead boy. He speaks to her, asks for her help, offers some sort of redemption. At which point Carey’s novel breaks out of the prison genre and takes us to places beyond life and waking.

Carey is a very skilled writer able to use brief moments to introduce both horror and sensitive insight into the lives of his characters. The latter part of the book takes a few liberties with criminal justice procedures but by this point you are gripped by Jess’ search for the truth. A perfect read for fans of Stephen King, John Connolly and Sarah Pinborough. ~ Simon Spanton

If you like M. R. Carey you might also like to read books by Justin Cronin, Lauren Beukes and Neil Gaiman.

Synopsis

Fellside by M. R. Carey

A haunting and heart-breaking new thriller from the author of the word-of-mouth bestseller The Girl With All the Gifts Fellside is a maximum security prison on the edge of the Yorkshire moors. It's not the kind of place you'd want to end up. But it's where Jess Moulson could be spending the rest of her life. It's a place where even the walls whisper. And one voice belongs to a little boy with a message for Jess. Will she listen? Discover M. R. Carey's powerful new novel - a chillingly atmospheric tale filled with tension, action and emotion that's set to take the world by storm. Praise for M. R. Carey: 'An intense, haunting thriller with heart. You will not want to put this down - Laini Taylor, NEW YORK TIMES bestselling author 'Original, thrilling and powerful' - Guardian 'Haunting, heartbreaking' - Vogue 'As fresh as it is terrifying ...a jewel' - Joss Whedon

Reviews

'An intense, haunting thriller with heart. You will not want to put this down' Laini Taylor, NEW YORK TIMES bestselling author on FELLSIDE

'A fantastic, twist-upon-twist, shape-shifting novel. Gripping, deeply affecting and arrestingly beautiful, it is a haunting tale of raw horror and extraordinary redemption. I adored every page' Miranda Dickinson, SUNDAY TIMES bestselling author on FELLSIDE

'A dark, intriguing read Martina Cole on FELLSIDE [A] grand piece of storytelling' SUNDAY EXPRESS on FELLSIDE

'A twisty crime thriller as well as an exotic ghost story, Carey's second novel is as hard to categorize as it is to put down' BARNES AND NOBLE on FELLSIDE

'Combines a fast-paced plot with a supernatural storyline that's very believable. Gripping stuff' GOOD HOUSEKEEPING on FELLSIDE

'As brilliant as it is dark and devious' Jonathan Maberry, NEW YORK TIMES bestselling author on FELLSIDE

About the Author

M. R. Carey

M. R. Carey is a pen name for an established British writer of prose fiction and comic books. He has written for both DC and Marvel, including critically acclaimed runs on X-Men and Fantastic Four, Marvel's flagship superhero titles. His creator-owned books regularly appear in the New York Times graphic fiction bestseller list. He also has several previous novels and one Hollywood movie screenplay to his credit.

Click here to read our 'Ask the Author' feature on M.R. Carey.

Author photo © Charlie Hopkinson

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

25th August 2016

Author

M. R. Carey

More books by M. R. Carey
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

mikeandpeter.com/about/
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Orbit an imprint of Little, Brown Book Group

Format

Paperback
512 pages

Categories

Horror
Thriller / Suspense
eBook Favourites

Science fiction

ISBN

9780356503608

Lovereading has all the new books and also suggestions for 'similar' authors whilst waiting for your favourites new books.

Carol Peace

Lovereading is a world of books. It has everything you need from new to old and much loved classic books. It even give you recommendations!

Kate Thurston

Lovereading recommends, honestly reviews and promotes books-what more can I say?!

Rachel Bridgeman

I love the honest opinions, recommendations for every genre and every reader, wish lists and Like for Like.

Amrita Dasgupta

With literary excellence, humour and drama, Lovereading's got value and is a real stress-calmer!

Siobhan McDowell

I love 'try before you buy' extracts. I love the wide range of authors & genres. I love the author info. I love books!

Judi Davies

The books for review are always great reads, brilliantly written, and introduces me to a huge variety of, established and new, authors.

Lesley Hart

I read new, exciting writers and established authors before publication and there is a great website full of brilliant books and opinions.

Lynda

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools