Fellside

by M. R. Carey

eBooks of the Month Horror Thriller and Suspense

LoveReading View on Fellside

Highly Recommended.

The new novel from the author of The Girl With All The Gifts is a gripping meld of prison novel, whodunit and supernatural suspense. Carey is an astute observer of people and their foibles and this novel, set in Fellside, a private prison on the North Yorkshire moors, offers him ample opportunity to introduce the reader to a cast of troubled and very real characters. Fellside is a modern prison but is full of the Dickensian abuse and violence. And something else, rather more otherworldly.

Newly arrived in Fellside is Jess Moulson, a young woman addicted to heroin, found guilty of murdering a boy in a fire that consumed the flats where she and the boy’s family were living. Jess is plagued by a terrifying cocktail of guilt, heroin withdrawal and the pain of her injuries. Considering death, Jess begins to see the ghost of the dead boy. He speaks to her, asks for her help, offers some sort of redemption. At which point Carey’s novel breaks out of the prison genre and takes us to places beyond life and waking.

Carey is a very skilled writer able to use brief moments to introduce both horror and sensitive insight into the lives of his characters. The latter part of the book takes a few liberties with criminal justice procedures but by this point you are gripped by Jess’ search for the truth. A perfect read for fans of Stephen King, John Connolly and Sarah Pinborough.

Simon Spanton

Fellside Synopsis

A haunting and heart-breaking new thriller from the author of the word-of-mouth bestseller The Girl With All the Gifts Fellside is a maximum security prison on the edge of the Yorkshire moors. It's not the kind of place you'd want to end up. But it's where Jess Moulson could be spending the rest of her life. It's a place where even the walls whisper. And one voice belongs to a little boy with a message for Jess. Will she listen? Discover M. R. Carey's powerful new novel - a chillingly atmospheric tale filled with tension, action and emotion that's set to take the world by storm. Praise for M. R. Carey: 'An intense, haunting thriller with heart. You will not want to put this down - Laini Taylor, NEW YORK TIMES bestselling author 'Original, thrilling and powerful' - Guardian 'Haunting, heartbreaking' - Vogue 'As fresh as it is terrifying ...a jewel' - Joss Whedon

Fellside Press Reviews

'An intense, haunting thriller with heart. You will not want to put this down' Laini Taylor, NEW YORK TIMES bestselling author on FELLSIDE

'A fantastic, twist-upon-twist, shape-shifting novel. Gripping, deeply affecting and arrestingly beautiful, it is a haunting tale of raw horror and extraordinary redemption. I adored every page' Miranda Dickinson, SUNDAY TIMES bestselling author on FELLSIDE

'A dark, intriguing read Martina Cole on FELLSIDE [A] grand piece of storytelling' SUNDAY EXPRESS on FELLSIDE

'A twisty crime thriller as well as an exotic ghost story, Carey's second novel is as hard to categorize as it is to put down' BARNES AND NOBLE on FELLSIDE

'Combines a fast-paced plot with a supernatural storyline that's very believable. Gripping stuff' GOOD HOUSEKEEPING on FELLSIDE

'As brilliant as it is dark and devious' Jonathan Maberry, NEW YORK TIMES bestselling author on FELLSIDE

If you loved this, you might like these...

The City of Mirrors
Norse Mythology
Neverwhere
The Ocean at the End of the Lane

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9780356503608
Publication date: 25/08/2016
Publisher: Orbit an imprint of Little, Brown Book Group
Format: Paperback

ISBN: 9780356503585
Publication date: 07/04/2016
Publisher: Orbit an imprint of Little, Brown Book Group
Format: Hardback

Book Information

ISBN: 9780356503608
Publication date: 25th August 2016
Author: M. R. Carey
Publisher: Orbit an imprint of Little, Brown Book Group
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 512 pages
Genres: eBook Favourites, Horror, Thriller / Suspense,
Categories: Science fiction,

About M. R. Carey

M. R. Carey is a pen name for an established British writer of prose fiction and comic books. He has written for both DC and Marvel, including critically acclaimed runs on X-Men and Fantastic Four, Marvel's flagship superhero titles. His creator-owned books regularly appear in the New York Times graphic fiction bestseller list. He also has several previous novels and one Hollywood movie screenplay to his credit. Click here to read our 'Ask the Author' feature on M.R. Carey. Author photo © Charlie Hopkinson

More About M. R. Carey

More Books By M. R. Carey

Cover for The Boy on the Bridge by M. R. Carey
Cover for Fellside by M. R. Carey
Cover for The Girl with All the Gifts by M. R. Carey
View All Books By M. R. Carey

Share this book