Tainted Love

by Kimberley Chambers

Books with reviews by our Reader Review Panel Crime / Mystery eBooks of the Month Thriller and Suspense

LoveReading View on Tainted Love

One of our Books of the Year 2016.

An audacious, fast moving, dark but oh so entertaining tale. Prepare yourself… the Butler Family are back, and we observe as they battle their way through life from 1986 to 2001. From the unwavering matriarch Queenie, to her hard as nails sons Vinny and Michael and their various offspring, this is an East End family you wouldn't want to cross. If you haven't met the Butlers before, you could read this as a standalone, however there is a tangled network of characters to get to know. Kimberley Chambers excels at breathing life into this villainous family, some are not particularly likeable, however I admit to having a soft spot for one or two of them and I couldn't help but watch the drama play out. At times it felt as though I was watching a film as the vivid, provocative story rampaged across the pages, I was grabbed from the offset by this gritty story and I thoroughly enjoyed it. ~ Liz Robinson

Liz Robinson

Tainted Love Synopsis

Two weddings. One funeral. The explosive new novel from the Sunday Times #1 bestselling author Kimberley Chambers. It's the 1980s and although the East End's heyday is over, the Butler family is still a formidable force with a new generation determined to make its mark. Michael and Vinny have always provided for the family and made sure business stopped at the front door. But the rules are changing - women and children are fair game and though blood is thicker than water, it's now brother against brother. The question is, who will come out on top? Little Vinny is battling not to follow in his father's footsteps. And sweet Sammi-Lou has vowed 'til death do us part. It's only a matter of time before the truth comes out about the murder he committed. Dark secrets are spiralling out of control...Is this the final nail in the Butler family coffin?

Tainted Love Reader Reviews

In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title. You can click here to read the full reviews.

  • Edel Waugh - 'This was a remarkable story intricately weaving all the lives of one large family and their troubles together in one amazing saga...Truly unforgettable!'
  • Natasha Motton - 'If you are a fan of Martina Cole then you will love this book.'
  • Cathy Petersen - 'Dark passions and family betrayal stalk the villainous Butler family as they struggle to retain control of their Whitechapel patch in the last decade on the twentieth century.'
  • Angie Rhodes - 'Tainted Love is a page turner, a must read for fans of Martina Cole and Mandasue Heller. Marks out of ten? ten!'
  • Celia Cohen - 'Not a comfortable book to read but somehow compelling.'
  • Jan Kirkcaldy - 'Interesting definitely, totally over the top and filled with unpleasant characters...I enjoyed reading out of my comfort zone. I’m glad I read it.'
  • Glenda Worth - 'A true East End tale of a mob style lifestyle. The Butler brothers and families run their neighbourhood but many secrets and enemies set out to destroy them. A fast paced tale with twists and turns!'
  • Phylippa Smithson - 'Felt frustrated reading this story.  Great reading at times but it was hard work.  Too many characters, too many plots and no joined up finale to each plot.'
  • Humaira Kauser - 'Amazing, fast paced and hard to put down...'
  • Jayne Burton - 'An exciting and sometimes chilling book making it hard to put down.'
  • Les Wood - 'Murder, Mystery, Mayhem and Mirth - You will be gripped with laughter as you follow the exploits of two club owners and their dysfunctional families...Martina Cole's crown is very safe.'
  • Sue Burton - 'it is another version of a Martina Cole book,  not nice characters,  did not like any of them and so far-fetched.'
  • Cathy Small - 'They say that truth will out and that doesn't matter if you are one of the feared Butler family or someone who got caught in the wrong crowd.'

Tainted Love Press Reviews

'This beautifully crafted, sharp, well-paced novel will keep you hooked until the very end. An outstanding tale of betrayal, violence and love. Buy it. Read it. You'll love it. I did.' Amanda Prowse

Praise for Kimberley Chambers:

'[Kimberley Chambers is] the queen of the gritty, low-life tale ...a fast-paced, thrill-a-minute ride that takes you on all sorts of twists and turns
Bella

'Easily as good as Martina Cole'
News of the World

'Brilliantly delivers a story of violence, treachery and family ties... Easy to read and hard to put down'
News of the World

'[a] fast-paced tale with gritty authenticity'
The Guardian

If you loved this, you might like these...

Damaged
Toxic
Save Me
Damaged

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9780007521791
Publication date: 28/07/2016
Publisher: Harper an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers
Format: Paperback

ISBN: 9780007521777
Publication date: 11/02/2016
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Ltd an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers
Format: Hardback

Book Information

ISBN: 9780007521791
Publication date: 28th July 2016
Author: Kimberley Chambers
Publisher: Harper an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 496 pages
Genres: Reader Reviewed Books, Crime / Mystery, eBook Favourites, Thriller / Suspense,
Categories: Thriller / suspense,

About Kimberley Chambers

Kimberley Chambers lives in Romford and has been, at various times, a disc jockey and a street trader. She is now a full-time writer.   Author photo © Eammon McCabe

More About Kimberley Chambers

More Books By Kimberley Chambers

Cover for Life of Crime by Kimberley Chambers
Cover for Backstabber by Kimberley Chambers
Cover for Tainted Love by Kimberley Chambers
View All Books By Kimberley Chambers

Share this book