rebus 30th anniversary twitter
Search our site
Are You Sleeping by Kathleen Barber Read the opening extract of the brand new Kathleen Barber book before its publication on 27/12/2017

Reader Reviewed
Tainted Love by Kimberley Chambers
  

Tainted Love

Crime / Mystery   Thriller / Suspense   eBook Favourites   
Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Crime/Mystery/Thriller Facebook group Share this book

Lovereading view...

One of our Books of the Year 2016.

An audacious, fast moving, dark but oh so entertaining tale. Prepare yourself… the Butler Family are back, and we observe as they battle their way through life from 1986 to 2001. From the unwavering matriarch Queenie, to her hard as nails sons Vinny and Michael and their various offspring, this is an East End family you wouldn't want to cross. If you haven't met the Butlers before, you could read this as a standalone, however there is a tangled network of characters to get to know. Kimberley Chambers excels at breathing life into this villainous family, some are not particularly likeable, however I admit to having a soft spot for one or two of them and I couldn't help but watch the drama play out. At times it felt as though I was watching a film as the vivid, provocative story rampaged across the pages, I was grabbed from the offset by this gritty story and I thoroughly enjoyed it. ~ Liz Robinson

If you like Kimberley Chambers you might also like to read books by dreda say mitchell, Martina Cole and Mandasue Heller.

Reader Reviews

In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title. You can click here to read the full reviews.

  • Edel Waugh - 'This was a remarkable story intricately weaving all the lives of one large family and their troubles together in one amazing saga...Truly unforgettable!'
  • Natasha Motton - 'If you are a fan of Martina Cole then you will love this book.'
  • Cathy Petersen - 'Dark passions and family betrayal stalk the villainous Butler family as they struggle to retain control of their Whitechapel patch in the last decade on the twentieth century.'
  • Angie Rhodes - 'Tainted Love is a page turner, a must read for fans of Martina Cole and Mandasue Heller. Marks out of ten? ten!'
  • Celia Cohen - 'Not a comfortable book to read but somehow compelling.'
  • Jan Kirkcaldy - 'Interesting definitely, totally over the top and filled with unpleasant characters...I enjoyed reading out of my comfort zone. I’m glad I read it.'
  • Glenda Worth - 'A true East End tale of a mob style lifestyle. The Butler brothers and families run their neighbourhood but many secrets and enemies set out to destroy them. A fast paced tale with twists and turns!'
  • Phylippa Smithson - 'Felt frustrated reading this story.  Great reading at times but it was hard work.  Too many characters, too many plots and no joined up finale to each plot.'
  • Humaira Kauser - 'Amazing, fast paced and hard to put down...'
  • Jayne Burton - 'An exciting and sometimes chilling book making it hard to put down.'
  • Les Wood - 'Murder, Mystery, Mayhem and Mirth - You will be gripped with laughter as you follow the exploits of two club owners and their dysfunctional families...Martina Cole's crown is very safe.'
  • Sue Burton - 'it is another version of a Martina Cole book,  not nice characters,  did not like any of them and so far-fetched.'
  • Cathy Small - 'They say that truth will out and that doesn't matter if you are one of the feared Butler family or someone who got caught in the wrong crowd.'

Win a Family Break to Salisbury!

Don’t miss out! Enter to win a family break to Salisbury!

Here at Lovereading.co.uk and Lovereading4kids.co.uk we have joined with VisitWiltshire. You could see yourself indulging in the finest food and slumbering comfortably into one of the grand rooms at The Red Lion Salisbury for two nights. The Red Lion Hotel is located in medieval city of Salisbury, which is home to all your favourite stores as well as independent shops, restaurants, cafes and parks and green spaces. Nearby is Stonehenge, Salisbury Plain and numerous sites of historic and archaeological interest.

There are many seasonal events in Salisbury, and you can find out what’s on here. You will also receive a family ticket to Sir Harold Hillier Gardens, the gardens are especially beautiful in the winter, with bold coloured stems, scents, and fabulous foliage, you can be sure to be impressed. For the children there is also a play park, and you can stop off in the Victorian tea room to warm up and treat yourself to a traditional cream tea.

To have a chance of winning this fantastic prize, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. Entries close 31st January 2018.

Good luck!

Terms and Conditions

Red Lion: Two night stay includes breakfast for two adults and up to two children sharing a family room. Subject to availability and cannot be exchanged or redeemed for cash value. Not to be used in combination with any other offer. Valid until 1st Dec 2018 and excludes bank holidays.

Sir Harold Hillier Gardens: Valid for day entry, Not to be used for special events or group entry. Voucher is not transferable or refundable, no Cash Value. Ticket must be redeemed on entry. Valid until 31 Dec 2018. Gardens open daily from 10am – closed Christmas Day and Boxing Day. Prize admits 2 adults and accompanying children Under 17 FREE to Sir Harold Hillier Gardens.

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 31/01/2018

Synopsis

Tainted Love by Kimberley Chambers

Two weddings. One funeral. The explosive new novel from the Sunday Times #1 bestselling author Kimberley Chambers. It's the 1980s and although the East End's heyday is over, the Butler family is still a formidable force with a new generation determined to make its mark. Michael and Vinny have always provided for the family and made sure business stopped at the front door. But the rules are changing - women and children are fair game and though blood is thicker than water, it's now brother against brother. The question is, who will come out on top? Little Vinny is battling not to follow in his father's footsteps. And sweet Sammi-Lou has vowed 'til death do us part. It's only a matter of time before the truth comes out about the murder he committed. Dark secrets are spiralling out of control...Is this the final nail in the Butler family coffin?

Reviews

'This beautifully crafted, sharp, well-paced novel will keep you hooked until the very end. An outstanding tale of betrayal, violence and love. Buy it. Read it. You'll love it. I did.' Amanda Prowse

Praise for Kimberley Chambers:

'[Kimberley Chambers is] the queen of the gritty, low-life tale ...a fast-paced, thrill-a-minute ride that takes you on all sorts of twists and turns
Bella

'Easily as good as Martina Cole'
News of the World

'Brilliantly delivers a story of violence, treachery and family ties... Easy to read and hard to put down'
News of the World

'[a] fast-paced tale with gritty authenticity'
The Guardian

About the Author

Kimberley Chambers

Kimberley Chambers lives in Romford and has been, at various times, a disc jockey and a street trader. She is now a full-time writer.

Author photo © Eammon McCabe

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

28th July 2016

Author

Kimberley Chambers

More books by Kimberley Chambers
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.kimberleychambers.com/

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Harper an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers

Format

Paperback
496 pages

Categories

Crime / Mystery
Thriller / Suspense
eBook Favourites

Thriller / suspense

ISBN

9780007521791

Lovereading is pitched at just the right level for all the various types of people who enjoy reading in its many forms.

Pam Woodburn

I love the honest opinions, recommendations for every genre and every reader, wish lists and Like for Like.

Amrita Dasgupta

Lovereading is not only an amazing site, but it's one of my very favourites. It's like visiting a fascinating bookstore, but better.

Rebecca Jayne Barrett

I love the newsletter with reviews of all the new books coming out. Can't wait to open it when it arrives in my inbox.

Rachel Aygin

I love Lovereading because of its ability to connect people that love books & unite them in a friendly, stimulating & interesting community.

Megan Olwen William

Lovereading are lovely people who send me lovely books. What's not to love?

Gavin Dimmock

It is a website dedicated to those who adore reading It really is a one stop shop for book lovers. Love it!

Edel Waugh

They are bright, breezy and eager to offer a great book, then genuinely listen/respect the review one writes.

Maggie Crane

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools