Are you between 5 and 25? If so, enter the Wicked Young Writer Awards NOW - click here for details...

likeyoulove
Search our site
Last Letter from Istanbul by Lucy Foley Read the opening extract of the brand new Lucy Foley book before its publication on 19/03/2018

Reader Reviewed
Asking for it by Louise O'Neill
  

Asking for it

Literary Fiction   Relationship Stories   eBook Favourites   
Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Literary Contemporary Facebook group Share this book

Lovereading view...

A courageous, unflinching and emotionally challenging novel, focusing on sexual consent and the issues surrounding social media commentary and uprisings. Covering two time periods, a year apart, a vivid picture emerges of Emma. Emma is a fascinating character, bright and beautiful, she loves to be the centre of attention, however she is manipulative and able to use her looks to her advantage. Beneath the surface, there is much more to discover, and as her story is written in the first person, a fuller picture of Emma starts to emerge. Louise O’Neill describes the events that occur with consideration, yet most importantly with a frank honesty, meaning at times this is not only an uncomfortable but also achingly difficult read. Distressing, bleak yet compelling, this is a significant novel that will encourage contemplation and discussion, about a painful and challenging subject. This title is recommended for older teens due to the content. ~ Liz Robinson

Reader Reviews

In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title. You can click here to read the full reviews.

  • Helen Clare - 'It is compelling and insightful and handles well the negative aspect of social media. Highly recommended for young adults and adults alike.'
  • Karen - 'This is an extremely powerful and thought provoking story and the writing is at times brutal. It raises issues of taking responsibility for yourself and the question of consent.'
  • Rachel Bridgeman - 'This is a brave, unflinching examination of consent, social media and social attitudes to sexual politics. Not for the faint hearted. Superb.'
  • Genevieve McAllister - 'A morality tale for the 21st century, I felt sickened and saddened reading this.  It should be compulsory reading for teenage girls and boys everywhere.'
  • Beth Kemp - 'Asking For It is hard to label as enjoyable, because in many ways it’s excruciating, but it certainly had me hooked.'
  • Katy Noyes - 'To say this 'makes a good point' is an understatement. It's powerful, explicit on more than one occasion (parental advisory: not for primary-aged readers) and very, very important.'
  • Julie Evans - 'A story which brings a different perspective to the age of the Smartphone, highlighting the potential damage it can cause to the individual and subsequent consequences to their families.'
  • Gill Dally-FItzsimons - 'Uncomfortable...Compelling...Heartbreaking...I couldn't put this book down, it really makes you think, the reactions, emotions and feeling of Emma and her family are so raw and convincing.'
  • Sophia Ufton - 'Wow, this book was just amazing. Really gripped to the book, didn't want it to end...'

Synopsis

Asking for it by Louise O'Neill

'A soul-shattering novel that will leave your emotions raw. This story will haunt me forever. Everyone should read it' Guardian In a small town where everyone knows everyone, Emma O'Donovan is different. She is the special one - beautiful, popular, powerful. And she works hard to keep it that way. Until that night ...Now, she's an embarrassment. Now, she's just a slut. Now, she is nothing. And those pictures - those pictures that everyone has seen - mean she can never forget. For fans of Caitlin Moran, Marian Keyes and Jodi Picoult. BOOK OF THE YEAR AT THE IRISH BOOK AWARDS 2015. The award-winning, bestselling novel about the life-shattering impact of sexual assault, rape and how victims are treated.

Reviews

'Riveting and essential'
New York Times

'Brilliant, harrowing' Observer

'A brutal and shocking novel that strikes to the heart of the current debates around consent' Stylist

'Establishes Louise O'Neill as a literary tour de force'
Irish Independent

'A difficult, confronting and vital read' Elle

'Heartbreakingly accurate... handled with both sensitivity and unflinching honesty. A compelling and brave story that deserves to be read by all' Heat

'A stunning portrait of a girl, a family and a town in trouble' Irish Examiner

'A brutal, unflinching look at the culture of slut-shaming and trial by social media. It broke my heart.' Red Magazine

'A brave and important book about rape culture, sexism and victim-blaming in modern society.' Telegraph

'Bold, brave ... and brutal' Bookseller

'O'Neill has a keen ear for the catty argot of teenage girls and her writing is razor sharp ... unsparing and unsentimental' Independent

'A razor-sharp look at gender issues' - Glasgow Herald Glasgow Herald

'Riveting ... a timely, gripping and vital novel.' Western Mail

'A nuanced and insightful commentary on the intricacies of teenage female friendship and the internal and external pressures that young women face as they reach adulthood' Irish Mail on Sunday

'Blistering, unapologetic and vitally important' -- Anna James

About the Author

Louise O'Neill

Louise O'Neill was born in west Cork in 1985. She studied English at Trinity College Dublin and has worked for the senior Style Director of American Elle magazine. While in New York, she also worked as an assistant stylist on a number of high-profile campaigns. She is currently working as a freelance journalist for a variety of Irish national newspapers and magazines, covering feminist issues, fashion and pop culture.

Author photo © Miki Barlok

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

7th July 2016

Author

Louise O'Neill

More books by Louise O'Neill
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.louiseoneillauthor.com
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Quercus Publishing

Format

Paperback
368 pages

Categories

Literary Fiction
Relationship Stories
eBook Favourites

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

ISBN

9781784293208

Lovereading is a wonderful way to expand my literary horizons, discover inspiring authors & get the chance to read new novels first. #loveit

Zarina de Ruiter

Love books. Love reading. Love reading books. And, here's the trick. Here's a website which caters for people like me.

Ian Harvey-brown

They are bright, breezy and eager to offer a great book, then genuinely listen/respect the review one writes.

Maggie Crane

I love the newsletter with reviews of all the new books coming out. Can't wait to open it when it arrives in my inbox.

Rachel Aygin

Lovereading are lovely people who send me lovely books. What's not to love?

Gavin Dimmock

Hooked on books? Give Lovereading a go - for the chance to discover brilliant books, and to see why our members love it so.

Claire Hill

If you LOVE reading then you will love LOVEREADING! It's a 'novel' idea. Seriously though I could not recommend them enough.

Rebecca Whymark

Lovereading is like booking a holiday, you don't know what it will be like and it is a whole new experience.

Sue Burton

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools