newgen books for YA readers rebus 30th anniversary
Search our site
Are You Sleeping by Kathleen Barber Read the opening extract of the brand new Kathleen Barber book before its publication on 27/12/2017

Reader Reviewed
One by Sarah Crossan
  

One

NewGen - YA Fiction   All Shortlists and Winners   eBook Favourites   eBook Favourites   
Download an extract Share this book

Lovereading view...

Shortlisted for the Books Are My Bag Children's Book Award 2016.

Winner of the CILIP Carnegie Medal 2016. Winner of The Bookseller's 2016 prize for young adult fiction. Ireland's Children's Book of the Year Award 2016.

Award-winning Sarah Crossan tells an astonishing and difficult story with the surest of touches in this tender, funny and life affirming book. Grace and Tippi are twins. Not just twins but conjoined twins, sharing the lower half of their bodies. Somehow they have always managed to be individuals while also part of each other. Now teenagers, Tippi and Grace are facing increasing difficulties. They are off to school for the first time meeting new experiences and especially new friendships and relationships. While Tippi longs for things to remain the same, Grace yearns for something more. Falling in love with classmate Jon she begins to imagine a future full of romance and love. But will there be a future for Grace and Tippi? When a desperate decision needs to be taken the girls lives must change forever. Sarah Crossan tells an original and utterly gripping story brilliantly. ~ Julia Eccleshare

One of our Julia Eccleshare's Pick of the Year 2015

Reader Reviews

Teens love to read and so in addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Lovereading4kids Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title. You can read their full reviews by clicking here.

  • Helen Marshall - 'I loved this book.  It was so terribly sad. It’s a great book that really celebrates people’s differences and the strength of love between two sisters.'
  • Ellen Faulkner, Age 13 - 'I cried my heart out at this stunning novel, by the ‘One’ and only Sarah Crossan. I think that this book should be compulsory reading for all secondary age pupils.'
  • Rebekah Marsh, Age 12 - 'With this book the emotions come flowing out while you follow the heart-warming tale of Tippi and Grace, the conjoined twins.'
  • Poppy, Age 16 - ''One' is a touching book that rings with truth. The girls are relatable, even when you couldn't imagine the position they are in.'
  • Humaira Kauser, Age 17 - 'This book is quite something. I've never read anything like it- it's so different, refreshing and totally original.'
  • Francesca Hughes, Age 13 - 'Where do I begin ... This book captured my heart. It was lyrical, emotional and funny. Perfect for fans of John Green and Rainbow Rowell.'
  • Bethan Scarr, Age 14 - 'Read in one sitting, holding my breath most of the way through. This certainly is the one book to read this summer. So beautifully written.'
  • Eloise Mae Clarkson - 'This book is funny and heart-warming, and unlike anything I have ever read before. I would give it five out of five stars.'  
  • La'Shaunna Williamson, Age 13 - '‘One’ is a breath-taking story told from the perspective of conjoined twins, how being different can mean people moving on, how even the strongest relationship can break and how love is never how it seems.'
  • Aimee Sweet - 'I loved the characters of Grace and Tippi, and I found it fascinating how they could almost hear each other’s thoughts and know when they’re lying or telling the truth.'
  • Maddie, Age 13 - 'Wonderful description and poetry to help to show emotion and create a tense feel.'
  • Adam Goodman, age 12 - 'An exciting, fast moving and touching book that I found hard to put down!'
  • Jodi Coffman, age 13 - 'One is an extremely powerful and amazing book.  It was such a page-turner that I read it all in one night.'

Synopsis

One by Sarah Crossan

Grace and Tippi are twins - conjoined twins. And their lives are about to change. No longer able to afford homeschooling, they must venture into the world - a world of stares, sneers and cruelty. Will they find more than that at school? Can they find real friends? And what about love? But what neither Grace or Tippi realises is that a heart-wrenching decision lies ahead. A decision that could tear them apart. One that will change their lives even more than they ever imagined...From Carnegie Medal shortlisted author Sarah Crossan, this moving and beautifully crafted novel about identity, sisterhood and love ultimately asks one question: what does it mean to want and have a soulmate? Shortlisted for The CILIP Carnegie Medal in 2016

Reviews

Praise for Apple and Rain

'Sarah Crossan writes with insight and honesty in this moving story of family, friendship, and love' Claire Furniss, author of The Year of the Rat

‘This is such an honest story about family relationships and the way that things aren't always as they might first appear. Apple's innocence is sometimes funny and at times, heartbreaking - she tells her story with an openness that is very appealing. Apple and Rain is perfect for readers who want to read about an ordinary person with an extraordinary family’ Rebecca Westcott, author of Dandelion Clocks

'Apple and Rain is a beautifully crafted story about painful reunions, loyalty and the true meaning of love; a story with a deep emotional core, both heart wrenching and heart-warming.' Sita Brahmachari, author of Artichoke Hearts

‘This poignant, realistic tale is about learning to love and taking responsibility, and about how poems can tell the truth’ Sunday Times

‘A great, heartfelt book about two girls thrown together who form a bond that will help them through good times and bad’ Kiss magazine

‘It’ll make you laugh and cry . . .’ Company

‘Unreliable adults, complex friendships and family ties are explored with sensitivity in this finely crafted story’ The Bookseller

‘Crossan’s skill as a writer is at its most pronounced, contributing to a portrayal of adolescence that is subtle and humane’ Irish Times

‘Highly recommended for readers who like hard-hitting tales about real-life situations’ Irish Independent

‘An inspiring tale’ Irish Examiner

‘Engrossing and uplifting, challenging and charming’ Booktrust

Praise for The Weight of Water

Succinct, with a gentle lyricism, the poems are telling about immigration, prejudice, self-delusion, families and first love, on the way to a life-changing conclusion Cathy Cassidy

Exquistely and touchingly written The Sunday Times Children's Book of the Week

It will make you laugh and cry Irish Times

About the Author

Sarah Crossan

Sarah Crossan has lived in Dublin, London and New York, and now lives in Hertfordshire. She graduated with a degree in philosophy and literature before training as an English and drama teacher at Cambridge University. She received the 2016 CILIP Carnegie Medal for her astonishing novel One, which also won the YA Book Prize,CBI Book of the Year Award and the CliPPA Poetry Award. Since completing a masters in creative writing, she has been working to promote creative writing in schools.

Sarah is a judge at the first The National Literacy Poetry Prize: "Poetry is the first language we speak. When we are born, we own it and we love it but somehow, along the way, children turn away from this, the most primitive of languages. It's everyone's job to make sure children feel that poetry belongs to them - which is does."

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

2nd June 2016

Author

Sarah Crossan

More books by Sarah Crossan
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.bloomsbury.com/Authors/...

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Bloomsbury Publishing PLC

Format

Paperback
192 pages
Interest Age: From 12 years

Categories

NewGen - YA Fiction
All Shortlists and Winners
eBook Favourites
eBook Favourites

General fiction (Children's / Teenage)

ISBN

9781408827215

For me, to read is to learn, to reflect, to escape, to think, to contemplate and my time for space and calm.

Sally Ellsmore

Its jam packed with fantastic titles, informative descriptions & fantastic reviews and has a vast array of great features & competitions.

Linda Rollins

Lovereading is an amazing place to be, the website is wonderful and to me if I'm sad I'll go here and it cheers me up!

Sophia Upton

Hooked on books? Give Lovereading a go - for the chance to discover brilliant books, and to see why our members love it so.

Claire Hill

Lovereading has all the new books and also suggestions for 'similar' authors whilst waiting for your favourites new books.

Carol Peace

Love books. Love reading. Love reading books. And, here's the trick. Here's a website which caters for people like me.

Ian Harvey-brown

Insightful reader reviews and unbiased recommendations. I don't know how I chose books before Lovereading! An essential for all book lovers.

Sarah Harper

Lovereading helps me decide what real people read.

Kerry Bridges

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools