The Secret of Orchard Cottage

by Alex Brown

eBooks of the Month Family Drama Relationship Stories Sagas and Romance

LoveReading View on The Secret of Orchard Cottage

A lovely, warm-hearted and compassionate tale, this is the third in ‘The Tindledale’ series yet can easily be read as a standalone novel. April returns to the village of Tindledale, 18 months after her husband died, she looks after her great-aunt and gets to know the villagers, including Matt, the local farrier.  April’s great-aunt has dementia and sometimes mistakes April for Winnie, there is a mystery in the air, can April discover the truth and learn to live her life again? Alex Brown excels in writing about characters of all ages, in particular the older generation come vibrantly to life under her considerate hand. A few characters from the other books in the series pop in to say hello, yet it’s Winnie’s hidden tale that makes this a particularly absorbing read. ‘The Secret of Orchard Cottage’ is an engaging and charming story, with the added bonus of a rather tantalising romance, what more could you ask for!

Liz Robinson

The Secret of Orchard Cottage Synopsis

The wonderful new novel from Alex Brown, bestselling author of The Great Christmas Knit Off, perfect for fans of Trisha Ashley and Jill Mansell. April Wilson is wondering what to do next - her life has been turned upside down after the loss of her husband so she's hoping to piece herself together again with a visit to her elderly great aunt, Edith. Arriving in the rural idyll of Tindledale, she's dismayed to find Edith's cottage and the orchard behind it in a sorry state of disrepair. Edith seems to have lost interest completely, instead she's become desperate to find out what happened to her sister, Winnie, who disappeared during WWII. April gets to work immediately, discovering that the orchard still delivers a bumper crop each year, and with the help of some of the villagers - including Matt, the enigmatic Farrier - begins to unravel the mystery of the missing Winnie. Slowly, April can feel things coming to life again - but can Orchard Cottage work its magic on her too?

Get Involved in a Scandal This Summer!

Get Involved in a Scandal This Summer!

Closing date: 03/07/2018

Summer has never been so scandalous... Can Violet find her own happy ending before the swallows fly south for the winter? Sexy, sassy and full of heart, Kat French is back in a new summer sizzler. To celebrate we are giving away 10 copies of the book to 10 lucky winners!!! To have a chance of winning one of these fantastic prizes, click the button below. Please note that the draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. The draw closes on 3rd July 2018. The Winners will be notified by 16th July 2018.   Good luck!  

Enter Now

The Secret of Orchard Cottage Press Reviews

'A lovely book to curl up and unwind with, as sweet and charming as home made apple pie'
Milly Johnson

'Warm, wonderful characters - a really lovely read.'
Sarah Morgan, author of Sleigh Bells in the Snow

'A warm and witty novel'
HELLO

'You'll fall in love with this charming book.'
Sunday Express More praise for Alexandra Brown:

'Adorable, comical and magical, this is a festive delight'
Closer

'We love it!'
Now

'Defies the chick lit cliche'
Heat

'I loved Cupcakes At Carrington's, a warm, witty, loveable read with plenty of sparkle and charm'
Rowan Coleman

'A sparkling debut...funny, romantic and utterly charming. Devour in one sitting like a delicious, indulgent cupcake then go back and start again'
Sasha Wagstaff

'From the moment I read the first page of Alexandra's book, I knew I was being allowed to see something special. I believe that Alexandra has created a very real and likeable cast of characters that will appeal to a wide audience. Her writing style is crisp and funny and compels you to keep turning the page'
Chrissie Manby

'Cupcakes at Carrington's is deliciously delightful from start to finish, sprinkled with magic and full of heart'
Miranda Dickinson

'I love Alex's books, so warm and even make me want to live in the country' - Sarra Manning, editor of Red Magazine

If you loved this, you might like these...

The Memories of Us
The Kiss Quotient
A Summer Scandal
How to Write a Love Story

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9780007597420
Publication date: 02/06/2016
Publisher: Harper an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9780007597420
Publication date: 2nd June 2016
Author: Alex Brown
Publisher: Harper an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 400 pages
Genres: eBook Favourites, Family Drama, Relationship Stories, Sagas and Romance,
Categories: Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945), Romance,

About Alex Brown

Alex Brown is the bestselling author of five books and launched her career with the hugely popular Carrington's series set in a seaside town department store. Alex now writes warm, witty and heartfelt novels centred on the cosy community spirit of village life. Alex began her writing career as a weekly columnist for The London Paper, before trading in the rat race for the good life. The Secret of Orchard Cottage is Alex's sixth book. When she isn't writing Alex enjoys knitting, and is passionate about supporting charities working with care leavers, adoption and vulnerable young people. Alex lives in ...

More About Alex Brown

Share this book