Are you between 5 and 25? If so, enter the Wicked Young Writer Awards NOW - click here for details...

books of the month
Search our site
Last Letter from Istanbul by Lucy Foley Read the opening extract of the brand new Lucy Foley book before its publication on 19/03/2018

The Secret of Orchard Cottage by Alex Brown
  

The Secret of Orchard Cottage

Romantic Fiction   Family Drama   Relationship Stories   eBook Favourites   
Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Relationship Tales Facebook group Share this book

Lovereading view...

A lovely, warm-hearted and compassionate tale, this is the third in ‘The Tindledale’ series yet can easily be read as a standalone novel. April returns to the village of Tindledale, 18 months after her husband died, she looks after her great-aunt and gets to know the villagers, including Matt, the local farrier. April’s great-aunt has dementia and sometimes mistakes April for Winnie, there is a mystery in the air, can April discover the truth and learn to live her life again? Alex Brown excels in writing about characters of all ages, in particular the older generation come vibrantly to life under her considerate hand. A few characters from the other books in the series pop in to say hello, yet it’s Winnie’s hidden tale that makes this a particularly absorbing read. ‘The Secret of Orchard Cottage’ is an engaging and charming story, with the added bonus of a rather tantalising romance, what more could you ask for! ~ Liz Robinson

Synopsis

The Secret of Orchard Cottage by Alex Brown

The wonderful new novel from Alex Brown, bestselling author of The Great Christmas Knit Off, perfect for fans of Trisha Ashley and Jill Mansell. April Wilson is wondering what to do next - her life has been turned upside down after the loss of her husband so she's hoping to piece herself together again with a visit to her elderly great aunt, Edith. Arriving in the rural idyll of Tindledale, she's dismayed to find Edith's cottage and the orchard behind it in a sorry state of disrepair. Edith seems to have lost interest completely, instead she's become desperate to find out what happened to her sister, Winnie, who disappeared during WWII. April gets to work immediately, discovering that the orchard still delivers a bumper crop each year, and with the help of some of the villagers - including Matt, the enigmatic Farrier - begins to unravel the mystery of the missing Winnie. Slowly, April can feel things coming to life again - but can Orchard Cottage work its magic on her too?

Reviews

'A lovely book to curl up and unwind with, as sweet and charming as home made apple pie'
Milly Johnson

'Warm, wonderful characters - a really lovely read.'
Sarah Morgan, author of Sleigh Bells in the Snow

'A warm and witty novel'
HELLO

'You'll fall in love with this charming book.'
Sunday Express More praise for Alexandra Brown:

'Adorable, comical and magical, this is a festive delight'
Closer

'We love it!'
Now

'Defies the chick lit cliche'
Heat

'I loved Cupcakes At Carrington's, a warm, witty, loveable read with plenty of sparkle and charm'
Rowan Coleman

'A sparkling debut...funny, romantic and utterly charming. Devour in one sitting like a delicious, indulgent cupcake then go back and start again'
Sasha Wagstaff

'From the moment I read the first page of Alexandra's book, I knew I was being allowed to see something special. I believe that Alexandra has created a very real and likeable cast of characters that will appeal to a wide audience. Her writing style is crisp and funny and compels you to keep turning the page'
Chrissie Manby

'Cupcakes at Carrington's is deliciously delightful from start to finish, sprinkled with magic and full of heart'
Miranda Dickinson

'I love Alex's books, so warm and even make me want to live in the country' - Sarra Manning, editor of Red Magazine

About the Author

Alex Brown is the bestselling author of five books and launched her career with the hugely popular Carrington's series set in a seaside town department store. Alex now writes warm, witty and heartfelt novels centred on the cosy community spirit of village life. Alex began her writing career as a weekly columnist for The London Paper, before trading in the rat race for the good life. The Secret of Orchard Cottage is Alex's sixth book. When she isn't writing Alex enjoys knitting, and is passionate about supporting charities working with care leavers, adoption and vulnerable young people. Alex lives in a rural village in Sussex, with her husband, daughter and a very shiny black Labrador.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

2nd June 2016

Author

Alex Brown

More books by Alex Brown
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.alexbrownauthor.com

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Harper an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers

Format

Paperback
400 pages

Categories

Romantic Fiction
Family Drama
Relationship Stories
eBook Favourites

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)
Romance

ISBN

9780007597420

A well laid out site, I love the fact that is separates paranormal fiction from fantasy and horror, which other sites don't.

Jen Rainbow

Discover new authors and enjoy old favourites; oodles of literary gems to uncover at Lovereading with candid reviews from real reviewers.

Emily Wright

Love books. Love reading. Love reading books. And, here's the trick. Here's a website which caters for people like me.

Ian Harvey-brown

Lovereading - a community of people passionate about reading and sharing their views. An incomparable website for book lovers.

Helen Clark

Love Reading - it not only does what it says on the tin, it does it with Jam on!!

Maz Tucker

Lovereading always comes up with great suggestions and has introduced me to enjoyable books and new authors to discover.

Gaynor Passmore

It gives a chance to read about new titles, invites comments from all kinds of readers and is run by such a nice bunch of book lovers.

Joy Bosworth

For me, to read is to learn, to reflect, to escape, to think, to contemplate and my time for space and calm.

Sally Ellsmore

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools