book price comparison
Search our site
White Bodies by Jane Robins Read the opening extract of the brand new Jane Robins book before its publication on 03/05/2018

Sharp Ends Stories from the World of the First Law by Joe Abercrombie
  

Sharp Ends Stories from the World of the First Law

Fantasy   
Download an extract Share this book

Lovereading view...

Highly Recommended.

Fans of Joe Abercombie will be delighted to hear that this is a collection of tales set in the world of his First Law novels. Like those novels these stories are high on vivid yet realistic world building, rich in laconic characterisation and delivered with real wit. Like the novels they are easy on the supernatural and as such would appeal to readers of Bernard Cornwell and Simon Scarrow every bit as much as fans of George RR Martin.

In these stories we meet charming bastards, troubled thieves, pragmatic mercenaries. Men and women alike these are characters who are immediately knowable, sharply drawn and sometimes deeply sympathetic (despite having done harsh things). Characters familiar to readers of the novels appear or are talked about. If you are already a fan spotting these characters, drawing together the threads is a hugely enjoyable part of reading this book. If you are new to Abercrombie it acts as the perfect taster to both his world and the people in it.

Abercrombie is an immensely accomplished novelist and on the strength of this collection an excellent writer of shorter tales. Each story is perfectly paced and structured and they don’t always rely on twists (as some short stories do). Villages burn, duels are fought, rooftops are leapt but always we learn a lot about the characters and want more time with each of them. What more can you ask of a short story than you wish it were longer? Essential fantasy. ~ Simon Spanton

If you like Joe Abercrombie you might also like to read books by Bernard Cornwell, David Gemmell and Steven Erikson .

Win a signed copy of Circe

Circe

Circe is the amazing sequel to The Song of Achilles by Madelline Miller.

"I remember Circe was one of the challenges met by Odysseus, the one who turned men into pigs. The beautiful character who narrates this story is that same “wicked witch” but a far cry from how Homer portrayed her. She is lovely, misunderstood, wilful and brilliant, a strong woman slowly growing into her power." - Sarah Broadhurst

Get your hands on a SIGNED copy of this innovative new take on Greek Mythology by clicking the button below and entering this prize draw! Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once.

The draw closes on 30 April 2018. The winner will be notified by 7 May 2018.

Good luck!

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 30/04/2018

Synopsis

Sharp Ends Stories from the World of the First Law by Joe Abercrombie

The Union army may be full of bastards, but there's only one who thinks he can save the day single-handed when the Gurkish come calling: the incomparable Colonel Sand dan Glokta. Curnden Craw and his dozen are out to recover a mysterious item from beyond the Crinna. Only one small problem: no one seems to know what the item is. Shevedieh, the self-styled best thief in Styria, lurches from disaster to catastrophe alongside her best friend and greatest enemy, Javre, Lioness of Hoskopp. And after years of bloodshed, the idealistic chieftain Bethod is desperate to bring peace to the North. There's only one obstacle left - his own lunatic champion, the most feared man in the North: the Bloody-Nine ...Sharp Ends combines previously published, award-winning tales with exclusive new short stories. Violence explodes, treachery abounds, and the words are as deadly as the weapons in this rogue's gallery of side-shows, back-stories, and sharp endings from the world of the First Law. 'Joe Abercrombie is doing some terrific work' George R. R. Martin 'Delightfully twisted and evil' Guardian 'Joe Abercrombie has written the finest epic fantasy in recent memory.' Junot Diaz, Pulitzer Prize Winner, on Red Country 'Joe Abercrombie is probably the brightest star among the new generation of British fantasy writers ...' The Times

Reviews

'Highly recommended - a funny, finely-wrought, terrifically energetic work of high fantasy. Seek it out' -- Joe Hill


About the Author

Joe Abercrombie

Joe Abercrombie was born in Lancaster on the last day of 1974, the son of an English teacher and a sociologist. He spent much of his youth in imaginary worlds, and left school with a good idea of how to make stuff up. He moved to the big city, learned to brew tea, and ended up as a TV editor, working on documentaries, events and concerts for bands from Iron Maiden to Coldplay. But in the darkness of the night he was still making stuff up, and his first book, The Blade Itself, was published in 2006. He now lives in Bath with his wife Lou and their three children Grace, Eve and Teddy and makes stuff up full-time.

Author photo © Lou Abercrombie

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

26th April 2016

Author

Joe Abercrombie

More books by Joe Abercrombie
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.joeabercrombie.com

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Gollancz an imprint of Orion Publishing Co

Format

Hardback

Categories

Fantasy


ISBN

9780575104679

It's a lively, independent website with reviews, recommendations and more - with a huge range of books available to buy in all formats.

Alison Layland

Their sending me my first book to review 18 months ago re-awakened my fondness for reading, since then I have purchased some real gems.

Barry Griffiths

I love that Lovereading handpicks very special debut reads.

Magda North

I love 'try before you buy' extracts. I love the wide range of authors & genres. I love the author info. I love books!

Judi Davies

You can trust Lovereading to show unbiased reviews by actual, ordinary readers that help likeminded booklovers choose their next great read.

Linda Hill

I love the 'like for like' author recommendations, it's like an old friend whispering in your ear.

Emma Caddick

Because of Lovereading I have broadened my reading horizons with some really great books that I probably would never have chosen myself.

Susan Walsh

It's the first site that I visit when deciding on the next set of books to buy. A particular treat is being able to download an extract.

Tessa Olson

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools