likeyoulove Harry Potter House Eds desmond elliott 2017
Search our site
The Stolen Bicycle by Ming-Yi Wu Read the opening extract of the brand new Ming-Yi Wu book before its publication on 26/10/2017

Reader Reviewed
The Butchers of Berlin by Chris Petit
  

The Butchers of Berlin

Thriller / Suspense   Crime / Mystery   Historical Fiction   eBook Favourites   eBook Favourites   

RRP £12.99

Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Crime/Mystery/Thriller Facebook group Share this book

Lovereading view...

May 2016 eBook of the Month.

This is a tough, violent thriller which illustrates the chaos in Germany in 1943. Suffering setbacks in the war and severe shortages, Berlin is in the middle of a rushed ‘cleansing’ of the Jews with thousands being removed each night. The desperation of the persecuted and what they will do to survive is coupled with corruption and greed within the Gestapo, police and SS. Forged bank notes are found stuffed into the mouths of brutally flayed and mutilated bodies. This is definitely not for the squeamish, with graphic detail of violence and sex. It is a wordy, long, depressing read, a thriller for the hardened addict; demanding and clever. ~ Sarah Broadhurst

If you like Chris Petit you might also like to read books by Robert Ryan, Robert Harris and Philip Kerr.

Reader Reviews

In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title. You can click here to read the full reviews.

  • Celia Cohen - 'A dark menacing novel set in Berlin in the 1940s.'
  • Helen Lowry - 'Berlin 1943. Murder, forged money, flayed bodies. Trying times and an even more trying homicide case for an unlikely pair of detectives. This is a book I couldn’t put down.'
  • Angie Rhodes - 'This is not an easy read by any means, it is dark and gritty, and sometimes a little confusing.'
  • Maz Tucker - 'It is a thriller that goes into some quite graphic descriptions.'
  • Genevieve McAllister - 'You'll need a strong stomach for this book: in a chaotic and cruel world, victims are murdered and tortured in what passes for normality.'
  • Linda Boa - 'With a thrilling denouement, this is an incredibly complex and brilliant thriller, for fans of Robert Harris and Philip Kerr. If you enjoy them, this isn't one to be missed.'
  • Cathy Small - 'A tough book to read in some cases as the incidents are not pleasant and can be difficult to read.'
  • Annie Day - 'an unusual detective novel set in wartime Berlin...for any fans of detective fiction with an interest in Second World War social history it would be an ideal read.'
  • Sarah Tilley - 'Dark, gruesome, but a compelling read. Fascinating but blood thirsty.'
  • Phylippa Smithson - 'Not one if you want an easy, summer’s day read but boy what a powerfully intriguing thriller set in Berlin during the final months of WW2.'

Win a signed copy of stunning debut Blue Light Yokohama

We have 10 signed copies (using signed book plates) of Blue Light Yokohama, a stunning debut novel. It is a beautifully plotted police procedural set in Japan by Nicolas Obregon, a new British author. Evocative and serpentine, this marks the debut of a fresh new voice and a remarkable maverick detective with a difference.

To have a chance of winning this fantastic prize, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once.

The draw closes on 6 November 2017. The winners will be notified by 12th November 2017.

Good luck!

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 06/11/2017

Synopsis

The Butchers of Berlin by Chris Petit

Berlin 1943. August Schlegel lives in a world full of questions with no easy answers. Why is he being called out on a homicide case when he works in financial crimes? Why did the old Jewish soldier with an Iron Cross shoot the block warden in the eye then put a bullet through his own head? Why does Schlegel persist with the case when no one cares because the Jews are all being shipped out anyway? And why should Eiko Morgen, wearing the dreaded black uniform of the SS, turn up and say he has been assigned to work with him? Corpses, dressed with fake money, bodies flayed beyond recognition: are these routine murders committed out of rage or is someone trying to tell them something... A taut, gripping and darkly menacing novel set in wartime Berlin. For fans of Robert Harris, David Peace and Joseph Kanon.

Reviews

'Conjuring a wartime Berlin where atrocities get lost against a ground of escalating Holocaust and crumbling rationales, Chris Petit's nerve-wracking S.S. procedural nurses a dread that penetrates right to the marrow. An appalling, beautifully-lit abyss' Alan Moore

About the Author

Chris Petit is an internationally renowned author and filmmaker once described by Le Mondeas the Robespierre of English cinema. His films include the now definitive Radio On (1979) and have been the subject of several foreign retrospectives. He has written a trio of acclaimed "beyond black" political thrillers covering a serial killer operating in sectarian Northern Ireland (The Psalm Killer), dirty money in world war 2 (The Human Pool) and terror, arms trading and the bombing of a civilian aircraft (The Passenger).

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

5th May 2016

Author

Chris Petit

More books by Chris Petit
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Publisher

Simon & Schuster Ltd

Format

Hardback
496 pages

Categories

Thriller / Suspense
Crime / Mystery
Historical Fiction
eBook Favourites
eBook Favourites

Thriller / suspense
Historical fiction

ISBN

9781471143403

Lovereading is not only an amazing site, but it's one of my very favourites. It's like visiting a fascinating bookstore, but better.

Rebecca Jayne Barrett

Lovereading always comes up with great suggestions and has introduced me to enjoyable books and new authors to discover.

Gaynor Passmore

It's information about new books so, for a book lover like me, what's not to like!

Joan Hill

Lovereading are lovely people who send me lovely books. What's not to love?

Gavin Dimmock

Hooked on books? Give Lovereading a go - for the chance to discover brilliant books, and to see why our members love it so.

Claire Hill

The selections are so varied and the reader reviews are so helpful. A fantastic website for those who love books.

Ann Quintilla

I love Lovereading because of its ability to connect people that love books & unite them in a friendly, stimulating & interesting community.

Megan Olwen William

It has opened my eyes to different authors and genres. Just log on and try, you will be surprised and not want for reading material again.

Jocelyn Garvey

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools