Win a Family Weekend Break with Lovereading and VisitWiltshire - click here for details...

book price comparison make the most of Lovereading newgen books for YA readers
Search our site
The Woman in the Window by A. J. Finn Read the opening extract of the brand new A. J. Finn book before its publication on 22/01/2018

Reader Reviewed
The Butchers of Berlin by Chris Petit
  

The Butchers of Berlin

Thriller / Suspense   Crime / Mystery   Historical Fiction   eBook Favourites   eBook Favourites   
Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Crime/Mystery/Thriller Facebook group Share this book

Lovereading view...

May 2016 eBook of the Month.

This is a tough, violent thriller which illustrates the chaos in Germany in 1943. Suffering setbacks in the war and severe shortages, Berlin is in the middle of a rushed ‘cleansing’ of the Jews with thousands being removed each night. The desperation of the persecuted and what they will do to survive is coupled with corruption and greed within the Gestapo, police and SS. Forged bank notes are found stuffed into the mouths of brutally flayed and mutilated bodies. This is definitely not for the squeamish, with graphic detail of violence and sex. It is a wordy, long, depressing read, a thriller for the hardened addict; demanding and clever. ~ Sarah Broadhurst

If you like Chris Petit you might also like to read books by Philip Kerr, Robert Harris and Robert Ryan.

Reader Reviews

In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title. You can click here to read the full reviews.

  • Celia Cohen - 'A dark menacing novel set in Berlin in the 1940s.'
  • Helen Lowry - 'Berlin 1943. Murder, forged money, flayed bodies. Trying times and an even more trying homicide case for an unlikely pair of detectives. This is a book I couldn’t put down.'
  • Angie Rhodes - 'This is not an easy read by any means, it is dark and gritty, and sometimes a little confusing.'
  • Maz Tucker - 'It is a thriller that goes into some quite graphic descriptions.'
  • Genevieve McAllister - 'You'll need a strong stomach for this book: in a chaotic and cruel world, victims are murdered and tortured in what passes for normality.'
  • Linda Boa - 'With a thrilling denouement, this is an incredibly complex and brilliant thriller, for fans of Robert Harris and Philip Kerr. If you enjoy them, this isn't one to be missed.'
  • Cathy Small - 'A tough book to read in some cases as the incidents are not pleasant and can be difficult to read.'
  • Annie Day - 'an unusual detective novel set in wartime Berlin...for any fans of detective fiction with an interest in Second World War social history it would be an ideal read.'
  • Sarah Tilley - 'Dark, gruesome, but a compelling read. Fascinating but blood thirsty.'
  • Phylippa Smithson - 'Not one if you want an easy, summer’s day read but boy what a powerfully intriguing thriller set in Berlin during the final months of WW2.'

Win a Family Break to Salisbury!

Don’t miss out! Enter to win a family break to Salisbury!

Here at Lovereading.co.uk and Lovereading4kids.co.uk we have joined with VisitWiltshire. You could see yourself indulging in the finest food and slumbering comfortably into one of the grand rooms at The Red Lion Salisbury for two nights. The Red Lion Hotel is located in medieval city of Salisbury, which is home to all your favourite stores as well as independent shops, restaurants, cafes and parks and green spaces. Nearby is Stonehenge, Salisbury Plain and numerous sites of historic and archaeological interest.

There are many seasonal events in Salisbury, and you can find out what’s on here. You will also receive a family ticket to Sir Harold Hillier Gardens, the gardens are especially beautiful in the winter, with bold coloured stems, scents, and fabulous foliage, you can be sure to be impressed. For the children there is also a play park, and you can stop off in the Victorian tea room to warm up and treat yourself to a traditional cream tea.

To have a chance of winning this fantastic prize, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. Entries close 31st January 2018.

Good luck!

Terms and Conditions

Red Lion: Two night stay includes breakfast for two adults and up to two children sharing a family room. Subject to availability and cannot be exchanged or redeemed for cash value. Not to be used in combination with any other offer. Valid until 1st Dec 2018 and excludes bank holidays.

Sir Harold Hillier Gardens: Valid for day entry, Not to be used for special events or group entry. Voucher is not transferable or refundable, no Cash Value. Ticket must be redeemed on entry. Valid until 31 Dec 2018. Gardens open daily from 10am – closed Christmas Day and Boxing Day. Prize admits 2 adults and accompanying children Under 17 FREE to Sir Harold Hillier Gardens.

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 31/01/2018

Synopsis

The Butchers of Berlin by Chris Petit

Berlin 1943. August Schlegel lives in a world full of questions with no easy answers. Why is he being called out on a homicide case when he works in financial crimes? Why did the old Jewish soldier with an Iron Cross shoot the block warden in the eye then put a bullet through his own head? Why does Schlegel persist with the case when no one cares because the Jews are all being shipped out anyway? And why should Eiko Morgen, wearing the dreaded black uniform of the SS, turn up and say he has been assigned to work with him? Corpses, dressed with fake money, bodies flayed beyond recognition: are these routine murders committed out of rage or is someone trying to tell them something... A taut, gripping and darkly menacing novel set in wartime Berlin. For fans of Robert Harris, David Peace and Joseph Kanon.

Reviews

'Conjuring a wartime Berlin where atrocities get lost against a ground of escalating Holocaust and crumbling rationales, Chris Petit's nerve-wracking S.S. procedural nurses a dread that penetrates right to the marrow. An appalling, beautifully-lit abyss' Alan Moore

About the Author

Chris Petit is an internationally renowned author and filmmaker once described by Le Mondeas the Robespierre of English cinema. His films include the now definitive Radio On (1979) and have been the subject of several foreign retrospectives. He has written a trio of acclaimed "beyond black" political thrillers covering a serial killer operating in sectarian Northern Ireland (The Psalm Killer), dirty money in world war 2 (The Human Pool) and terror, arms trading and the bombing of a civilian aircraft (The Passenger).

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

5th May 2016

Author

Chris Petit

More books by Chris Petit
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Publisher

Simon & Schuster Ltd

Format

Hardback
496 pages

Categories

Thriller / Suspense
Crime / Mystery
Historical Fiction
eBook Favourites
eBook Favourites

Thriller / suspense
Historical fiction

ISBN

9781471143403

Lovereading - a community of people passionate about reading and sharing their views. An incomparable website for book lovers.

Helen Clark

Discover new authors and enjoy old favourites; oodles of literary gems to uncover at Lovereading with candid reviews from real reviewers.

Emily Wright

They are bright, breezy and eager to offer a great book, then genuinely listen/respect the review one writes.

Maggie Crane

Lovereading is a wonderful way to expand my literary horizons, discover inspiring authors & get the chance to read new novels first. #loveit

Zarina de Ruiter

Lovereading is an amazing place to be, the website is wonderful and to me if I'm sad I'll go here and it cheers me up!

Sophia Upton

Lovereading helps me decide what real people read.

Kerry Bridges

My favourite thing about is the 'like for like' page this has really introduced me to some good reads! That and lots of honest reviews.

Sam Lewis

It's the first site that I visit when deciding on the next set of books to buy. A particular treat is being able to download an extract.

Tessa Olson

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools