desmond elliott 2017 eleanor oliphant
Search our site
The Stolen Bicycle by Ming-Yi Wu Read the opening extract of the brand new Ming-Yi Wu book before its publication on 26/10/2017

The Waiting Game You Never Know Who's Watching ... by Sheila Bugler
  

The Waiting Game You Never Know Who's Watching ...

Part of the Ellen Kelly Series
Crime / Mystery   Thriller / Suspense   eBook Favourites   eBook Favourites   

RRP £8.99

Lovereading view...

Sheila Bugler delivers a chilling psychological twister of a novel, laced with homespun horrors, a compelling central character in DI Ellen Kelly and a strong contemporary resonance. Fans of Nicci French and Sophie Hannah, prick up your ears.

Win a Limited Edition book proof of a Karin Slaughter thriller

We have 50 Limited Edition book proofs to give away of The Good Daughter, the stunning new standalone thriller, with a chilling edge of psychological suspense, from the No. 1 bestselling author Karin Slaughter. This is what our editorial expert said about it - ‘The Good Daughter’ is a breathtaking whammy of a read, pure escapism at its best, and I can highly recommend it! ~ Liz Robinson

To have a chance of winning this fantastic prize, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once.

The draw closes on 31 October 2017. The winners will be notified by 9 November 2017.

Good luck!

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 31/10/2017

Synopsis

The Waiting Game You Never Know Who's Watching ... by Sheila Bugler

DI Ellen Kelly is struggling through some difficult changes in her life. Her boss has left, replaced by a more unpredictable DCI. Her career seems to be stalling - again. And her feelings for Jim O'Dwyer feel like they're spiralling out of her normally tight control. Distraction can be very dangerous. Someone is out there, stalking the weak, bringing misery and fear, and it's Ellen's job to stop it. Could it be that this time, for the first time, Ellen is the one trapped in the web?

Reviews

a very satisfying psychological thriller -- Chris Curran this is a very good second book, at least the equal of Hunting Shadows, with which it shares the same psychological insights and chilling climax -- CrimeReview.co.uk There are murder mysteries, police procedurals and psychological thrillers - and then there are books which combine elements of all three. The Waiting Game is one of these ... It's a tangled web of a plot, and though the reader knows more than the police do from the outset, through frequent shifts in viewpoint which allow the story to emerge from several different directions, the final dramatic reveal is still a surprise. Bugler handles the complex structure deftly, dropping in subtle hints and stopping short of giving too much away too soon. Her villains and potential suspects are as well-rounded as the good guys, and she sets up some interestingly flawed characters and scratchy relationships among Ellen's colleagues. The less salubrious end of south London is drawn in detail too, and she also doesn't pull back from graphic accounts of mutilation and killing methods ... a fluent read ... a page-turning plot -- Promoting Crime one of the rising stars of Irish literature -- Clare People full of chilling twists and turns, I found the story gripping ... overall an enjoyable read with plenty to hold the interest -- Fiction is Stranger Than Fact


About the Author

Sheila Bugler

Sheila Bugler grew up in the west of Ireland. After studying Psychology at University College Galway, she left Ireland and worked in Italy, Spain, Germany, Holland and Argentina before finally settling in London, where she lives with her husband Sean, and their children, Luke and Ruby. In 2008, she was one of four writers to be offered a place on the Arts Council-funded Apprenticeships in Fiction programme - a mentoring scheme designed to nurture emerging writers in the UK and Ireland. When not writing, Sheila works as an online editor and writer and is also a regular contributor to the writing magazine Words With Jam.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

1st September 2014

Author

Sheila Bugler

More books by Sheila Bugler
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

sheilabugler.co.uk/
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Brandon an imprint of O'Brien Press Ltd

Format

Paperback
512 pages

Categories

Crime / Mystery
Thriller / Suspense
eBook Favourites
eBook Favourites

Crime & mystery

ISBN

9781847173676

Lovereading does a stella job in promoting both new and established authors.

Iris Clements

I love the newsletter with reviews of all the new books coming out. Can't wait to open it when it arrives in my inbox.

Rachel Aygin

Lovereading is pitched at just the right level for all the various types of people who enjoy reading in its many forms.

Pam Woodburn

If you LOVE reading then you will love LOVEREADING! It's a 'novel' idea. Seriously though I could not recommend them enough.

Rebecca Whymark

It gives a chance to read about new titles, invites comments from all kinds of readers and is run by such a nice bunch of book lovers.

Joy Bosworth

Books of the month/debuts of the month, kids/adults, fiction/non-fiction, free prize draws and free extracts, what's not to love?

Emma Smith

Lovereading are lovely people who send me lovely books. What's not to love?

Gavin Dimmock

It has opened my eyes to different authors and genres. Just log on and try, you will be surprised and not want for reading material again.

Jocelyn Garvey

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools