likeyoulove
Search our site
Persons Unknown by Susie Steiner Read the opening extract of the brand new Susie Steiner book before its publication on 05/04/2018

The Waiting Game You Never Know Who's Watching ... by Sheila Bugler
  

Lovereading view...

Sheila Bugler delivers a chilling psychological twister of a novel, laced with homespun horrors, a compelling central character in DI Ellen Kelly and a strong contemporary resonance. Fans of Nicci French and Sophie Hannah, prick up your ears.

Win Shetland DVDs SIGNED by Douglas Henshall!

Based on the novels by Ann Cleeves and starring Douglas Henshall, we have copies of Shetland the complete series 1-4 and Shetland Series 4 to give away to 3 lucky winners courtesy of ITV Studios Global Entertainment.

Each prize comprises of 2 Shetland DVD sets, the boxset from series 1-4 and then series 4, totalling 8 discs with a rrp of almost £60! Both sets will be signed by the star of the Shetland Series, Douglas Henshall.

To have a chance of winning one of these fantastic prizes, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once.

The draw closes on 26 April 2018. The winners will be notified by 8 May 2018.

Good luck!

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 26/04/2018

Synopsis

The Waiting Game You Never Know Who's Watching ... by Sheila Bugler

DI Ellen Kelly is struggling through some difficult changes in her life. Her boss has left, replaced by a more unpredictable DCI. Her career seems to be stalling - again. And her feelings for Jim O'Dwyer feel like they're spiralling out of her normally tight control. Distraction can be very dangerous. Someone is out there, stalking the weak, bringing misery and fear, and it's Ellen's job to stop it. Could it be that this time, for the first time, Ellen is the one trapped in the web?

Reviews

a very satisfying psychological thriller -- Chris Curran this is a very good second book, at least the equal of Hunting Shadows, with which it shares the same psychological insights and chilling climax -- CrimeReview.co.uk There are murder mysteries, police procedurals and psychological thrillers - and then there are books which combine elements of all three. The Waiting Game is one of these ... It's a tangled web of a plot, and though the reader knows more than the police do from the outset, through frequent shifts in viewpoint which allow the story to emerge from several different directions, the final dramatic reveal is still a surprise. Bugler handles the complex structure deftly, dropping in subtle hints and stopping short of giving too much away too soon. Her villains and potential suspects are as well-rounded as the good guys, and she sets up some interestingly flawed characters and scratchy relationships among Ellen's colleagues. The less salubrious end of south London is drawn in detail too, and she also doesn't pull back from graphic accounts of mutilation and killing methods ... a fluent read ... a page-turning plot -- Promoting Crime one of the rising stars of Irish literature -- Clare People full of chilling twists and turns, I found the story gripping ... overall an enjoyable read with plenty to hold the interest -- Fiction is Stranger Than Fact


About the Author

Sheila Bugler

Sheila Bugler grew up in the west of Ireland. After studying Psychology at University College Galway, she left Ireland and worked in Italy, Spain, Germany, Holland and Argentina before finally settling in London, where she lives with her husband Sean, and their children, Luke and Ruby. In 2008, she was one of four writers to be offered a place on the Arts Council-funded Apprenticeships in Fiction programme - a mentoring scheme designed to nurture emerging writers in the UK and Ireland. When not writing, Sheila works as an online editor and writer and is also a regular contributor to the writing magazine Words With Jam.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

1st September 2014

Author

Sheila Bugler

More books by Sheila Bugler
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

sheilabugler.co.uk/
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Brandon an imprint of O'Brien Press Ltd

Format

Paperback
512 pages

Categories

Crime / Mystery
Thriller / Suspense
eBook Favourites

Crime & mystery

ISBN

9781847173676

I love reading books I wouldn't normally choose before everyone else gets to read them!

Dawn Lynch

Lovereading takes the guesswork out of finding your next read with "if you like you'll love" and extracts to help with your decision.

Sarah Bruch

It's information about new books so, for a book lover like me, what's not to like!

Joan Hill

I love Lovereading for the wonderful like for like author recommendations and for highlighting new books, it's a great resource for readers!

Lindsay

You'll always find what you never knew you were looking for and you're always spoilt for choice.

Helen Jones

Love books. Love reading. Love reading books. And, here's the trick. Here's a website which caters for people like me.

Ian Harvey-brown

I recommend Lovereading because you get honest reviews on a whole range of genres-there's something for everyone. It's the only site I need.

Sian Spinney

I love Lovereading because I get to read great books and then get to tell everybody how good they are.

Sally Doel

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools