Win a Family Weekend Break with Lovereading and VisitWiltshire - click here for details...

newgen books for YA readers make the most of Lovereading win prizes
Search our site
The Great Cornish Getaway by Fern Britton Read the opening extract of the brand new Fern Britton book before its publication on 01/02/2018

The Waiting Game You Never Know Who's Watching ... by Sheila Bugler
  

The Waiting Game You Never Know Who's Watching ...

Part of the Ellen Kelly Series
Crime / Mystery   Thriller / Suspense   eBook Favourites   eBook Favourites   

Lovereading view...

Sheila Bugler delivers a chilling psychological twister of a novel, laced with homespun horrors, a compelling central character in DI Ellen Kelly and a strong contemporary resonance. Fans of Nicci French and Sophie Hannah, prick up your ears.

Win a Family Break to Salisbury!

Don’t miss out! Enter to win a family break to Salisbury!

Here at Lovereading.co.uk and Lovereading4kids.co.uk we have joined with VisitWiltshire. You could see yourself indulging in the finest food and slumbering comfortably into one of the grand rooms at The Red Lion Salisbury for two nights. The Red Lion Hotel is located in medieval city of Salisbury, which is home to all your favourite stores as well as independent shops, restaurants, cafes and parks and green spaces. Nearby is Stonehenge, Salisbury Plain and numerous sites of historic and archaeological interest.

There are many seasonal events in Salisbury, and you can find out what’s on here. You will also receive a family ticket to Sir Harold Hillier Gardens, the gardens are especially beautiful in the winter, with bold coloured stems, scents, and fabulous foliage, you can be sure to be impressed. For the children there is also a play park, and you can stop off in the Victorian tea room to warm up and treat yourself to a traditional cream tea.

To have a chance of winning this fantastic prize, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. Entries close 31st January 2018.

Good luck!

Terms and Conditions

Red Lion: Two night stay includes breakfast for two adults and up to two children sharing a family room. Subject to availability and cannot be exchanged or redeemed for cash value. Not to be used in combination with any other offer. Valid until 1st Dec 2018 and excludes bank holidays.

Sir Harold Hillier Gardens: Valid for day entry, Not to be used for special events or group entry. Voucher is not transferable or refundable, no Cash Value. Ticket must be redeemed on entry. Valid until 31 Dec 2018. Gardens open daily from 10am – closed Christmas Day and Boxing Day. Prize admits 2 adults and accompanying children Under 17 FREE to Sir Harold Hillier Gardens.

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 31/01/2018

Synopsis

The Waiting Game You Never Know Who's Watching ... by Sheila Bugler

DI Ellen Kelly is struggling through some difficult changes in her life. Her boss has left, replaced by a more unpredictable DCI. Her career seems to be stalling - again. And her feelings for Jim O'Dwyer feel like they're spiralling out of her normally tight control. Distraction can be very dangerous. Someone is out there, stalking the weak, bringing misery and fear, and it's Ellen's job to stop it. Could it be that this time, for the first time, Ellen is the one trapped in the web?

Reviews

a very satisfying psychological thriller -- Chris Curran this is a very good second book, at least the equal of Hunting Shadows, with which it shares the same psychological insights and chilling climax -- CrimeReview.co.uk There are murder mysteries, police procedurals and psychological thrillers - and then there are books which combine elements of all three. The Waiting Game is one of these ... It's a tangled web of a plot, and though the reader knows more than the police do from the outset, through frequent shifts in viewpoint which allow the story to emerge from several different directions, the final dramatic reveal is still a surprise. Bugler handles the complex structure deftly, dropping in subtle hints and stopping short of giving too much away too soon. Her villains and potential suspects are as well-rounded as the good guys, and she sets up some interestingly flawed characters and scratchy relationships among Ellen's colleagues. The less salubrious end of south London is drawn in detail too, and she also doesn't pull back from graphic accounts of mutilation and killing methods ... a fluent read ... a page-turning plot -- Promoting Crime one of the rising stars of Irish literature -- Clare People full of chilling twists and turns, I found the story gripping ... overall an enjoyable read with plenty to hold the interest -- Fiction is Stranger Than Fact


About the Author

Sheila Bugler

Sheila Bugler grew up in the west of Ireland. After studying Psychology at University College Galway, she left Ireland and worked in Italy, Spain, Germany, Holland and Argentina before finally settling in London, where she lives with her husband Sean, and their children, Luke and Ruby. In 2008, she was one of four writers to be offered a place on the Arts Council-funded Apprenticeships in Fiction programme - a mentoring scheme designed to nurture emerging writers in the UK and Ireland. When not writing, Sheila works as an online editor and writer and is also a regular contributor to the writing magazine Words With Jam.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

1st September 2014

Author

Sheila Bugler

More books by Sheila Bugler
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

sheilabugler.co.uk/
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Brandon an imprint of O'Brien Press Ltd

Format

Paperback
512 pages

Categories

Crime / Mystery
Thriller / Suspense
eBook Favourites
eBook Favourites

Crime & mystery

ISBN

9781847173676

A well laid out site, I love the fact that is separates paranormal fiction from fantasy and horror, which other sites don't.

Jen Rainbow

Lovereading helps me decide what real people read.

Kerry Bridges

Thanks to Lovereading I have discovered new writers and read books I would never had looked twice at - and enjoyed them.

Angela Rhodes

The best new books on the market, reviewed honestly, to give your readers the best choices.

Julie Cook

It's a lively, independent website with reviews, recommendations and more - with a huge range of books available to buy in all formats.

Alison Layland

Insightful reader reviews and unbiased recommendations. I don't know how I chose books before Lovereading! An essential for all book lovers.

Sarah Harper

If you love reading, then you'll love Lovereading! Full of tips & info for every discerning reader.

Lynne Rapson

I love reading because my cares & woes vanish for an hour or two whilst I read of the joys, adventures, lives of the characters in the book.

Jennifer Moville

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools