Are you between 5 and 25? If so, enter the Wicked Young Writer Awards NOW - click here for details...

join us on facebook twitter
Search our site
Last Letter from Istanbul by Lucy Foley Read the opening extract of the brand new Lucy Foley book before its publication on 19/03/2018

Reader Reviewed
My Grandmother Sends Her Regards and Apologises by Fredrik Backman
  

My Grandmother Sends Her Regards and Apologises

Literary Fiction   Books of the Month   Family Drama   Reading Groups   Relationship Stories   eBook Favourites   
Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Literary Contemporary Facebook group Share this book

Lovereading view...

April 2016 Book of the Month.

Totally and utterly and completely gorgeous in every way, the thought of having to put this book down for even a second is inconceivable. The first few pages make you smile, make you laugh and charm you, there is a hint though, of the difficulties that seven (nearly eight) year old Elsa is experiencing. Elsa’s shrewd, wonderful bonkers of a Granny tells her fairy tales, and like all good fairy tales there's more than a dollop of truth and reality mixed in, so ensure you're sitting comfortably and the tale can begin. There is a beautiful simplicity to the writing, yet this is not a simple book by any means, there is a complexity to the emotions it evokes and explores. Elsa and her Granny are two of the most astonishingly different characters to ever appear in print (and that’s a compliment by the way). Set aside some quality time, so you can laugh and cry undisturbed, as the author is able to enchant, to capture your imagination and hold it spellbound from the first to the last page; this is a must have, must read, must treasure book. ~ Liz Robinson

If you like Fredrik Backman you might also like to read books by Gavin Extence, Jonas Jonasson and Rachel Joyce.

Reader Reviews

In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title. You can click here to read the full reviews.

  • Gill Williams - 'It made me laugh, it made me cry, it broke my heart and mended it again. It's a fabulous intertwining of fairy tale fantasy based on the characters' real life experiences.'
  • Lorraine Blencoe - 'Just charming! Insightful, delicate and filled with some really moving moments.'
  • Ceri Forster - 'In a word, wonderful.'
  • Jayne Burton - 'I loved the strangeness of this book and the magical land visited.'
  • Melanie Chadwick - 'one of those very rare gems that contain a multitude of flawed characters all of which I genuinely liked.  A brilliant novel from Frederik Backman; a man who understands the power of grandmothers and of forgiveness.'
  • Edel Waugh - 'From the opening chapter I loved the grandmother in this book, you instantly warm to her total disregard for social etiquette.'
  • Hannah Ward - 'I loved the start of this book, the relationship between Elsa and her grandmother is beautiful.'
  • Kate Thacker - 'Another beautifully written book that has those same characters you cherish or feel definite emotions for by the end.'
  • Linda Benner - 'A fantastical fairy tale/reality ride as shown through the eyes of a child.'
  • Francesca Ashurst - 'Prepare to be enchanted, thrilled, heartbroken and transformed by this wonderful novel.'
  • Victoria Halliday - 'A beautiful novel about the relationship between a young girl and her grandmother.'
  • Laura Delve - 'A delightful, heart-warming read with an eccentric Granny, a wonderfully wise seven year old Elsa, that so cleverly interweaves fairy tales with the real world.'
  • Alan Brown - 'I do not read this type of book often but it is one that has captured my imagination and will be one that I will always keep on my bookshelf. A masterpiece.'
  • Sarah Musk - 'A dense and confusing book mixing fairy stories and modern life.  It's an interesting tale but difficult to understand in parts.'
  • Joanne Baird - 'A story about superheroes, magical lands and why it's okay to be different.'
  • Phylippa Smithson - 'My gosh Sweden produces some cracking writers – and none more so than Backman.  I knew it was going to be intriguing by the title alone but this was one fantastic read.'
  • Sarah Harper - 'Somewhat strange and a little bit wonderful, this is a unique gem of a book which made me laugh and cry in turn.'
  • Sue Broom - 'Whimsical and fun, but with an underlying message about the value of family and friendship.'
  • Rachael Anderson - 'A brilliant tale about a seven year old and her grandmother, which is both heart-warming and quirky.'
  • Nicola Lowes - 'This book has a wonderful charm that kept me turning the pages quickly.'
  • Linda Hill - 'What a wonderful, wonderful book that reminds us all of the child we once were.'
  • Annette Woolfson - 'There were moments when I was enchanted by the language and the imagery but at other times it just felt contrived.'

Synopsis

My Grandmother Sends Her Regards and Apologises by Fredrik Backman

A must-read for fans of Rachel Joyce's The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry and Maria Semple's Where'd You Go, Bernadette Heartbreaking and hilarious in equal measure, the new novel by the author of the internationally bestselling phenomenon A Man Called Ove will charm and delight anyone who has ever had a grandmother. Everyone remembers the smell of their grandmother's house. Everyone remembers the stories their grandmother told them. But does everyone remember their grandmother flirting with policemen? Driving illegally? Breaking into a zoo in the middle of the night? Firing a paintball gun from a balcony in her dressing gown? Seven-year-old Elsa does. Some might call Elsa's granny 'eccentric', or even 'crazy'. Elsa calls her a superhero. And granny's stories, of knights and princesses and dragons and castles, are her superpower. Because, as Elsa is starting to learn, heroes and villains don't always exist in imaginary kingdoms; they could live just down the hallway. As Christmas draws near, even the best superhero grandmothers may have one or two things they'd like to apologise for. And, in the process, Elsa can have some breath-taking adventures of her own ...

Reviews

'There are clear themes here, nominally: the importance of stories; the honesty of children; and the obtuseness of most adults, putting him firmly in league with the likes of Roald Dahl and Neil Gaiman. A touching, sometimes funny, often wise portrait of grief.' Kirkus

'The author's lightness of touch is definitely a contributor towards the novel's success. (It's already a best seller in his native country.) Fredrik conveys much in a few words ... However a special warning to the ladies summed up in three words: wear waterproof mascara! I read the last few chapters verging between heart-glowing smiles and heart-wrenching sobs. I'll be ready for it the next few times I read it though and, indeed, the times after that.' The Bookbag

About the Author

Fredrik Backman

Fredrik Backman is a Swedish blogger, columnist and author. His debut novel A Man Called Ove was a number 1 bestseller across Scandinavia, has sold over one million copies worldwide, was a Richard & Judy summer read in the UK and an instant New York Times paperback bestseller, and has been made into an acclaimed film. Fredrik's subsequent novels, My Grandmother Sends Her Regards and Apologises and Britt-Marie Was Here, also went straight to number 1 in Sweden on publication.

Author photo © Edvard Koinberg

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

7th April 2016

Author

Fredrik Backman

More books by Fredrik Backman
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Sceptre an imprint of Hodder & Stoughton General Division

Format

Paperback
368 pages

Categories

Literary Fiction
Books of the Month
Family Drama
Reading Groups
Relationship Stories
eBook Favourites

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)
Fiction in translation

ISBN

9781444775853

I love Lovereading because of its ability to connect people that love books & unite them in a friendly, stimulating & interesting community.

Megan Olwen William

Lovereading tells me about new books before they hit the shelves, lets me find other authors I may like and has great prize draws!

Sheila Dale

At Lovereading there are fabulous books available in every genre, with great reviews to help you pick the right book for you.

Teresa O'Halloran

Lovereading helps me decide what real people read.

Kerry Bridges

I love the 'like for like' author recommendations, it's like an old friend whispering in your ear.

Emma Caddick

The books for review are always great reads, brilliantly written, and introduces me to a huge variety of, established and new, authors.

Lesley Hart

Love Reading - it not only does what it says on the tin, it does it with Jam on!!

Maz Tucker

Its jam packed with fantastic titles, informative descriptions & fantastic reviews and has a vast array of great features & competitions.

Linda Rollins

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools