Get 2 top 10 audiobooks free with a LoveReading exclusive

LoveReading has teamed up with Audiobooks.com to give you the chance to get 2 free audiobooks when you sign up. Try it for 30 days for free with no strings attached. You can cancel anytime, although we're sure you'll love it. Click the button to find out more:

Find out more

My Grandmother Sends Her Regards and Apologises

by Fredrik Backman

Books of the Month Books with reviews by our Reader Review Panel eBooks of the Month Family Drama Modern and Classic Literary Fiction Relationship Stories

LoveReading View on My Grandmother Sends Her Regards and Apologises

April 2016 Book of the Month.

Totally and utterly and completely gorgeous in every way, the thought of having to put this book down for even a second is inconceivable. The first few pages make you smile, make you laugh and charm you, there is a hint though, of the difficulties that seven (nearly eight) year old Elsa is experiencing. Elsa’s shrewd, wonderful bonkers of a Granny tells her fairy tales, and like all good fairy tales there's more than a dollop of truth and reality mixed in, so ensure you're sitting comfortably and the tale can begin. There is a beautiful simplicity to the writing, yet this is not a simple book by any means, there is a complexity to the emotions it evokes and explores. Elsa and her Granny are two of the most astonishingly different characters to ever appear in print (and that’s a compliment by the way). Set aside some quality time, so you can laugh and cry undisturbed, as the author is able to enchant, to capture your imagination and hold it spellbound from the first to the last page; this is a must have, must read, must treasure book.

Liz Robinson

My Grandmother Sends Her Regards and Apologises Synopsis

A must-read for fans of Rachel Joyce's The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry and Maria Semple's Where'd You Go, Bernadette Heartbreaking and hilarious in equal measure, the new novel by the author of the internationally bestselling phenomenon A Man Called Ove will charm and delight anyone who has ever had a grandmother. Everyone remembers the smell of their grandmother's house. Everyone remembers the stories their grandmother told them. But does everyone remember their grandmother flirting with policemen? Driving illegally? Breaking into a zoo in the middle of the night? Firing a paintball gun from a balcony in her dressing gown? Seven-year-old Elsa does. Some might call Elsa's granny 'eccentric', or even 'crazy'. Elsa calls her a superhero. And granny's stories, of knights and princesses and dragons and castles, are her superpower. Because, as Elsa is starting to learn, heroes and villains don't always exist in imaginary kingdoms; they could live just down the hallway. As Christmas draws near, even the best superhero grandmothers may have one or two things they'd like to apologise for. And, in the process, Elsa can have some breath-taking adventures of her own ...

My Grandmother Sends Her Regards and Apologises Reader Reviews

In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title. You can click here to read the full reviews.

  • Gill Williams - 'It made me laugh, it made me cry, it broke my heart and mended it again. It's a fabulous intertwining of fairy tale fantasy based on the characters' real life experiences.'
  • Lorraine Blencoe - 'Just charming! Insightful, delicate and filled with some really moving moments.'
  • Ceri Forster - 'In a word, wonderful.'
  • Jayne Burton - 'I loved the strangeness of this book and the magical land visited.'
  • Melanie Chadwick - 'one of those very rare gems that contain a multitude of flawed characters all of which I genuinely liked.  A brilliant novel from Frederik Backman; a man who understands the power of grandmothers and of forgiveness.'
  • Edel Waugh - 'From the opening chapter I loved the grandmother in this book, you instantly warm to her total disregard for social etiquette.'
  • Hannah Ward - 'I loved the start of this book, the relationship between Elsa and her grandmother is beautiful.'
  • Kate Thacker - 'Another beautifully written book that has those same characters you cherish or feel definite emotions for by the end.'
  • Linda Benner - 'A fantastical fairy tale/reality ride as shown through the eyes of a child.'
  • Francesca Ashurst - 'Prepare to be enchanted, thrilled, heartbroken and transformed by this wonderful novel.'
  • Victoria Halliday - 'A beautiful novel about the relationship between a young girl and her grandmother.'
  • Laura Delve - 'A delightful, heart-warming read with an eccentric Granny, a wonderfully wise seven year old Elsa, that so cleverly interweaves fairy tales with the real world.'
  • Alan Brown - 'I do not read this type of book often but it is one that has captured my imagination and will be one that I will always keep on my bookshelf. A masterpiece.'
  • Sarah Musk - 'A dense and confusing book mixing fairy stories and modern life.  It's an interesting tale but difficult to understand in parts.'
  • Joanne Baird - 'A story about superheroes, magical lands and why it's okay to be different.'
  • Phylippa Smithson - 'My gosh Sweden produces some cracking writers – and none more so than Backman.  I knew it was going to be intriguing by the title alone but this was one fantastic read.'
  • Sarah Harper - 'Somewhat strange and a little bit wonderful, this is a unique gem of a book which made me laugh and cry in turn.'
  • Sue Broom - 'Whimsical and fun, but with an underlying message about the value of family and friendship.'
  • Rachael Anderson - 'A brilliant tale about a seven year old and her grandmother, which is both heart-warming and quirky.'
  • Nicola Lowes - 'This book has a wonderful charm that kept me turning the pages quickly.'
  • Linda Hill - 'What a wonderful, wonderful book that reminds us all of the child we once were.'
  • Annette Woolfson - 'There were moments when I was enchanted by the language and the imagery but at other times it just felt contrived.'

My Grandmother Sends Her Regards and Apologises Press Reviews

'There are clear themes here, nominally: the importance of stories; the honesty of children; and the obtuseness of most adults, putting him firmly in league with the likes of Roald Dahl and Neil Gaiman. A touching, sometimes funny, often wise portrait of grief.' Kirkus

'The author's lightness of touch is definitely a contributor towards the novel's success. (It's already a best seller in his native country.) Fredrik conveys much in a few words ... However a special warning to the ladies summed up in three words: wear waterproof mascara! I read the last few chapters verging between heart-glowing smiles and heart-wrenching sobs. I'll be ready for it the next few times I read it though and, indeed, the times after that.' The Bookbag

If you loved this, you might like these...

Improvement
The One Who Wrote Destiny
The Redeemed
When All is Said

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781444775853
Publication date: 07/04/2016
Publisher: Sceptre an imprint of Hodder & Stoughton General Division
Format: Paperback

ISBN: 9781444775839
Publication date: 04/06/2015
Publisher: Sceptre an imprint of Hodder & Stoughton General Division
Format: Hardback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781444775853
Publication date: 7th April 2016
Author: Fredrik Backman
Publisher: Sceptre an imprint of Hodder & Stoughton General Division
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 368 pages
Genres: Books of the Month, Reader Reviewed Books, eBook Favourites, Family Drama, Literary Fiction, Reading Groups, Relationship Stories,
Categories: Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945), Fiction in translation,

About Fredrik Backman

Fredrik Backman is a Swedish blogger, columnist and author. His debut novel A Man Called Ove was a number 1 bestseller across Scandinavia, has sold over one million copies worldwide, was a Richard & Judy summer read in the UK and an instant New York Times paperback bestseller, and has been made into an acclaimed film. Fredrik's subsequent novels, My Grandmother Sends Her Regards and Apologises and Britt-Marie Was Here, also went straight to number 1 in Sweden on publication.   Author photo © Edvard Koinberg

More About Fredrik Backman

More Books By Fredrik Backman

Cover for Britt-Marie Was Here by Fredrik Backman
Cover for Britt-Marie Was Here by Fredrik Backman
Cover for My Grandmother Sends Her Regards and Apologises by Fredrik Backman
View All Books By Fredrik Backman

Share this book

NEW INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE LAUNCHED!    Read More
×