The 3rd Woman

by Jonathan Freedland

Action / Adventure / Spy / Espionage Books with reviews by our Reader Review Panel Crime / Mystery eBooks of the Month Thriller and Suspense

LoveReading View on The 3rd Woman

A discerning, penetrating novel with a difference; there is the double edged substantial plot of a murder investigation, sitting alongside a political thriller. Originally writing under the pseudonym of Sam Bourne, the author Jonathan Freedland is an award-winning journalist. The first chapter simply and immediately sets the scene of a financially downtrodden USA answerable to the People’s Republic of China, while Madison, a brilliant, determined, insomniac of a journalist starts to investigate her own sister's murder...this clever concept works. The author has the ability to tightly tie the two strands together and add many more layers of intrigue and corruption, without ever losing a realistic and believable tone. ‘The 3rd Woman’ has a number of surprises in store, making an already steely and intelligent novel, an impressively stimulating read. ~ Liz Robinson

Liz Robinson

The 3rd Woman Synopsis

A chilling high-concept thriller from No. 1 bestselling author and award-winning journalist Jonathan Freedland. Perfect for fans of Robert Harris. SHE CAN'T SAVE HER SISTER Journalist Madison Webb is obsessed with exposing lies and corruption. But she never thought she would be investigating her own sister's murder. SHE CAN'T TRUST THE POLICE Madison refuses to accept the official line that Abigail's death was an isolated crime. She uncovers evidence that suggests that Abi was the third victim in a series of killings that's been hushed up as part of a major conspiracy. SHE CAN EXPOSE THE TRUTH In a United States that has yielded to the People's Republic of China, corruption is rife - the government dictates what the 'truth' is. With her life on the line, Madison must give up the story, or face the consequences...

The 3rd Woman Reader Reviews

In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title. You can click here to read the full reviews.

  • Joan Sidwell - 'This is a gripping, sinister book, a real page turner with many twists and turns and red herrings.'
  • Amy Maggs - 'Set firmly in my favourite genre; I've now got a new fantastic author to keep my eye on. Absolutely gripping stuff - and most importantly to me - nothing that I've seen before!'
  • Victoria Goldman - 'The 3rd Woman is a brilliant fast-paced intelligent thriller, with short snappy chapters that keep the book moving at a fast pace. I thought that the underlying political background was fascinating.'
  • Anne Rhodes - 'This powerful story is set in America – but an America that is working hand in glove with the People's Republic of China. We follow as Maddy, exhausted both physically and mentally, gradually works out the who, what, and why of the web of secrecy.'
  • Lee Ruddin - 'The cast of characters are neither original nor imaginative as they help or hinder Madison in her quest. The 3rd Woman should not be the first choice for fans of Robert Harris.'
  • Neil Williams - 'A clever ‘whodunnit’ set in an alternative reality, this is a gripping tale that kept me holed and intrigued as the story unravelled.'
  • Lynda DeFreitas - 'Great read, pacy thriller that holds your attention.'
  • Michelle McKernan - 'A brilliant, fast-paced book that I struggled to put down.  The story is full of intrigue with well-rounded characters.  An excellent read.'
  • Suzanne Marsh - 'well written with a clever idea for the plot.'
  • Phylippa Smithson - 'Quite simply, this is an addictive read.  A traditional crime thriller, that is a right roller coaster of full on story.'
  • Helen Lowry - 'Murder, lies and corruption confronts journalist Madison Webb when her own sister is murdered and she begins her own investigation.'
  • Pauline Fraisher - 'Excellent book - a real page-turner.'
  • Rachel Bridgeman - 'A brilliantly breathless thriller that you will carry around with you until it is finished!'

The 3rd Woman Press Reviews

'An intelligent, finely crafted mystery that brilliantly channels the anxieties of our time'
New York Times

'A strikingly fresh thriller ... ingeniously realized.'
Sunday Times

'So gripping you'd cancel your own wedding'
Claudia Winkleman, BBC R2 Arts Show

'A fast-paced political thriller with a murder mystery at its heart that keeps the reader gripped and rooting for the smart female lead throughout. Freedland's best novel to date.'
Express

If you loved this, you might like these...

Watching You
The French Girl
Awakened A Novel
The Quaker

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9780007413690
Publication date: 11/02/2016
Publisher: Harper an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers
Format: Paperback

ISBN: 9780007413683
Publication date: 02/07/2015
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Ltd an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers
Format: Hardback

Book Information

ISBN: 9780007413690
Publication date: 11th February 2016
Author: Jonathan Freedland
Publisher: Harper an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 464 pages
Genres: Action Adventure / Spy, Reader Reviewed Books, Crime / Mystery, eBook Favourites, Thriller / Suspense,
Categories: Thriller / suspense,

About Jonathan Freedland

Jonathan Freedland is an award-winning journalist, author and broadcaster. He is the Guardian's executive editor for Opinion, overseeing Comment is free, editorials and long reads. He also writes a weekly column. He is a regular contributor to the New York Times and the New York Review of Books, and presents BBC Radio 4's contemporary history series, The Long View. In 2014 he was awarded the Orwell special prize for journalism, having been named columnist of the year in the 2002 What the Papers Say awards. Since 2006 he has published five best-selling novels under the pseudonym Sam Bourne. The first, The Righteous Men, ...

More About Jonathan Freedland

More Books By Jonathan Freedland

Cover for The 3rd Woman by Jonathan Freedland
View All Books By Jonathan Freedland

Share this book