make the most of Lovereading rebus 30th anniversary
Search our site
The Stolen Bicycle by Ming-Yi Wu Read the opening extract of the brand new Ming-Yi Wu book before its publication on 26/10/2017

Reader Reviewed
The 3rd Woman by Jonathan Freedland
  

The 3rd Woman

Thriller / Suspense   Action Adventure / Spy   Crime / Mystery   eBook Favourites   eBook Favourites   

RRP £7.99

Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Crime/Mystery/Thriller Facebook group Share this book

Lovereading view...

A discerning, penetrating novel with a difference; there is the double edged substantial plot of a murder investigation, sitting alongside a political thriller. Originally writing under the pseudonym of Sam Bourne, the author Jonathan Freedland is an award-winning journalist. The first chapter simply and immediately sets the scene of a financially downtrodden USA answerable to the People’s Republic of China, while Madison, a brilliant, determined, insomniac of a journalist starts to investigate her own sister's murder...this clever concept works. The author has the ability to tightly tie the two strands together and add many more layers of intrigue and corruption, without ever losing a realistic and believable tone. ‘The 3rd Woman’ has a number of surprises in store, making an already steely and intelligent novel, an impressively stimulating read. ~ Liz Robinson

Reader Reviews

In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title. You can click here to read the full reviews.

  • Joan Sidwell - 'This is a gripping, sinister book, a real page turner with many twists and turns and red herrings.'
  • Amy Maggs - 'Set firmly in my favourite genre; I've now got a new fantastic author to keep my eye on. Absolutely gripping stuff - and most importantly to me - nothing that I've seen before!'
  • Victoria Goldman - 'The 3rd Woman is a brilliant fast-paced intelligent thriller, with short snappy chapters that keep the book moving at a fast pace. I thought that the underlying political background was fascinating.'
  • Anne Rhodes - 'This powerful story is set in America – but an America that is working hand in glove with the People's Republic of China. We follow as Maddy, exhausted both physically and mentally, gradually works out the who, what, and why of the web of secrecy.'
  • Lee Ruddin - 'The cast of characters are neither original nor imaginative as they help or hinder Madison in her quest. The 3rd Woman should not be the first choice for fans of Robert Harris.'
  • Neil Williams - 'A clever ‘whodunnit’ set in an alternative reality, this is a gripping tale that kept me holed and intrigued as the story unravelled.'
  • Lynda DeFreitas - 'Great read, pacy thriller that holds your attention.'
  • Michelle McKernan - 'A brilliant, fast-paced book that I struggled to put down.  The story is full of intrigue with well-rounded characters.  An excellent read.'
  • Suzanne Marsh - 'well written with a clever idea for the plot.'
  • Phylippa Smithson - 'Quite simply, this is an addictive read.  A traditional crime thriller, that is a right roller coaster of full on story.'
  • Helen Lowry - 'Murder, lies and corruption confronts journalist Madison Webb when her own sister is murdered and she begins her own investigation.'
  • Pauline Fraisher - 'Excellent book - a real page-turner.'
  • Rachel Bridgeman - 'A brilliantly breathless thriller that you will carry around with you until it is finished!'

Win a signed copy of stunning debut Blue Light Yokohama

We have 10 signed copies (using signed book plates) of Blue Light Yokohama, a stunning debut novel. It is a beautifully plotted police procedural set in Japan by Nicolas Obregon, a new British author. Evocative and serpentine, this marks the debut of a fresh new voice and a remarkable maverick detective with a difference.

To have a chance of winning this fantastic prize, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once.

The draw closes on 6 November 2017. The winners will be notified by 12th November 2017.

Good luck!

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 06/11/2017

Synopsis

The 3rd Woman by Jonathan Freedland

A chilling high-concept thriller from No. 1 bestselling author and award-winning journalist Jonathan Freedland. Perfect for fans of Robert Harris. SHE CAN'T SAVE HER SISTER Journalist Madison Webb is obsessed with exposing lies and corruption. But she never thought she would be investigating her own sister's murder. SHE CAN'T TRUST THE POLICE Madison refuses to accept the official line that Abigail's death was an isolated crime. She uncovers evidence that suggests that Abi was the third victim in a series of killings that's been hushed up as part of a major conspiracy. SHE CAN EXPOSE THE TRUTH In a United States that has yielded to the People's Republic of China, corruption is rife - the government dictates what the 'truth' is. With her life on the line, Madison must give up the story, or face the consequences...

Reviews

'An intelligent, finely crafted mystery that brilliantly channels the anxieties of our time'
New York Times

'A strikingly fresh thriller ... ingeniously realized.'
Sunday Times

'So gripping you'd cancel your own wedding'
Claudia Winkleman, BBC R2 Arts Show

'A fast-paced political thriller with a murder mystery at its heart that keeps the reader gripped and rooting for the smart female lead throughout. Freedland's best novel to date.'
Express

About the Author

Jonathan Freedland

Jonathan Freedland is an award-winning journalist, author and broadcaster. He is the Guardian's executive editor for Opinion, overseeing Comment is free, editorials and long reads. He also writes a weekly column. He is a regular contributor to the New York Times and the New York Review of Books, and presents BBC Radio 4's contemporary history series, The Long View. In 2014 he was awarded the Orwell special prize for journalism, having been named columnist of the year in the 2002 What the Papers Say awards. Since 2006 he has published five best-selling novels under the pseudonym Sam Bourne. The first, The Righteous Men, was a Sunday Times No. 1 bestseller, and has been translated into 30 languages. His subsequent novels have all been top five bestsellers. Jonathan was educated at Wadham College, Oxford - where he studied Philosophy, Politics and Economics (PPE) and edited the university newspaper, Cherwell - and, earlier, at University College School, London. He lives in London with his wife and their two children.

Author photo © Philippa Gedge

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

11th February 2016

Author

Jonathan Freedland

More books by Jonathan Freedland
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.jonathanfreedland.com/
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Harper an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers

Format

Paperback
464 pages

Categories

Thriller / Suspense
Action Adventure / Spy
Crime / Mystery
eBook Favourites
eBook Favourites

Thriller / suspense

ISBN

9780007413690

Lovereading has given me the opportunity to delve into new and exciting worlds of authors who I would never have tried before.

Glynis Elliott

As for why I'd recommend Lovereading, it's simple - it's a great place to get information and reviews about new books!

Margaret Freeman

I love Lovereading for the wonderful like for like author recommendations and for highlighting new books, it's a great resource for readers!

Lindsay

With literary excellence, humour and drama, Lovereading's got value and is a real stress-calmer!

Siobhan McDowell

If you love reading, then you'll love Lovereading! Full of tips & info for every discerning reader.

Lynne Rapson

It has opened my eyes to different authors and genres. Just log on and try, you will be surprised and not want for reading material again.

Jocelyn Garvey

I love that Lovereading handpicks very special debut reads.

Magda North

A great place to go to find your next literary escape, and where you don't have to judge a book by its cover!

Suzanne Beney

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools