make the most of Lovereading books of the month debuts of the month
Search our site
The Stolen Bicycle by Ming-Yi Wu Read the opening extract of the brand new Ming-Yi Wu book before its publication on 26/10/2017

The Gates of Evangeline by Hester Young
  

Lovereading view...

When grieving mother and New York journalist Charlie Cates begins to experience vivid dreams about children after her only son passes away, she's sure that she's lost her mind. Yet she soon realises these are not the hallucinations of a bereaved mother. For fans of Tana French and Gillian Flynn, The Gates Of Evangeline is the addictive first book in a fantastic new crime series, that will have you guessing until the very end.

Win a signed copy of stunning debut Blue Light Yokohama

We have 10 signed copies (using signed book plates) of Blue Light Yokohama, a stunning debut novel. It is a beautifully plotted police procedural set in Japan by Nicolas Obregon, a new British author. Evocative and serpentine, this marks the debut of a fresh new voice and a remarkable maverick detective with a difference.

To have a chance of winning this fantastic prize, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once.

The draw closes on 6 November 2017. The winners will be notified by 12th November 2017.

Good luck!

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 06/11/2017

Synopsis

The Gates of Evangeline by Hester Young

They are messages and warnings that will help Charlie and the children she sees-if she can make sense of them. The disturbing images lead her from her home in suburban New York City to small-town Louisiana, where she takes a commission to write a true-crime book based on the case of Gabriel Deveau, the young heir to a wealthy and infamous Southern family, whose kidnapping thirty years ago has never been solved. There she meets the Deveau family, none of whom are telling the full truth about the night Gabriel disappeared. And as she uncovers long-buried secrets of love, money, betrayal, and murder, the facts begin to implicate those she most wants to trust-and her visions reveal an evil closer than she could have imagined.


Browse inside this book

Reviews

'This sweeping, hypnotic debut is from a young American with a fresh voice and a taste for the lush, Gothic world of the American Deep South... The incestuous atmosphere is beautifully evoked. Eerie and haunting, the novel is as addictive as mint juleps served by the servants in white gloves on the veranda... and just as creepy.' Daily Mail

'A grieving mother's eerie dreams turn out to be clues to an even eerier mystery.' Cosmopolitan

'In this spooky thriller, everyone's a suspect and the plot twists will keep you guessing.' People Magazine

'What a delicious book! Gripping and atmospheric - with a heart-stopping twist - The Gates of Evangeline is an imaginative blend of sothern gothic, family epic, and spooky whodunit. Trust me: you won't just read Hester Young's debut, you will absorb this gorgeous novel using all 'six senses.' Jillian Medoff, bestselling author of I COULDN'T LOVE YOU MORE and HUNGER POINT

About the Author

Hester Young holds a Master's degree in English with a Creative Writing concentration from the University of Hawaii at Manoa. Before turning to writing full time, she worked as a teacher in Arizona and New Hampshire. She lives with her husband and two children in New Jersey.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

14th January 2016

Author

Hester Young

More books by Hester Young
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.hesteryoung.com/

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Arrow Books Ltd an imprint of Cornerstone

Format

Paperback
416 pages

Categories

Thriller / Suspense
Crime / Mystery
eBook Favourites
eBook Favourites

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

ISBN

9781784750299

With literary excellence, humour and drama, Lovereading's got value and is a real stress-calmer!

Siobhan McDowell

What can I say, the clue is in the title Lovereading - and awesome books.

Sarah Davis

I love the 'like for like' author recommendations, it's like an old friend whispering in your ear.

Emma Caddick

Because of Lovereading I have broadened my reading horizons with some really great books that I probably would never have chosen myself.

Susan Walsh

Love books. Love reading. Love reading books. And, here's the trick. Here's a website which caters for people like me.

Ian Harvey-brown

I love the honest opinions, recommendations for every genre and every reader, wish lists and Like for Like.

Amrita Dasgupta

I read new, exciting writers and established authors before publication and there is a great website full of brilliant books and opinions.

Lynda

For me, to read is to learn, to reflect, to escape, to think, to contemplate and my time for space and calm.

Sally Ellsmore

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools