The 5th Wave

by Rick Yancey

Part of the The 5th Wave Series

'new gen' - Great Fiction for Young Adults eBooks of the Month

LoveReading View on The 5th Wave

This is a novel that packs a punch on every page with hope and despair in equal measure alongside life and death. It will leave you gasping for breath and keep you hooked to the end and long after it'll be a book that makes you think.  In a sentence it's The Passage meets The Hunger Games and it's now major film by Sony Pictures starring Chloe Grace Moretz (If I Stay).

The 5th Wave Synopsis

The 5th Wave is the award-winning and bestselling first book in an epic series from award-winning Rick Yancey that' s perfect for fans of The Hunger Games.

The 1st Wave: Took out half a million people.

The 2nd Wave: Put that number to shame.

The 3rd Wave: Lasted a little longer. Twelve weeks...Four billion dead.

In The 4th Wave, You can't trust that people are still people.

And The 5th Wave? No one knows. But it's coming.

On a lonely stretch of highway, Cassie runs. Runs from the beings that only look human, who have scattered Earth's last survivors. To stay alone is to stay alive, until she meets Evan Walker. Beguiling and mysterious, Evan may be her only hope. Now Cassie must choose: between trust and despair, between defiance and surrender, between life and death. To give up or to get up.

Keep up with movie news about The 5th Wave at www.the5thwaveiscoming.com and @5thWaveMovie

The 5th Wave Reader Reviews

Teens love to read and so in addition to our Lovereading expert review, some of our Lovereading4kids Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title.

  • Sarah Murray - 'I had extremely high hopes and I was not disappointed… I love how the author slowly introduces characters and cleverly entwines flashbacks… This book had me in tears and at times reaching for my old nightlight. This book is another utterly fabulous addition to the growing dystopian franchise!' Read full review >
  • Delilah Acworth, age 14 -'10/10 for this genius creation, it is definitely a book worth falling for!' Read full review >
  • Danielle Shepherd - 'This is an amazing book....a fast pacing, page turning book, not only can you not put it down but you want to read it again, which of course I did.' Read full review >
  • Morgan Steigmann, age 14 - 'This book should honestly be re-named the eighth wonder of the world, full of action, mystery and hope; the often occurring cliff-hangers will leave you in utter despair, with no choice but to delve into another nail-biting chapter.' Read full review >
  • Darcy Elliman, age 15 - 'Fifth Wave is an amazing, fast paced novel which has you gripped to every page.' Read full review >
  • Susana Sanchez - 'Rick Yancey’s The 5th Wave has all the ingredients to become another one in the pile of dystopian fantasies so favoured by teenagers in the past few years. And it is a very good one at that. Fans of The Knife of Never Letting Go, I am Number 4 or The Hunger Games will not be disappointed.' Read full review >
  • Hollie Compton - 'I think great thought went into writing this book with how the characters were introduced and how they developed over the story.  The way everything led to another, and how the story flowed so smoothly was amazing.' Read full review >

The 5th Wave Press Reviews

'Remarkable, not-to-be-missed-under-any-circumstances ... JUST READ IT' Entertainment Weekly

'Wildly entertaining... I couldn't turn the pages fast enough' Justin Cronin The New York Times

'A modern sci-fi masterpiece... should do for aliens what Twilight did for vampires.' USA Today

The pace is relentless. Heat

Chilling. Sun

An epic sci-fi adventure about a terrifying alien invasion. You'll read it in one sitting. Book seller

If you loved this, you might like these...

The Brink of Darkness
Ash Princess
Open Road Summer
Little Liar

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9780141366470
Publication date: 03/11/2015
Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
Format: Paperback

ISBN: 9780141345833
Publication date: 07/05/2013
Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9780141366470
Publication date: 3rd November 2015
Author: Rick Yancey
Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 496 pages
Genres: NewGen - YA Fiction, eBook Favourites, Books Behind TV & Film,
Categories: Science fiction (Children's / Teenage),

About Rick Yancey

Rick is a native Floridian and a graduate of Roosevelt University in Chicago. He earned a B.A. in English which he put to use as a field officer for the Internal Revenue Service. Inspired and encouraged by his wife, he decided his degree might also be useful in writing books and in 2004 he began writing full-time.   Since then he has launched two critically acclaimed series: The Extraordinary Adventures of Alfred Kropp, for young readers, and The Highly Effective Detective, for adults. Both books are set in Knoxville, Tennessee, where Rick lived for ten years before returning to Florida. &...

More About Rick Yancey

More Books By Rick Yancey

Cover for The Infinite Sea by Rick Yancey
Cover for The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey
Cover for The Monstrumologist The Terror Beneath by Rick Yancey
View All Books By Rick Yancey

Share this book