newgen books for YA readers book price comparison eleanor oliphant
Search our site
The Stolen Bicycle by Ming-Yi Wu Read the opening extract of the brand new Ming-Yi Wu book before its publication on 26/10/2017

The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey
  

The 5th Wave

Part of the The 5th Wave Series
NewGen - YA Fiction   Books Behind TV & Film   eBook Favourites   eBook Favourites   

RRP £7.99

Download an extract Share this book

Lovereading view...

This is a novel that packs a punch on every page with hope and despair in equal measure alongside life and death. It will leave you gasping for breath and keep you hooked to the end and long after it'll be a book that makes you think. In a sentence it's The Passage meets The Hunger Games and it's now major film by Sony Pictures starring Chloe Grace Moretz (If I Stay).

Reader Reviews

Teens love to read and so in addition to our Lovereading expert review, some of our Lovereading4kids Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title.

  • Sarah Murray - 'I had extremely high hopes and I was not disappointed… I love how the author slowly introduces characters and cleverly entwines flashbacks… This book had me in tears and at times reaching for my old nightlight. This book is another utterly fabulous addition to the growing dystopian franchise!' Read full review >
  • Delilah Acworth, age 14 -'10/10 for this genius creation, it is definitely a book worth falling for!' Read full review >
  • Danielle Shepherd - 'This is an amazing book....a fast pacing, page turning book, not only can you not put it down but you want to read it again, which of course I did.' Read full review >
  • Morgan Steigmann, age 14 - 'This book should honestly be re-named the eighth wonder of the world, full of action, mystery and hope; the often occurring cliff-hangers will leave you in utter despair, with no choice but to delve into another nail-biting chapter.' Read full review >
  • Darcy Elliman, age 15 - 'Fifth Wave is an amazing, fast paced novel which has you gripped to every page.' Read full review >
  • Susana Sanchez - 'Rick Yancey’s The 5th Wave has all the ingredients to become another one in the pile of dystopian fantasies so favoured by teenagers in the past few years. And it is a very good one at that. Fans of The Knife of Never Letting Go, I am Number 4 or The Hunger Games will not be disappointed.' Read full review >
  • Hollie Compton - 'I think great thought went into writing this book with how the characters were introduced and how they developed over the story.  The way everything led to another, and how the story flowed so smoothly was amazing.' Read full review >

Synopsis

The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey

The 5th Wave is the award-winning and bestselling first book in an epic series from award-winning Rick Yancey that' s perfect for fans of The Hunger Games.

The 1st Wave: Took out half a million people.

The 2nd Wave: Put that number to shame.

The 3rd Wave: Lasted a little longer. Twelve weeks...Four billion dead.

In The 4th Wave, You can't trust that people are still people.

And The 5th Wave? No one knows. But it's coming.

On a lonely stretch of highway, Cassie runs. Runs from the beings that only look human, who have scattered Earth's last survivors. To stay alone is to stay alive, until she meets Evan Walker. Beguiling and mysterious, Evan may be her only hope. Now Cassie must choose: between trust and despair, between defiance and surrender, between life and death. To give up or to get up.

Keep up with movie news about The 5th Wave at www.the5thwaveiscoming.com and @5thWaveMovie

Reviews

'Remarkable, not-to-be-missed-under-any-circumstances ... JUST READ IT' Entertainment Weekly

'Wildly entertaining... I couldn't turn the pages fast enough' Justin Cronin The New York Times

'A modern sci-fi masterpiece... should do for aliens what Twilight did for vampires.' USA Today

The pace is relentless. Heat

Chilling. Sun

An epic sci-fi adventure about a terrifying alien invasion. You'll read it in one sitting. Book seller

About the Author

Rick Yancey

Rick is a native Floridian and a graduate of Roosevelt University in Chicago. He earned a B.A. in English which he put to use as a field officer for the Internal Revenue Service. Inspired and encouraged by his wife, he decided his degree might also be useful in writing books and in 2004 he began writing full-time.

Since then he has launched two critically acclaimed series: The Extraordinary Adventures of Alfred Kropp, for young readers, and The Highly Effective Detective, for adults. Both books are set in Knoxville, Tennessee, where Rick lived for ten years before returning to Florida.

Rick lives with his wife, Sandy, his three sons, two dogs and one lizard.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

3rd November 2015

Author

Rick Yancey

More books by Rick Yancey
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.rickyancey.com/

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Penguin Books Ltd

Format

Paperback
496 pages

Categories

NewGen - YA Fiction
Books Behind TV & Film
eBook Favourites
eBook Favourites

Science fiction (Children's / Teenage)

ISBN

9780141366470

With literary excellence, humour and drama, Lovereading's got value and is a real stress-calmer!

Siobhan McDowell

You'll always find what you never knew you were looking for and you're always spoilt for choice.

Helen Jones

Lovereading has given me the opportunity to delve into new and exciting worlds of authors who I would never have tried before.

Glynis Elliott

It's information about new books so, for a book lover like me, what's not to like!

Joan Hill

Lovereading is a world of books. It has everything you need from new to old and much loved classic books. It even give you recommendations!

Kate Thurston

The best new books on the market, reviewed honestly, to give your readers the best choices.

Julie Cook

Lovereading tells me about new books before they hit the shelves, lets me find other authors I may like and has great prize draws!

Sheila Dale

It's the first site that I visit when deciding on the next set of books to buy. A particular treat is being able to download an extract.

Tessa Olson

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools