tudor queens series
Search our site
Persons Unknown by Susie Steiner Read the opening extract of the brand new Susie Steiner book before its publication on 05/04/2018

Library of Souls The Third Novel of Miss Peregrine's Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs

Library of Souls The Third Novel of Miss Peregrine's Peculiar Children

Fantasy   Literary Fiction   eBook Favourites   
Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Literary Contemporary Facebook group Share this book

Lovereading view...

Maxim Jakubowski November 2015 Highly Recommended.

The final volume in the gripping saga of MISS PEREGRINE'S PECULIAR CHILDREN both defies expectations and satisfies the reader's thirst for amazing tales of derring do, grotesque but wondrous imaginings and moving teenage relationships. The terrible battle against the peculiars wielded by the hollowgasts and whites reaches a conclusion in Devil's Acre, a Victorian London slum where treachery and extreme danger abound. Ingenious and made even more fascinating by the 'lost' photographs used by Riggs throughout to punctuate his tale. Bizarre and breathless and, again with a cast of unforgettable characters which Tim Burtons' forthcoming movie of the first volume will no doubt immortalise, this colourful and perilous world brought to life in spectacular, imaginative fashion is fantasy for people who don't normally read in the genre, and not a single wizard in sight! ~ Maxim Jakubowski


Library of Souls The Third Novel of Miss Peregrine's Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs

The Peculiar Children are back in the third installment in the bestselling series of YA novels by Ransom Riggs. Time is running out for the Peculiar Children. With a dangerous madman on the loose, and their beloved Miss Peregrine still in danger, it's up to Jacob Portman to channel his newfound abilities and defeat Caul before he loses his friends--and their world--forever. This action-packed adventure features all-new Peculiar photographs from times and places all over the world.


Oh, my birds, I love this book! I'm obsessed with Ransom Riggs
wildly creative world packed with heroic, heartwarming characters, supper baddies, and incredible settings like Devil

's Acre and the Library of Souls. --Annalyse, Justine Magazine

Fans of the trilogy's first two books will enjoy Library of Souls for its unique world, fast action, satisfying answers and a thorough tying up of loose ends. --Free Lance-Star

Library of Souls will not disappoint. --Forces of Geek

I was blown away by the way the haunting photographs were woven so seamlessly into the incredible plot. And Library of Souls has simply the most perfect ending. --Nikki, Justine Magazine

The challenge Riggs faces in Library of Souls is to match the remarkably high standard set by the first two books in the series, either the mind-bending bafflements of the first book or the edge-of-your-seat action of the second. Riggs succeeds, delivering a thrilling conclusion to Jacob's trilogy. --Paste magazine Fans will easily lose themselves in this most peculiar tale of all. --Booklist

Thrilling and satisfying. --School Library Journal

Enthralling. --Children's Bookwatch

I enjoyed reading this book so much, the cliched, 'I couldn't put it down, '

't suffice. --Geeks of Doom

Readers are sure to leap right in after the cliffhanger ending of Hollow City, and they won't be disappointed. --RT Book Review, 4 1/2 out of 5 stars Non-stop wonder. --Geeks of DoomPraise for Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children

A tense, moving, and wondrously strange first novel. The photographs and text work together brilliantly to create an unforgettable story. --John Green, New York Times best-selling author of Looking for Alaska and Paper Towns

Readers searching for the next Harry Potter may want to visit Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children. --CNN

Riggs deftly moves between fantasy and reality, prose and photography to create an enchanting and at times positively terrifying story. --Associated Press

I read all of the Miss Peregrine's Peculiar Children books and I loved them. --Florence of Florence + The Machine

[A] thrilling, Tim Burton-esque tale with haunting photographs. --USA Today Pop Candy

With its X-Men: First Class-meets-time-travel story line, David Lynchian imagery, and rich, eerie detail, it's no wonder Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children has been snapped up by Twentieth Century Fox. B+ --Entertainment Weekly


't even begin to cover it. Riggs'
chilling, wondrous novel is already headed to the movies

. --People

You'll love it if you want a good thriller for the summer. It's a mystery, and you'll race to solve it before Jacob figures it out for himself. --Seventeen

This peculiar parable is pure perfection. --Justine magazine

One of the coolest, creepiest YA books. --PopSugar

It's an enjoyable, eccentric read, distinguished by well-developed characters, a believable Welsh setting, and some very creepy monsters. --Publishers Weekly

An original work that defies categorization, this first novel should appeal to readers who like quirky fantasies. Riggs includes many vintage photographs that add a critical touch of the peculiar to his unusual tale. --Library Journal

Miss Peregrine's Home For Peculiar Children is a wonderfully original and inventive book with colorful characters, a mysterious tale woven together with threads of historical relevance, and incorporating unforgettable vintage photographs which bring the story to life. --Geeks of Doom

Brace yourself for the last 70 pages of relentless, squirm-in-your-chair action. I loved every minute of it. --Cleveland Plain Dealer

Hands down, this is one of the best books of recent years...both creepy and terrifyingly delicious. --Forces of Geek

Though technically a children's book, Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children is more Grimm's than Disney, and Riggs images, dropped like bread crumbs, could lead audiences of any age happily down the path of its spellbinding tale. --Florida Times-Union

In a time when so much summer entertainment seems to be more of the same, Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children is a pleasant surprise--a story that is fresh and new, engrosses and grips, and provides enough clues so that the ending makes sense and seems thoughtful. --PopMatters

A twisting tale of phenomenal children, Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children is a book that both children and adults will love. --Romper Praise for Hollow City

I was blown away...Hollow City is fantastic. --USAToday.com

A worthy follow-up, and as addictive a read as the first. --Hypable

Hollow City mixes spooky vintage photos and action-packed storytelling to continue the story of Jacob Portman and his fellow peculiars as they travel through time to war-torn London. --Dan Kois, Slate

A perfect blend of creepiness and thoughtfulness. --PopMatters

A stunning achievement... Hollow City is even richer than Riggs's imaginative debut, Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children. --Boston Globe

What makes the series soar, however, is not the world-building, as intriguing as it is, but the heartfelt intensity of the emotions. --Virginian-Pilot

Ideal for fans of Neil Gaiman and Daniel Kraus, Hollow City blends fantasy and horror into a world that will engross readers and leave them eager for more. --Shelf Awareness for Readers

A tasty adventure for any reader with an appetite for the...peculiar. --Kirkus Reviews

New readers of the series will find this novel a treat...Fans of the first title will find this book a treasure. The only downside: waiting for the third installment to find out what happens to Jacob and his peculiar friends. --School Library Journal

Riggs has created a fresh and original world in these Peregrine novels, with likable, quirky characters and a very readable style. --Library Journal Xpress Review

Fans will be thrilled to know that the sequel to Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children is as hauntingly sinister as the first and is unequivocally worth the wait. It's a rare sequel that improves on the series

... A must-read! --RT Book Reviews

A great big jolt of fun. --LitReactor

Fans will be pleased with this second volume and downright delighted to know that a third in the series is in the offering. --Booklist

About the Author

Ransom Riggs

Ransom Riggs is the author of Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children (Quirk, 2011), a New York Times best seller with more than 2 million copies sold, as well as its best-selling sequel, Hollow City (Quirk, 2013). Translation rights have been sold to more than 25 territories worldwide. He lives in Santa Monica, California, with his wife.

Author photo © Tahereh Mafi

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

22nd September 2015


Ransom Riggs

More books by Ransom Riggs
Author 'Like for Like'

Author's Website

Loading twitter updates...


Quirk Books


400 pages


Literary Fiction
eBook Favourites

Horror & ghost stories, chillers (Children's / Teenage)



Lovereading has given me the opportunity to delve into new and exciting worlds of authors who I would never have tried before.

Glynis Elliott

Lovereading is pitched at just the right level for all the various types of people who enjoy reading in its many forms.

Pam Woodburn

Lovereading are lovely people who send me lovely books. What's not to love?

Gavin Dimmock

Lovereading is like booking a holiday, you don't know what it will be like and it is a whole new experience.

Sue Burton

I love reading books I wouldn't normally choose before everyone else gets to read them!

Dawn Lynch

I love reading because my cares & woes vanish for an hour or two whilst I read of the joys, adventures, lives of the characters in the book.

Jennifer Moville

They are bright, breezy and eager to offer a great book, then genuinely listen/respect the review one writes.

Maggie Crane

Because of Lovereading I have broadened my reading horizons with some really great books that I probably would never have chosen myself.

Susan Walsh