Win a Family Weekend Break with Lovereading and VisitWiltshire - click here for details...

tudor queens series debuts of the month
Search our site
The Last Summer by Andree Michaud Read the opening extract of the brand new Andree Michaud book before its publication on 25/01/2018

Reader Reviewed
Hidden by Emma Kavanagh
  

Lovereading view...

Full of suspense with any number of red herrings, this is cracking stuff by a former police psychologist. Narrated from four points of view, it concerns a major shooting incident in a Welsh hospital. Not only does it jump viewpoints, but it jumps time-lines too, running back a year but mostly concentrating on the six days before the incident. Exploring the history of the main players and their actions, sometimes inactions, they slowly fit together like a jigsaw but you need to keep your wits about you to complete the picture at the shocking finale and the surprising identity of the shooter. It is perfect for fans of Nicci French, Tana French and S. J. Watson. ~ Sarah Broadhurst

If you like Emma Kavanagh you might also like to read books by S. J. Watson, Nicci French and Tana French.


The Good Book Guide logo The Good Book Guide Review. A local hospital is under threat from an unidentified and dangerous gunman. Tasked with tracking down a potential murderer, Police Firearms Officer Aden McCarthy is keen to succeed, particularly since Aden is still suffering from the effects of the shooting of a schoolboy, which has occasioned some guilt. Imogen, a psychologist, is hoping that after having recently been admitted to the hospital, that it will be a place of healing for her. But she considers that the gunmen has nothing to do with her…she is wrong. Emma Kavanagh proves to be extremely adept at handling this tense narrative, paying out the variety of climaxes at appropriate intervals.
~ Barry Forshaw

Reader Reviews

In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Lovereading Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title.  You can read their full reviews by clicking here.

  • Alison Bisping - 'A brilliant psychological thriller.'
  • Glenda Worth - 'A startling opening to a novel, grips you from the beginning. Every chapter is about a particular day either before or after the shooting spree.'
  • Sheila Dale - 'Amazing unputdownable book - loved it!'
  • Rachel Aygin - 'the entire novel is a puzzle, with the big reveal not happening until the last few pages - I never saw it coming!'
  • Debbie Wood - 'Interesting thriller which kept me guessing til the end. Even though I thought I knew 'who did it' - I was proved wrong!'
  • Edel Waugh - '. If you like a thrilling story with a good build up then get this as soon as it comes out.'
  • Clare Turner - 'Ms Kavanagh certainly has the gift of telling a good story, and I became involved with the characters and swept along by the narrative.'
  • Jane Brown - 'a fast paced, good psychological thriller. The author is up there with Nicci French and other great crime authors.'
  • Evelyn Barrett - 'Hidden is so polished and well-structured that it’s hard to believe that it is only Emma Kavanagh’s second book. There’ll surely be much more to enjoy from this accomplished author.'

Win a Family Break to Salisbury!

Don’t miss out! Enter to win a family break to Salisbury!

Here at Lovereading.co.uk and Lovereading4kids.co.uk we have joined with VisitWiltshire. You could see yourself indulging in the finest food and slumbering comfortably into one of the grand rooms at The Red Lion Salisbury for two nights. The Red Lion Hotel is located in medieval city of Salisbury, which is home to all your favourite stores as well as independent shops, restaurants, cafes and parks and green spaces. Nearby is Stonehenge, Salisbury Plain and numerous sites of historic and archaeological interest.

There are many seasonal events in Salisbury, and you can find out what’s on here. You will also receive a family ticket to Sir Harold Hillier Gardens, the gardens are especially beautiful in the winter, with bold coloured stems, scents, and fabulous foliage, you can be sure to be impressed. For the children there is also a play park, and you can stop off in the Victorian tea room to warm up and treat yourself to a traditional cream tea.

To have a chance of winning this fantastic prize, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. Entries close 31st January 2018.

Good luck!

Terms and Conditions

Red Lion: Two night stay includes breakfast for two adults and up to two children sharing a family room. Subject to availability and cannot be exchanged or redeemed for cash value. Not to be used in combination with any other offer. Valid until 1st Dec 2018 and excludes bank holidays.

Sir Harold Hillier Gardens: Valid for day entry, Not to be used for special events or group entry. Voucher is not transferable or refundable, no Cash Value. Ticket must be redeemed on entry. Valid until 31 Dec 2018. Gardens open daily from 10am – closed Christmas Day and Boxing Day. Prize admits 2 adults and accompanying children Under 17 FREE to Sir Harold Hillier Gardens.

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 31/01/2018

Synopsis

Hidden by Emma Kavanagh

A gripping psychological thriller by a former police psychologist. Perfect for fans of Nicci French, Tana French and S. J. Watson. He's Watching A gunman is stalking the wards of a local hospital. He's unidentified and dangerous, and has to be located. Urgently. Police Firearms Officer Aden McCarthy is tasked with tracking him down. Still troubled by the shooting of a schoolboy, Aden is determined to make amends by finding the gunman - before it's too late. She's Waiting To psychologist Imogen, hospital should be a place of healing and safety - both for her, and her young niece who's been recently admitted. She's heard about the gunman, but he has little to do with her. Or has he[unk] As time ticks down, no one knows who the gunman's next target will be. But he's there. Hiding in plain sight. Far closer than anyone thinks...


Browse inside this book

Reviews



About the Author

Emma Kavanagh

Emma Kavanagh was born and raised in South Wales. After graduating with a PhD in Psychology from Cardiff University, she spent many years working as a police and military psychologist, training firearms officers, command staff and military personnel throughout the UK and Europe. Now she is lucky enough to be able to write for a living. She lives in South Wales with her husband and young son.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

5th November 2015

Author

Emma Kavanagh

More books by Emma Kavanagh
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Arrow Books Ltd an imprint of Cornerstone

Format

Paperback
352 pages

Categories

Thriller / Suspense
Crime / Mystery

Crime & mystery

ISBN

9780099588535

I recommend Lovereading because you get honest reviews on a whole range of genres-there's something for everyone. It's the only site I need.

Sian Spinney

It's information about new books so, for a book lover like me, what's not to like!

Joan Hill

Because of Lovereading I have broadened my reading horizons with some really great books that I probably would never have chosen myself.

Susan Walsh

Books of the month/debuts of the month, kids/adults, fiction/non-fiction, free prize draws and free extracts, what's not to love?

Emma Smith

They are bright, breezy and eager to offer a great book, then genuinely listen/respect the review one writes.

Maggie Crane

Lovereading is not only an amazing site, but it's one of my very favourites. It's like visiting a fascinating bookstore, but better.

Rebecca Jayne Barrett

I read new, exciting writers and established authors before publication and there is a great website full of brilliant books and opinions.

Lynda

Love Reading - it not only does what it says on the tin, it does it with Jam on!!

Maz Tucker

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools