book price comparison twitter
Search our site
The Songaminute Man How Music Brought My Father Home Again by Simon McDermott Read the opening extract of the brand new Simon McDermott book before its publication on 05/04/2018

Reader Reviewed
Hidden by Emma Kavanagh
  

Lovereading view...

Full of suspense with any number of red herrings, this is cracking stuff by a former police psychologist. Narrated from four points of view, it concerns a major shooting incident in a Welsh hospital. Not only does it jump viewpoints, but it jumps time-lines too, running back a year but mostly concentrating on the six days before the incident. Exploring the history of the main players and their actions, sometimes inactions, they slowly fit together like a jigsaw but you need to keep your wits about you to complete the picture at the shocking finale and the surprising identity of the shooter. It is perfect for fans of Nicci French, Tana French and S. J. Watson. ~ Sarah Broadhurst

If you like Emma Kavanagh you might also like to read books by S. J. Watson, Nicci French and Tana French.


The Good Book Guide logo The Good Book Guide Review. A local hospital is under threat from an unidentified and dangerous gunman. Tasked with tracking down a potential murderer, Police Firearms Officer Aden McCarthy is keen to succeed, particularly since Aden is still suffering from the effects of the shooting of a schoolboy, which has occasioned some guilt. Imogen, a psychologist, is hoping that after having recently been admitted to the hospital, that it will be a place of healing for her. But she considers that the gunmen has nothing to do with her…she is wrong. Emma Kavanagh proves to be extremely adept at handling this tense narrative, paying out the variety of climaxes at appropriate intervals.
~ Barry Forshaw

Reader Reviews

In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Lovereading Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title.  You can read their full reviews by clicking here.

  • Alison Bisping - 'A brilliant psychological thriller.'
  • Glenda Worth - 'A startling opening to a novel, grips you from the beginning. Every chapter is about a particular day either before or after the shooting spree.'
  • Sheila Dale - 'Amazing unputdownable book - loved it!'
  • Rachel Aygin - 'the entire novel is a puzzle, with the big reveal not happening until the last few pages - I never saw it coming!'
  • Debbie Wood - 'Interesting thriller which kept me guessing til the end. Even though I thought I knew 'who did it' - I was proved wrong!'
  • Edel Waugh - '. If you like a thrilling story with a good build up then get this as soon as it comes out.'
  • Clare Turner - 'Ms Kavanagh certainly has the gift of telling a good story, and I became involved with the characters and swept along by the narrative.'
  • Jane Brown - 'a fast paced, good psychological thriller. The author is up there with Nicci French and other great crime authors.'
  • Evelyn Barrett - 'Hidden is so polished and well-structured that it’s hard to believe that it is only Emma Kavanagh’s second book. There’ll surely be much more to enjoy from this accomplished author.'

Win Books from the Manon Bradshaw Thriller Series!

Persons Unknown, the second book in Susie Steiner's crime thriller series, is now out in paperback and to mark the publication we are giving away paperback copies of both Missing, Presumed and Persons Unknown to THREE lucky winners!

To have a chance of winning one of these fantastic prizes, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once.

The draw closes on 30 April 2018. The winners will be notified by 14 May 2018,

Good luck!

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 30/04/2018

Synopsis

Hidden by Emma Kavanagh

A gripping psychological thriller by a former police psychologist. Perfect for fans of Nicci French, Tana French and S. J. Watson. He's Watching A gunman is stalking the wards of a local hospital. He's unidentified and dangerous, and has to be located. Urgently. Police Firearms Officer Aden McCarthy is tasked with tracking him down. Still troubled by the shooting of a schoolboy, Aden is determined to make amends by finding the gunman - before it's too late. She's Waiting To psychologist Imogen, hospital should be a place of healing and safety - both for her, and her young niece who's been recently admitted. She's heard about the gunman, but he has little to do with her. Or has he[unk] As time ticks down, no one knows who the gunman's next target will be. But he's there. Hiding in plain sight. Far closer than anyone thinks...


Browse inside this book

Reviews



About the Author

Emma Kavanagh

Emma Kavanagh was born and raised in South Wales. After graduating with a PhD in Psychology from Cardiff University, she spent many years working as a police and military psychologist, training firearms officers, command staff and military personnel throughout the UK and Europe. Now she is lucky enough to be able to write for a living. She lives in South Wales with her husband and young son.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

5th November 2015

Author

Emma Kavanagh

More books by Emma Kavanagh
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Arrow Books Ltd an imprint of Cornerstone

Format

Paperback
352 pages

Categories

Thriller / Suspense
Crime / Mystery
eBook Favourites

Crime & mystery

ISBN

9780099588535

I love Lovereading because I get to read great books and then get to tell everybody how good they are.

Sally Doel

Lovereading has all the new books and also suggestions for 'similar' authors whilst waiting for your favourites new books.

Carol Peace

If you love reading, then you'll love Lovereading! Full of tips & info for every discerning reader.

Lynne Rapson

Why I love @lovereadinguk? It's in the name - as dedicated lovers of reading, they are perfect matchmakers for helping me find my next read!

Catherine Jenkins

Lovereading takes the guesswork out of finding your next read with "if you like you'll love" and extracts to help with your decision.

Sarah Bruch

Lovereading is an amazing place to be, the website is wonderful and to me if I'm sad I'll go here and it cheers me up!

Sophia Upton

It's the first site that I visit when deciding on the next set of books to buy. A particular treat is being able to download an extract.

Tessa Olson

They are bright, breezy and eager to offer a great book, then genuinely listen/respect the review one writes.

Maggie Crane

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools