Are you between 5 and 25? If so, enter the Wicked Young Writer Awards NOW - click here for details...

twitter
Search our site
Last Letter from Istanbul by Lucy Foley Read the opening extract of the brand new Lucy Foley book before its publication on 19/03/2018

The Other Side of the World by Stephanie Bishop
  

Lovereading view...

In the tradition of Rachel Cusk's A Life's Work or Maggie O'Farrell's The Hand That First Held Mine comes a complex, tender and gorgeously written novel of parenthood, love and marriage that is impossible to put down.

Synopsis

The Other Side of the World by Stephanie Bishop

Cambridge 1963. Charlotte struggles to reconnect with the woman she was before children, and to find the time and energy to paint. Her husband, Henry, cannot face the thought of another English winter. A brochure slipped through the letterbox gives him the answer: 'Australia brings out the best in you'. Charlotte is too worn out to resist, and before she knows it is travelling to the other side of the world. But on their arrival in Perth, the southern sun shines a harsh light on both Henry and Charlotte and slowly reveals that their new life is not the answer either was hoping for. Charlotte is left wondering if there is anywhere she belongs, and how far she'll go to find her way home...

Reviews

'The novel thrums with an elegiac hum and is soft with the shifting light and worn textures of memories... magnificent...the precision and flair of the writing is breathtaking' The Australian

'Unflinching but tender... a moving story of marriage, home and self-discovery' Stylist

'There are moments in this novel that are so beautifully and painfully evoked... I thought about it for days afterwards' -- Carys Bray, author of A Song for Issy Bradley

'Atmospheric - the contrast between the two cultures and climates is very well done' -- Cathy Rentzenbrink Bookseller (Editor's Pick)

'Perceptive, wise and exquisitely written, this novel had me turning the pages with heart-stopping urgency. I could not have loved it more' -- Hannah Beckerman, Author of The Dead Wife's Handbook

'utterly heartrending...a subtle and moving book' Optima Magazine

About the Author

Stephanie Bishop was named as one of the Sydney Morning Herald's Best Young Novelists for her first novel, The Singing, and has been shortlisted for numerous Australian literary awards. She studied in Cambridge, where much of the novel is set, and is currently a lecturer in Creative Writing at the University of New South Wales.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

30th November 1999

Author

Stephanie Bishop

More books by Stephanie Bishop
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Format

Hardback

Categories

Family Drama
Literary Fiction
eBook Favourites


ISBN

9781472230614

It has opened my eyes to different authors and genres. Just log on and try, you will be surprised and not want for reading material again.

Jocelyn Garvey

I love reading books I wouldn't normally choose before everyone else gets to read them!

Dawn Lynch

Lovereading takes the guesswork out of finding your next read with "if you like you'll love" and extracts to help with your decision.

Sarah Bruch

I love 'try before you buy' extracts. I love the wide range of authors & genres. I love the author info. I love books!

Judi Davies

Its jam packed with fantastic titles, informative descriptions & fantastic reviews and has a vast array of great features & competitions.

Linda Rollins

Lovereading has all the new books and also suggestions for 'similar' authors whilst waiting for your favourites new books.

Carol Peace

It gives a chance to read about new titles, invites comments from all kinds of readers and is run by such a nice bunch of book lovers.

Joy Bosworth

My horizons have been broadened by some of the books I have been lucky to review and I expect it to be no different in the future.

Daran Bellingham

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools