book price comparison likeyoulove
Search our site
Are You Sleeping by Kathleen Barber Read the opening extract of the brand new Kathleen Barber book before its publication on 27/12/2017

The Other Side of the World by Stephanie Bishop
  

The Other Side of the World

Family Drama   Literary Fiction   eBook Favourites   eBook Favourites   
Notify me
when in stock

As soon as this book is back in stock we will send you an email.

Lovereading view...

In the tradition of Rachel Cusk's A Life's Work or Maggie O'Farrell's The Hand That First Held Mine comes a complex, tender and gorgeously written novel of parenthood, love and marriage that is impossible to put down.

The Good Pilot, Peter Woodhouse by Alexander Mccall Smith

One very lucky winner will receive a signed copy by Alexander McCall Smith of his latest novel, The Good Pilot, Peter Woodhouse. To have a chance of winning this fantastic prize, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once.

The draw closes on 4 January 2018. The winner will be notified by 15th January 2018,

Good luck!

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 04/01/2018

Synopsis

The Other Side of the World by Stephanie Bishop

Cambridge 1963. Charlotte struggles to reconnect with the woman she was before children, and to find the time and energy to paint. Her husband, Henry, cannot face the thought of another English winter. A brochure slipped through the letterbox gives him the answer: 'Australia brings out the best in you'. Charlotte is too worn out to resist, and before she knows it is travelling to the other side of the world. But on their arrival in Perth, the southern sun shines a harsh light on both Henry and Charlotte and slowly reveals that their new life is not the answer either was hoping for. Charlotte is left wondering if there is anywhere she belongs, and how far she'll go to find her way home...

Reviews

'The novel thrums with an elegiac hum and is soft with the shifting light and worn textures of memories... magnificent...the precision and flair of the writing is breathtaking' The Australian

'Unflinching but tender... a moving story of marriage, home and self-discovery' Stylist

'There are moments in this novel that are so beautifully and painfully evoked... I thought about it for days afterwards' -- Carys Bray, author of A Song for Issy Bradley

'Atmospheric - the contrast between the two cultures and climates is very well done' -- Cathy Rentzenbrink Bookseller (Editor's Pick)

'Perceptive, wise and exquisitely written, this novel had me turning the pages with heart-stopping urgency. I could not have loved it more' -- Hannah Beckerman, Author of The Dead Wife's Handbook

'utterly heartrending...a subtle and moving book' Optima Magazine

About the Author

Stephanie Bishop was named as one of the Sydney Morning Herald's Best Young Novelists for her first novel, The Singing, and has been shortlisted for numerous Australian literary awards. She studied in Cambridge, where much of the novel is set, and is currently a lecturer in Creative Writing at the University of New South Wales.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

30th November 1999

Author

Stephanie Bishop

More books by Stephanie Bishop
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Format

Hardback

Categories

Family Drama
Literary Fiction
eBook Favourites
eBook Favourites


ISBN

9781472230614

It's the first site that I visit when deciding on the next set of books to buy. A particular treat is being able to download an extract.

Tessa Olson

Lovereading helps me decide what real people read.

Kerry Bridges

The books for review are always great reads, brilliantly written, and introduces me to a huge variety of, established and new, authors.

Lesley Hart

Lovereading has given me the opportunity to delve into new and exciting worlds of authors who I would never have tried before.

Glynis Elliott

I love Lovereading because I get to read great books and then get to tell everybody how good they are.

Sally Doel

It's a lively, independent website with reviews, recommendations and more - with a huge range of books available to buy in all formats.

Alison Layland

Lovereading takes the guesswork out of finding your next read with "if you like you'll love" and extracts to help with your decision.

Sarah Bruch

If you love reading, then you'll love Lovereading! Full of tips & info for every discerning reader.

Lynne Rapson

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools