Win a Family Weekend Break with Lovereading and VisitWiltshire - click here for details...

Search our site
The Woman in the Window by A. J. Finn Read the opening extract of the brand new A. J. Finn book before its publication on 22/01/2018

Reader Reviewed
Orkney Twilight by Clare Carson
  

Orkney Twilight

Part of the Sam Coyle Trilogy Series
Crime / Mystery   Thriller / Suspense   eBook Favourites   eBook Favourites   
Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Crime/Mystery/Thriller Facebook group Share this book

Lovereading view...

Our narrator is Sam, an eighteen-year old girl just accepted at Oxford, who goes with her father and a fellow school chum, Tom, to the Orkneys to ‘keep an eye’ on her dad for her mother is unable to go. We get odd little gems from Sam’s childhood as she grows up with a father who may be an undercover cop, a detective or even a spy. Whatever he is Sam has always known his work is secret. Now, with Tom, she turns detective herself and with the magic, history and myth of the Orkneys the backdrop, stalks her father becoming more and more worried. The menacing tension ratchets up and we follow trails and red-herrings with our heart in our mouth. A most enjoyable read. ~ Sarah Broadhurst


The Good Book Guide logo The Good Book Guide Review. This debut crime novel explores the ambiguous world of undercover police work. Sam, the rebellious daughter of undercover policeman, Jim, is about to go to university. When the opportunity arises for her to return, with her father, to the scene of childhood holidays in Orkney she decides to go and find out more about his secretive world. Once there, she is determined to discover why he goes off on endless errands, what the meaning of his interest in Norse mythology implies and who he is meeting in secret. However, Sam’s inquisitiveness is drawing her into a dangerous world and she begins to suspect that she is being watched. Who can she trust? Moving between south London and Orkney, this compelling plot keeps the reader engaged not only as a chilling thriller but also as an exploration of father/daughter relationships and the impact of working life on family life.
~ Alison Smith

Reader Reviews

In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title.

  • Lisa Redmond - 'Full of references to Norse mythology and the gorgeous twilight of an Orkney summer, perfect for fans of Erin Kelly, Ann Cleves and Peter May.' Read full review >
  • Cathy Burman - 'the ending was very fast paced and unpredictable and I think that this book will appeal to readers who enjoy thrillers and mysteries.' Read full review >
  • Edel Waugh - 'I recommend this to everyone who likes a thrilling good spy story that will keep you guessing. You will love this!' Read full review >
  • Malcolm Heyhoe - 'with plenty of twists and turns and in the end Orkney Twilight is a satisfying slow-burner rather than a page-turning thriller.' Read full review >
  • Ray Orgill - 'It is a fascinating but believable book filled with dark happenings, none of which tell the truth about what is happening.' Read full review >
  • Marjorie Lacy - 'I enjoyed this book, read it in two days! You can tell by that it captured my imagination.' Read full review >
  • Debbie Patrick - 'I have no idea what is missing in the book but it just didn’t keep me as interested as I thought it should.' Read full review >
  • Jane Brown - 'This was a real page turner, scary and haunting; it keeps you guessing and the reader just has to read this book to the very end.' Read full review >
  • Joanne Baird - 'Intriguing story when a hidden past comes to light...it was a well written book and I never felt it was one I couldn't finish.' Read full review >
  • Joy Bosworth - 'It's different.  Very slow except when at breakneck speed.' Read full review >
  • Joan Hill - 'Enigmatic, haunting and shadowy thriller set against the long summer twilight of beautiful Orkney. A must read for lovers of this genre.' Read full review >
  • Alan Brown - 'How can an author combine a teenage daughter, Orkney, different time frames, Norse mythology, teenage angst and a spy thriller. Read the book to see how brilliantly it can be done.' Read full review >
  • Ann Peet - 'Original stylish thriller...With the occasional interweaving of myths and folk tales from Orkney it makes a haunting and original story.' Read full review >
  • Phylippa Smithson - 'A real page turner but looking back, I am not sure what age of reader it was trying to attract.' Read full review >
  • Sarah Hamid - 'An atmospheric, and sometimes dark, thriller that draws you in towards its gripping climax... Overall, an exciting read though rather emotionally unengaging.' Read full review >
  • Ann - 'This is an intriguing story with believable characters in a world of secrets. Descriptions of the island, the London streets and an underground passageway in the capital are superb.' Read full review >
  • Sharon Matthews - 'An interesting idea set in an interesting place that didn't quite live up to the promise...However, I did like the author style and her characters and the book ending was satisfying so I would read other books by Clare Carson.' Read full review >
  • Sophia Ufton - 'Wow, super scary thriller. Brilliant book, wanted to read right to the very end.' Read full review >
  • Nicola Kingswell - 'The first three quarters were not as gripping as I’d hoped...However, the last quarter of the book once Sam, Tom and Jim had returned to London was a proper page-turner of a thriller.'  Read full review >
  • Ruth Carson - 'It was a well written book but disappointing as a thriller.' Read full review >

Win a Family Break to Salisbury!

Don’t miss out! Enter to win a family break to Salisbury!

Here at Lovereading.co.uk and Lovereading4kids.co.uk we have joined with VisitWiltshire. You could see yourself indulging in the finest food and slumbering comfortably into one of the grand rooms at The Red Lion Salisbury for two nights. The Red Lion Hotel is located in medieval city of Salisbury, which is home to all your favourite stores as well as independent shops, restaurants, cafes and parks and green spaces. Nearby is Stonehenge, Salisbury Plain and numerous sites of historic and archaeological interest.

There are many seasonal events in Salisbury, and you can find out what’s on here. You will also receive a family ticket to Sir Harold Hillier Gardens, the gardens are especially beautiful in the winter, with bold coloured stems, scents, and fabulous foliage, you can be sure to be impressed. For the children there is also a play park, and you can stop off in the Victorian tea room to warm up and treat yourself to a traditional cream tea.

To have a chance of winning this fantastic prize, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. Entries close 31st January 2018.

Good luck!

Terms and Conditions

Red Lion: Two night stay includes breakfast for two adults and up to two children sharing a family room. Subject to availability and cannot be exchanged or redeemed for cash value. Not to be used in combination with any other offer. Valid until 1st Dec 2018 and excludes bank holidays.

Sir Harold Hillier Gardens: Valid for day entry, Not to be used for special events or group entry. Voucher is not transferable or refundable, no Cash Value. Ticket must be redeemed on entry. Valid until 31 Dec 2018. Gardens open daily from 10am – closed Christmas Day and Boxing Day. Prize admits 2 adults and accompanying children Under 17 FREE to Sir Harold Hillier Gardens.

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 31/01/2018

Synopsis

Orkney Twilight by Clare Carson

All families have secrets. But some have more secrets than others. Jim is a brilliant raconteur whose stories get taller with each glass of whisky. His daughter Sam thinks it's time she found out the truth about her dad. On holiday in Orkney, Sam spies on Jim as he travels across the island. What has he hidden in the abandoned watchtower? Who is he meeting in the stone circle at dusk? And why is he suddenly obsessed with Norse myths? As Sam is drawn into Jim's shadowy world, she begins to realise that pursuing the truth is not as simple as it seems...Set against the harsh beauty of the remote Scottish islands of Orkney, inspired by the author's own childhood, this is a gripping first novel from an astonishing new talent.

Reviews

'Clare can definitely write; her lyrical descriptions of Orkney once the characters arrive are really evocative of the island's haunting beauty'
Bookbag

'First time author Clare Carson delivers a meaty, beautifully written and original thriller set in Thatcher's 1970s Britain featuring an engaging central character
Irish Independent

'An original, haunting thriller ... the author cleverly weaves the political struggles of 1980s Britain with the beauty of Orkney. The novel is a clever take on crime fiction and I'm looking forward to more from Clare Carson
The Press & Journal (Aberdeen)

'Part spy thriller, part detective novel, part family drama and part coming of age story Orkney Twilight is a beautifully written evocative novel ... Full of references to Norse mythology and the gorgeous twilight of an Orkney summer
Lisareadsbooks

'Pulls you in from the start and doesn't let you go until the very last page. I found myself being swept away by the mystery and the excitement of the thriller twists ... I highly recommend it if you're up for an utterly thrilling read'
Delightful Book Reviews

'A very well-written first novel... an original and absorbing read'
Literary Review

About the Author

Clare Carson

Clare Carson is an anthropologist and works in international development, specialising in human rights. Her father was an undercover policeman in 1970s London.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

10th September 2015

Author

Clare Carson

More books by Clare Carson
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Publisher

Head of Zeus

Format

Paperback
352 pages

Categories

Crime / Mystery
Thriller / Suspense
eBook Favourites
eBook Favourites

Thriller / suspense

ISBN

9781784080969

It's a lively, independent website with reviews, recommendations and more - with a huge range of books available to buy in all formats.

Alison Layland

I love 'try before you buy' extracts. I love the wide range of authors & genres. I love the author info. I love books!

Judi Davies

Their sending me my first book to review 18 months ago re-awakened my fondness for reading, since then I have purchased some real gems.

Barry Griffiths

I 'Lovereading' because it lets me see what new books are around with a detailed synopsis and readers' reviews.

Judith Sharp

It's information about new books so, for a book lover like me, what's not to like!

Joan Hill

Lovereading is not only an amazing site, but it's one of my very favourites. It's like visiting a fascinating bookstore, but better.

Rebecca Jayne Barrett

Lovereading is like booking a holiday, you don't know what it will be like and it is a whole new experience.

Sue Burton

Because of Lovereading I have broadened my reading horizons with some really great books that I probably would never have chosen myself.

Susan Walsh

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools