join us on facebook eleanor oliphant rebus 30th anniversary
Search our site
The Course of History Ten Meals That Changed the World by Struan Stevenson, Tony Singh Read the opening extract of the brand new Struan Stevenson, Tony Singh book before its publication on 24/10/2017

Reader Reviewed
The Pocket Wife by Susan Crawford
  

The Pocket Wife

Thriller / Suspense   Family Drama   Literary Fiction   eBook Favourites   eBook Favourites   

RRP £7.99

Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Crime/Mystery/Thriller Facebook group Share this book

Lovereading view...

The Pocket Wife is a domestic psychological thriller that makes the reader question everything, and it will stay with you - as all good thrillers do - long after you have finished it. Dana wakes up from a drunken sleep to the sound of an ambulance coming to collect a neighbour, Celia, who later dies. Dana believes she may have killed her. Dana suffers from mental health problems. Our investigator, Jack, believes the murderer could be Dana, or it could be Dana’s husband or Celia’s husband? There follows a good piece of detection work with clues throughout for you to piece together. There is lots of domestic detail to throw you off the scent, at times a tad too much, but we steam away in a convincing plot with a very relevant piece of evidence thrown in right at the end. This debut novel is perfect for fans of A S A Harrison's The Silent Wife and Sabine Durrant's Under Your Skin. ~ Sarah Broadhurst

If you like Susan Crawford you might also like to read books by M. J. Arlidge, A. S. A. Harrison and Sabine Durrant.

Reader Reviews

In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Lovereading Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title.  You can read their full reviews by clicking here.

  • Edel Waugh - '. If you want a really good mystery then definitely read this. I could not guess who the killer was and I was stunned.'
  • Suzanne Marsh - 'The Pocket Wife is a gripping domestic psychological thriller ideal for fans that like reading ASA Harrison and Sabine Durrant.'
  • Joy Bosworth - 'such a predictable book on the first page - so many more layers and factors the further you read!...It isn't easy to get into, but neither is it easy to get out of!'
  • Phylippa Smithson - 'Right from the get-go this book will capture your interest.'
  • Debbie Patrick - 'It was an ok read but not as good as I had expected and looked forward to.'
  • Joan Sidwell - 'The book is told in the present tense which adds to the menace and the story is a very good one with a satisfactory conclusion, one which kept me guessing throughout the book.'
  • Jillian McFrederick - 'A satisfying read, well told and gripping.'
  • Gavin Dimmock - 'Dana awakes from a drunken afternoon to discover her neighbour has been murdered. Dana cannot recall if she killed the neighbour and descends into paranoia.'

Win a signed copy of stunning debut Blue Light Yokohama

We have 10 signed copies (using signed book plates) of Blue Light Yokohama, a stunning debut novel. It is a beautifully plotted police procedural set in Japan by Nicolas Obregon, a new British author. Evocative and serpentine, this marks the debut of a fresh new voice and a remarkable maverick detective with a difference.

To have a chance of winning this fantastic prize, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once.

The draw closes on 6 November 2017. The winners will be notified by 12th November 2017.

Good luck!

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 06/11/2017

Synopsis

The Pocket Wife by Susan Crawford

Dana Catrell wakes from a drunken stupor in time to see an ambulance pull into her neighbour's house a few doors down. Celia Steinhauser has been murdered. But Dana was at her house only a few hours ago. Celia wanted to show her a photo - a photo of Dana's husband with another woman - and Dana has blank spots about what happened to the rest of the afternoon...This is a thriller that makes the reader question everything. Dana, we learn, has a history of mental illness and as she descends into another manic episode, the line between what actually happened and what she has imagined becomes blurred. A gripping domestic psychological thriller for fans of ASA Harrison's The Silent Wife and Sabine Durrant's Under Your Skin, The Pocket Wife will stay with you - as all good thrillers do - long after you've finished it.

About the Author

Susan Crawford

Susan Crawford is a four-time winner of the Atlanta Writers Club award for short fiction and poetry. Loves Lost and Found and Long Story Short, as well as a short piece, have been published in The Sun. She works for the Department of Technical and Adult Education in Georgia.

Author photo © B. Crawford

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

30th July 2015

Author

Susan Crawford

More books by Susan Crawford
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Faber & Faber Crime an imprint of Faber & Faber

Format

Paperback
400 pages

Categories

Thriller / Suspense
Family Drama
Literary Fiction
eBook Favourites
eBook Favourites

Thriller / suspense
Crime & mystery

ISBN

9780571321896

It has enriched my leisure time by introducing me to a world of books which I would not have previously considered.

Val Rowe

They are bright, breezy and eager to offer a great book, then genuinely listen/respect the review one writes.

Maggie Crane

Love Reading - it not only does what it says on the tin, it does it with Jam on!!

Maz Tucker

You'll always find what you never knew you were looking for and you're always spoilt for choice.

Helen Jones

Insightful reader reviews and unbiased recommendations. I don't know how I chose books before Lovereading! An essential for all book lovers.

Sarah Harper

Lovereading does a stella job in promoting both new and established authors.

Iris Clements

Lovereading are lovely people who send me lovely books. What's not to love?

Gavin Dimmock

A great place to go to find your next literary escape, and where you don't have to judge a book by its cover!

Suzanne Beney

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools