The Woman in the Picture

by Katharine McMahon

Crime / Mystery eBooks of the Month Historical Fiction Modern and Classic Literary Fiction

LoveReading View on The Woman in the Picture

Evelyn Gifford, our first-person narrator, is a lawyer in the 1920s.  She is on the rebound from a relationship with a young barrister and accepts a proposal from her employer, Daniel.  In the midst of this comes the General Strike and the description of coping with life in London during the strike is vivid.  Evelyn is befriending a sad family where two of the kids are in trouble with the law and the mother charged for murdering her husband.  Evelyn gets her ex-boyfriend to help the woman in the trial.  This book has got lots of plot, lots of emotion and lots of action. ~ Sarah Broadhurst

Sarah Broadhurst

The Woman in the Picture Synopsis

The page-turning sequel to THE CRIMSON ROOMS by the author of bestselling Richard & Judy Book Club pick, THE ROSE OF SEBASTOPOL. London, 1926. Evie Gifford, one of the first female lawyers in Britain, is not a woman who lets convention get in her way. She has left her family home following a devastating love affair, much to her mother's disapproval. London is tense in the days leading up to the General Strike and Evelyn throws herself into two very different cases - one involving a family with links to the unions and the other a rich man who claims not to be the father of his wife's child. Evie is confronting the hardest challenge of her career when she is faced with an unexpected proposal - just as her former lover returns. How can she possibly choose between security with a man she admires and passion for the man who betrayed her?

Win a copy of An Orphan's War!

Win a copy of An Orphan's War!

Closing date: 24/05/2018

Molly Green is back this spring, with the perfect read for fans of 'Call The Midwife' and 'Grantchester'. Celebrating Molly Green's newest release 'An Orphan's War' we are giving away 10 copies of this book to TEN lucky winners. War rages, but the women and children of Liverpool's Dr Barnado's Home cannot give up hope. An Orphan's War is a gripping saga about love, loss and war.   To have a chance of winning one of these fantastic prizes, click the button below. Please note that the draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. The draw closes on 24 May 2018. The Winners will be notified by 4 June 2018. Good luck!

Enter Now

The Woman in the Picture Press Reviews

'The author of The Crimson Rooms returns with this sequel, a Mitford-style 1920s thriller.' RED MAGAZINE

'No matter the era, professional women always struggle to balance that old chestnut - love versus a career. If you think you've got it bad now, just imagine living in the 1920s and being one of the first women to qualify as a solicitor...' GRAZIA

 

'I'm hooked by Evelyn and those around her and I love the sense of the period. Katharine McMahon is a great storyteller.' NIAMH CUSACK

'You'll immediately fall for Evelyn, the lead girl in The Woman in the Picture...' COMPANY MAGAZINE

'Evelyn is a brave, intelligent character, especially given the sexism of the times, and you will find yourself rooting for her and the people she defends.' WOMAN MAGAZINE

'This novel's skilfully crafted atmosphere draws the reader in from the first page, and the protagonist's compassion for the people she defends is impressive. The cases she becomes embroiled in are interesting, but the love story is the most gripping part. McMahon is a talented writer whose twists will keep you turning pages. It can be easy to forget that not so long ago, women were still fighting to be taken granted in the workplace 0 this book reminds us it was not in vain.' THE LADY

'The roaring 20s are brought fizzingly to life in Katharine McMahon's The Woman in the Picture. This elegant story about a feisty young woman torn between head and heart is absorbing and atmospheric.' GOODHOUSEKEEPING

'This great, heart-stopping page-turned is the sequel to the wonderful The Crimson Rooms. ...private and professional struggles play themselves out against the canvas of a wider social conflict, the 1926 General Strike; and the novel fairly steams with boiled-wool period atmosphere. McMahon is the mistress of telling contrasts, and of charged, passionate and beautifully crafted prose.' -- Wendy Holden DAILY MAIL

'McMahon juggles her many plotlines with such skill...A richly entertaining yarn.' READERS DIGEST

If you loved this, you might like these...

New Boy (Hogarth Shakespeare)
Reader, I Married Him
At the Edge of the Orchard
Seveneves

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781780228075
Publication date: 30/07/2015
Publisher: Weidenfeld & Nicolson an imprint of Orion Publishing Co
Format: Paperback

ISBN: 9780297866039
Publication date: 03/07/2014
Publisher: Weidenfeld & Nicolson an imprint of Orion Publishing Co
Format: Hardback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781780228075
Publication date: 30th July 2015
Author: Katharine McMahon
Publisher: Weidenfeld & Nicolson an imprint of Orion Publishing Co
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 368 pages
Genres: Crime / Mystery, eBook Favourites, Historical Fiction, Literary Fiction,
Categories: Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945),

About Katharine McMahon

Katharine McMahon was our Guest Editor in April 2010 - click here - to see the books that inspired her writing.   Katharine McMahon is the author of seven historical novels including The Alchemist’s Daughter, a Waterstone’s Paperback of the Year in 2006, the bestselling Rose of Sebastopol, a Richard & Judy Book Club selection in 2008, and The Crimson Rooms.  She has taught in secondary schools, performed in local theatre and worked as a Royal Literary Fund fellow teaching writing skills at the Universities of Hertfordshire and Warwick.  She lives in Hertfordshire.  She relies on ...

More About Katharine McMahon

More Books By Katharine McMahon

Cover for The Woman in the Picture by Katharine McMahon
Cover for Season of Light by Katharine McMahon
Cover for The Crimson Rooms by Katharine McMahon
View All Books By Katharine McMahon

Share this book