Are you between 5 and 25? If so, enter the Wicked Young Writer Awards NOW - click here for details...

tudor queens series join us on facebook
Search our site
Last Letter from Istanbul by Lucy Foley Read the opening extract of the brand new Lucy Foley book before its publication on 19/03/2018

Sleeping Late on Judgement Day by Tad Williams
  

Sleeping Late on Judgement Day

Fantasy   eBook Favourites   

Sarah Broadhurst's view...

This is the third in the trilogy which began with The Dirty Streets of Heaven. Bobby Dollar is an angel, though he often seems to have more in common with the likes of Jack Reacher. His is a wonderful narrator’s voice, full of humour, bitterness and a world-weary wit. I just love it. In Dirty Streets Tad Williams created a wonderful urban fantasy and a truly engaging hero who, in Happy Hour in Hell visited a netherworld so vividly realised it made me feel sick. Now he’s back on earth for the concluding volume and I am left with that strange sadness/excitement mix; must know how the story ends but don’t want to finish such a great book. Tad Williams also writes excellent epic fantasy. Check out his Memory, Sorrow and Thorn trilogy.

If you like Tad Williams you might also like to read books by Jo Hill, China Mieville and Robin Hobb.

Who is Sarah Broadhurst

Synopsis

Sleeping Late on Judgement Day by Tad Williams

Bobby Dollar thinks he's seen it all - after all, he's been to Hell and back again. Literally. But he has another think coming. Sleeping Late on Judgement Day will find Bobby back in his adopted hometown of San Judas, California, trying to stay out of trouble...and failing. His love life is still a mess, there are one too many people who have it out for him, and drowning his sorrows in a nice glass of whisky won't keep the demons at bay forever. Bobby's going to have to pull himself together and make a few tough decisions before time runs out. The problem is, time could run out at any moment. In the final Bobby Dollar novel in Tad Williams' groundbreaking epic fantasy trilogy, fallen angel Bobby Dollar will finally be force to confront the one problem he can't talk his way out of: his own.

Reviews

Praise for THE DIRTY STREETS OF HEAVEN:

'When I heard that Tad Williams was writing an urban fantasy novel, I got all tingly. Now I've read it, and it's even better than I'd dared to hope. It's snarky, fast-paced, and above all, original. You should be tingly, too.
Patrick Rothfuss

'Tad Williams' ... famous four-book trilogy was one of the things that inspired me to write my own seven-book trilogy. [ I ] said, My god, they can do something with this form, and it's Tad doing it.'
George R.R. Martin

'This is urban fantasy at its best.'
EpicBookReviews

'A very promising start to an exciting new series from one of our greatest modern F/SF authors.'
Geek Syndicate

'Readers who enjoy Neil Gaiman's Neverwhere, Kate Griffin's A Madness of Angels, Jim Butcher's Dresden Files will most likely be as entertained as I was... Highly recommended.'
SFF World

About the Author

Tad Williams

World-famous fantasy novelist Tad Williams is the author of the Memory, Sorrow and Thorn, Otherland and Shadowmarch series. His work is revered by fantasy masters George R. R. Martin and Christopher Paolini. He lives in California with his wife Deborah Beale, co-author of the Ordinary Farm Adventures series, and their family.

Author photo © Deborah Beale

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

9th April 2015

Author

Tad Williams

More books by Tad Williams
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.tadwilliams.com/

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Hodder Paperback an imprint of Hodder & Stoughton General Division

Format

Paperback
448 pages

Categories

Fantasy
eBook Favourites

Fantasy

ISBN

9781444738674

As for why I'd recommend Lovereading, it's simple - it's a great place to get information and reviews about new books!

Margaret Freeman

I love that Lovereading handpicks very special debut reads.

Magda North

I love the newsletter with reviews of all the new books coming out. Can't wait to open it when it arrives in my inbox.

Rachel Aygin

They are bright, breezy and eager to offer a great book, then genuinely listen/respect the review one writes.

Maggie Crane

Lovereading is like booking a holiday, you don't know what it will be like and it is a whole new experience.

Sue Burton

Lovereading has all the new books and also suggestions for 'similar' authors whilst waiting for your favourites new books.

Carol Peace

My favourite thing about is the 'like for like' page this has really introduced me to some good reads! That and lots of honest reviews.

Sam Lewis

It's a lively, independent website with reviews, recommendations and more - with a huge range of books available to buy in all formats.

Alison Layland

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools