win prizes newgen books for YA readers
Search our site
Are You Sleeping by Kathleen Barber Read the opening extract of the brand new Kathleen Barber book before its publication on 27/12/2017

Sleeping Late on Judgement Day by Tad Williams
  

Sleeping Late on Judgement Day

Fantasy   eBook Favourites   eBook Favourites   

Sarah Broadhurst's view...

This is the third in the trilogy which began with The Dirty Streets of Heaven. Bobby Dollar is an angel, though he often seems to have more in common with the likes of Jack Reacher. His is a wonderful narrator’s voice, full of humour, bitterness and a world-weary wit. I just love it. In Dirty Streets Tad Williams created a wonderful urban fantasy and a truly engaging hero who, in Happy Hour in Hell visited a netherworld so vividly realised it made me feel sick. Now he’s back on earth for the concluding volume and I am left with that strange sadness/excitement mix; must know how the story ends but don’t want to finish such a great book. Tad Williams also writes excellent epic fantasy. Check out his Memory, Sorrow and Thorn trilogy.

If you like Tad Williams you might also like to read books by Sergei Lukyanenko, Ben Aaronovitch and Terry Brooks.

Who is Sarah Broadhurst

Synopsis

Sleeping Late on Judgement Day by Tad Williams

Bobby Dollar thinks he's seen it all - after all, he's been to Hell and back again. Literally. But he has another think coming. Sleeping Late on Judgement Day will find Bobby back in his adopted hometown of San Judas, California, trying to stay out of trouble...and failing. His love life is still a mess, there are one too many people who have it out for him, and drowning his sorrows in a nice glass of whisky won't keep the demons at bay forever. Bobby's going to have to pull himself together and make a few tough decisions before time runs out. The problem is, time could run out at any moment. In the final Bobby Dollar novel in Tad Williams' groundbreaking epic fantasy trilogy, fallen angel Bobby Dollar will finally be force to confront the one problem he can't talk his way out of: his own.

Reviews

Praise for THE DIRTY STREETS OF HEAVEN:

'When I heard that Tad Williams was writing an urban fantasy novel, I got all tingly. Now I've read it, and it's even better than I'd dared to hope. It's snarky, fast-paced, and above all, original. You should be tingly, too.
Patrick Rothfuss

'Tad Williams' ... famous four-book trilogy was one of the things that inspired me to write my own seven-book trilogy. [ I ] said, My god, they can do something with this form, and it's Tad doing it.'
George R.R. Martin

'This is urban fantasy at its best.'
EpicBookReviews

'A very promising start to an exciting new series from one of our greatest modern F/SF authors.'
Geek Syndicate

'Readers who enjoy Neil Gaiman's Neverwhere, Kate Griffin's A Madness of Angels, Jim Butcher's Dresden Files will most likely be as entertained as I was... Highly recommended.'
SFF World

About the Author

Tad Williams

World-famous fantasy novelist Tad Williams is the author of the Memory, Sorrow and Thorn, Otherland and Shadowmarch series. His work is revered by fantasy masters George R. R. Martin and Christopher Paolini. He lives in California with his wife Deborah Beale, co-author of the Ordinary Farm Adventures series, and their family.

Author photo © Deborah Beale

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

9th April 2015

Author

Tad Williams

More books by Tad Williams
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.tadwilliams.com/

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Hodder Paperback an imprint of Hodder & Stoughton General Division

Format

Paperback
448 pages

Categories

Fantasy
eBook Favourites
eBook Favourites

Fantasy

ISBN

9781444738674

Discover new authors and enjoy old favourites; oodles of literary gems to uncover at Lovereading with candid reviews from real reviewers.

Emily Wright

Why I love @lovereadinguk? It's in the name - as dedicated lovers of reading, they are perfect matchmakers for helping me find my next read!

Catherine Jenkins

Thanks to Lovereading I have discovered new writers and read books I would never had looked twice at - and enjoyed them.

Angela Rhodes

Books of the month/debuts of the month, kids/adults, fiction/non-fiction, free prize draws and free extracts, what's not to love?

Emma Smith

My horizons have been broadened by some of the books I have been lucky to review and I expect it to be no different in the future.

Daran Bellingham

Lovereading always comes up with great suggestions and has introduced me to enjoyable books and new authors to discover.

Gaynor Passmore

I love Lovereading for the wonderful like for like author recommendations and for highlighting new books, it's a great resource for readers!

Lindsay

I love reading because my cares & woes vanish for an hour or two whilst I read of the joys, adventures, lives of the characters in the book.

Jennifer Moville

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools