LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Child 44

by Tom Rob Smith

Action / Adventure / Spy / Espionage Debuts eBooks of the Month Historical Fiction Thriller and Suspense

LoveReading View on Child 44

This is a brilliant first novel from an exceptional writer. Set in Stalinist Russia, it is a tight and gripping tale of an MGB officer who starts to question his superiors and sees through the doctrine of Communist propaganda. Not only is it a compelling murder mystery it is also the story of a man’s journey from childhood to manhood, with surprising twists and turns. The narrative evokes the grimness of a Russian winter in all its bleakness - Doctor Zhivago it is not. The final 100 pages kept me up until the small hours.

Books in the Child 44 Series:

1. Child 44

2. The Secret Speech

3. Agent 6

Serial Reader? Check out our 'Fall in Love With a Book Series' collection to find amazing book series to dive in to.

LoveReading

Child 44 Synopsis

Now a major movie, directed by Daniel Espinosa and starring Tom Hardy, Noomi Rapace and Gary Oldman. For fans of Robert Harris, John Le Carre and Martin Cruz Smith comes a gripping thriller set in Moscow, 1953.

 

 

Under Stalin's terrifying regime families live in fear. When the all-powerful State claims there is no such thing as crime, who dares disagree? An ambitious secret police officer, Leo Demidov has spent his career arresting anyone who steps out of line. Suddenly his world is turned upside down when he uncovers evidence of a killer at large. Now, with only his wife at his side, Leo must risk both their lives to save the lives of others. Inspired by a real-life investigation, Child 44 is a relentless story of love, hope and bravery in a totalitarian world. It is a thriller unlike any you have ever read.

Win an Epic Crime Fiction Bundle from Orenda!

Win an Epic Crime Fiction Bundle from Orenda!

Closing date: 30/11/2020

We have a brilliant selection of crime fiction books up for grabs from Orenda! This brilliant prize includes some of their latest releases over the next 3 months and would be the perfect head start on the holiday shopping or an early Christmas present to yourself! Books included in the bundle will be: A Song of Isolation by Michael J. Malone - published 17/09/2020 The Seven Doors by Agnes Ravatn - Published 17/09/2020 The Creak on the Stairs by Eva Bjoerg AEgisdottir - published 01/10/2020 Betrayal by Lilja Sigurdardottir - published 01/10/2020 The Coral Bride by Roxanne Bouchard- published 12/11/2020 Fallen Angels by Gunnar Staalesen - published 12/11/2020 This draw is open only for UK residents currently in the UK and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. The draw closes on 30th November 2020. The winners will be notified as soon as possible.

Enter Now

If you loved this, you might like these...

V2
The Guest List
The Temple House Vanishing
The Dirty South Witness

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781471133473
Publication date: 26/03/2015
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Ltd
Format: Paperback

ISBN: 9780857204080
Publication date: 28/04/2011
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Ltd
Format: Paperback

ISBN: 9781847371263
Publication date: 03/03/2008
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Ltd
Format: Hardback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781471133473
Publication date: 26th March 2015
Author: Tom Rob Smith
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Ltd
Format: Paperback
Genres: Action Adventure / Spy, Debuts, eBook Favourites, Historical Fiction, Thriller / Suspense,
Categories:

About Tom Rob Smith

Born in 1979 to a Swedish mother and an English father, Tom Rob Smith's bestselling novels in the Child 44 trilogy were international publishing sensations. Among its many honours, Child 44 won the International Thriller Writer Award for Best First Novel, the Galaxy Book Award for Best New Writer, the CWA Ian Fleming Steel Dagger Award, and was longlisted for the Man Booker Prize and shortlisted for the Costa First Novel Award and the inaugural Desmond Elliot Prize. Child 44 is now a major motion picture starring Tom Hardy, Noomi Rapace and Gary Oldman.   Author photo © Bildschön/Mark Bassett

More About Tom Rob Smith

More Books By Tom Rob Smith

Cover for The Farm by Tom Rob Smith
Cover for The Farm by Tom Rob Smith
Cover for Agent 6 by Tom Rob Smith
View All Books By Tom Rob Smith

Share this book