Child 44

by Tom Rob Smith

Action / Adventure / Spy / Espionage eBooks of the Month Historical Fiction Thriller and Suspense

LoveReading View on Child 44

This is a brilliant first novel from an exceptional writer. Set in Stalinist Russia, it is a tight and gripping tale of an MGB officer who starts to question his superiors and sees through the doctrine of Communist propaganda. Not only is it a compelling murder mystery it is also the story of a man’s journey from childhood to manhood, with surprising twists and turns. The narrative evokes the grimness of a Russian winter in all its bleakness - Doctor Zhivago it is not. The final 100 pages kept me up until the small hours.

Child 44 Synopsis

Now a major movie, directed by Daniel Espinosa and starring Tom Hardy, Noomi Rapace and Gary Oldman. For fans of Robert Harris, John Le Carre and Martin Cruz Smith comes a gripping thriller set in Moscow, 1953.

 

 

Under Stalin's terrifying regime families live in fear. When the all-powerful State claims there is no such thing as crime, who dares disagree? An ambitious secret police officer, Leo Demidov has spent his career arresting anyone who steps out of line. Suddenly his world is turned upside down when he uncovers evidence of a killer at large. Now, with only his wife at his side, Leo must risk both their lives to save the lives of others. Inspired by a real-life investigation, Child 44 is a relentless story of love, hope and bravery in a totalitarian world. It is a thriller unlike any you have ever read.

Win a Signed Copy of Pieces of Her

Win a Signed Copy of Pieces of Her

Closing date: 06/09/2018

We are giving FIVE lucky people the chance to win SIGNED Hardback copies of Karin Slaughter's latest book, Pieces of Her. The draw closes on the 6th September and the winner will be notified by the 10th September. The latest, thrilling new book from the No.1 Internationally Bestselling Author, Pieces of Her makes you question how well you know your nearest and dearest. Andrea Oliver knows everything about her mother Laura. She knows she's always lived in the small town of Belle Isle; she knows she's a pillar of the community; she knows she's never kept a secret in her life. but she's hiding something... Then one day, a trip to the mall explodes into a shocking act of violence and Andy suddenly sees a completely different side to Laura. and it could destroy them both...

Enter Now

If you loved this, you might like these...

The Empathy Problem
A Hero in France
Stasi Wolf
The Empathy Problem

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781471133473
Publication date: 26/03/2015
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Ltd
Format: Paperback

ISBN: 9780857204080
Publication date: 28/04/2011
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Ltd
Format: Paperback

ISBN: 9781847371263
Publication date: 03/03/2008
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Ltd
Format: Hardback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781471133473
Publication date: 26th March 2015
Author: Tom Rob Smith
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Ltd
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 512 pages
Genres: Action Adventure / Spy, eBook Favourites, Historical Fiction, Books Behind TV & Film, Thriller / Suspense,
Categories: Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945),

About Tom Rob Smith

Born in 1979 to a Swedish mother and an English father, Tom Rob Smith's bestselling novels in the Child 44 trilogy were international publishing sensations. Among its many honours, Child 44 won the International Thriller Writer Award for Best First Novel, the Galaxy Book Award for Best New Writer, the CWA Ian Fleming Steel Dagger Award, and was longlisted for the Man Booker Prize and shortlisted for the Costa First Novel Award and the inaugural Desmond Elliot Prize. Child 44 is now a major motion picture starring Tom Hardy, Noomi Rapace and Gary Oldman.   Author photo © Bildschön/Mark Bassett

More About Tom Rob Smith

More Books By Tom Rob Smith

Cover for The Farm by Tom Rob Smith
Cover for The Farm by Tom Rob Smith
Cover for Agent 6 by Tom Rob Smith
View All Books By Tom Rob Smith

Share this book