make the most of Lovereading debuts of the month
Search our site
Are You Sleeping by Kathleen Barber Read the opening extract of the brand new Kathleen Barber book before its publication on 27/12/2017

Reader Reviewed
A Line of Blood by Ben McPherson
  

A Line of Blood

Thriller / Suspense   Crime / Mystery   eBook Favourites   eBook Favourites   
Notify me
when in stock

As soon as this book is back in stock we will send you an email.

Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Crime/Mystery/Thriller Facebook group Share this book

Sarah Broadhurst's view...

April 2015 eBook of the Month.

Starting as a murder mystery with a certain amount of police procedure running through it, this turns into a deeply traumatic, psychological thriller. The discovery by the narrator and his 11-year old son, Max, of the next door neighbour electrocuted in his bath kicks off the tale. It highlights the huge responsibility of parenthood. That the boy has witnessed such horror disturbs his father more than the boy! But then kids today are used to the blood and gore of their computer games. Max has therapy, the school is informed, he is cared for and watched but the event tears the family apart for different reasons. Past violence and back story come into play. I am afraid you may guess the end by about page 61 but getting there is thrilling.

If you like Ben McPherson you might also like to read books by S. J. Watson, Herman Koch and Lionel Shriver.

Who is Sarah Broadhurst

Reader Reviews

In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Lovereading Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title.  You can read their full reviews by clicking here.

  • Phylippa Smithson - 'Now this is one credible, engaging and disturbing story of family love.  Murder or suicide?  If murder, who did it?  And it takes to the very final pages for it all to be answered. Clever stuff.'
  • Daran Bellingham - 'A fantastic novel that would easily transfer to TV. A psychological thriller that shows how sometimes the ties that bind us run deep and how lies that are told on the way can sometimes destroy what we hold dear.'
  • Caroline Mathews - 'An accomplished debut novel from Ben McPherson, this psychological thriller had me turning pages until way later than I should have been.'
  • Anne Cater - 'A Line of Blood is a complex, subtle and captivating psychological thriller, with characters who are flawed, dangerous and at times incredibly vulnerable.'
  • Ray Orgill - 'There are not many characters in the story but the ones that are, could be classed as essential.  An excellent mystery with a very surprising ending.'
  • Genevieve McAllister - 'A Line of Blood manages to be both a thriller and a compelling study into the darker side of what holds a family together.'
  • Dana Captainino - 'That the majority of characters are unlikable does not detract from the novel itself and the reader is subsumed in the plot until the ultimate truth is revealed.'
  • Suzanne Marsh - 'The originality for a chilling psychological thriller story is most certainly here. I have never read anything quite like this before.'
  • Liz Lyons - 'A brilliant and thought provoking debut novel...This book grips the reader from the very first page.'
  • Emma Smith - 'Ben has done a great job of exploring family relationships when put under strain...Ben McPherson did well to make flawed characters without them being irritating.'
  • Liz Stein - 'I quite enjoyed this book but found myself getting irritated with it, because the dialogue was repetitive and the story occasionally confused and erratic.'
  • Gavin Dimmock - 'An intense, psychological thriller; a gripping and absorbing debut from an exciting new British author...I found this to be a well written and thoroughly engaging tale.'
  • Nicola Kingswell - 'The writing style seemed to change half way through the book, and for the better. Overall, I enjoyed the story.'
  • Elaine Robertson - 'A Line of Blood would be an excellent choice for a book group as it throws up many discussion points and ways of thinking about the characters and their actions.'
  • Teresa O'Halloran - 'An impressive debut. A dark disturbing tale of an unexplained death and the dysfunctional family who live next door.'

Win a Family Break to Salisbury!

Don’t miss out! Enter to win a family break to Salisbury!

Here at Lovereading.co.uk and Lovereading4kids.co.uk we have joined with VisitWiltshire. You could see yourself indulging in the finest food and slumbering comfortably into one of the grand rooms at The Red Lion Salisbury for two nights. The Red Lion Hotel is located in medieval city of Salisbury, which is home to all your favourite stores as well as independent shops, restaurants, cafes and parks and green spaces. Nearby is Stonehenge, Salisbury Plain and numerous sites of historic and archaeological interest.

There are many seasonal events in Salisbury, and you can find out what’s on here. You will also receive a family ticket to Sir Harold Hillier Gardens, the gardens are especially beautiful in the winter, with bold coloured stems, scents, and fabulous foliage, you can be sure to be impressed. For the children there is also a play park, and you can stop off in the Victorian tea room to warm up and treat yourself to a traditional cream tea.

To have a chance of winning this fantastic prize, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. Entries close 31st January 2018.

Good luck!

Terms and Conditions

Red Lion: Two night stay includes breakfast for two adults and up to two children sharing a family room. Subject to availability and cannot be exchanged or redeemed for cash value. Not to be used in combination with any other offer. Valid until 1st Dec 2018 and excludes bank holidays.

Sir Harold Hillier Gardens: Valid for day entry, Not to be used for special events or group entry. Voucher is not transferable or refundable, no Cash Value. Ticket must be redeemed on entry. Valid until 31 Dec 2018. Gardens open daily from 10am – closed Christmas Day and Boxing Day. Prize admits 2 adults and accompanying children Under 17 FREE to Sir Harold Hillier Gardens.

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 31/01/2018

Synopsis

A Line of Blood by Ben McPherson

A chilling psychological thriller about family - the ties that bind us, and the lies that destroy us. Perfect for fans of Gone Girl. You find your neighbour dead in his bath. Your son is with you. He sees everything. You discover your wife has been in the man's house. It seems she knew him. Now the police need to speak to you. One night turns Alex Mercer's life upside down. He loves his family and he wants to protect them, but there is too much he doesn't know. He doesn't know how the cracks in his and Millicent's marriage have affected their son, Max. Or how Millicent's bracelet came to be under the neighbour's bed. He doesn't know how to be a father to Max when his own world is shattering into pieces. Then the murder investigation begins...

Reviews

'Ben McPherson has a very distinctive voice, and A LINE OF BLOOD is cleverly put together'
Val McDermid

'A tense, touching, smartly written thriller with a very clever twist. McPherson is an impressive new voice'
Tim Lott

'A hugely impressive debut, well written and psychologically acute; a devastating depiction of a family tearing itself apart'
Paul Johnston

About the Author

Ben McPherson

Ben McPherson is a television producer, director, and writer. He studied Modern Languages at King's College, Cambridge, and worked for many years in film and television production. From 1998 to 2007 he was a director and producer for the BBC. In 1998 Ben met the woman he would go on to marry at the Coach and Horses in Soho. Similarities to the characters in his novel, A Line of Blood, end there. Ben speaks fluent Norwegian and lives in Oslo with his wife and son. In 2012 he covered the Breivik trial for TheForeigner.no. He is now a columnist for Aftenposten, Norway's leading quality daily newspaper.

Author photo © Thomas Bjørnflaten

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

26th March 2015

Author

Ben McPherson

More books by Ben McPherson
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

HarperCollins Publishers Ltd an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers

Format

Hardback

Categories

Thriller / Suspense
Crime / Mystery
eBook Favourites
eBook Favourites


ISBN

9780007569564

Lovereading recommends, honestly reviews and promotes books-what more can I say?!

Rachel Bridgeman

Lovereading is an amazing place to be, the website is wonderful and to me if I'm sad I'll go here and it cheers me up!

Sophia Upton

Lovereading tells me about new books before they hit the shelves, lets me find other authors I may like and has great prize draws!

Sheila Dale

A well laid out site, I love the fact that is separates paranormal fiction from fantasy and horror, which other sites don't.

Jen Rainbow

Lovereading takes the guesswork out of finding your next read with "if you like you'll love" and extracts to help with your decision.

Sarah Bruch

It's the first site that I visit when deciding on the next set of books to buy. A particular treat is being able to download an extract.

Tessa Olson

Lovereading is a world of books. It has everything you need from new to old and much loved classic books. It even give you recommendations!

Kate Thurston

It's a lively, independent website with reviews, recommendations and more - with a huge range of books available to buy in all formats.

Alison Layland

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools