Tell us a story

LoveReading is thrilled to announce the launch of The Very Short Story Award 2019! If you think you have a story we'll love, click here to find out more and how to enter:

Find out more

The Edge of Dark

by Pamela Hartshorne

eBooks of the Month Fantasy

The Edge of Dark Synopsis

Jane believes in keeping her promises, but a deathbed vow sets her on a twisting path of deceit and joy that takes her from the dark secrets of Holmwood House in York to the sign of the golden lily in London's Mincing Lane. Getting what you want, Jane discovers, comes at a price. For the child that she longed for, the child she promised to love and to keep safe, turns out to be a darker spirit than she could ever have imagined. Over four centuries later, Roz Acclam remembers nothing of the fire that killed her family - or of the brother who set it. Trying on a beautiful Elizabethan necklace found in the newly restored Holmwood House triggers disturbing memories of the past at last - but the past Roz remembers is not her own ...A dark and twisted tale from Pamela Harshorne, author of The Memory of Midnight and Time's Echo, and a perfect read for fans of Kate Mosse and Barbara Erskine.

If you loved this, you might like these...

The Ghost Tree
Sleeper's Castle
Lady of Hay
Outlander: Dragonfly in Amber

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781447249559
Publication date: 12/03/2015
Publisher: Macmillan an imprint of Pan Macmillan
Format: Paperback

ISBN: 9781447278535
Publication date: 20/11/2014
Publisher: Macmillan an imprint of Pan Macmillan
Format: Hardback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781447249559
Publication date: 12th March 2015
Author: Pamela Hartshorne
Publisher: Macmillan an imprint of Pan Macmillan
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 480 pages
Genres: eBook Favourites, Fantasy,
Categories: Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945),

About Pamela Hartshorne

After an earlier career spent working and travelling around the world, including stints as cook on an outback cattle station, interpreter on expedition in Cameroon and English teacher in Jakarta, Pamela Hartshorne stumbled into writing as a way of funding a PhD in Medieval Studies. Settling at last in York, for several years she combined academic research with a successful career as a romance writer. Her thesis on the streets of later medieval and early modern York was finally completed in 2004 and she continues to work (very slowly) on a scholarly edition of the wardmote court records that formed the ...

More About Pamela Hartshorne

More Books By Pamela Hartshorne

Cover for The Edge of Dark by Pamela Hartshorne
Cover for The Memory of Midnight by Pamela Hartshorne
View All Books By Pamela Hartshorne

Share this book