join us on facebook before the fall win prizes
Search our site
Moonlight Over Manhattan by Sarah Morgan Read the opening extract of the brand new Sarah Morgan book before its publication on 05/10/2017

The Edge of Dark by Pamela Hartshorne
  

The Edge of Dark

Fantasy   eBook Favourites   eBook Favourites   

RRP £7.99

Sarah Broadhurst's view...

An enthralling dual-time novel with a large country house finally giving up its secrets. In the present day it is to become an events centre. In its past, back in the 1570s, it housed a sad and wretched girl who still haunts the building. So past and present mix and a present day séance throws up some interesting facts. We, the reader, are privy to a lot but once the story starts to seriously jump between the periods and present day characters mirror the past, it all gets very spooky. A clever, dark tale.

If you like Pamela Hartshorne you might also like to read books by Kate Mosse, Barbara Erskine and Susanna Kearsley.

Who is Sarah Broadhurst

Synopsis

The Edge of Dark by Pamela Hartshorne

Jane believes in keeping her promises, but a deathbed vow sets her on a twisting path of deceit and joy that takes her from the dark secrets of Holmwood House in York to the sign of the golden lily in London's Mincing Lane. Getting what you want, Jane discovers, comes at a price. For the child that she longed for, the child she promised to love and to keep safe, turns out to be a darker spirit than she could ever have imagined. Over four centuries later, Roz Acclam remembers nothing of the fire that killed her family - or of the brother who set it. Trying on a beautiful Elizabethan necklace found in the newly restored Holmwood House triggers disturbing memories of the past at last - but the past Roz remembers is not her own ...A dark and twisted tale from Pamela Harshorne, author of The Memory of Midnight and Time's Echo, and a perfect read for fans of Kate Mosse and Barbara Erskine.

Reviews

With each successive novel, Pamela Hartshorne's writing goes from strength to strength. There is no doubt that she has captured the idea of the time slip/dual narrative historical novel to perfection and she continues to enthral, beguile and entertain. Recommended if you like dual time narratives by Barbara Erskine, Susanna Kearsley, Rachel Hore. -- http://jaffareadstoo.blogspot.co.uk/ What can I say? I LOVED this book ... I loved the whole time-slip part of the novel, and it was so well-written that it became completely believable ... If you enjoy historical fiction, and have enjoyed previous authors such as Barbara Erskine and Deborah Harkness (although less of the supernatural in this novel!) then you will LOVE Pamela Hartshorne. Reading Room With A View With each successive novel, Pamela Hartshorne's writing goes from strength to strength. There is no doubt that she has captured the idea of the time slip/dual narrative historical novel to perfection and she continues to enthral, beguile and entertain. Recommended if you like dual time narratives by Barbara Erskine, Susanna Kearsley, Rachel Hore. JaffaReadsToo With richly evocative depictions of Jane's life in the sixteenth century, I loved how the historical period was brought to life. Coupled with the creepy atmosphere of the present Holmwood House and some dark, vengeful characters haunting both Jane and Roz, The Edge Of Dark is a deliciously compulsive read. I became so completely engrossed in this book, the world around me disappeared along with several hours of my day. I loved this book, and would highly recommend it to fans of historical fiction and timeslip novels. It's one of my personal favourites. Cosybooks.com An entertaining, compelling and genuinely eerie read. shereadsnovels.wordpress.com The Edge of Dark is the first Pamela Hartshorne novel I've read but it certainly won't be the last ... This is a fantastic page turner, filled with twists and turns and a great cast of characters. It is at times thrillingly dark as the title suggests and I can't wait to read the author's previous books. This novel will be perfect for fans of Tudor fiction such as Philippa Gregory and of course fans of time slip fiction such as that of Barbara Erskine. LisaReadsBooks


About the Author

After an earlier career spent working and travelling around the world, including stints as cook on an outback cattle station, interpreter on expedition in Cameroon and English teacher in Jakarta, Pamela Hartshorne stumbled into writing as a way of funding a PhD in Medieval Studies. Settling at last in York, for several years she combined academic research with a successful career as a romance writer. Her thesis on the streets of later medieval and early modern York was finally completed in 2004 and she continues to work (very slowly) on a scholarly edition of the wardmote court records that formed the basis of her research. The Memory of Midnight is her second novel based on her study of Elizabethan York and written under her real name.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

12th March 2015

Author

Pamela Hartshorne

More books by Pamela Hartshorne
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.pamelahartshorne.com

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Pan Books an imprint of Pan Macmillan

Format

Paperback
400 pages
Interest Age: From 18

Categories

Fantasy
eBook Favourites
eBook Favourites

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

ISBN

9781447249559

Lovereading helps me decide what real people read.

Kerry Bridges

I recommend Lovereading because you get honest reviews on a whole range of genres-there's something for everyone. It's the only site I need.

Sian Spinney

Lovereading is not only an amazing site, but it's one of my very favourites. It's like visiting a fascinating bookstore, but better.

Rebecca Jayne Barrett

Lovereading does a stella job in promoting both new and established authors.

Iris Clements

It's information about new books so, for a book lover like me, what's not to like!

Joan Hill

Lovereading is a wonderful way to expand my literary horizons, discover inspiring authors & get the chance to read new novels first. #loveit

Zarina de Ruiter

Love books. Love reading. Love reading books. And, here's the trick. Here's a website which caters for people like me.

Ian Harvey-brown

I love reading books I wouldn't normally choose before everyone else gets to read them!

Dawn Lynch

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools