newgen books for YA readers rebus 30th anniversary
Search our site
Are You Sleeping by Kathleen Barber Read the opening extract of the brand new Kathleen Barber book before its publication on 27/12/2017

The Edge of Dark by Pamela Hartshorne
  

The Edge of Dark

Fantasy   eBook Favourites   eBook Favourites   

Sarah Broadhurst's view...

An enthralling dual-time novel with a large country house finally giving up its secrets. In the present day it is to become an events centre. In its past, back in the 1570s, it housed a sad and wretched girl who still haunts the building. So past and present mix and a present day séance throws up some interesting facts. We, the reader, are privy to a lot but once the story starts to seriously jump between the periods and present day characters mirror the past, it all gets very spooky. A clever, dark tale.

If you like Pamela Hartshorne you might also like to read books by Susanna Kearsley, Kate Mosse and Barbara Erskine.

Who is Sarah Broadhurst

Synopsis

The Edge of Dark by Pamela Hartshorne

Jane believes in keeping her promises, but a deathbed vow sets her on a twisting path of deceit and joy that takes her from the dark secrets of Holmwood House in York to the sign of the golden lily in London's Mincing Lane. Getting what you want, Jane discovers, comes at a price. For the child that she longed for, the child she promised to love and to keep safe, turns out to be a darker spirit than she could ever have imagined. Over four centuries later, Roz Acclam remembers nothing of the fire that killed her family - or of the brother who set it. Trying on a beautiful Elizabethan necklace found in the newly restored Holmwood House triggers disturbing memories of the past at last - but the past Roz remembers is not her own ...A dark and twisted tale from Pamela Harshorne, author of The Memory of Midnight and Time's Echo, and a perfect read for fans of Kate Mosse and Barbara Erskine.

Reviews

With each successive novel, Pamela Hartshorne's writing goes from strength to strength. There is no doubt that she has captured the idea of the time slip/dual narrative historical novel to perfection and she continues to enthral, beguile and entertain. Recommended if you like dual time narratives by Barbara Erskine, Susanna Kearsley, Rachel Hore. -- http://jaffareadstoo.blogspot.co.uk/ What can I say? I LOVED this book ... I loved the whole time-slip part of the novel, and it was so well-written that it became completely believable ... If you enjoy historical fiction, and have enjoyed previous authors such as Barbara Erskine and Deborah Harkness (although less of the supernatural in this novel!) then you will LOVE Pamela Hartshorne. Reading Room With A View With each successive novel, Pamela Hartshorne's writing goes from strength to strength. There is no doubt that she has captured the idea of the time slip/dual narrative historical novel to perfection and she continues to enthral, beguile and entertain. Recommended if you like dual time narratives by Barbara Erskine, Susanna Kearsley, Rachel Hore. JaffaReadsToo With richly evocative depictions of Jane's life in the sixteenth century, I loved how the historical period was brought to life. Coupled with the creepy atmosphere of the present Holmwood House and some dark, vengeful characters haunting both Jane and Roz, The Edge Of Dark is a deliciously compulsive read. I became so completely engrossed in this book, the world around me disappeared along with several hours of my day. I loved this book, and would highly recommend it to fans of historical fiction and timeslip novels. It's one of my personal favourites. Cosybooks.com An entertaining, compelling and genuinely eerie read. shereadsnovels.wordpress.com The Edge of Dark is the first Pamela Hartshorne novel I've read but it certainly won't be the last ... This is a fantastic page turner, filled with twists and turns and a great cast of characters. It is at times thrillingly dark as the title suggests and I can't wait to read the author's previous books. This novel will be perfect for fans of Tudor fiction such as Philippa Gregory and of course fans of time slip fiction such as that of Barbara Erskine. LisaReadsBooks


About the Author

After an earlier career spent working and travelling around the world, including stints as cook on an outback cattle station, interpreter on expedition in Cameroon and English teacher in Jakarta, Pamela Hartshorne stumbled into writing as a way of funding a PhD in Medieval Studies. Settling at last in York, for several years she combined academic research with a successful career as a romance writer. Her thesis on the streets of later medieval and early modern York was finally completed in 2004 and she continues to work (very slowly) on a scholarly edition of the wardmote court records that formed the basis of her research. The Memory of Midnight is her second novel based on her study of Elizabethan York and written under her real name.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

12th March 2015

Author

Pamela Hartshorne

More books by Pamela Hartshorne
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.pamelahartshorne.com

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Pan Books an imprint of Pan Macmillan

Format

Paperback
480 pages

Categories

Fantasy
eBook Favourites
eBook Favourites

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

ISBN

9781447249559

Their sending me my first book to review 18 months ago re-awakened my fondness for reading, since then I have purchased some real gems.

Barry Griffiths

Lovereading is a world of books. It has everything you need from new to old and much loved classic books. It even give you recommendations!

Kate Thurston

What can I say, the clue is in the title Lovereading - and awesome books.

Sarah Davis

Lovereading - a community of people passionate about reading and sharing their views. An incomparable website for book lovers.

Helen Clark

Lovereading has all the new books and also suggestions for 'similar' authors whilst waiting for your favourites new books.

Carol Peace

At Lovereading there are fabulous books available in every genre, with great reviews to help you pick the right book for you.

Teresa O'Halloran

Its jam packed with fantastic titles, informative descriptions & fantastic reviews and has a vast array of great features & competitions.

Linda Rollins

Ever purchased a book, read a few pages & thought I'm not going to enjoy this? Honest book reviews mean you'll never have that problem again

Jill Peters

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools