Tell us a story

LoveReading is thrilled to announce the launch of The Very Short Story Award 2019! If you think you have a story we'll love, click here to find out more and how to enter:

Find out more

The Strings of Murder

by Oscar de Muriel

Part of the A Victorian Mystery Series

Crime / Mystery eBooks of the Month Historical Fiction

The Strings of Murder Synopsis

This is a spellbinding concoction of crime, history and horror - perfect for fans of Sherlock Holmes and Jonathan Creek. Edinburgh, 1888. A violinist is murdered in his home. The dead virtuoso's maid swears she heard three musicians playing in the night. But with only one body in the locked practice room - and no way in or out - the case makes no sense. Fearing a national panic over another Ripper, Scotland Yard sends Inspector Ian Frey to investigate under the cover of a fake department specializing in the occult. However, Frey's new boss, Detective 'Nine-Nails' McGray, actually believes in such supernatural nonsense. McGray's tragic past has driven him to superstition, but even Frey must admit that this case seems beyond reason. And once someone loses all reason, who knows what they will lose next...

Win Don't You Cry

Win Don't You Cry

Closing date: 11/10/2018

Cass Green's "dynamic, powerfully expressive novel" Don't You Cry was released on the 6th September. To celebrate we are giving away FIVE copies of the latest psychological thriller AND a 'Most Stressful Night of Your Life package' of luxury Hot Chocolate and a MINI Bottle of Whiskey.  She saved your life. Now she'll make you pay - One stolen baby. Two desperate strangers. One night of terror. The competition closes on the 11th October 2018. The winner will be informed by the 17th October 2018. To have a chance of winning this fantastic prize, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter and you must be 18 or over to enter this competition. Multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. By entering this competition you are agreeing to the conditions mentioned above and to adhere to the LoveReading Terms and Conditions. 

Enter Now

If you loved this, you might like these...

The Hunting Party
Into the Night
Top Dog
Palm Beach, Finland

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9780718179823
Publication date: 12/02/2015
Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9780718179823
Publication date: 12th February 2015
Author: Oscar de Muriel
Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 416 pages
Genres: Crime / Mystery, eBook Favourites, Historical Fiction,
Categories: Historical mysteries, Thriller / suspense,

About Oscar de Muriel

Oscar de Muriel was born in Mexico City and moved to the UK to complete his PhD. He is a chemist, translator and violinist who now lives and works in Manchester.

More About Oscar de Muriel

Share this book