likeyoulove rebus 30th anniversary
Search our site
Moonlight Over Manhattan by Sarah Morgan Read the opening extract of the brand new Sarah Morgan book before its publication on 05/10/2017

The Liar's Chair by Rebecca Whitney
  

The Liar's Chair

Thriller / Suspense   eBook Favourites   eBook Favourites   

RRP £0.00

Notify me
when in stock

As soon as this book is back in stock we will send you an email.

Sarah Broadhurst's view...

David and Rachel, aged around 40, have built up a very successful promotional business together but a less successful marriage. When Rachel, driving home from a night with her lover, accidentally kills a homeless man and drags his body out of sight before returning home, the relationship disintegrates at an alarming rate. This is a chilling depiction of the psychological and physical cruelty that can be experienced in a seemingly happy marriage. It is told in the first person by Rachel and in flashbacks we learn about her background, which explains her need for love but we are told nothing of David’s childhood to explain his behaviour as he secretly sniffs drugs, launders money and deals with some pretty dodgy characters. It is a gripping story with a suggestion of a satisfactory conclusion.

If you like Rebecca Whitney you might also like to read books by Louise Doughty, Gillian Flynn and Sophie Hannah.

Who is Sarah Broadhurst

Win a signed copy of stunning debut Blue Light Yokohama

We have 10 signed copies (using signed book plates) of Blue Light Yokohama, a stunning debut novel. It is a beautifully plotted police procedural set in Japan by Nicolas Obregon, a new British author. Evocative and serpentine, this marks the debut of a fresh new voice and a remarkable maverick detective with a difference.

To have a chance of winning this fantastic prize, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once.

The draw closes on 6 November 2017. The winners will be notified by 12th November 2017.

Good luck!

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 06/11/2017

Synopsis

The Liar's Chair by Rebecca Whitney

Rachel Teller and her husband David appear happy, prosperous and fulfilled. The big house, the successful business ...They have everything. However, control, not love, fuels their relationship and David has no idea his wife indulges in drunken indiscretions. When Rachel kills a man in a hit and run, the meticulously maintained veneer over their life begins to crack. Destroying all evidence of the accident, David insists they continue as normal. Rachel though is racked with guilt and as her behaviour becomes increasingly self-destructive she not only inflames David's darker side, but also uncovers her own long-suppressed memories of shame. Can Rachel confront her past and atone for her terrible crime? Not if her husband has anything to do with it ...A startling, dark and audacious novel set in and around the Brighton streets, The Liar's Chair will keep readers on the edge of their seats until the final page has been turned. A stunning psychological portrait of a woman in a toxic marriage, Rebecca Whitney's debut will show that sometimes the darkest shadow holds the truth you have been hiding from ...*Perfect for fans of Louise Doughty's Apple Tree Yard*

Reviews

'Cleverly constructed, chilling and deeply disturbing, The Liar's Chair is a compelling psychological thriller that dissects an outwardly perfect marriage and reveals the dark, decaying heart at its core. A brilliant debut.' Emlyn Rees

'The Liar's Chair is riveting, a dark story of desperate people and reckless acts. You won't want to put it down.' Jane Casey, bestselling author of the Maeve Kerrigan series

About the Author

Rebecca Whitney studied Creative Arts at Nottingham Trent University. After working for a record company she switched to film production, moving up from tea girl to producer, and making music videos and documentaries. Since relocating to Brighton, she has completed the Creative Writing Certificate at Sussex University, and now lives and writes by the sea with her husband and two children. Follow Rebecca: @RebeccaJWhitney

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

30th November 1999

Author

Rebecca Whitney

More books by Rebecca Whitney
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.rebeccawhitney.co.uk/
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Format

Hardback

Categories

Thriller / Suspense
eBook Favourites
eBook Favourites


ISBN

9781447265818

My favourite thing about is the 'like for like' page this has really introduced me to some good reads! That and lots of honest reviews.

Sam Lewis

Why I love @lovereadinguk? It's in the name - as dedicated lovers of reading, they are perfect matchmakers for helping me find my next read!

Catherine Jenkins

I read new, exciting writers and established authors before publication and there is a great website full of brilliant books and opinions.

Lynda

Books of the month/debuts of the month, kids/adults, fiction/non-fiction, free prize draws and free extracts, what's not to love?

Emma Smith

Lovereading tells me about new books before they hit the shelves, lets me find other authors I may like and has great prize draws!

Sheila Dale

Lovereading does a stella job in promoting both new and established authors.

Iris Clements

For me, to read is to learn, to reflect, to escape, to think, to contemplate and my time for space and calm.

Sally Ellsmore

Love Reading - it not only does what it says on the tin, it does it with Jam on!!

Maz Tucker

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools