eleanor oliphant likeyoulove
Search our site
The Course of History Ten Meals That Changed the World by Struan Stevenson, Tony Singh Read the opening extract of the brand new Struan Stevenson, Tony Singh book before its publication on 24/10/2017

Goodbye, Piccadilly War at Home, 1914 by Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
  

Goodbye, Piccadilly War at Home, 1914

Part of the War at Home Series
Historical Fiction   World War One Literature   eBook Favourites   

RRP £7.99

Sarah Broadhurst's view...

The first in a new series set against the backdrop of World War One from the author of the delightful and compelling Morland dynasty series. We’re introduced to the well to do Hunter family and their servants as the first few months of war begin to change everyone’s lives and the little (made up) village of Northcote. Perfect for fans of Downton Abbey as well as those who’ve loved the Morland series.

If you like Cynthia Harrod-Eagles you might also like to read books by Reay Tannahill, E V Thompson and Jean Plaidy.

Who is Sarah Broadhurst

Synopsis

Goodbye, Piccadilly War at Home, 1914 by Cynthia Harrod-Eagles

In 1914, Britain faces a new kind of war. For Edward and Beatrice Hunter, their children, servants and neighbours, life will never be the same again. For David, the eldest, war means a chance to do something noble; but enlisting will break his mother's heart. His sister Diana, nineteen and beautiful, longs for marriage. She has her heart set on Charles Wroughton, son of Earl Wroughton, but Charles will never be allowed to marry a banker's daughter. Below stairs, Cook and Ada, the head housemaid, grow more terrified of German invasion with every newspaper atrocity story. Ethel, under housemaid, can't help herself when it comes to men and now soldiers add to the temptation; yet there's more to this flighty girl than meets the eye. The once-tranquil village of Northcote reels under an influx of khaki volunteers, wounded soldiers and Belgian refugees. The war is becoming more dangerous and everyone must find a way to adapt to this rapidly changing world.

Reviews

An insightful look at the impact of war on everyday lives Choice


About the Author

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles is the author of the contemporary Bill Slider Mystery series as well as the Morland Dynasty novels. Her passions are music, wine, horses, architecture and the English countryside.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

4th December 2014

Author

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles

More books by Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.cynthiaharrodeagles.com...

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...

Publisher

Sphere an imprint of Little, Brown Book Group

Format

Paperback
400 pages

Categories

Historical Fiction
World War One Literature
eBook Favourites

Historical fiction
First World War fiction

ISBN

9780751556285

Lovereading takes the guesswork out of finding your next read with "if you like you'll love" and extracts to help with your decision.

Sarah Bruch

Discover new authors and enjoy old favourites; oodles of literary gems to uncover at Lovereading with candid reviews from real reviewers.

Emily Wright

Lovereading is not only an amazing site, but it's one of my very favourites. It's like visiting a fascinating bookstore, but better.

Rebecca Jayne Barrett

I love the 'like for like' author recommendations, it's like an old friend whispering in your ear.

Emma Caddick

It's the first site that I visit when deciding on the next set of books to buy. A particular treat is being able to download an extract.

Tessa Olson

Why I love @lovereadinguk? It's in the name - as dedicated lovers of reading, they are perfect matchmakers for helping me find my next read!

Catherine Jenkins

Lovereading is a world of books. It has everything you need from new to old and much loved classic books. It even give you recommendations!

Kate Thurston

Its jam packed with fantastic titles, informative descriptions & fantastic reviews and has a vast array of great features & competitions.

Linda Rollins

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools