tudor queens series
Search our site
The Heart of Mars by Paul Magrs Read the opening extract of the brand new Paul Magrs book before its publication on 15/03/2018

Goodbye, Piccadilly War at Home, 1914 by Cynthia Harrod-Eagles

Goodbye, Piccadilly War at Home, 1914

Part of the War at Home Series
Historical Fiction   World War One Literature   eBook Favourites   

Sarah Broadhurst's view...

The first in a new series set against the backdrop of World War One from the author of the delightful and compelling Morland dynasty series. We’re introduced to the well to do Hunter family and their servants as the first few months of war begin to change everyone’s lives and the little (made up) village of Northcote. Perfect for fans of Downton Abbey as well as those who’ve loved the Morland series.

If you like Cynthia Harrod-Eagles you might also like to read books by Reay Tannahill, Jean Plaidy and E V Thompson.

Who is Sarah Broadhurst


Goodbye, Piccadilly War at Home, 1914 by Cynthia Harrod-Eagles

In 1914, Britain faces a new kind of war. For Edward and Beatrice Hunter, their children, servants and neighbours, life will never be the same again. For David, the eldest, war means a chance to do something noble; but enlisting will break his mother's heart. His sister Diana, nineteen and beautiful, longs for marriage. She has her heart set on Charles Wroughton, son of Earl Wroughton, but Charles will never be allowed to marry a banker's daughter. Below stairs, Cook and Ada, the head housemaid, grow more terrified of German invasion with every newspaper atrocity story. Ethel, under housemaid, can't help herself when it comes to men and now soldiers add to the temptation; yet there's more to this flighty girl than meets the eye. The once-tranquil village of Northcote reels under an influx of khaki volunteers, wounded soldiers and Belgian refugees. The war is becoming more dangerous and everyone must find a way to adapt to this rapidly changing world.


An insightful look at the impact of war on everyday lives Choice

About the Author

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles is the author of the contemporary Bill Slider Mystery series as well as the Morland Dynasty novels. Her passions are music, wine, horses, architecture and the English countryside.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

4th December 2014


Cynthia Harrod-Eagles

More books by Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Author 'Like for Like'

Author's Website


Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...


Sphere an imprint of Little, Brown Book Group


400 pages


Historical Fiction
World War One Literature
eBook Favourites

Historical fiction
First World War fiction



It has opened my eyes to different authors and genres. Just log on and try, you will be surprised and not want for reading material again.

Jocelyn Garvey

Because of Lovereading I have broadened my reading horizons with some really great books that I probably would never have chosen myself.

Susan Walsh

I love the newsletter with reviews of all the new books coming out. Can't wait to open it when it arrives in my inbox.

Rachel Aygin

A well laid out site, I love the fact that is separates paranormal fiction from fantasy and horror, which other sites don't.

Jen Rainbow

Thanks to Lovereading I have discovered new writers and read books I would never had looked twice at - and enjoyed them.

Angela Rhodes

I love reading because my cares & woes vanish for an hour or two whilst I read of the joys, adventures, lives of the characters in the book.

Jennifer Moville

At Lovereading there are fabulous books available in every genre, with great reviews to help you pick the right book for you.

Teresa O'Halloran

You'll always find what you never knew you were looking for and you're always spoilt for choice.

Helen Jones