eleanor oliphant
Search our site
Are You Sleeping by Kathleen Barber Read the opening extract of the brand new Kathleen Barber book before its publication on 27/12/2017

Goodbye, Piccadilly War at Home, 1914 by Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
  

Goodbye, Piccadilly War at Home, 1914

Part of the War at Home Series
Historical Fiction   World War One Literature   eBook Favourites   

Sarah Broadhurst's view...

The first in a new series set against the backdrop of World War One from the author of the delightful and compelling Morland dynasty series. We’re introduced to the well to do Hunter family and their servants as the first few months of war begin to change everyone’s lives and the little (made up) village of Northcote. Perfect for fans of Downton Abbey as well as those who’ve loved the Morland series.

If you like Cynthia Harrod-Eagles you might also like to read books by Reay Tannahill, E V Thompson and Jean Plaidy.

Who is Sarah Broadhurst

Synopsis

Goodbye, Piccadilly War at Home, 1914 by Cynthia Harrod-Eagles

In 1914, Britain faces a new kind of war. For Edward and Beatrice Hunter, their children, servants and neighbours, life will never be the same again. For David, the eldest, war means a chance to do something noble; but enlisting will break his mother's heart. His sister Diana, nineteen and beautiful, longs for marriage. She has her heart set on Charles Wroughton, son of Earl Wroughton, but Charles will never be allowed to marry a banker's daughter. Below stairs, Cook and Ada, the head housemaid, grow more terrified of German invasion with every newspaper atrocity story. Ethel, under housemaid, can't help herself when it comes to men and now soldiers add to the temptation; yet there's more to this flighty girl than meets the eye. The once-tranquil village of Northcote reels under an influx of khaki volunteers, wounded soldiers and Belgian refugees. The war is becoming more dangerous and everyone must find a way to adapt to this rapidly changing world.

Reviews

An insightful look at the impact of war on everyday lives Choice


About the Author

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles is the author of the contemporary Bill Slider Mystery series as well as the Morland Dynasty novels. Her passions are music, wine, horses, architecture and the English countryside.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

4th December 2014

Author

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles

More books by Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.cynthiaharrodeagles.com...

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...

Publisher

Sphere an imprint of Little, Brown Book Group

Format

Paperback
400 pages

Categories

Historical Fiction
World War One Literature
eBook Favourites

Historical fiction
First World War fiction

ISBN

9780751556285

You can trust Lovereading to show unbiased reviews by actual, ordinary readers that help likeminded booklovers choose their next great read.

Linda Hill

Why I love @lovereadinguk? It's in the name - as dedicated lovers of reading, they are perfect matchmakers for helping me find my next read!

Catherine Jenkins

Because of Lovereading I have broadened my reading horizons with some really great books that I probably would never have chosen myself.

Susan Walsh

My horizons have been broadened by some of the books I have been lucky to review and I expect it to be no different in the future.

Daran Bellingham

It is a website dedicated to those who adore reading It really is a one stop shop for book lovers. Love it!

Edel Waugh

You'll always find what you never knew you were looking for and you're always spoilt for choice.

Helen Jones

The books for review are always great reads, brilliantly written, and introduces me to a huge variety of, established and new, authors.

Lesley Hart

Lovereading is like booking a holiday, you don't know what it will be like and it is a whole new experience.

Sue Burton

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools