Harry Potter House Eds debuts of the month rebus 30th anniversary
Search our site
Moonlight Over Manhattan by Sarah Morgan Read the opening extract of the brand new Sarah Morgan book before its publication on 05/10/2017

Reader Reviewed
The Queen's Man by Rory Clements
  

The Queen's Man

Part of the John Shakespeare Series
Historical Fiction   Action Adventure / Spy   Books of the Month   Thriller / Suspense   eBook Favourites   eBook Favourites   

RRP £8.99

Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Crime/Mystery/Thriller Facebook group Share this book

Lovereading view...

December 2014 Book of the Month.

It is 1582 and John Shakespeare, brother of William, spy for Walsingham, is sent with his loyal servant Boltfoot on a mission to his home town, Stratford-on-Avon, to investigate a conspiracy to free Mary Queen of Scots. The conflict between crown and Catholics has seeped into the Shakespeare family, or almost for Anne Hathaway, engaged to William has signed a document claiming loyalty to the Church in Rome! Much now ensues: murder, duplicity, missing documents, plots of treason and skulduggery all bounce off the pages at a hell of a lick. This is great stuff, a terrific addition to an excellent series which, if you haven’t discovered it, then you have a treat in store.

If you like Rory Clements you might also like to read books by Philip Kerr, James Forrester and David Downing.


The Good Book Guide logo The Good Book Guide Review. The man in question is, once again, William Shakespeare’s brother, John, who is recruited by that most archetypal of all spy masters, Sir Francis Walsingham. His first mission will take him into the heart of a nest of conspirators who threaten the rule of good Queen Bess and wish to see the Scottish Queen Mary on the throne of England instead. Shakespeare is young and green, but he is a quick learner, and in this deftly plotted first novel in this series we see him maturing into a steady pair of hands in defence of the realm. Gripping stuff.
~ Julia Hamilton

Reader Reviews

In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title.

  • Carolyn Huckfield - 'His story brings this Elizabethan world to life...I just had to keep on reading until he got the answers he needed to solve the mystery, find the traitors and still protect his own family.'  Read full review >
  • Riki Gabrielle Bill - 'An adventure that doesn't disappoint for a first time reader of this author. The author takes the reader on a mysterious adventure through Elizabethan England thwarting enemies at every turn.'  Read full review >
  • Liz Robinson - 'I found it hard to put down and as a consequence possibly read it too quickly, I will be revisiting it very soon!'  Read full review >
  • Angela Rhodes - 'With a little romance thrown in, this is a novel which had me turning the pages with baited breath.'  Read full review >

Win a signed copy of stunning debut Blue Light Yokohama

We have 10 signed copies (using signed book plates) of Blue Light Yokohama, a stunning debut novel. It is a beautifully plotted police procedural set in Japan by Nicolas Obregon, a new British author. Evocative and serpentine, this marks the debut of a fresh new voice and a remarkable maverick detective with a difference.

To have a chance of winning this fantastic prize, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once.

The draw closes on 6 November 2017. The winners will be notified by 12th November 2017.

Good luck!

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 06/11/2017

Synopsis

The Queen's Man by Rory Clements

For fans of C J Sansom and S J Parris, THE QUEEN'S MAN introduces the Queen's Spy John Shakespeare in the prequel to Rory Clements' acclaimed and bestselling series of Tudor spy thrillers. Clements, winner of the Ellis Peters Historical Fiction Award, 'does for Elizabeth's reign what C.J. Sansom does for Henry VIII's' Sunday Times England is a Judas nest of conspiracy It is 1582, and the conflict between Protestant and Catholic threatens to tear the country in two. While Queen Elizabeth I holds the reins of power, there are those whose loyalty lies with her imprisoned cousin, Mary Queen of Scots. On his first major mission for Sir Francis Walsingham, the young John Shakespeare is ordered to discover a conspiracy to free the Stuart queen from Sheffield Castle. All too soon, he realises that the tentacles of the plot reach deep into his native Warwickshire and threaten his own friends and family. His duty lies with Elizabeth - but how far will he go to protect those he loves?

Reviews

*GOOD HOUSEKEEPING Reader Recommends*: I could not put down THE QUEEN'S MAN by Rory Clements Good Housekeeping READER RECOMMENDS The sixth in Rory Clements
enjoyable series of Elizabethan thrillers featuring John Shakespeare

... Clements has the edge when it comes to creating a lively, fast-moving plot. The Sunday Times Sixteenth-century London comes alive in all its tawdriness. Daily Mail Enjoyable, bloody and brutish. Guardian


About the Author

Rory Clements

Rory Clements is the bestselling author of the John Shakespeare series of Tudor spy thrillers. His six acclaimed novels, Martyr, Revenger, Prince, Traitor, The Heretics and The Queen's Man, follow Elizabeth's Intelligencer, John Shakespeare, brother to the playwright William, through the dark underworld of Tudor England as he unmasks the traitors and conspirators who plot against the Queen. The seventh John Shakespeare novel, Holy Spy, is due to be published in February 2015. Rory Clements won the Crime Writers' Association Ellis Peters Historical Fiction Award in 2010 for Revenger, and has been shortlisted for CWA Awards for Martyr, Prince and The Heretics. A TV series is currently in development.

Author photo © Madeleine Clements

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

20th November 2014

Author

Rory Clements

More books by Rory Clements
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.roryclements.com/

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...

Publisher

John Murray Publishers Ltd an imprint of John Murray General Publishing Division

Format

Paperback
496 pages

Categories

Historical Fiction
Action Adventure / Spy
Books of the Month
Thriller / Suspense
eBook Favourites
eBook Favourites

Historical mysteries

ISBN

9781848548480

Lovereading is pitched at just the right level for all the various types of people who enjoy reading in its many forms.

Pam Woodburn

Lovereading is like booking a holiday, you don't know what it will be like and it is a whole new experience.

Sue Burton

I recommend Lovereading because you get honest reviews on a whole range of genres-there's something for everyone. It's the only site I need.

Sian Spinney

I love Lovereading for the wonderful like for like author recommendations and for highlighting new books, it's a great resource for readers!

Lindsay

My horizons have been broadened by some of the books I have been lucky to review and I expect it to be no different in the future.

Daran Bellingham

I love the newsletter with reviews of all the new books coming out. Can't wait to open it when it arrives in my inbox.

Rachel Aygin

Because of Lovereading I have broadened my reading horizons with some really great books that I probably would never have chosen myself.

Susan Walsh

Insightful reader reviews and unbiased recommendations. I don't know how I chose books before Lovereading! An essential for all book lovers.

Sarah Harper

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools