books of the month
Search our site
Are You Sleeping by Kathleen Barber Read the opening extract of the brand new Kathleen Barber book before its publication on 27/12/2017

Reader Reviewed
The Queen's Man by Rory Clements
  

The Queen's Man

Part of the John Shakespeare Series
Historical Fiction   Action Adventure / Spy   Books of the Month   Thriller / Suspense   eBook Favourites   eBook Favourites   
Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Crime/Mystery/Thriller Facebook group Share this book

Lovereading view...

December 2014 Book of the Month.

It is 1582 and John Shakespeare, brother of William, spy for Walsingham, is sent with his loyal servant Boltfoot on a mission to his home town, Stratford-on-Avon, to investigate a conspiracy to free Mary Queen of Scots. The conflict between crown and Catholics has seeped into the Shakespeare family, or almost for Anne Hathaway, engaged to William has signed a document claiming loyalty to the Church in Rome! Much now ensues: murder, duplicity, missing documents, plots of treason and skulduggery all bounce off the pages at a hell of a lick. This is great stuff, a terrific addition to an excellent series which, if you haven’t discovered it, then you have a treat in store.

If you like Rory Clements you might also like to read books by Alan Furst, Philip Kerr and David Downing.


The Good Book Guide logo The Good Book Guide Review. The man in question is, once again, William Shakespeare’s brother, John, who is recruited by that most archetypal of all spy masters, Sir Francis Walsingham. His first mission will take him into the heart of a nest of conspirators who threaten the rule of good Queen Bess and wish to see the Scottish Queen Mary on the throne of England instead. Shakespeare is young and green, but he is a quick learner, and in this deftly plotted first novel in this series we see him maturing into a steady pair of hands in defence of the realm. Gripping stuff.
~ Julia Hamilton

Reader Reviews

In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title.

  • Carolyn Huckfield - 'His story brings this Elizabethan world to life...I just had to keep on reading until he got the answers he needed to solve the mystery, find the traitors and still protect his own family.'  Read full review >
  • Riki Gabrielle Bill - 'An adventure that doesn't disappoint for a first time reader of this author. The author takes the reader on a mysterious adventure through Elizabethan England thwarting enemies at every turn.'  Read full review >
  • Liz Robinson - 'I found it hard to put down and as a consequence possibly read it too quickly, I will be revisiting it very soon!'  Read full review >
  • Angela Rhodes - 'With a little romance thrown in, this is a novel which had me turning the pages with baited breath.'  Read full review >

Win a Family Break to Salisbury!

Don’t miss out! Enter to win a family break to Salisbury!

Here at Lovereading.co.uk and Lovereading4kids.co.uk we have joined with VisitWiltshire. You could see yourself indulging in the finest food and slumbering comfortably into one of the grand rooms at The Red Lion Salisbury for two nights. The Red Lion Hotel is located in medieval city of Salisbury, which is home to all your favourite stores as well as independent shops, restaurants, cafes and parks and green spaces. Nearby is Stonehenge, Salisbury Plain and numerous sites of historic and archaeological interest.

There are many seasonal events in Salisbury, and you can find out what’s on here. You will also receive a family ticket to Sir Harold Hillier Gardens, the gardens are especially beautiful in the winter, with bold coloured stems, scents, and fabulous foliage, you can be sure to be impressed. For the children there is also a play park, and you can stop off in the Victorian tea room to warm up and treat yourself to a traditional cream tea.

To have a chance of winning this fantastic prize, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. Entries close 31st January 2018.

Good luck!

Terms and Conditions

Red Lion: Two night stay includes breakfast for two adults and up to two children sharing a family room. Subject to availability and cannot be exchanged or redeemed for cash value. Not to be used in combination with any other offer. Valid until 1st Dec 2018 and excludes bank holidays.

Sir Harold Hillier Gardens: Valid for day entry, Not to be used for special events or group entry. Voucher is not transferable or refundable, no Cash Value. Ticket must be redeemed on entry. Valid until 31 Dec 2018. Gardens open daily from 10am – closed Christmas Day and Boxing Day. Prize admits 2 adults and accompanying children Under 17 FREE to Sir Harold Hillier Gardens.

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 31/01/2018

Synopsis

The Queen's Man by Rory Clements

For fans of C J Sansom and S J Parris, THE QUEEN'S MAN introduces the Queen's Spy John Shakespeare in the prequel to Rory Clements' acclaimed and bestselling series of Tudor spy thrillers. Clements, winner of the Ellis Peters Historical Fiction Award, 'does for Elizabeth's reign what C.J. Sansom does for Henry VIII's' Sunday Times England is a Judas nest of conspiracy It is 1582, and the conflict between Protestant and Catholic threatens to tear the country in two. While Queen Elizabeth I holds the reins of power, there are those whose loyalty lies with her imprisoned cousin, Mary Queen of Scots. On his first major mission for Sir Francis Walsingham, the young John Shakespeare is ordered to discover a conspiracy to free the Stuart queen from Sheffield Castle. All too soon, he realises that the tentacles of the plot reach deep into his native Warwickshire and threaten his own friends and family. His duty lies with Elizabeth - but how far will he go to protect those he loves?

Reviews

Enjoyable, bloody and brutish. * Guardian * Sixteenth-century London comes alive in all its tawdriness. * Daily Mail * The sixth in Rory Clements
enjoyable series of Elizabethan thrillers featuring John Shakespeare

... Clements has the edge when it comes to creating a lively, fast-moving plot. * The Sunday Times * *GOOD HOUSEKEEPING Reader Recommends*: I could not put down THE QUEEN'S MAN by Rory Clements * Good Housekeeping READER RECOMMENDS *


About the Author

Rory Clements

Rory Clements is the bestselling author of the John Shakespeare series of Tudor spy thrillers. His six acclaimed novels, Martyr, Revenger, Prince, Traitor, The Heretics and The Queen's Man, follow Elizabeth's Intelligencer, John Shakespeare, brother to the playwright William, through the dark underworld of Tudor England as he unmasks the traitors and conspirators who plot against the Queen. The seventh John Shakespeare novel, Holy Spy, is due to be published in February 2015. Rory Clements won the Crime Writers' Association Ellis Peters Historical Fiction Award in 2010 for Revenger, and has been shortlisted for CWA Awards for Martyr, Prince and The Heretics. A TV series is currently in development.

Author photo © Madeleine Clements

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

20th November 2014

Author

Rory Clements

More books by Rory Clements
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.roryclements.com/

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...

Publisher

John Murray Publishers Ltd an imprint of John Murray General Publishing Division

Format

Paperback
496 pages

Categories

Historical Fiction
Action Adventure / Spy
Books of the Month
Thriller / Suspense
eBook Favourites
eBook Favourites

Historical mysteries

ISBN

9781848548480

Lovereading always comes up with great suggestions and has introduced me to enjoyable books and new authors to discover.

Gaynor Passmore

Because of Lovereading I have broadened my reading horizons with some really great books that I probably would never have chosen myself.

Susan Walsh

Lovereading recommends, honestly reviews and promotes books-what more can I say?!

Rachel Bridgeman

Lovereading is an amazing place to be, the website is wonderful and to me if I'm sad I'll go here and it cheers me up!

Sophia Upton

A great place to go to find your next literary escape, and where you don't have to judge a book by its cover!

Suzanne Beney

If you love reading, then you'll love Lovereading! Full of tips & info for every discerning reader.

Lynne Rapson

I recommend Lovereading because you get honest reviews on a whole range of genres-there's something for everyone. It's the only site I need.

Sian Spinney

I read new, exciting writers and established authors before publication and there is a great website full of brilliant books and opinions.

Lynda

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools