books of the month join us on facebook
Search our site
Are You Sleeping by Kathleen Barber Read the opening extract of the brand new Kathleen Barber book before its publication on 27/12/2017

The Great Christmas Knit off by Alexandra Brown
  

Lovereading view...

The perfect escape for a few hours, this charming book has a heart of romance and the soul of Christmas. The village of Tindledale has a welcoming warmth even though it is covered in snow, consequently Tindledale feels a little like heaven to Sybs who needs to escape London for a few days. With a cast of wonderfully diverse characters and an intriguing 83 year old in need of a helping hand, it is easy to lose yourself in the Christmas spirit and knitting patterns. This inviting yarn makes you feel warm and cosy but has enough of a bite to keep it interesting, all in all a lovely comfortable Christmassy read. ~ Liz Robinson

If you like Alexandra Brown you might also like to read books by Ali Harris, Ali McNamara and Jenny Colgan.

Synopsis

The Great Christmas Knit off by Alexandra Brown

The perfect seasonal tale of how laughter, friends and wacky Christmas jumpers can mend a broken heart. For fans of Trisha Ashley and Jenny Colgan. Heartbroken after being jilted at the altar, Sybil has been saved from despair by her knitting obsession and now her home is filled to bursting with tea cosies, bobble hats, and jumpers. But, after discovering that she may have perpetrated the cock-up of the century at work, Sybil decides to make a hasty exit and, just weeks before Christmas, runs away to the picturesque village of Tindledale. There, Sybil discovers Hettie's House of Haberdashery, an emporium dedicated to the world of knitting and needle craft. But Hettie, the outspoken octogenarian owner, is struggling and now the shop is due for closure. And when Hettie decides that Sybil's wonderfully wacky Christmas jumpers are just the thing to add a bit of excitement to her window display, something miraculous starts to happen...

Reviews

Praise for Alexandra Brown:

'Adorable, comical and magical, this is a festive delight.'
-Closer

'We love it!'
-Now

'Defies the chick lit cliche'
-Heat

'I loved Cupcakes At Carrington's, a warm, witty, loveable read with plenty of sparkle and charm'
-Rowan Coleman

'A sparkling debut...funny, romantic and utterly charming. Devour in one sitting like a delicious, indulgent cupcake then go back and start again'
-Sasha Wagstaff

'From the moment I read the first page of Alexandra's book, I knew I was being allowed to see something special. I believe that Alexandra has created a very real and likeable cast of characters that will appeal to a wide audience. Her writing style is crisp and funny and compels you to keep turning the page'
-Chrissie Manby

'Cupcakes at Carrington's is deliciously delightful from start to finish, sprinkled with magic and full of heart'
-Miranda Dickinson

About the Author

Alexandra Brown

Alexandra Brown grew up in Brighton and left school at sixteen to run away to London with dreams of being a writer. On realising that she needed a proper job too, she went to work in an office. Throughout her twenty year corporate career, she survived many dull meetings by writing a scene or two, until she could bear it no longer and collapsed in a heap and begged her husband to support her while she lounged on a chaise and waited for the muse to arrive. He's now living in hope that she'll become rich and famous so he can retire to sun himself by an infinity pool somewhere exotic. After escaping office life, Alexandra won a competition run by The London Paper to write the weekly City Girl column, an expose of working life in the City of London. She wrote the column for two years before giving it up to concentrate on her first novel. Alexandra lives in a rural village near Brighton with her husband, daughter and two very shiny black Labradors.

Author photo © Krysphotos.co.uk

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

20th October 2014

Author

Alexandra Brown

More books by Alexandra Brown
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.alexandrabrown.co.uk/

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

HarperCollins Publishers Ltd an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers

Format

Paperback
400 pages

Categories

Relationship Stories
eBook Favourites
eBook Favourites

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

ISBN

9780007597369

Lovereading has given me the opportunity to delve into new and exciting worlds of authors who I would never have tried before.

Glynis Elliott

With literary excellence, humour and drama, Lovereading's got value and is a real stress-calmer!

Siobhan McDowell

They are bright, breezy and eager to offer a great book, then genuinely listen/respect the review one writes.

Maggie Crane

Love books. Love reading. Love reading books. And, here's the trick. Here's a website which caters for people like me.

Ian Harvey-brown

It's a lively, independent website with reviews, recommendations and more - with a huge range of books available to buy in all formats.

Alison Layland

Lovereading always comes up with great suggestions and has introduced me to enjoyable books and new authors to discover.

Gaynor Passmore

Lovereading is pitched at just the right level for all the various types of people who enjoy reading in its many forms.

Pam Woodburn

I love reading because my cares & woes vanish for an hour or two whilst I read of the joys, adventures, lives of the characters in the book.

Jennifer Moville

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools