newgen books for YA readers twitter desmond elliott 2017
Search our site
The Stolen Bicycle by Ming-Yi Wu Read the opening extract of the brand new Ming-Yi Wu book before its publication on 26/10/2017

The Edge of Dark by Pamela Hartshorne
  

The Edge of Dark

Horror - Fantasy - SF   eBook Favourites   eBook Favourites   

RRP £20.00

Notify me
when in stock

As soon as this book is back in stock we will send you an email.

Sarah Broadhurst's view...

An enthralling dual-time novel with a large country house finally giving up its secrets. In the present day it is to become an events centre. In its past, back in the 1570s, it housed a sad and wretched girl who still haunts the building. So past and present mix and a present day séance throws up some interesting facts. We, the reader, are privy to a lot but once the story starts to seriously jump between the periods and present day characters mirror the past, it all gets very spooky. A clever, dark tale.

If you like Pamela Hartshorne you might also like to read books by Susanna Kearsley, Kate Mosse and Barbara Erskine.

Who is Sarah Broadhurst

Synopsis

The Edge of Dark by Pamela Hartshorne

Jane believes in keeping her promises, but a deathbed vow sets her on a twisting path of deceit and joy that takes her from the dark secrets of Holmwood House in York to the sign of the golden lily in London's Mincing Lane. Getting what you want, Jane discovers, comes at a price. For the child that she longed for, the child she promised to love and to keep safe, turns out to be a darker spirit than she could ever have imagined. Over four centuries later, Roz Acclam remembers nothing of the fire that killed her family - or of the brother who set it. Trying on a beautiful Elizabethan necklace found in the newly restored Holmwood House triggers disturbing memories of the past at last - but the past Roz remembers is not her own ...A dark and twisted tale from Pamela Harshorne, author of The Memory of Midnight and Time's Echo, and a perfect read for fans of Kate Mosse and Barbara Erskine.

About the Author

After an earlier career spent working and travelling around the world, including stints as cook on an outback cattle station, interpreter on expedition in Cameroon and English teacher in Jakarta, Pamela Hartshorne stumbled into writing as a way of funding a PhD in Medieval Studies. Settling at last in York, for several years she combined academic research with a successful career as a romance writer. Her thesis on the streets of later medieval and early modern York was finally completed in 2004 and she continues to work (very slowly) on a scholarly edition of the wardmote court records that formed the basis of her research. The Memory of Midnight is her second novel based on her study of Elizabethan York and written under her real name.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

20th November 2014

Author

Pamela Hartshorne

More books by Pamela Hartshorne
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.pamelahartshorne.com

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Macmillan an imprint of Pan Macmillan

Format

Hardback
400 pages
Interest Age: From

Categories

Horror - Fantasy - SF
eBook Favourites
eBook Favourites

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

ISBN

9781447278535

Its jam packed with fantastic titles, informative descriptions & fantastic reviews and has a vast array of great features & competitions.

Linda Rollins

Lovereading are lovely people who send me lovely books. What's not to love?

Gavin Dimmock

It's information about new books so, for a book lover like me, what's not to like!

Joan Hill

A well laid out site, I love the fact that is separates paranormal fiction from fantasy and horror, which other sites don't.

Jen Rainbow

For me, to read is to learn, to reflect, to escape, to think, to contemplate and my time for space and calm.

Sally Ellsmore

It has enriched my leisure time by introducing me to a world of books which I would not have previously considered.

Val Rowe

I love the honest opinions, recommendations for every genre and every reader, wish lists and Like for Like.

Amrita Dasgupta

The selections are so varied and the reader reviews are so helpful. A fantastic website for those who love books.

Ann Quintilla

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools