The Secret Lives of People in Love Includes the Award-Winning Collection Love Begins in Winter

by Simon Van Booy

Modern and Classic Literary Fiction

LoveReading View on The Secret Lives of People in Love Includes the Award-Winning Collection Love Begins in Winter

Everyone has the ability to make words… how Van Booy is able to arrange them so simply into such excruciatingly exquisite stories is quite simply breathtaking. The stories draw you in, whether you are reading about a man, a woman, someone from another country, of a different age, or someone from a completely contrasting walk of life to your own; you are able to feel them, emote with them, almost even become them. Van Booy gathers words together into short taut sentences and sets them free to strike at your heart and soul. This collection of stories about love and emotion in all its wildly different forms is a must read, this is a book to fall deeply in love with and treasure for the rest of your days. ~ Liz Robinson

Liz Robinson

The Secret Lives of People in Love Includes the Award-Winning Collection Love Begins in Winter Synopsis

Since the publication of his critically acclaimed debut collection The Secret Lives of People in Love, Simon Van Booy has been hailed as one of the most exciting and talented short-story writers in Anglo-American fiction. This magnificent collection brings together twenty-four stories by a writer of unparalleled lyricism, generosity and emotional power. Set in a range of locations, from Cornwall, Wales, and New York to Paris and Rome, these stark and beautiful stories are a perfect synthesis of intensity and atmosphere. Love, loss, isolation and the power of memory are Van Booy's themes, and in spare, economical prose he writes about the difficult choices we make in order to retain our humanity, and about the redemptive power of love in a violent world.

Win Theatre Tickets for The Importance of Being Earnest

Win Theatre Tickets for The Importance of Being Earnest

Closing date: 04/07/2018

Oscar Wilde’s The Importance of Being Earnest, makes a welcome return to society in this wonderfully witty, deliciously decadent and classic revival and is now playing at the Vaudeville Theatre and we are giving away a pair of tickets to one lucky winner! 'A Trivial Comedy for Serious People', Oscar Wide's masterpiece throws love, logic and language into the air to make one of theatre’s most dazzling firework displays. First performed in 1895, will be played at the Vaudeville Theatre, London from the 20th July up until October 2018.  To have a chance of winning this fantastic prize, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. The draw closes on 4 July 2018. The winner will be notified by 13 July 2018,  Good luck!

Enter Now

The Secret Lives of People in Love Includes the Award-Winning Collection Love Begins in Winter Press Reviews

'Its combination of staccato sentences and tidy symbolism transforms the finest passages into little haikus of prose.'
Daily Telegraph

'Incurable romantics will savour Simon Van Booy's tender, Maupassant-like fables.'
New York Times

'His stories are full of the most exquisite insights.'
Patrick Cotter, Director of the Frank O'Connor Award


'Breathtaking...chillingly beautiful, like postcards from Eden... Van Booy's stories are somehow like paintings the characters walk out of, and keep walking.'
Los Angeles Times

'Van Booy is a master of the atmospheric scene written in lyrical prose.'
The Short Review

'A first-rate storyteller'

'He shows an uncanny ability to create intense moods and emotions within the space of a few poetic paragraphs.'

'Each of these stories has moments of sheer loveliness.'

Publishers Weekly'

If you loved this, you might like these...

The Lost Letters of William Woolf
The Possible World
The Wives
Territorial Rights

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781780745596
Publication date: 02/10/2014
Publisher: Oneworld Publications
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781780745596
Publication date: 2nd October 2014
Author: Simon Van Booy
Publisher: Oneworld Publications
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 368 pages
Genres: Literary Fiction, Shorter Reads,
Categories: Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945), Short stories,

About Simon Van Booy

Simon Van Booy was born in London and grew up in rural Wales and the suburbs of London. He is the author of three novels and two collections of short stories, including The Illusion of Separateness, The Secret Lives of People in Love, and Love Begins in Winter, which won the Frank O'Connor International Short Story Award in 2009. He lives in Brooklyn with his wife and daughter.   Author photo © Ken Browar

More About Simon Van Booy

More Books By Simon Van Booy

Cover for Everything Beautiful Began After by Simon Van Booy
View All Books By Simon Van Booy

Share this book