twitter newgen books for YA readers
Search our site
White Bodies by Jane Robins Read the opening extract of the brand new Jane Robins book before its publication on 03/05/2018

Son of a Gun by Justin St. Germain
  

Lovereading view...

In the tradition of Tobias Wolff, James Ellroy and Mary Karr, a stunning memoir of a mother-son relationship that is also the searing, unflinching account of a murder and its aftermath.

Synopsis

Son of a Gun by Justin St. Germain

In Tombstone, Arizona, September 2001, Debbie St. Germain is found dead in her trailer, apparently murdered by her fifth husband. For her twenty-year-old son, Justin, the tragedy marks the line that separates his world into before and after. Long after his mother's death is solved, Justin still sleeps with a loaded rifle under his bed. Ultimately, he sets out into the desert landscape of his childhood in an attempt to make sense of the unfathomable. Justin's journey takes him back to the ghost town of Wyatt Earp and the Gunfight at the O.K. Corral, to the trailers he and Debbie shared, to the string of stepfathers who were a constant presence in his life. He confronts people from his past and delves into the police records in an attempt to make sense of his mother's life and death. All the while he tries to be the type of man she would have wanted him to be. Brutally honest and beautifully written, Son of a Gun is a brave, unexpected and unforgettable memoir.

Reviews

'Justin St. Germain's spectacular memoir... amplified from a tale of personal loss and grief into a parable for our time and nation... Violence is America's fetish and it's St. Germain's bete noire... If the brilliance of Son of a Gun lies in its restraint, its importance lies in the generosity of the author's insights.'

-Alexandra Fuller, New York Times

'An easy, quick read...but only because it's impossible to put down... Son of a Gun is a raw, compelling read that stays with you beyond the last page.'

-GQ

'Intelligent and compassionate at every step, Justin St. Germain stares down his troubled Tombstone boyhood, from shooting capguns in the shadow of the OK Corral to piecing together his murdered mother's final moments. A searing story bravely told.'

-Claire Vaye Watkins, author of 'Battleborn'

About the Author

Justin St. Germain was born in Philadelphia in 1981. He attended the University of Arizona and was a Wallace Stegner Fellow at Stanford. He lives in Albuquerque and teaches at the University of New Mexico. Visit his website www.JustinStGermain.com

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

2nd October 2014

Author

Justin St. Germain

More books by Justin St. Germain
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Publisher

Atlantic Books

Format

Paperback
256 pages

Categories

Biography / Autobiography
eBook Favourites

Memoirs

ISBN

9781782390664

It is a website dedicated to those who adore reading It really is a one stop shop for book lovers. Love it!

Edel Waugh

For me, to read is to learn, to reflect, to escape, to think, to contemplate and my time for space and calm.

Sally Ellsmore

Books of the month/debuts of the month, kids/adults, fiction/non-fiction, free prize draws and free extracts, what's not to love?

Emma Smith

It has opened my eyes to different authors and genres. Just log on and try, you will be surprised and not want for reading material again.

Jocelyn Garvey

As for why I'd recommend Lovereading, it's simple - it's a great place to get information and reviews about new books!

Margaret Freeman

It gives a chance to read about new titles, invites comments from all kinds of readers and is run by such a nice bunch of book lovers.

Joy Bosworth

Lovereading is pitched at just the right level for all the various types of people who enjoy reading in its many forms.

Pam Woodburn

Lovereading recommends, honestly reviews and promotes books-what more can I say?!

Rachel Bridgeman

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools