twitter desmond elliott 2017 debuts of the month
Search our site
The Stolen Bicycle by Ming-Yi Wu Read the opening extract of the brand new Ming-Yi Wu book before its publication on 26/10/2017

Son of a Gun by Justin St. Germain
  

Son of a Gun

Biography / Autobiography   eBook Favourites   eBook Favourites   

RRP £8.99

Lovereading view...

In the tradition of Tobias Wolff, James Ellroy and Mary Karr, a stunning memoir of a mother-son relationship that is also the searing, unflinching account of a murder and its aftermath.

Win a SIGNED FIRST EDITION of How to be Champion!

Get into the Spirit of Christmas with our special SIGNED FIRST EDITIONS competition! We are giving away THREE first edition hardback copies of Sarah Millican's fabulously funny autobiography How to be Champion, each signed by the author!

To have a chance of winning one of these fantastic prizes, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once.

The draw closes on 4 December 2017. The winners will be notified by 11th December 2017.

Good luck!

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 04/12/2017

Synopsis

Son of a Gun by Justin St. Germain

In Tombstone, Arizona, September 2001, Debbie St. Germain is found dead in her trailer, apparently murdered by her fifth husband. For her twenty-year-old son, Justin, the tragedy marks the line that separates his world into before and after. Long after his mother's death is solved, Justin still sleeps with a loaded rifle under his bed. Ultimately, he sets out into the desert landscape of his childhood in an attempt to make sense of the unfathomable. Justin's journey takes him back to the ghost town of Wyatt Earp and the Gunfight at the O.K. Corral, to the trailers he and Debbie shared, to the string of stepfathers who were a constant presence in his life. He confronts people from his past and delves into the police records in an attempt to make sense of his mother's life and death. All the while he tries to be the type of man she would have wanted him to be. Brutally honest and beautifully written, Son of a Gun is a brave, unexpected and unforgettable memoir.

Reviews

'Justin St. Germain's spectacular memoir... amplified from a tale of personal loss and grief into a parable for our time and nation... Violence is America's fetish and it's St. Germain's bete noire... If the brilliance of Son of a Gun lies in its restraint, its importance lies in the generosity of the author's insights.'

-Alexandra Fuller, New York Times

'An easy, quick read...but only because it's impossible to put down... Son of a Gun is a raw, compelling read that stays with you beyond the last page.'

-GQ

'Intelligent and compassionate at every step, Justin St. Germain stares down his troubled Tombstone boyhood, from shooting capguns in the shadow of the OK Corral to piecing together his murdered mother's final moments. A searing story bravely told.'

-Claire Vaye Watkins, author of 'Battleborn'

About the Author

Justin St. Germain was born in Philadelphia in 1981. He attended the University of Arizona and was a Wallace Stegner Fellow at Stanford. He lives in Albuquerque and teaches at the University of New Mexico. Visit his website www.JustinStGermain.com

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

2nd October 2014

Author

Justin St. Germain

More books by Justin St. Germain
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Publisher

Atlantic Books

Format

Paperback
256 pages

Categories

Biography / Autobiography
eBook Favourites
eBook Favourites

Memoirs

ISBN

9781782390664

Lovereading has all the new books and also suggestions for 'similar' authors whilst waiting for your favourites new books.

Carol Peace

Lovereading is a world of books. It has everything you need from new to old and much loved classic books. It even give you recommendations!

Kate Thurston

Lovereading - a community of people passionate about reading and sharing their views. An incomparable website for book lovers.

Helen Clark

The best new books on the market, reviewed honestly, to give your readers the best choices.

Julie Cook

I love the 'like for like' author recommendations, it's like an old friend whispering in your ear.

Emma Caddick

Why I love @lovereadinguk? It's in the name - as dedicated lovers of reading, they are perfect matchmakers for helping me find my next read!

Catherine Jenkins

Lovereading helps me decide what real people read.

Kerry Bridges

At Lovereading there are fabulous books available in every genre, with great reviews to help you pick the right book for you.

Teresa O'Halloran

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools