desmond elliott 2017 likeyoulove
Search our site
The Stolen Bicycle by Ming-Yi Wu Read the opening extract of the brand new Ming-Yi Wu book before its publication on 26/10/2017

Mothers of the Disappeared: a J. McNee Mystery Set in Scotland by Russel D. McLean
  

Mothers of the Disappeared: a J. McNee Mystery Set in Scotland

Part of the A J. Mcnee Mystery Series
Thriller / Suspense   Crime / Mystery   Maxim Jakubowski's Selection   

RRP £19.99

Notify me
when in stock

As soon as this book is back in stock we will send you an email.

Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Crime/Mystery/Thriller Facebook group Share this book

Maxim Jakubowski's view...

A Maxim Jakubowski selected title.

The Dundee-based A.J. McNee series reaches its fourth volume. McNee is a former cop and disgraced private investigator whose life has been marked by a distinct streak of bad luck but has never discarded his integrity along the way. Pressured by a local crime boss and an offer to work undercover for the drugs squad, McNee is also investigating a boy's murder on behalf of his mother who is unsure whether the man imprisoned for it is guilty or innocent. McLean orchestrates the diverse strands of his plot ingeniously, balancing all the ingredients with care, realism and empathy and proves a clever storyteller with a definite dark touch, which somehow feels a natural fit for its Dundee environment.

Who is Maxim Jakubowski

Win a signed copy of stunning debut Blue Light Yokohama

We have 10 signed copies (using signed book plates) of Blue Light Yokohama, a stunning debut novel. It is a beautifully plotted police procedural set in Japan by Nicolas Obregon, a new British author. Evocative and serpentine, this marks the debut of a fresh new voice and a remarkable maverick detective with a difference.

To have a chance of winning this fantastic prize, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once.

The draw closes on 6 November 2017. The winners will be notified by 12th November 2017.

Good luck!

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 06/11/2017

Synopsis

Mothers of the Disappeared: a J. McNee Mystery Set in Scotland by Russel D. McLean

Dundee-based private investigator J. McNee finds his past is about to catch up with him in this intriguing mystery.

Suspended from the Association of British Investigators and facing an enquiry into his alleged misconduct over four years previously, J McNee’s career hangs in the balance. The last thing he needs is new business. But when the mother of a murdered child asks him to re-open a case he helped close during his time in the police, McNee can’t refuse. Is the wrong man serving a life sentence for a series of brutal murders? And, if so, why did he admit his guilt before the court? As McNee searches for answers, he finds himself forced to make a terrifying moral choice: one that will change his life forever.

An intriguing murder mystery involving many unexpected twists and turns, Mothers of the Disappeared blends the grit of classic American hardboiled fiction with a distinctly Scottish voice and attitude.

Reviews

Praise for Russel D. McLean:

“For readers who like Brian McGilloway and Michael Koryta, two authors who introduced fresh voices and individual takes on crime” Library Journal Starred Review of The Lost Sister

“Delightfully overwrought, world-weary-tough-guy narrative that’s more Mickey Spillane than Raymond Chandler” Booklist on The Lost Sister

“Will appeal to fans of Ian Rankin and Stuart MacBride as well as readers of Jim Kelly” Library Journal Starred Review of The Good Son

“The Dundee locale and mordant Scots wit … make this a promising debut” Booklist on The Good Son

About the Author

Russel D. McLean

Born in Fife, Russel D. McLean studied Philosophy at the University of Dundee before falling into bad company and entering the booktrade. He has been a reviewer, a freelance reader, a bookseller and an ezine editor. He now lives in Glasgow.

Author photo © Ross Fraser McLean

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

30th April 2014

Author

Russel D. McLean

More books by Russel D. McLean
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.russeldmcleanbooks.com/

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Severn House Publishers Ltd

Format

Hardback
208 pages

Categories

Thriller / Suspense
Crime / Mystery
Maxim Jakubowski's Selection

Crime & mystery

ISBN

9780727884107

I love Lovereading for the wonderful like for like author recommendations and for highlighting new books, it's a great resource for readers!

Lindsay

My favourite thing about is the 'like for like' page this has really introduced me to some good reads! That and lots of honest reviews.

Sam Lewis

I love reading because my cares & woes vanish for an hour or two whilst I read of the joys, adventures, lives of the characters in the book.

Jennifer Moville

If you love reading, then you'll love Lovereading! Full of tips & info for every discerning reader.

Lynne Rapson

They are bright, breezy and eager to offer a great book, then genuinely listen/respect the review one writes.

Maggie Crane

Lovereading helps me decide what real people read.

Kerry Bridges

At Lovereading there are fabulous books available in every genre, with great reviews to help you pick the right book for you.

Teresa O'Halloran

For me, to read is to learn, to reflect, to escape, to think, to contemplate and my time for space and calm.

Sally Ellsmore

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools