LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Mothers of the Disappeared: a J. McNee Mystery Set in Scotland

by Russel D. McLean

Crime / Mystery Thriller and Suspense

LoveReading View on Mothers of the Disappeared: a J. McNee Mystery Set in Scotland

A Maxim Jakubowski selected title.

The Dundee-based A.J. McNee series reaches its fourth volume. McNee is a former cop and disgraced private investigator whose life has been marked by a distinct streak of bad luck but has never discarded his integrity along the way. Pressured by a local crime boss and an offer to work undercover for the drugs squad, McNee is also investigating a boy's murder on behalf of his mother who is unsure whether the man  imprisoned for it is guilty or innocent. McLean orchestrates the diverse strands of his plot ingeniously, balancing all the ingredients with care, realism and empathy and proves a clever storyteller with a definite dark touch, which somehow feels a natural fit for its Dundee environment.

Maxim Jakubowski

Mothers of the Disappeared: a J. McNee Mystery Set in Scotland Synopsis

Dundee-based private investigator J. McNee finds his past is about to catch up with him in this intriguing mystery.

Suspended from the Association of British Investigators and facing an enquiry into his alleged misconduct over four years previously, J McNee’s career hangs in the balance. The last thing he needs is new business. But when the mother of a murdered child asks him to re-open a case he helped close during his time in the police, McNee can’t refuse. Is the wrong man serving a life sentence for a series of brutal murders? And, if so, why did he admit his guilt before the court? As McNee searches for answers, he finds himself forced to make a terrifying moral choice: one that will change his life forever.

An intriguing murder mystery involving many unexpected twists and turns, Mothers of the Disappeared blends the grit of classic American hardboiled fiction with a distinctly Scottish voice and attitude.

Win the Cyrus Haven Series So Far!

Win the Cyrus Haven Series So Far!

Closing date: 06/09/2020

"When She Was Good comes out swinging after the fabulous first book in the series, and I can highly recommend it (just make sure you read Good Girl, Bad Girl first)." Liz Robinson, Expert Reviewer To celebrate the paperback release of Good Girl, Bad Girl, and Michael Robotham's latest title When She Was Gone, we have 3 sets of the book to give away! This draw is open only for UK residents currently in the UK and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. The draw closes on 6th September 2020. The winners will be notified as soon as possible.

Enter Now

Mothers of the Disappeared: a J. McNee Mystery Set in Scotland Press Reviews

Praise for Russel D. McLean:

 

“For readers who like Brian McGilloway and Michael Koryta, two authors who introduced fresh voices and individual takes on crime” Library Journal Starred Review of The Lost Sister

 

“Delightfully overwrought, world-weary-tough-guy narrative that’s more Mickey Spillane than Raymond Chandler” Booklist on The Lost Sister

 

“Will appeal to fans of Ian Rankin and Stuart MacBride as well as readers of Jim Kelly” Library Journal Starred Review of The Good Son

 

“The Dundee locale and mordant Scots wit … make this a promising debut” Booklist on The Good Son

If you loved this, you might like these...

Clean Hands
Good Girl, Bad Girl
The Institute
Near Dark

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9780727884107
Publication date: 30/04/2014
Publisher: Severn House Publishers Ltd
Format: Hardback

Book Information

ISBN: 9780727884107
Publication date: 30th April 2014
Author: Russel D. McLean
Publisher: Severn House Publishers Ltd
Format: Hardback
Genres: Crime / Mystery, Thriller / Suspense,
Categories:

About Russel D. McLean

Born in Fife, Russel D. McLean studied Philosophy at the University of Dundee before falling into bad company and entering the booktrade. He has been a reviewer, a freelance reader, a bookseller and an ezine editor. He now lives in Glasgow.   Author photo © Ross Fraser McLean

More About Russel D. McLean

More Books By Russel D. McLean

Cover for And When I Die by Russel D. McLean
Cover for Ed's Dead by Russel D. McLean
Cover for Cry Uncle  by Russel D. McLean
View All Books By Russel D. McLean

Share this book