books of the month likeyoulove
Search our site
White Bodies by Jane Robins Read the opening extract of the brand new Jane Robins book before its publication on 03/05/2018

Mothers of the Disappeared: a J. McNee Mystery Set in Scotland by Russel D. McLean
  

Mothers of the Disappeared: a J. McNee Mystery Set in Scotland

Thriller / Suspense   Crime / Mystery   
Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Crime/Mystery/Thriller Facebook group Share this book

Maxim Jakubowski's view...

A Maxim Jakubowski selected title.

The Dundee-based A.J. McNee series reaches its fourth volume. McNee is a former cop and disgraced private investigator whose life has been marked by a distinct streak of bad luck but has never discarded his integrity along the way. Pressured by a local crime boss and an offer to work undercover for the drugs squad, McNee is also investigating a boy's murder on behalf of his mother who is unsure whether the man imprisoned for it is guilty or innocent. McLean orchestrates the diverse strands of his plot ingeniously, balancing all the ingredients with care, realism and empathy and proves a clever storyteller with a definite dark touch, which somehow feels a natural fit for its Dundee environment.

Who is Maxim Jakubowski

Win Books from the Manon Bradshaw Thriller Series!

Persons Unknown, the second book in Susie Steiner's crime thriller series, is now out in paperback and to mark the publication we are giving away paperback copies of both Missing, Presumed and Persons Unknown to THREE lucky winners!

To have a chance of winning one of these fantastic prizes, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once.

The draw closes on 30 April 2018. The winners will be notified by 14 May 2018,

Good luck!

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 30/04/2018

Synopsis

Mothers of the Disappeared: a J. McNee Mystery Set in Scotland by Russel D. McLean

Dundee-based private investigator J. McNee finds his past is about to catch up with him in this intriguing mystery.

Suspended from the Association of British Investigators and facing an enquiry into his alleged misconduct over four years previously, J McNee’s career hangs in the balance. The last thing he needs is new business. But when the mother of a murdered child asks him to re-open a case he helped close during his time in the police, McNee can’t refuse. Is the wrong man serving a life sentence for a series of brutal murders? And, if so, why did he admit his guilt before the court? As McNee searches for answers, he finds himself forced to make a terrifying moral choice: one that will change his life forever.

An intriguing murder mystery involving many unexpected twists and turns, Mothers of the Disappeared blends the grit of classic American hardboiled fiction with a distinctly Scottish voice and attitude.

Reviews

Praise for Russel D. McLean:

“For readers who like Brian McGilloway and Michael Koryta, two authors who introduced fresh voices and individual takes on crime” Library Journal Starred Review of The Lost Sister

“Delightfully overwrought, world-weary-tough-guy narrative that’s more Mickey Spillane than Raymond Chandler” Booklist on The Lost Sister

“Will appeal to fans of Ian Rankin and Stuart MacBride as well as readers of Jim Kelly” Library Journal Starred Review of The Good Son

“The Dundee locale and mordant Scots wit … make this a promising debut” Booklist on The Good Son

About the Author

Russel D. McLean

Born in Fife, Russel D. McLean studied Philosophy at the University of Dundee before falling into bad company and entering the booktrade. He has been a reviewer, a freelance reader, a bookseller and an ezine editor. He now lives in Glasgow.

Author photo © Ross Fraser McLean

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

30th April 2014

Author

Russel D. McLean

More books by Russel D. McLean
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.russeldmcleanbooks.com/

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Severn House Publishers Ltd

Format

Hardback

Categories

Thriller / Suspense
Crime / Mystery


ISBN

9780727884107

Lovereading helps me decide what real people read.

Kerry Bridges

I recommend Lovereading because you get honest reviews on a whole range of genres-there's something for everyone. It's the only site I need.

Sian Spinney

I love reading because my cares & woes vanish for an hour or two whilst I read of the joys, adventures, lives of the characters in the book.

Jennifer Moville

I 'Lovereading' because it lets me see what new books are around with a detailed synopsis and readers' reviews.

Judith Sharp

It has opened my eyes to different authors and genres. Just log on and try, you will be surprised and not want for reading material again.

Jocelyn Garvey

It's information about new books so, for a book lover like me, what's not to like!

Joan Hill

I love reading books I wouldn't normally choose before everyone else gets to read them!

Dawn Lynch

I love Lovereading because I get to read great books and then get to tell everybody how good they are.

Sally Doel

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools