ERROR: SQLSTATE[HY000]: General error: 2014 Cannot execute queries while other unbuffered queries are active. Consider using PDOStatement::fetchAll(). Alternatively, if your code is only ever going to run against mysql, you may enable query buffering by setting the PDO::MYSQL_ATTR_USE_BUFFERED_QUERY attribute. QUERY: SELECT ID, post_author, post_date, post_content, post_title, post_name, post_feature_image, comment_status, comment_count, email_title, email_intro FROM lr_blog_posts p LEFT JOIN lr_blog_posts_categories c ON p.ID=c.object_id WHERE term_taxonomy_id=? AND post_date <= ? AND post_status=? GROUP BY c.object_id ORDER BY post_date DESC LIMIT 14
( ! ) Warning: Invalid argument supplied for foreach() in /home/sites/www.lovereading.co.uk/www/core21/modules/blog/blog_functions.php on line 129
Call Stack
#TimeMemoryFunctionLocation
10.0001367968{main}( ).../index.php:0
20.0005381464require_once( '/home/sites/www.lovereading.co.uk/www/core21/load.php' ).../index.php:13
30.06155197400Menu->__construct( ).../load.php:35
40.06155197400Menu->build_menu_items( ).../menu.class.php:7
50.07185338072get_blog_posts_basic( ).../menu.class.php:43
ERROR: SQLSTATE[HY000]: General error: 2014 Cannot execute queries while other unbuffered queries are active. Consider using PDOStatement::fetchAll(). Alternatively, if your code is only ever going to run against mysql, you may enable query buffering by setting the PDO::MYSQL_ATTR_USE_BUFFERED_QUERY attribute. QUERY: SELECT ID, post_author, post_date, post_content, post_title, post_name, post_feature_image, comment_status, comment_count, email_title, email_intro FROM lr_blog_posts p LEFT JOIN lr_blog_posts_categories c ON p.ID=c.object_id WHERE term_taxonomy_id=? AND post_date <= ? AND post_status=? GROUP BY c.object_id ORDER BY post_date DESC LIMIT 14
( ! ) Warning: Invalid argument supplied for foreach() in /home/sites/www.lovereading.co.uk/www/core21/modules/blog/blog_functions.php on line 129
Call Stack
#TimeMemoryFunctionLocation
10.0001367968{main}( ).../index.php:0
20.0005381464require_once( '/home/sites/www.lovereading.co.uk/www/core21/load.php' ).../index.php:13
30.06155197400Menu->__construct( ).../load.php:35
40.06155197400Menu->build_menu_items( ).../menu.class.php:7
50.09555468520get_blog_posts_basic( ).../menu.class.php:43
Mothers of the Disappeared: a J. McNee Mystery Set in Scotland by Russel D. McLean (9780727884107/Hardback) | LoveReading
LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Mothers of the Disappeared: a J. McNee Mystery Set in Scotland

by Russel D. McLean

Thriller and Suspense Crime and Mystery

LoveReading Expert Review of Mothers of the Disappeared: a J. McNee Mystery Set in Scotland

A Maxim Jakubowski selected title.

The Dundee-based A.J. McNee series reaches its fourth volume. McNee is a former cop and disgraced private investigator whose life has been marked by a distinct streak of bad luck but has never discarded his integrity along the way. Pressured by a local crime boss and an offer to work undercover for the drugs squad, McNee is also investigating a boy's murder on behalf of his mother who is unsure whether the man  imprisoned for it is guilty or innocent. McLean orchestrates the diverse strands of his plot ingeniously, balancing all the ingredients with care, realism and empathy and proves a clever storyteller with a definite dark touch, which somehow feels a natural fit for its Dundee environment.

Maxim Jakubowski

Mothers of the Disappeared: a J. McNee Mystery Set in Scotland Synopsis

Dundee-based private investigator J. McNee finds his past is about to catch up with him in this intriguing mystery.

Suspended from the Association of British Investigators and facing an enquiry into his alleged misconduct over four years previously, J McNee’s career hangs in the balance. The last thing he needs is new business. But when the mother of a murdered child asks him to re-open a case he helped close during his time in the police, McNee can’t refuse. Is the wrong man serving a life sentence for a series of brutal murders? And, if so, why did he admit his guilt before the court? As McNee searches for answers, he finds himself forced to make a terrifying moral choice: one that will change his life forever.

An intriguing murder mystery involving many unexpected twists and turns, Mothers of the Disappeared blends the grit of classic American hardboiled fiction with a distinctly Scottish voice and attitude.

About This Edition

ISBN: 9780727884107
Publication date: 30th April 2014
Author: Russel D. McLean
Publisher: Severn House Publishers Ltd
Format: Hardback
Primary Genre Thriller and Suspense
Other Genres:
Win a Brilliant Orenda Book Bundle!

Win a Brilliant Orenda Book Bundle!

Closing date: 30/06/2021

We're teaming up once again with Orenda to offer another brilliant book giveaway! Not only is a bundle of Orenda Books up for grabs, we also have a £15 voucher for the winner to use on Orenda's new look website! This book bundle will include some of their latest releases from April to June. A fantastic opportunity to stock your bookshelves. The titles up for grabs are: The Source be Sarah Sultoon - Published 15th April Facets of Death by Michael Stanley - Published 29th April The Assistant by Kjell Ola Dahl - Published 13th May This is How We Are Human by Louise Beech - Published 10th June Everything Happens for a Reason by Katie Allen - Published 10th June One Last Time by Helga Flatland - Published 24th June This draw is open only for UK residents currently in the UK and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. The draw closes on 30th June 2021. Please ensure that the details you use to enter the competition will be correct at the time the competition ends. The winners will be notified as soon as possible.

Enter Now

Like For Like Featured Books

Out of Sight Out of Mind
The Calling
Monstrous Souls
The Other People
ERROR: SQLSTATE[HY000]: General error: 1114 The table 'QueryLogTemp' is full QUERY: INSERT INTO QueryLogTemp (QueryValues, ServerValues, QueryDate) VALUES (?, ?, NOW())

Russel D. McLean Press Reviews

Praise for Russel D. McLean:

 

“For readers who like Brian McGilloway and Michael Koryta, two authors who introduced fresh voices and individual takes on crime” Library Journal Starred Review of The Lost Sister

 

“Delightfully overwrought, world-weary-tough-guy narrative that’s more Mickey Spillane than Raymond Chandler” Booklist on The Lost Sister

 

“Will appeal to fans of Ian Rankin and Stuart MacBride as well as readers of Jim Kelly” Library Journal Starred Review of The Good Son

 

“The Dundee locale and mordant Scots wit … make this a promising debut” Booklist on The Good Son

Other editions of this book

ISBN: 9780727884107
Publication date: 30/04/2014
Format: Hardback

View All Editions

About Russel D. McLean

Born in Fife, Russel D. McLean studied Philosophy at the University of Dundee before falling into bad company and entering the booktrade. He has been a reviewer, a freelance reader, a bookseller and an ezine editor. He now lives in Glasgow.   Author photo © Ross Fraser McLean

More About Russel D. McLean
ERROR: SQLSTATE[HY000]: General error: 1114 The table 'QueryLogTemp' is full QUERY: INSERT INTO QueryLogTemp (QueryValues, ServerValues, QueryDate) VALUES (?, ?, NOW())

More Books By Russel D. McLean

Mothers of the Disappeared: a J. McNee Mystery Set in Scotland
Mothers of the Disappeared: a J. McNee Mystery Set in Scotland
Mothers of the Disappeared: a J. McNee Mystery Set in Scotland
View All Books By Russel D. McLean

Share this book