Bring Me Home

by Alan Titchmarsh

Books of the Month - <b>May</b> Books with reviews by our Reader Review Panel eBooks of the Month Family Drama Relationship Stories

LoveReading View on Bring Me Home

September 2014 Book of the Month.

A big, sprawling family saga revolving around a Scottish castle and estate.  We have births, deaths and marriages galore; tragedy, mysterious students and skulduggery.  The head of the household, the laird Charlie, is a sad man who tries to do right, plays his part with a heavy broken heart.  This is a typical Titchmarsh saga, full of incident and passion, drama and mystery but not all is resolved and, although beautifully written, he has better books, try The Haunting and Folly.

Sarah Broadhurst

Bring Me Home Synopsis

An involving family mystery set in the Scottish highlands, perfect for readers of Kate MortonIt seems a perfect afternoon in the Highlands. Standing at the door of the lochside castle that has been his family's home for generations, Charlie Stuart welcomes his guests to the annual summer drinks party. Conversation, laughter, and the clinking of glasses soon fill the air as friends and neighbors come together to toast the laird's happiness and prosperity. But Charlie sees the truth behind the facade: the sacrifices made to safeguard the estate; the devastating losses that have haunted him for decades; the guilt that lies at the heart of it all. And in a few hours, he knows, the perfect afternoon will come to an end. The past, with its dark secrets of love, death, loyalty, and betrayal, is about to catch up with him. And it could finally tear his family apart.

Bring Me Home Reader Reviews

In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title.

  • Clair Chaytors - 'Warm, rich in prose and with beautifully drawn believable characters I loved this book...Bring Me Home is very well written and I can’t recommend it highly enough.' Read full review >
  • Angie Rhodes - 'I personally think this is his best book so far...this is one to re- read, as the descriptions of Scotland are breathtaking.' Read full review >
  • Marjorie Lacy - 'A good book to have away on holiday with you. I will choose to read some other of Alan's books.' Read full review >
  • Carole Tuckett - 'Private and public are put together with a twist at the end, to make a most readable story.' Read full review >
  • Anne Rhodes - 'Charlie's love for Castle, countryside, family and friends all play their part when he finds an unusual way of keeping Castle Sodhail out of debt.' Read full review >
  • Jane Nicol - 'A light, summer read with some lovely descriptions of life in the Highlands of Scotland.' Read full review >
  • Karin Gibson - '...there are very good descriptions of the estate and I would describe this as a light holiday read. Would I recommend it – maybe not.'  Read full review >
  • Sue Burton - 'Short but well written book.' Read full review >
  • Victoria Emerson - 'I absolutely loved this book. Alan Titchmarshs' descriptions of the Scottish Highlands were so evocative it was like being there again.' Read full review >
  • Brigitte Colwell - 'A lovely read, set against the backdrop of the beautiful Scottish Highlands.  A good story line, with engaging characters, a curling up in front of the fire book.' Read full review >
  • Susan Walsh - 'A tale of love, friendship, jealousy & family fortune.I thoroughly enjoyed this book.Keeps you wanting more, as you find out the family secrets.10/10 loved it.' Read full review >
  • Cathy Burman - 'An eclectic mix of jealousy, romance, tragedy, espionage, dark secrets, love, hate and passion. A lovely, easy read with unexpected twists and turns.' Read full review >
  • Helen Jones - 'Although I was aware of Alan Titchmarsh as a broadcaster and gardener this is the first book of his that I have read and I was pleasantly surprised.' Read full review >
  • Nikki Clark - 'A likeable story I would describe as a sedate stroll through the Scottish Highlands. Unfortunately I was expecting a hike along hidden paths with a breathtaking view at the top.' Read full review >

If you loved this, you might like these...

The Last Secret of the Deverills
The Last Secret of the Deverills
Daughters of Castle Deverill
The Gypsy Madonna

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9780340936931
Publication date: 11/09/2014
Publisher: Hodder Paperback an imprint of Hodder & Stoughton General Division
Format: Paperback

ISBN: 9780340936917
Publication date: 13/03/2014
Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton Ltd an imprint of Hodder & Stoughton General Division
Format: Hardback

Book Information

ISBN: 9780340936931
Publication date: 11th September 2014
Author: Alan Titchmarsh
Publisher: Hodder Paperback an imprint of Hodder & Stoughton General Division
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 320 pages
Genres: Books of the Month, Reader Reviewed Books, eBook Favourites, Family Drama, Relationship Stories,
Categories: Romance,

About Alan Titchmarsh

Alan Titchmarsh is known to millions through the popular BBC TV programmes British Isles: A Natural History, How to be a Gardener, Ground Force and Gardeners' World. But he started out in far humbler beginnings, in a rural childhood on the edge of Ilkley Moor in Yorkshire.After a spell at Kew he became a horticultural journalist, as an Editor of gardening magazines, before becoming a freelance broadcaster and writer.He has twice been named 'Gardening Writer of the Year' and for four successive years was voted 'Television Personality of the Year' by the Garden Writers' Guild. In 2004 he received ...

More About Alan Titchmarsh

More Books By Alan Titchmarsh

Cover for Mr Gandy's Grand Tour by Alan Titchmarsh
Cover for Mr Gandy's Grand Tour by Alan Titchmarsh
Cover for The Queen's Houses by Alan Titchmarsh
View All Books By Alan Titchmarsh

Share this book