rebus 30th anniversary join us on facebook
Search our site
Are You Sleeping by Kathleen Barber Read the opening extract of the brand new Kathleen Barber book before its publication on 27/12/2017

Reader Reviewed
Bring Me Home by Alan Titchmarsh
  

Bring Me Home

Family Drama   Books of the Month   Relationship Stories   Romantic Fiction   eBook Favourites   
Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Relationship Tales Facebook group Share this book

Sarah Broadhurst's view...

September 2014 Book of the Month.

A big, sprawling family saga revolving around a Scottish castle and estate. We have births, deaths and marriages galore; tragedy, mysterious students and skulduggery. The head of the household, the laird Charlie, is a sad man who tries to do right, plays his part with a heavy broken heart. This is a typical Titchmarsh saga, full of incident and passion, drama and mystery but not all is resolved and, although beautifully written, he has better books, try The Haunting and Folly.

If you like Alan Titchmarsh you might also like to read books by Santa Montefiore, Julian Fellowes and Amanda Brookfield.

Who is Sarah Broadhurst

Reader Reviews

In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title.

  • Clair Chaytors - 'Warm, rich in prose and with beautifully drawn believable characters I loved this book...Bring Me Home is very well written and I can’t recommend it highly enough.' Read full review >
  • Angie Rhodes - 'I personally think this is his best book so far...this is one to re- read, as the descriptions of Scotland are breathtaking.' Read full review >
  • Marjorie Lacy - 'A good book to have away on holiday with you. I will choose to read some other of Alan's books.' Read full review >
  • Carole Tuckett - 'Private and public are put together with a twist at the end, to make a most readable story.' Read full review >
  • Anne Rhodes - 'Charlie's love for Castle, countryside, family and friends all play their part when he finds an unusual way of keeping Castle Sodhail out of debt.' Read full review >
  • Jane Nicol - 'A light, summer read with some lovely descriptions of life in the Highlands of Scotland.' Read full review >
  • Karin Gibson - '...there are very good descriptions of the estate and I would describe this as a light holiday read. Would I recommend it – maybe not.'  Read full review >
  • Sue Burton - 'Short but well written book.' Read full review >
  • Victoria Emerson - 'I absolutely loved this book. Alan Titchmarshs' descriptions of the Scottish Highlands were so evocative it was like being there again.' Read full review >
  • Brigitte Colwell - 'A lovely read, set against the backdrop of the beautiful Scottish Highlands.  A good story line, with engaging characters, a curling up in front of the fire book.' Read full review >
  • Susan Walsh - 'A tale of love, friendship, jealousy & family fortune.I thoroughly enjoyed this book.Keeps you wanting more, as you find out the family secrets.10/10 loved it.' Read full review >
  • Cathy Burman - 'An eclectic mix of jealousy, romance, tragedy, espionage, dark secrets, love, hate and passion. A lovely, easy read with unexpected twists and turns.' Read full review >
  • Helen Jones - 'Although I was aware of Alan Titchmarsh as a broadcaster and gardener this is the first book of his that I have read and I was pleasantly surprised.' Read full review >
  • Nikki Clark - 'A likeable story I would describe as a sedate stroll through the Scottish Highlands. Unfortunately I was expecting a hike along hidden paths with a breathtaking view at the top.' Read full review >

Win a Family Break to Salisbury!

Don’t miss out! Enter to win a family break to Salisbury!

Here at Lovereading.co.uk and Lovereading4kids.co.uk we have joined with VisitWiltshire. You could see yourself indulging in the finest food and slumbering comfortably into one of the grand rooms at The Red Lion Salisbury for two nights. The Red Lion Hotel is located in medieval city of Salisbury, which is home to all your favourite stores as well as independent shops, restaurants, cafes and parks and green spaces. Nearby is Stonehenge, Salisbury Plain and numerous sites of historic and archaeological interest.

There are many seasonal events in Salisbury, and you can find out what’s on here. You will also receive a family ticket to Sir Harold Hillier Gardens, the gardens are especially beautiful in the winter, with bold coloured stems, scents, and fabulous foliage, you can be sure to be impressed. For the children there is also a play park, and you can stop off in the Victorian tea room to warm up and treat yourself to a traditional cream tea.

To have a chance of winning this fantastic prize, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. Entries close 31st January 2018.

Good luck!

Terms and Conditions

Red Lion: Two night stay includes breakfast for two adults and up to two children sharing a family room. Subject to availability and cannot be exchanged or redeemed for cash value. Not to be used in combination with any other offer. Valid until 1st Dec 2018 and excludes bank holidays.

Sir Harold Hillier Gardens: Valid for day entry, Not to be used for special events or group entry. Voucher is not transferable or refundable, no Cash Value. Ticket must be redeemed on entry. Valid until 31 Dec 2018. Gardens open daily from 10am – closed Christmas Day and Boxing Day. Prize admits 2 adults and accompanying children Under 17 FREE to Sir Harold Hillier Gardens.

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 31/01/2018

Synopsis

Bring Me Home by Alan Titchmarsh

An involving family mystery set in the Scottish highlands, perfect for readers of Kate MortonIt seems a perfect afternoon in the Highlands. Standing at the door of the lochside castle that has been his family's home for generations, Charlie Stuart welcomes his guests to the annual summer drinks party. Conversation, laughter, and the clinking of glasses soon fill the air as friends and neighbors come together to toast the laird's happiness and prosperity. But Charlie sees the truth behind the facade: the sacrifices made to safeguard the estate; the devastating losses that have haunted him for decades; the guilt that lies at the heart of it all. And in a few hours, he knows, the perfect afternoon will come to an end. The past, with its dark secrets of love, death, loyalty, and betrayal, is about to catch up with him. And it could finally tear his family apart.

Reviews

The story brims with intrigue. * Daily Express, Praise for THE HAUNTING * A perfect love story. * Katie Fforde, Praise for THE HAUNTING *


About the Author

Alan Titchmarsh

Alan Titchmarsh is known to millions through the popular BBC TV programmes British Isles: A Natural History, How to be a Gardener, Ground Force and Gardeners' World. But he started out in far humbler beginnings, in a rural childhood on the edge of Ilkley Moor in Yorkshire.

After a spell at Kew he became a horticultural journalist, as an Editor of gardening magazines, before becoming a freelance broadcaster and writer.

He has twice been named 'Gardening Writer of the Year' and for four successive years was voted 'Television Personality of the Year' by the Garden Writers' Guild. In 2004 he received their Lifetime Achievement Award.

Alan has appeared on radio and television both as a gardening expert and as an interviewer and presenter, fronting such programmes as Points of View, Pebble Mill, Songs of Praise, Titchmarsh's Travels and Ask the Family, and since 1983 has presented the BBC's annual coverage of The Chelsea Flower Show. He now has his own daytime TV show on ITV, The Alan Titchmarsh Show. Alan has written more than forty gardening books, as well as seven best-selling novels, including his 2008 success, Folly, which have all made the Sunday Times Bestsellers List. Alan has published three volumes of memoirs; Trowel and Error sold over 200,000 copies in hardback when published in 2002, and Nobbut A Lad, about his Yorkshire childhood, was published in October 2006 with similar success, and his third volume of memoir Knave of Spades was a Sunday Times bestseller.

He was made MBE in the millennium New Year Honours list and holds the Victoria Medal of Honour, the Royal Horticultural Society's highest award. He lives with his wife and a menagerie of animals in Hampshire where he gardens organically.

Author photo by Mark Harrison © Hachette UK

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

11th September 2014

Author

Alan Titchmarsh

More books by Alan Titchmarsh
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

alantitchmarsh.com/

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Hodder Paperback an imprint of Hodder & Stoughton General Division

Format

Paperback
320 pages

Categories

Family Drama
Books of the Month
Relationship Stories
Romantic Fiction
eBook Favourites

Romance

ISBN

9780340936931

It's a lively, independent website with reviews, recommendations and more - with a huge range of books available to buy in all formats.

Alison Layland

Lovereading takes the guesswork out of finding your next read with "if you like you'll love" and extracts to help with your decision.

Sarah Bruch

Thanks to Lovereading I have discovered new writers and read books I would never had looked twice at - and enjoyed them.

Angela Rhodes

I 'Lovereading' because it lets me see what new books are around with a detailed synopsis and readers' reviews.

Judith Sharp

A great place to go to find your next literary escape, and where you don't have to judge a book by its cover!

Suzanne Beney

Love Reading - it not only does what it says on the tin, it does it with Jam on!!

Maz Tucker

You can trust Lovereading to show unbiased reviews by actual, ordinary readers that help likeminded booklovers choose their next great read.

Linda Hill

Lovereading is an amazing place to be, the website is wonderful and to me if I'm sad I'll go here and it cheers me up!

Sophia Upton

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools