win prizes twitter make the most of Lovereading
Search our site
Moonlight Over Manhattan by Sarah Morgan Read the opening extract of the brand new Sarah Morgan book before its publication on 05/10/2017

One Last Dance by Judith Lennox
  

One Last Dance

Family Drama   eBook Favourites   

RRP £8.99

Lovereading view...

This is one of those long, multi-generational, family sagas where the sins of the fathers resound down the years. It is only once a huge amount of damage has been done that one realises so much pain could have been avoided if only … and history repeats itself. Straddling both World Wars, it’s an absorbing tale of the dangers of sibling rivalry.

If you like Judith Lennox you might also like to read books by Penny Vincenzi, Santa Montefiore and Margaret Leroy.


The Good Book Guide logo The Good Book Guide Review. Encompassing most of the 20th century, this intelligent and fluid family saga has a panoramic sweep. Esme Reddaway is reflecting on her life and wondering if she can possibly lay the ghosts of the past that have threatened to engulf her family. Back in 1917, Devlin Reddaway had been smitten by Esme’s older sister Camilla, marrying Esme on the rebound only when his love was betrayed. Hopeful to win Devlin’s heart but wondering if his ancestral home harbours a malign influence, the discovery of a dark secret on the eve of the annual summer dance throws her life into turmoil. An absorbing tale of sibling rivalry, betrayal and forgiveness.
~ Amanda Hodges

Synopsis

One Last Dance by Judith Lennox

For fans of Downton Abbey and MY LAST DUCHESS...'Times change, and sometimes for the better...' As the twentieth century draws to a close, Esme Reddaway knows that she must uncover the truth. A truth that began during the First World War when Devlin Reddaway fell passionately in love with Esme's elder sister, Camilla, and promised to rebuild his ancestral home, Rosindell, for her. But the war changes everything and Devlin returns to England to find that Camilla is engaged to someone else. Angry and vengeful, he marries Esme, who has been secretly in love with him for years. Esme tries to win Devlin's heart by reviving the annual summer dance. But as the years pass she fears that Rosindell has a malign influence on those who live there, and the revelation of a shocking secret on the night of the dance at Rosindell tears her life apart. Decades later, it is she who must lay the ghosts of Rosindell to rest. Spanning the last century, Esme's story of sibling rivalry, heartbreak, betrayal and forgiveness is sure to appeal to fans of Kate Morton, Rachel Hore and Downton Abbey.

Reviews

'A fast-moving, complex story'

The Times

'A beautifully turned, compassionate novel. Judith Lennox's writing is so keenly honest it could sever heartstrings'

Daily Mail

'Completely unputdownable...a lovely, entrancing book'

New Books magazine

'A sensitive examination of love and loss by this master storyteller'

Choice magazine

'A gripping and intelligent romance' Good Book Guide

About the Author

Judith Lennox

Judith Lennox was born in Salisbury, Wiltshire. She read English at Lancaster University and now lives in Cambridgeshire with her husband and three sons. She is the author of highly praised and topselling novels, including the following titles: The Secret Years, The Winter House, Some Old Lover's Ghost, Footprints on the Sand, The Shadow Child, The Dark-Eyed Girls, and Written on Glass

Photograph © Robin Matthew

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

11th September 2014

Author

Judith Lennox

More books by Judith Lennox
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

judithlennox.com/

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...

Publisher

Headline Review an imprint of Headline Publishing Group

Format

Paperback
512 pages

Categories

Family Drama
eBook Favourites

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

ISBN

9780755384143

A great place to go to find your next literary escape, and where you don't have to judge a book by its cover!

Suzanne Beney

Lovereading is pitched at just the right level for all the various types of people who enjoy reading in its many forms.

Pam Woodburn

Lovereading is not only an amazing site, but it's one of my very favourites. It's like visiting a fascinating bookstore, but better.

Rebecca Jayne Barrett

Love books. Love reading. Love reading books. And, here's the trick. Here's a website which caters for people like me.

Ian Harvey-brown

What can I say, the clue is in the title Lovereading - and awesome books.

Sarah Davis

Lovereading helps me decide what real people read.

Kerry Bridges

Hooked on books? Give Lovereading a go - for the chance to discover brilliant books, and to see why our members love it so.

Claire Hill

I love reading because my cares & woes vanish for an hour or two whilst I read of the joys, adventures, lives of the characters in the book.

Jennifer Moville

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools