One Last Dance

by Judith Lennox

eBooks of the Month Family Drama

One Last Dance Synopsis

For fans of Downton Abbey and MY LAST DUCHESS...'Times change, and sometimes for the better...' As the twentieth century draws to a close, Esme Reddaway knows that she must uncover the truth. A truth that began during the First World War when Devlin Reddaway fell passionately in love with Esme's elder sister, Camilla, and promised to rebuild his ancestral home, Rosindell, for her. But the war changes everything and Devlin returns to England to find that Camilla is engaged to someone else. Angry and vengeful, he marries Esme, who has been secretly in love with him for years. Esme tries to win Devlin's heart by reviving the annual summer dance. But as the years pass she fears that Rosindell has a malign influence on those who live there, and the revelation of a shocking secret on the night of the dance at Rosindell tears her life apart. Decades later, it is she who must lay the ghosts of Rosindell to rest. Spanning the last century, Esme's story of sibling rivalry, heartbreak, betrayal and forgiveness is sure to appeal to fans of Kate Morton, Rachel Hore and Downton Abbey.

The Good Book Guide Review

Encompassing most of the 20th century, this intelligent and fluid family saga has a panoramic sweep. Esme Reddaway is reflecting on her life and wondering if she can possibly lay the ghosts of the past that have threatened to engulf her family. Back in 1917, Devlin Reddaway had been smitten by Esme’s older sister Camilla, marrying Esme on the rebound only when his love was betrayed. Hopeful to win Devlin’s heart but wondering if his ancestral home harbours a malign influence, the discovery of a dark secret on the eve of the annual summer dance throws her life into turmoil. An absorbing tale of sibling rivalry, betrayal and forgiveness.

One Last Dance Press Reviews

'A fast-moving, complex story'

The Times

 

'A beautifully turned, compassionate novel. Judith Lennox's writing is so keenly honest it could sever heartstrings'

Daily Mail

 

'Completely unputdownable...a lovely, entrancing book'

New Books magazine

 

'A sensitive examination of love and loss by this master storyteller'

Choice magazine

 

'A gripping and intelligent romance' Good Book Guide

If you loved this, you might like these...

Still Me
The Last Secret of the Deverills
Still Me
Thin Air

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9780755384143
Publication date: 11/09/2014
Publisher: Headline Review an imprint of Headline Publishing Group
Format: Paperback

ISBN: 9780755384129
Publication date: 30/01/2014
Publisher: Headline Review an imprint of Headline Publishing Group
Format: Hardback

Book Information

ISBN: 9780755384143
Publication date: 11th September 2014
Author: Judith Lennox
Publisher: Headline Review an imprint of Headline Publishing Group
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 512 pages
Genres: eBook Favourites, Family Drama,
Categories: Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945),

About Judith Lennox

Judith Lennox was born in Salisbury, Wiltshire. She read English at Lancaster University and now lives in Cambridgeshire with her husband and three sons. She is the author of highly praised and topselling novels, including the following titles: The Secret Years, The Winter House, Some Old Lover's Ghost, Footprints on the Sand, The Shadow Child, The Dark-Eyed Girls, and Written on GlassPhotograph © Robin Matthew

More About Judith Lennox

More Books By Judith Lennox

Cover for One Last Dance by Judith Lennox
Cover for Before the Storm by Judith Lennox
Cover for A Step in the Dark by Judith Lennox
View All Books By Judith Lennox

Share this book