Child of the Mersey

by Annie Groves

eBooks of the Month Sagas and Romance

Child of the Mersey Synopsis

A brand new series from the bestselling author of A Christmas Promise. Perfect for fans of Katie Flynn. For the ordinary people of Empire Street, life will never be the same again. Kitty Fisher has plenty on her plate to keep her busy. Since her mother died when she was just a child, she's cooked, cleaned and scraped to make ends meet for her drunken father and her headstrong brothers. Rita Kennedy, living with her husband under the roof of his spiteful mother-in-law, is desperate for their own home. Perhaps that will help them get their marriage back on the rails again? For the two women and others like them on Liverpool's dockside and across the whole country, the threatening clouds of war will bring heartache and tragedy. It will take courage and the bonds of family and friends to help them see this through.

Get involved in a scandal this summer!

Get involved in a scandal this summer!

Closing date: 03/07/2018

Summer has never been so scandalous... Can Violet find her own happy ending before the swallows fly south for the winter? Sexy, sassy and full of heart, Kat French is back in a new summer sizzler. To celebrate we are giving away 10 copies of the book to 10 lucky winners!!! To have a chance of winning one of these fantastic prizes, click the button below. Please note that the draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. The draw closes on 3rd July 2018. The Winners will be notified by 16th July 2018.   Good luck!  

Enter Now

Child of the Mersey Press Reviews

Praise for Annie Groves: 'Heartwrenching and uplifting in equal measure - a tragic indictment of what can happen when you swap passion for duty. Roll on the sequel!
Take a Break

'A stirring and heartrending family saga...Against a backdrop of change when the suffragette movement was coming to the fore, the choices and dreams of a generation of women combine to create this passionate story'
Liverpool Daily Post

'Written from the heart'
My Weekly

'An engrossing story'
My Weekly

If you loved this, you might like these...

With a Kiss and a Prayer
The Forget-Me-Not Child
Shelter from the Storm
An Orphan's Christmas

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9780007550807
Publication date: 14/08/2014
Publisher: Harper an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9780007550807
Publication date: 14th August 2014
Author: Annie Groves
Publisher: Harper an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 400 pages
Genres: eBook Favourites, Sagas and Romance,
Categories: Sagas,

About Annie Groves

Annie Groves is the psuedonym under which author Penny Jordan wrote a series of novels. She lived in the North-West and had done so all of her life. She has drawn upon her own family's history, picked up from listening to her grandmother's stories when she was a child. Her grandmother's great pride in her hometown - Preston - inspired Annie when naming her heroine in My Sweet Valentine, who is also a butcher's daughter, just like Annie's grandmother was. Penny Jordan died 31 December 2011. Author photo © Jerry Bauer  

More About Annie Groves

More Books By Annie Groves

Cover for The Mersey Daughter by Annie Groves
Cover for A Christmas Promise by Annie Groves
Cover for My Sweet Valentine by Annie Groves
View All Books By Annie Groves

Share this book