eleanor oliphant newgen books for YA readers
Search our site
Are You Sleeping by Kathleen Barber Read the opening extract of the brand new Kathleen Barber book before its publication on 27/12/2017

Child of the Mersey by Annie Groves
  

Child of the Mersey

Sagas and Romance   eBook Favourites   

Sarah Broadhurst's view...

This illustrates the hardship of the dockland slums pre World War II in Liverpool. Then the war comes and things get a whole lot worse. We follow three children who are evacuated; two are happy and well cared for, the third, a little boy, has a bad experience with an unkind woman. He runs away. We then follow his journey as he battles to get home and we go with him through his ups and downs. Annie Grove died last year and her novels are being continued by Sheila Riley.

If you like Annie Groves you might also like to read books by Lyn Andrews, Joan Jonker and Katie Flynn.

Who is Sarah Broadhurst

Synopsis

Child of the Mersey by Annie Groves

A brand new series from the bestselling author of A Christmas Promise. Perfect for fans of Katie Flynn. For the ordinary people of Empire Street, life will never be the same again. Kitty Fisher has plenty on her plate to keep her busy. Since her mother died when she was just a child, she's cooked, cleaned and scraped to make ends meet for her drunken father and her headstrong brothers. Rita Kennedy, living with her husband under the roof of his spiteful mother-in-law, is desperate for their own home. Perhaps that will help them get their marriage back on the rails again? For the two women and others like them on Liverpool's dockside and across the whole country, the threatening clouds of war will bring heartache and tragedy. It will take courage and the bonds of family and friends to help them see this through.

Reviews

Praise for Annie Groves: 'Heartwrenching and uplifting in equal measure - a tragic indictment of what can happen when you swap passion for duty. Roll on the sequel!
Take a Break

'A stirring and heartrending family saga...Against a backdrop of change when the suffragette movement was coming to the fore, the choices and dreams of a generation of women combine to create this passionate story'
Liverpool Daily Post

'Written from the heart'
My Weekly

'An engrossing story'
My Weekly

About the Author

Annie Groves

Annie Groves is the psuedonym under which author Penny Jordan wrote a series of novels. She lived in the North-West and had done so all of her life. She has drawn upon her own family's history, picked up from listening to her grandmother's stories when she was a child. Her grandmother's great pride in her hometown - Preston - inspired Annie when naming her heroine in My Sweet Valentine, who is also a butcher's daughter, just like Annie's grandmother was.

Penny Jordan died 31 December 2011.

Author photo © Jerry Bauer

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

14th August 2014

Author

Annie Groves

More books by Annie Groves
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Publisher

HarperCollins Publishers Ltd an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers

Format

Paperback
400 pages

Categories

Sagas and Romance
eBook Favourites

Sagas

ISBN

9780007550807

I love 'try before you buy' extracts. I love the wide range of authors & genres. I love the author info. I love books!

Judi Davies

What can I say, the clue is in the title Lovereading - and awesome books.

Sarah Davis

It's information about new books so, for a book lover like me, what's not to like!

Joan Hill

Why I love @lovereadinguk? It's in the name - as dedicated lovers of reading, they are perfect matchmakers for helping me find my next read!

Catherine Jenkins

At Lovereading there are fabulous books available in every genre, with great reviews to help you pick the right book for you.

Teresa O'Halloran

Lovereading has given me the opportunity to delve into new and exciting worlds of authors who I would never have tried before.

Glynis Elliott

Love Reading - it not only does what it says on the tin, it does it with Jam on!!

Maz Tucker

My favourite thing about is the 'like for like' page this has really introduced me to some good reads! That and lots of honest reviews.

Sam Lewis

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools