rebus 30th anniversary twitter make the most of Lovereading
Search our site
The Course of History Ten Meals That Changed the World by Struan Stevenson, Tony Singh Read the opening extract of the brand new Struan Stevenson, Tony Singh book before its publication on 24/10/2017

The Dogs of Littlefield by Suzanne Berne
  

Sarah Broadhurst's view...

A quiet and curious book which looks at some of the darknesses of American suburban life in what is supposed to be a perfect town but where much is far from happy. We dip in and out of people’s lives in this town over populated with therapists and where dogs are being mysteriously and maliciously poisoned. Wry, dry and funny, this is perfect for fans of Desperate Housewives who want their melodrama served a little more seriously but are nevertheless fascinated by the goings on behind picket fences and twitched curtains.

If you like Suzanne Berne you might also like to read books by Anna Quindlen, Mary Lawson and Maggie O'farrell.

Who is Sarah Broadhurst

Win a Set of 10 Bloomsbury Modern Classics!

This month Bloomsbury has launched a series of ten modern classics chosen from highlights of the publisher's last thiry years, each with an eye-catching, iconic illustrated cover - and we have a full set to give away!

The ten titles are Restless by William Boyd, Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell by Susanna Clarke, Eat Pray Love by Elizabeth Gilbert, Snow Falling on Cedars by David Guterson, The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini, Fugitive Pieces by Anne Michaels, The Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller, The English Patient by Michael Ondaatje, The Suspicions of Mr Whicher by Kate Summerscale and The Little Friend by Donna Tartt.

To have a chance of winning this fantastic prize, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once.

The draw closes on 6 November 2017. The winners will be notified by 20 November 2017.

Good luck!

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 06/11/2017

Synopsis

The Dogs of Littlefield by Suzanne Berne

This is longlisted for the Baileys Women's Prize for Fiction 2014. Littlefield, Massachusetts: home to psychologists, college professors and their over-achieving children, and recently lauded as one of the Ten Best Places to Live in America. If happiness had a home it would be here. Then the first dog is poisoned. At first, there is shock and disbelief: who would commit such a cruel act - and why? As more dogs die, residents notice other signs that something's not right in their home: the appearance of menacing grafitti, the persistent triggering of fire alarms at the middle school and the haunted looks neighbours begin exchanging. For the Downings, Margaret, Bill and daughter Julia, Littlefield's gathering darkness hints at flaws in their own lives. What is wrong? What can save them? Well-observed shrewd satire ...sharp, funny and painful. Berne takes the domestic and turns it into the majestic . (Sunday Telegraph).

Reviews

'A beautifully balanced and accomplished portrayal of the glue that binds families together, despite themselves, as well as the forces that tear them asunder. Superb'

Mail on Sunday on The Ghost at the Table

'It is impossible not to be completely swept along ... Berne's vision is gently humorous, ironic, quirky ... and she writes with such piercing sensitivity ... a compelling debut novel' The Times on A Crime in the Neighbourhood

'This ambitious account of a sudden coming of age reminded me strongly of To Kill A Mockingbird - and is very bit as moving and satisfying'

Daily Telegraph on A Crime in the Neighbourhood

About the Author

Suzanne Berne

Suzanne Berne was born in Washington, D.C., and now lives with her family outside Boston. She is a frequent contributor to The New York Times, and her fiction and essays have also appeared in a number of magazines. Her first novel, A Crime in the Neighbourhood won the 1999 Orange Prize for Fiction. Her latest novel is The Ghost at the Table.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

7th August 2014

Author

Suzanne Berne

More books by Suzanne Berne
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.suzanneberne.net/bio/

Publisher

Penguin Books Ltd

Format

Paperback
288 pages

Categories

Family Drama
Literary Fiction
eBook Favourites
eBook Favourites

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

ISBN

9780241962664

Lovereading is not only an amazing site, but it's one of my very favourites. It's like visiting a fascinating bookstore, but better.

Rebecca Jayne Barrett

Lovereading is like booking a holiday, you don't know what it will be like and it is a whole new experience.

Sue Burton

A great place to go to find your next literary escape, and where you don't have to judge a book by its cover!

Suzanne Beney

I love reading books I wouldn't normally choose before everyone else gets to read them!

Dawn Lynch

Their sending me my first book to review 18 months ago re-awakened my fondness for reading, since then I have purchased some real gems.

Barry Griffiths

Lovereading is a wonderful way to expand my literary horizons, discover inspiring authors & get the chance to read new novels first. #loveit

Zarina de Ruiter

I love Lovereading for the wonderful like for like author recommendations and for highlighting new books, it's a great resource for readers!

Lindsay

It's information about new books so, for a book lover like me, what's not to like!

Joan Hill

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools