Search our site
Persons Unknown by Susie Steiner Read the opening extract of the brand new Susie Steiner book before its publication on 05/04/2018

The Dogs of Littlefield by Suzanne Berne
  

Sarah Broadhurst's view...

A quiet and curious book which looks at some of the darknesses of American suburban life in what is supposed to be a perfect town but where much is far from happy. We dip in and out of people’s lives in this town over populated with therapists and where dogs are being mysteriously and maliciously poisoned. Wry, dry and funny, this is perfect for fans of Desperate Housewives who want their melodrama served a little more seriously but are nevertheless fascinated by the goings on behind picket fences and twitched curtains.

If you like Suzanne Berne you might also like to read books by Anna Quindlen, Mary Lawson and A M Homes.

Who is Sarah Broadhurst

Synopsis

The Dogs of Littlefield by Suzanne Berne

This is longlisted for the Baileys Women's Prize for Fiction 2014. Littlefield, Massachusetts: home to psychologists, college professors and their over-achieving children, and recently lauded as one of the Ten Best Places to Live in America. If happiness had a home it would be here. Then the first dog is poisoned. At first, there is shock and disbelief: who would commit such a cruel act - and why? As more dogs die, residents notice other signs that something's not right in their home: the appearance of menacing grafitti, the persistent triggering of fire alarms at the middle school and the haunted looks neighbours begin exchanging. For the Downings, Margaret, Bill and daughter Julia, Littlefield's gathering darkness hints at flaws in their own lives. What is wrong? What can save them? Well-observed shrewd satire ...sharp, funny and painful. Berne takes the domestic and turns it into the majestic . (Sunday Telegraph).

Reviews

'A beautifully balanced and accomplished portrayal of the glue that binds families together, despite themselves, as well as the forces that tear them asunder. Superb'

Mail on Sunday on The Ghost at the Table

'It is impossible not to be completely swept along ... Berne's vision is gently humorous, ironic, quirky ... and she writes with such piercing sensitivity ... a compelling debut novel' The Times on A Crime in the Neighbourhood

'This ambitious account of a sudden coming of age reminded me strongly of To Kill A Mockingbird - and is very bit as moving and satisfying'

Daily Telegraph on A Crime in the Neighbourhood

About the Author

Suzanne Berne

Suzanne Berne was born in Washington, D.C., and now lives with her family outside Boston. She is a frequent contributor to The New York Times, and her fiction and essays have also appeared in a number of magazines. Her first novel, A Crime in the Neighbourhood won the 1999 Orange Prize for Fiction. Her latest novel is The Ghost at the Table.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

7th August 2014

Author

Suzanne Berne

More books by Suzanne Berne
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.suzanneberne.net/bio/

Publisher

Penguin Books Ltd

Format

Paperback
288 pages

Categories

Family Drama
Literary Fiction
eBook Favourites

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

ISBN

9780241962664

You can trust Lovereading to show unbiased reviews by actual, ordinary readers that help likeminded booklovers choose their next great read.

Linda Hill

Why I love @lovereadinguk? It's in the name - as dedicated lovers of reading, they are perfect matchmakers for helping me find my next read!

Catherine Jenkins

Lovereading always comes up with great suggestions and has introduced me to enjoyable books and new authors to discover.

Gaynor Passmore

Lovereading has all the new books and also suggestions for 'similar' authors whilst waiting for your favourites new books.

Carol Peace

Ever purchased a book, read a few pages & thought I'm not going to enjoy this? Honest book reviews mean you'll never have that problem again

Jill Peters

With literary excellence, humour and drama, Lovereading's got value and is a real stress-calmer!

Siobhan McDowell

They are bright, breezy and eager to offer a great book, then genuinely listen/respect the review one writes.

Maggie Crane

I love reading because my cares & woes vanish for an hour or two whilst I read of the joys, adventures, lives of the characters in the book.

Jennifer Moville

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools