Win a Family Weekend Break with Lovereading and VisitWiltshire - click here for details...

twitter tudor queens series
Search our site
The Great Cornish Getaway by Fern Britton Read the opening extract of the brand new Fern Britton book before its publication on 01/02/2018

The Dogs of Littlefield by Suzanne Berne
  

Sarah Broadhurst's view...

A quiet and curious book which looks at some of the darknesses of American suburban life in what is supposed to be a perfect town but where much is far from happy. We dip in and out of people’s lives in this town over populated with therapists and where dogs are being mysteriously and maliciously poisoned. Wry, dry and funny, this is perfect for fans of Desperate Housewives who want their melodrama served a little more seriously but are nevertheless fascinated by the goings on behind picket fences and twitched curtains.

If you like Suzanne Berne you might also like to read books by A M Homes, Mary Lawson and Maggie O'farrell.

Who is Sarah Broadhurst

Win an advanced copy of Fern Britton's new novel!

What a way to start the New Year! We have 10 pre-publication copies of Fern Britton's new Cornish drama to give away!

To have a chance of winning one of these fantastic prizes, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once.

The draw closes on 12 February 2018. The winners will be notified by 19 February 2018,

Good luck!

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 12/02/2018

Synopsis

The Dogs of Littlefield by Suzanne Berne

This is longlisted for the Baileys Women's Prize for Fiction 2014. Littlefield, Massachusetts: home to psychologists, college professors and their over-achieving children, and recently lauded as one of the Ten Best Places to Live in America. If happiness had a home it would be here. Then the first dog is poisoned. At first, there is shock and disbelief: who would commit such a cruel act - and why? As more dogs die, residents notice other signs that something's not right in their home: the appearance of menacing grafitti, the persistent triggering of fire alarms at the middle school and the haunted looks neighbours begin exchanging. For the Downings, Margaret, Bill and daughter Julia, Littlefield's gathering darkness hints at flaws in their own lives. What is wrong? What can save them? Well-observed shrewd satire ...sharp, funny and painful. Berne takes the domestic and turns it into the majestic . (Sunday Telegraph).

Reviews

'A beautifully balanced and accomplished portrayal of the glue that binds families together, despite themselves, as well as the forces that tear them asunder. Superb'

Mail on Sunday on The Ghost at the Table

'It is impossible not to be completely swept along ... Berne's vision is gently humorous, ironic, quirky ... and she writes with such piercing sensitivity ... a compelling debut novel' The Times on A Crime in the Neighbourhood

'This ambitious account of a sudden coming of age reminded me strongly of To Kill A Mockingbird - and is very bit as moving and satisfying'

Daily Telegraph on A Crime in the Neighbourhood

About the Author

Suzanne Berne

Suzanne Berne was born in Washington, D.C., and now lives with her family outside Boston. She is a frequent contributor to The New York Times, and her fiction and essays have also appeared in a number of magazines. Her first novel, A Crime in the Neighbourhood won the 1999 Orange Prize for Fiction. Her latest novel is The Ghost at the Table.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

7th August 2014

Author

Suzanne Berne

More books by Suzanne Berne
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.suzanneberne.net/bio/

Publisher

Penguin Books Ltd

Format

Paperback
288 pages

Categories

Family Drama
Literary Fiction
eBook Favourites
eBook Favourites

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

ISBN

9780241962664

Ever purchased a book, read a few pages & thought I'm not going to enjoy this? Honest book reviews mean you'll never have that problem again

Jill Peters

I love Lovereading because of its ability to connect people that love books & unite them in a friendly, stimulating & interesting community.

Megan Olwen William

You'll always find what you never knew you were looking for and you're always spoilt for choice.

Helen Jones

Lovereading takes the guesswork out of finding your next read with "if you like you'll love" and extracts to help with your decision.

Sarah Bruch

Lovereading has all the new books and also suggestions for 'similar' authors whilst waiting for your favourites new books.

Carol Peace

Lovereading is pitched at just the right level for all the various types of people who enjoy reading in its many forms.

Pam Woodburn

They are bright, breezy and eager to offer a great book, then genuinely listen/respect the review one writes.

Maggie Crane

It gives a chance to read about new titles, invites comments from all kinds of readers and is run by such a nice bunch of book lovers.

Joy Bosworth

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools